April 25, 2024, 05:17:01 PM

Author Topic: Name youre 15 man world cup squad  (Read 3078 times)

Offline Remie

Name youre 15 man world cup squad
« on: January 29, 2007, 02:57:16 PM »
The ICC deadline is soon approaching to name the world cup squads, lets help out the selectors

1. Gayle
2. Chanderpaul
3. Sarwan
4. Samuels
5. Lara
6. Bravo
7. Dwayne Smith
8. Baugh (wk)
9. Bradshaw
10. Taylor
11. Collymore
12. Ramdin (wk)- back up wicket keeper
13. Pollard- back up middle order batsman or possible first choice replacement for Dwayne Smith
14. Devon Smith- back up opener for the injury prone Chanderpaul
15. Powell- back up fast bowler
« Last Edit: January 29, 2007, 03:10:40 PM by Remie »

Re: Name youre 15 man world cup squad
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2007, 03:45:01 PM »
The ICC deadline is soon approaching to name the world cup squads, lets help out the selectors

1. Gayle
2. Chanderpaul
3. Sarwan
4. Samuels
5. Lara
6. Bravo
7. Dwayne Smith
8. Baugh (wk)
9. Bradshaw
10. Taylor
11. Collymore
13. Pollard- back up middle order batsman or possible first choice replacement for Dwayne Smith

I like your starting 11 but I might have put Ramdin in instead of Baugh.

Offline Remie

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2007, 03:55:44 PM »

1. Gayle
2. Chanderpaul
3. Sarwan
4. Samuels
5. Lara
6. Bravo
7. Dwayne Smith
8. Baugh (wk)
9. Bradshaw
10. Taylor
11. Collymore

I like your starting 11 but I might have put Ramdin in instead of Baugh.

As much as i would have loved to put Ramdin there does he deserve it on performance? Who would you be more confident will do the business with the bat if we need 20 runs off 20 balls with 3 wickets left in the semi final of the World Cup?

Although Baugh is less talented, i have never seen him do anything dunce with the bat, i have seen Ramdin do a couple of dunce things with the bat so far...

« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2007, 05:12:31 PM »

1. Gayle
2. Chanderpaul
3. Sarwan
4. Samuels
5. Lara
6. Bravo
7. Dwayne Smith
8. Baugh (wk)
9. Bradshaw
10. Taylor
11. Collymore

nice squad.. i think pollard should get ah start for dwayne smith. at least agsint the lesser teams in our group  so he can build his confidence
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2007, 06:25:51 PM »
Gayle
Chanders
Sarwan
Lara
Bravo
Dwayne Smith
Mohammed
Pollard
Ramdin
Colly
Bradshaw
Taylor
Sammy
Samuels
P.Browne

Offline Remie

« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2007, 06:27:30 PM »

1. Gayle
2. Chanderpaul
3. Sarwan
4. Samuels
5. Lara
6. Bravo
7. Dwayne Smith
8. Baugh (wk)
9. Bradshaw
10. Taylor
11. Collymore

nice squad.. i think pollard should get ah start for dwayne smith. at least agsint the lesser teams in our group  so he can build his confidence

Yep, im 50/50 between playing Dwayne Smith or Pollard, i was favouring Pollard, but in that 2nd ODI against India, Dwayne Smith seemed to be getting back some form. One thing is for sure, i would definately take Pollard in the squad instead of Morton!

« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2007, 06:59:47 PM »

1. Gayle
2. Chanderpaul
3. Sarwan
4. Samuels
5. Lara
6. Bravo
7. Dwayne Smith
8. Baugh (wk)
9. Bradshaw
10. Taylor
11. Collymore

Yep, im 50/50 between playing Dwayne Smith or Pollard, i was favouring Pollard, but in that 2nd ODI against India, Dwayne Smith seemed to be getting back some form. One thing is for sure, i would definately take Pollard in the squad instead of Morton!
fella morton have has his chances and although his scores in de previous series was decent..the man swining on balls now.... and we have enough people in de field so they cyah say dais y he dey.
morton jus pummin
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2007, 04:41:58 AM »

Gayle
 Chanderpaul
 Sarwan
 Samuels
 Lara
 Morton
 Bravo
 Ramdin
 Baugh
 Collymore
 Bradshaw
 Taylor
 Lawson
Joseph
 Pollard

Offline dervaig

« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2007, 06:37:38 AM »
Lose Ramdin, and Pollard is too young.

