September 09, 2024, 12:06:06 AM

Author Topic: Warriors face Panama tonight  (Read 3723 times)

Warriors face Panama tonight
« on: January 30, 2007, 11:15:39 PM »
Warriors face Panama tonight.
By: Ian Prescott (Express).

No one anticipated that the journey would have been so strenuous as to force Wim Rijsbergen, Trinidad and Tobago national football coach, to forgo yesterday's planned morning practice session following the Soca Warriors' arrival in Panama City.
The T&T players only had a "walk" yesterday morning and were due to have a full session at 7.30 last night, before meeting the Panama national team in tonight's international friendly, which will be played at 9 p.m. (T&T time) at the Rommel Fernandez Stadium.
When last the teams met there two years ago, Trinidad and Tobago came away with a 1-0 victory which eventually put the Warriors on the road to qualifying for their first World Cup, while ending Panama's hopes.
By the time the T&T players got to Panama City at 6.40 p.m. (7.40 p.m. T&T time) Monday night, everyone just wanted to sleep and sleep a little more in the morning.
"We will have a good session in the afternoon (last night)," Rijsbergen said. "But after the tough journey, a morning stretch would be all that is possible. Just to get their legs ready to play football again."
The journey began Monday with a 7.30 a.m. departure on Aeropostal for the hour and 20-minute journey to the international airport in Caracas, Venezuela.
As they had been active for the last month, Rijsbergen chose to carry only his Digicel Caribbean Cup players to Panama, leaving out the likes of Aurtis Whitley, Andre Toussaint, Andre Pacheco and Cyd Gray, who would have been available after playing Sunday's Caribbean Club Championship Final for San Juan Jabloteh and W Connection, taking only Nigel Daniel, who represented Jabloteh.
Captain Densill Theobald is again the most experienced player, while the likes of Scott Sealy, Kerwyn Jemmott, keeper Jan Michael Williams, Kerry Baptiste, Nigel Daniel and Gary Glasgow all have limited international experience.
The early part of the journey to Panama was eventful enough, with midfielder Jemmott entertaining the boys with some Jamaican chanting and even coach Rijsbergen and manager Sam Phillip dropping a joke or two.
Compared to his stoic predecessor Leo Beenhakker, Rijsbergen is a cool guy. Although very serious about his football, he is also a bit of a joker at times.
"This must be the part of the airport done by those guys who are locked up in jail," Rijsbergen quipped, as the aircraft bounced over a very bumpy section at Piarco International Airport. "Roller derby". Of course, he was referring to the guys from Birk Hillman, who pleaded guilty to a US grand jury in the Piarco scandal.
It was one of many moments of gaiety from the national coach, who could be seen joking with Leslie "Tiger" Fitzpatrick and other players during the journey. That is as good as it got. Once the team touched down in Venezuela, the tedium began, with no where to go and almost nothing to do for close to nine hours, until departing for Panama near 6 p.m. (T&T time).
It was like slowly pulling a tooth. It also didn't help that Venezuelan authorities shifted more than 100 people from one section of the airport to the next on several occasions.
Trinidad and Tobago might not have gotten in much work, but Panama have been hard in training under coach Guimares for the match, which they are using as preparation for a February 6 CONCACAF Gold Cup qualifier against Honduras.
Panama are convinced that Trinidad and Tobago have a "hex" on them, since they have never beaten the eight-time Caribbean champions.
Yesterday's big headline in the Critica newspaper read: "Soca Warriors quiere mantenar Hegemonia."
Translated it means "Soca Warriors want to maintain hex".
The Soca Warriors were featured in a full-colour open first page to begin the sport section, similar to that of the Express. There, T&T skipper Theobald was captured in a race for the ball with Panama star striker Luis Tejada. But Panamanians are convinced tonight could be the end of Trinidad and Tobago's dominance.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2007, 04:12:50 AM by Flex »

Re: Warriors face Panama tonight
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2007, 12:01:48 AM »

9 hours   :o
geez...u cud squeeze in a light session....bathe...go by a pool and eat all in that time and be ready for the flight out.
We shud do better on these travel arrangements.  At least Theobald with the team.

« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2007, 12:33:34 AM »
very interested to see what de boys level going to be at!!! :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2007, 04:14:58 AM »
The early part of the journey to Panama was eventful enough, with midfielder Jemmott entertaining the boys with some Jamaican chanting and even coach Rijsbergen and manager Sam Phillip dropping a joke or two.

Even Jemmott what to be Jamaican too. Shamless, we culture dead allyuh !!!!!! Trins is real want to be and not just Jemmott, many youth growing up now.... PUNKS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! when Crazy, Denise, Chalkdust, Baron, Preacher, Superblue, Anslem Douglas, Watchman, Gypsy, etc etc..... die we culture will die with them also.... nothing worng with wanting to change Claypso to Soca because de generation changing, but be orignal !!!!! I swear when I go home now all them Soca sounding like Dub.... I feel shame and foc-ing mad eh.... even Bunji is a want to be, doh mind he does diss them, but he to is ah want to be, go to Toronto Lime and hear de bunch of shit they singing now.......... foc that is Chutney for me now, Soca Chutney....
« Last Edit: January 31, 2007, 04:20:36 AM by Sam »

« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2007, 06:00:36 AM »
Sam boy I feel we culture done dead already yes....while not in the genre of Calypso or Soca...but just to give an example....

