April 29, 2024, 03:33:45 AM

Author Topic: Inspiration on high  (Read 1193 times)

Inspiration on high
« on: July 01, 2008, 09:19:16 AM »

Members of Jah Creation, from left, Angel “Jah Angel” Neemar, Taurean “Zion Star” Taylor, and Keston “Jah Disciple” Mark show the sign of King David during their interview at Trinidad and Tobago Guardian offices on St Vincent Street, Port-of-Spain. Photo: Keith Matthews

“All our inspiration comes from Jah, we acknowledge Jesus Christ as Lord and Saviour and our music reflects this.”

—Taurean Taylor (Zion Star)

BY BOBIE-LEE DIXON

They seem quite laid back, they finish each other’s sentences and watch out now, this conscious trio might just be the next best thing to hit the local reggae scene.

Hailing from Arouca, Taurean “Zion Star” Taylor, Angel “Jah Angel” Neemar and Keston “Jah Disciple” Mark, have already recorded quite a few songs.

With their popular hit, Run like Water/African daughter, currently being played on some of the leading urban radio stations, the group which goes by the name Jah Creation, has also enjoyed the privilege of performing on local television stations as well as at numerous house parties and schools.

These three young men are truly emerging from the shadow of underground to mainstream.

Taylor, a former Trinidad and Tobago Guardian employee and the most outspoken of the three, said he thinks it was just “Jah works” how the group came together.

“We all used to play for a football side called Bonair West United,” said Taylor. According to him, during intermission of one of their games six years ago they discovered each other’s love for making conscious music. “From there we decided to come together and do something.”

Stating that their first recording was done at Sound Motions Studio in Arouca (currently under construction), Taylor said: “At the time a reggae instrumental called the ‘legislation riddim’ already had four artistes on it and we were told there could only be room for one more recording—this is how we end up doing a song together call the Alpha and the Omega.”

The group was not hesitant to say when asked, that due to the radio politics among deejays the song did not get much airplay. “But we get nuff love from CD vendors, this is what build we recognition,” said Mark.

Inspiration from Jah

Now working out of Jackie’s Corosive Studio in Point Fortin, the group made special mention of Sean and Romel, the studio’s producers, saying that they have really worked hard getting their music out to radio stations and have pushed them a lot since they launched out.

Asked how they are inspired to write? In unison they concur it is a collaborative effort.

“Everybody comes up with their own part while we vibes on a rhythm,” revealed Taylor. “All our inspiration comes from Jah; we acknowledge Jesus Christ as Lord and Saviour and our music reflects this. Man are just mere mortal vessels and instruments of the Father’s word,” he added.

The young 20-something-year olds, who seem very much inclined to the teachings of the Bible as they continuously quote scriptures from it as they spoke, said they are on a mission to prove that “rastafari is a peaceful people.”

Mark explained: “Too often we are chastised and judged unfairly by the law.”

Taking music international

“International!” was the immediate response with respect to where the group sees its music going. “Four corners of the earth, because it is the last sign of revelation. The entire world must know about Jehovah as Lord and Saviour.”

According to Mark he says the world is the way it is today because people refuse to call upon Jah.

“There are 24 hours in a day and people find it hard to just spend five minutes a day to hail the King, yet we can spend so much time in front the television or on MySpace and Facebook.

“Man was made to serve Jah, the entire world off-course because people don’t acknowledge God,” he lamented.

Advice from the conscious

The talented trio also offered words of advice to anyone desiring to follow in their footsteps. “Yuh will get nuff fightdown, but seek Jah first and all things will be added unto you. Survive the journey.”