April 25, 2024, 10:09:14 AM

Author Topic: Players responsible for their fitness??  (Read 2188 times)

Players responsible for their fitness??
« on: July 14, 2005, 10:53:51 PM »

After seeing those guys it's clear why they find themselves in problems overseas.

Look at Colin Samuel.  You are a pro and can't last 90 mins?  Dwight had nuff problems with his clubs but made sure he kept himself fit at all times regardless of playing time.

Outside of the local players the National Team is not the place to get fit....you supposed to come into the team prepared to execute and play football not get in shape.

Anyone know if the guys are in bad shape because it is off season and they decide to take a break from working out?  I don't think Leo had any option of keeping these players after the Mexico game but don't these guys have some personal training programs to ensure they can perform.  Is their jobs that suffering from the terrible shape they in.

Who is responsible for a player's fitness
The Player
The National Team
The Club Team

Offline rocwell

Re: Players responsible for their fitness??
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2005, 11:21:03 PM »
The Player.

« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2005, 09:24:42 AM »
The player has the ultimate responsibility as a professional to maintain a certain standard of fitness & fitness life style. However, in the overall scope of things it is the clubs responsibility as they have the most access to the players and can monitor them daily. They also work on their fitness in relation to the season, upcoming games etc. When one considers it takes approximately 8 weeks to get an athlete into top condition, the clubs are responsible

« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2005, 07:41:05 PM »
player then club....wouldnt even put the national into the mix.....National only bring dem een for tournaments and some friendlies. they suppose to come into the national team wit fitness.

« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2005, 10:47:56 PM »
Players.  Even U.S. college teams does send yuh home with a fitness program during the summer.  From my personal experience, we used to have to come in ready to take the fitness tests the first couple of days during preseason.  Dem fellas does get carried away when they come home for the offseason; too much drinking and limin'.  They are paid to play; they should see their body as an investment that they must maintain.

« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2005, 08:18:17 AM »
Players. Even U.S. college teams does send yuh home with a fitness program during the summer. From my personal experience, we used to have to come in ready to take the fitness tests the first couple of days during preseason. Dem fellas does get carried away when they come home for the offseason; too much drinking and limin'. They are paid to play; they should see their body as an investment that they must maintain.

Anyone who talks to the players...could you'll find out what the hell they is be doing during the off-season or even during the season if they not playing regularly. 

Are our fitness tests (if we have any) for the National Team too lenient?
Should the bar be raised if the players don't seem to have the discipline to keep themselves in shape?

We wouldn't have to worry if Nahkid too old...or if Angus cah last 90 mins.  Send them through the test and if they pass then talk done....if not well you cah make it.  We have some players who are in real good shape but too many others that don't look like Pro players at all.

If they doh pass advise them on a proper course of action and maybe provide support but you hadda come up to scratch first before you make it past the training camps.