April 28, 2024, 04:31:48 PM

Author Topic: Grandfather saves boy from 16-foot Anaconda  (Read 5335 times)

Grandfather saves boy from 16-foot Anaconda
« on: February 09, 2007, 08:59:30 PM »
Associated Press

SAO PAULO - An eight year old Brazilian boy is doing fine after his grandfather rescued him from the crushing grip of a 16 foot long anaconda.

Matheus Pereira de Araujo and his cousin, Flavio, were playing near a river on his grandfather's farm when the snake attacked.

The snake struck Matheus on the chest and began coiling around the young boy. The bite of an anaconda is not fatal; instead it allows the snake to hold on to their prey while coiling around them.

Anacondas are considered the largest snakes in the world, not necessarily for their length but their girth. They have been known to be as large around as a grown man and have been recorded at lengths up to 30 feet.

They rely on their enormous size and power to subdue their victims by asphyxiation or drowning.

As the boy's cousin ran for help, his grandfather, Joaquim Pereira was driving through the farm and heard their screams.

The 66 year old ran to the river bed and began wrestling with the snake. "I started fighting the animal and tried to loosen its grip on the boy's neck but the snake was too strong," Mr. Pereira told local reporters.

He then attacked with stones and a machete for nearly half an hour to free his grandson from the snake's grip.

The elder Pereira said the snake tried to wrap around his legs as well as his grandson's neck. "I kept hitting it with the machete but it felt like a rubber tire, it wouldn't tear," he told Bom Dia, the local newspaper.

A local snake specialist, Arif Cais, told the BBC that given the snake's incredible power "the grandfather's strength must have multiplied because of emotion." The zoologist also noted that if not for his grandfather, Matheus would have likely been drowned and eaten by the anaconda.

Eventually, Joaquim Pereira freed his grandson by killing the snake. His grandson was taken to a local hospital where he received 21 stitches to repair the bite wound on his chest that the snake inflicted.

He was released soon after and is in good condition, even venturing back to the river with his grandfather and the local news to where the dead snake lies sprawled across river rocks.

Of the giant snake coiled around his screaming grandson, Pereira told reporters "it was the most terrible scene that I've ever seen in my life." His grandson agrees and said "my grandfather is a hero."

« Last Edit: February 09, 2007, 09:14:38 PM by Grande man »

Re: Grandfather saves boy from 16-foot Anaconda
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2007, 09:01:46 PM »
Associated Press

SAO PAULO, Brazil - A 66-year-old Brazilian saved his grandson from the grip of a 16-foot-long anaconda by beating the snake with rocks and a knife for half an hour, police said Thursday.

“When I saw the snake wrapped around my grandson’s neck I thought it was going to kill him,” Joaquim Pereira told the Agencia Estado news service. “It was agonizing, I pulled it from one side, but it would come back on the other.”

Pereira’s 8-year-old grandson, Mateus, was attacked by the anaconda near a creek on his grandfather’s ranch in the city of Cosmorama, about 250 miles northwest of Sao Paulo.

While the boy was playing with friends, the snake attacked and wrapped itself around him, police officer Hudson Augusto said. Anacondas are not poisonous, but kill their prey by coiling around them and squeezing until victims suffocate.
“It brought me to the ground and bit me,” the boy told Globo TV, which showed footage of the dead snake. “Then it started crawling up my neck and began suffocating me.”

Mateus’ friends ran to get his grandfather, who reached the scene and battled with the snake until it released his grandson.

The boy was rushed to a hospital and needed 21 stitches on his chest where he was bitten.

Police said anacondas are not uncommon in the region, but attacks on people are rare.

Lucky  :o :o :o :o

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2007, 09:38:25 PM »
Boy if anybody hadda be kilin ah snake of half hour straight.  :o.....dais ah serious snake oui

I ha some family members , if dey ever get squeeze so I might get tired after 10 minutes ah killin and gih de snake de win oui

« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2007, 10:27:43 PM »
Boy if anybody hadda be kilin ah snake of half hour straight.  :o.....dais ah serious snake oui

I ha some family members , if dey ever get squeeze so I might get tired after 10 minutes ah killin and gih de snake de win oui

who knows, yuh might ketch a vaps and last real long...a researcher say de man get extra stamina from heightened emotions and sense of urgency

so yuh eh go even have to use a red bull

some trivia I didn't know: largest anaconda ever found (this was around 2001) was discovered in Gran Couva, Trinidad...over 30 feet..dat is one big macaguel

I think de record has since been broken though

« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2007, 11:51:25 PM »
Dat is real messed up!  De man jus coolin it in de bush and get swallowed in de night jus so :-\ :-\ :-\ :-\ :-\