Ah was trying to tell ah young friend ah mine (she bout 22) ah Paul Keen-Douglas story bout pot holes....but before ah could even start de story she ask mih....who is Paul Keens-Douglas??.... :o

Well needless to say de story end right there....it made no sense to continue... :(

And to be honest I never warmed up to people like Bunji and Maximus Dan....until long after they made their debut....

But yeah boy....for example this year ah eh hear nuttnen yet to get mih goin.(.just Dawg E Slaughter ah bit, Machel....ah cyar remember hearing anything yet from mih boy KMC).......and since

AH LOVE MIH SOCA!!!........ah feelin it....but what to do??.... :'(

Offline Sentinel

• Adapt, Improvise and Overcome
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2007, 06:40:01 AM »

Even Jemmott what to be Jamaican too. Shamless, we culture dead allyuh !!!!!! Trins is real want to be and not just Jemmott, many youth growing up now.... PUNKS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! when Crazy, Denise, Chalkdust, Baron, Preacher, Superblue, Anslem Douglas, Watchman, Gypsy, etc etc..... die we culture will die with them also.... nothing worng with wanting to change Claypso to Soca because de generation changing, but be orignal !!!!! I swear when I go home now all them Soca sounding like Dub.... I feel shame and foc-ing mad eh.... even Bunji is a want to be, doh mind he does diss them, but he to is ah want to be, go to Toronto Lime and hear de bunch of shit they singing now.......... foc that is Chutney for me now, Soca Chutney....

DITTO!

« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2007, 07:03:37 AM »
am..lol...i come here looking for some thing about the footbaqll i see ah "kaiso/ culture" dying session
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2007, 07:35:09 AM »
Watch meh doe study that 9 hrs in the airport.

Dat is nine hrs of the bess gape yuh could get.

« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2007, 08:23:45 AM »

« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2007, 08:25:39 AM »

Ah San Juan, PR gape nicer than that ;D

« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2007, 08:55:19 AM »

Ah San Juan, PR gape nicer than that ;D

dat wa slong time...u is a mad man yes.....
de gape is in arima as always and in south now...buh i eh saying wey  :angel:
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2007, 09:00:51 AM »

Excellent Sam, I agree... !!!!!!!

« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2007, 10:01:57 AM »

i too was surprised to hear dis also, have tuh talk 2 hardest about dis one :o for many years many does chant ah tune, it could have been ragga soca, but say wha, it have a big influence of reggae in de ghetto, sadly tuh say bc de reggae identifying wit de situation in de ghetto, but soca and calypso still number one regardless... :beermug: u bring up some very good points sam that i have touched on for many years...

« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2007, 10:09:25 AM »
Good Morning Everybody,
                                    I hope the TTFF take not of the hardships that take place when our teams go to CA to play games. We want no excuses when WC time comes around. The team must leave two or maybe 3 days before WC games. My buddy Mike told of the time thay went to Haiti for a Wc game. They miss the flight from JA. They reach the morning of the game. The bus drive drive them thru down instead of straight to the hotel. You all know what was the score of that !!!!

« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2007, 10:18:18 AM »
best of luck to the guys ... oh and why is this an issue the man has an option and can sing what he wants steeeps.....

Offline Israel

« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2007, 10:50:56 AM »
So because a man was chanting we losing we culture? steups........so because H2o Phlo is more of an R&B group they losing the culture too.........

and as u said Sam its a different generation and music is constantly being influenced by other genres....Dancehall is influenced by rap and vice versa. Look our soca influencing ppl in Japan too. Minmi from Japan who is featured on Machel's song sounds as if she was born in trini. I for one am glad to see we have influenced someone from Japan but its a problem if we are influenced.
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #16 on: January 31, 2007, 11:01:29 AM »
So because a man was chanting we losing we culture? steups........so because H2o Phlo is more of an R&B group they losing the culture too.........

and as u said Sam its a different generation and music is constantly being influenced by other genres....Dancehall is influenced by rap and vice versa. Look our soca influencing ppl in Japan too. Minmi from Japan who is featured on Machel's song sounds as if she was born in trini. I for one am glad to see we have influenced someone from Japan but its a problem if we are influenced.

But our music Soca doesn't have the reach that Reggae has for example and it done dead before it even reach.....

« Reply #17 on: January 31, 2007, 12:22:56 PM »

But our music Soca doesn't have the reach that Reggae has for example and it done dead before it even reach.....

Look here we not in the entertainment section but ask yuh self why is that...... and best of luck to our warriors

« Reply #18 on: January 31, 2007, 01:05:17 PM »
Planning trips to Caracas is tricky.  I think Aeroposatal does have one flight for the week.
Jack should hire a private jet for them kinda trips  ;D

Touches yuh right !  One of the best damn gape yuh get  :o

« Reply #19 on: January 31, 2007, 03:01:44 PM »

Yuh read meh mind.  The amount ah bird dem men maybe gape at... ;D