March 28, 2024, 03:02:55 AM

Author Topic: Trini hits now on net  (Read 3426 times)

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
Trini hits now on net
« on: February 09, 2007, 12:59:11 PM »

Music lovers worldwide can now download Trinidadian music off the Internet-for a small fee.

Trinihits.com, which features current and vintage local hits, was launched on Tuesday at the Cascadia Hotel in St Ann's.

The website is the latest offering of Peter Gillette, chairman of the Gillette Group of Companies.

Gillette said at the launch that the venture would provide local artistes with the opportunity for greater income and exposure to the global market.

CEO of the Copyright Organisation of Trinidad and Tobago, Allison Demas, expressed COTT's approval of the initiative.

Trinihits.com was officially launched by Minister of Community Development, Culture and Gender Affairs, Joan Yuille-Williams.

Those present at the ceremony included Minister in the Ministry of Culture, Eulalie James, Tourism Minister Howard Chin Lee, Lord Superior and Lutalo Massimba, also known as "Brother Resistance".

Brother Resistance, in his speech, summed up the feelings engendered by the new website.

"Either they take we jus' so, den, or they clear the way leh we pass!"

Re: Trini hits now on net
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2007, 01:43:48 PM »
Very nice. It's more comprehensive and up to date than http://isoca.ca and anything else I've seen.

Only thing in terms of browsing is the songs can't be categorized by the album they appear on. There doesn't seem to be any album info.

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2007, 01:47:38 PM »
this is excellent....i jes buy 2 songs dere yesterday....

hopefully it'll take off...but i skeptical cause trini like tings free.........

« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2007, 01:58:40 PM »
here's the link for people that lazy and doh want to use keyboard:  ;D

http://www.trinihits.com

« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2007, 04:32:44 PM »
Finally ..

I will buy ...

« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2007, 05:36:53 PM »
Dis is de damn ting self. It perfect fuh Soca music since few people does put out quality albums. Most of de focus is on one or two chunes.

« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2007, 07:56:45 PM »
de road march section not bad .. daiz is most complete selection of road march songs i see in one place.

« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2007, 05:08:34 PM »
waaaaaaaaaayz...dis site is a goldmine.....jes buy 17 more songs...lol

i waiting for machel - down de road   ;D

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2007, 10:52:02 PM »

i waiting for machel - down de road ;D
Ah hope after carnival de don't stop updating the website!!! :-\

« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2007, 08:01:16 AM »

i waiting for machel - down de road ;D
Ah hope after carnival de don't stop updating the website!!! :-\

agreed...but knowing de name of the site....i have a feeling they will not update it as frequently......

i just hope they update it when vincy carnival and cropover around....cause they have some bess tunes around dat time......

dey have "don't let me go" by the grenadian nika on now...so i praying dey still keep it up to date with other caribbean artists  :praying:

Offline Daddyo

« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2007, 11:03:33 AM »
thats a great  site for someone like me,i wouldnt know where to start when looking for info about music from trinidad.ive loved my reggae in the past,but know very little on the Soca front. :beermug:
If we had some bacon,we could have some bacon and eggs........................................................................................................................................................if we had some eggs.

« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2007, 11:32:19 AM »
thats a great  site for someone like me,i wouldnt know where to start when looking for info about music from trinidad.ive loved my reggae in the past,but know very little on the Soca front. :beermug:
these are the sites I go to and create my own cd's ;) ;)

choose what  music you want to listen to
http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/index.htm
and also do the same here
http://www.trinijunglejuice.com/music.html
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Daddyo

« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2007, 11:40:00 AM »
cheers westcoastT!my brain cant get round the fast soca,but i love the slower stuff! :beermug:
If we had some bacon,we could have some bacon and eggs........................................................................................................................................................if we had some eggs.

Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Daddyo

« Reply #14 on: February 12, 2007, 11:55:49 AM »
Yeh,thats more my style.Love it. 8)

« Reply #15 on: February 12, 2007, 11:56:43 AM »
man, how could i forget Calypso Rose
http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/vintage/soca_jam.htm
last one

Offline Daddyo

« Reply #16 on: February 12, 2007, 11:58:51 AM »
Aaaaaaaaaahhhhhh,stop it!!!!!!!!Its 2 degreees here,and that stuff makes me want to be on the beach!! :beermug:

« Reply #17 on: February 12, 2007, 12:07:25 PM »
Aaaaaaaaaahhhhhh,stop it!!!!!!!!Its 2 degreees here,and that stuff makes me want to be on the beach!! :beermug:
you fellas have this beach
« Last Edit: February 12, 2007, 12:10:32 PM by WestCoastTrini »

Offline Daddyo

« Reply #18 on: February 12, 2007, 12:53:18 PM »
yep,but id rather be on one of your beaches.

« Reply #19 on: February 12, 2007, 01:06:22 PM »
ok you are right
Store Bay will win every time ;D ;D

Offline Daddyo

« Reply #20 on: February 12, 2007, 01:07:37 PM »
 ;DIll get there one day,one day...........