Is Sarwan going to be fit to play?

« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2007, 06:50:56 AM »
ramdin had a imporved performance in this match...hope is not to little to late

« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2007, 06:53:16 AM »

i jus wanna know y uthink pollard to young?? is only the WI does be afraid to give thier players a start in thier teenage yrs....look how old lara start.
let him get a play @ 19 i dont see y not.. maybe a nother reaon but not age in sports..
in all sports athletes are getting yonger and younger

« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2007, 06:59:53 AM »

Ramdin still is 1 of the 2 best in WI and Pollard youthfull exuberance could be a revelation if Morton fails.

Sarwans broken instep ( I think) should be healed and he should be fully mobile by the end of this month which will give him time to play in the warm ups.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2007, 07:01:56 AM by fishs »

« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2007, 07:01:16 AM »

Ramdin still is 1 of the 2 best in WI and Pollard youthfull exuberance could be a revelation if Morton fails.
??? ??? ??? ??? u mean agian right..lol

« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2007, 07:02:56 AM »

Explain yuh question  ???

« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2007, 07:11:48 AM »

Explain yuh question  ???
morton fail this whole series and he never really inspire confidence in me.....
where as other players who been failing  alot  they might have somehting else to offer, bowling, fielding, both.
morton just messing he self.

Offline RRamdin

« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2007, 07:18:32 AM »
You cant have two jokers like Bravo and Smith batting as high as 6 and 7. Would be better to have them batting 7 and 8, or even 8 or 9.

Offline Remie

« Reply #16 on: January 31, 2007, 11:12:43 AM »
You cant have two jokers like Bravo and Smith batting as high as 6 and 7. Would be better to have them batting 7 and 8, or even 8 or 9.

Bravo isnt a joker with the bat, Smith might be, but not Bravo.

Also Bravo bats better when he has time to play himself in. He bats like a normal batsman, he is not a slogger so its makes no sense batting him lower than 6. He has test match hundreds to his name against South Africa and Australia and a ODI hundred against England so he is no joker with the bat.

I agree the batting might look a bit short with Dwayne Smith at 7, so i would potentially replace him with Pollard at 7, if Pollard impresses in the warm up games.

Plus we need the keeper at 8 and the three frontline bowlers at 9,10 and 11, unless you want to replace one of the frontline bowlers with an extra batsman. In my opinion we need Collymore, Bradshaw and Taylor to all play.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2007, 11:26:39 AM by Remie »

Offline RRamdin

« Reply #17 on: January 31, 2007, 11:53:13 AM »
It is a hard one, but I would be less worried if we have 7 batsmen with Bravo at 7, Smith-8 and the keeper at 9. I know it would be very difficult to drop one of Taylor, Bradshaw or Collymore but I feel we must play to our strength which is batting. We probably have enough bowlers if we go with that formula:

Taylor/Bradshaw/Collymore (pick 2)
Bravo
Smith
Gayle
Samuels

{Sarwan if needed} At this moment I would also like to call for Ricardo Powell to be recalled to the ODI side, for the purposes at least of replacing Runako Morton. I feel when Bennet King took over, it was unfair that he dropped Powell, for I feel Powell has done decently in the past for West Indies and is more of a match winner than Morton. I know we have Smith, but I feel that until Smith learns to play straighter he will never be as good as he can be. Therefore we should recall Powell to add something extra down the order when the slog is on at the end of the innings. Also he is probably still one of the best fielders in the world.

« Reply #18 on: February 12, 2007, 07:52:43 AM »
If we use Bravo as one of the six bowlers, we could then select an extra batsman.

I would like to see Pollard get blooded and play a few games for the WI BEFORE the WC.

If he does well, then select him. His bowling is also coming along. Which gives the team greater depth.

He coul be better than Phil Simmons as a One Day player.

Peace,

Offline Gladman

« Reply #19 on: February 12, 2007, 07:54:51 PM »
D squad to be name 2morrow

Lara
Gayle
Sarwan
Chanderpaul
Samuels
Devon Smith