March 28, 2024, 11:18:07 AM

Author Topic: One word to describe Carlos Edwards today  (Read 7237 times)

Offline Cartman

One word to describe Carlos Edwards today
« on: February 17, 2007, 11:36:44 AM »
Magnificent
Roy Keane's Red & White Army

Offline China Hoi Tinmarra

Re: One word to describe Carlos Edwards today
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2007, 11:39:41 AM »
Awesome, at least listening to the game here in China he was! ;)

« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2007, 11:40:24 AM »
Please elaborate cartman!

Did u see the game?

« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2007, 11:42:24 AM »
Magnificent

Thank you, on his behalf. ;D . Did you see or hear like we did.

And if yuh want some more Trinis on the team, we could easily organize.   :D

Offline Cartman

« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2007, 11:48:20 AM »

Did u see the game?

Yes I was there, he was bloody brilliant, now I know why you guys rave about him on here so much. He turned the full back inside out many times and put some fantastic crosses in. I have not seen wing play like that for years, easily man of the match and that is some accolade as the whole team played very well today.

I was our best performance of the season, John led the line well and took his goals well. We should have had 2 penalties (that's 65 games without a pen) and we hit the post twice. We should have won the game 8 - 0  ;D

« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2007, 11:53:04 AM »

Did u see the game?

Yes I was there, he was bloody brilliant, now I know why you guys rave about him on here so much. He turned the full back inside out many times and put some fantastic crosses in. I have not seen wing play like that for years, easily man of the match and that is some accolade as the whole team played very well today.

I was our best performance of the season, John led the line well and took his goals well. We should have had 2 penalties (that's 65 games without a pen) and we hit the post twice. We should have won the game 8 - 0  ;D

Thanks for the report Cartman.

Offline Cartman

« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2007, 12:00:43 PM »
IT looks like sunderland headed 4 premiership.

« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2007, 12:06:13 PM »
SOCCERNET.COM REPORT HERE

Sunderland 4-0 Southend PA

Stern John opened his account as Sunderland's promotion charge continued at the expense of Coca-Cola Championship strugglers Southend with a 4-0 win at the Stadium of Light.

David Connolly opened the scoring in the fourth minute and Swedish winger Tobias Hysen doubled the advantage nine minutes later to effectively seal another precious victory for Roy Keane's in-form side.

But the final say went to Trinidad and Tobago striker John, who found the net twice in as many minutes in the closing stages of the game to claim his first goals since a recent move from Coventry.

This was Sunderland's sixth win in their last seven league encounters and further enhanced their burgeoning promotion credentials.

The result was never in doubt from the moment Connolly clinically dispatched his eighth goal of the season following a #1.4million switch from Wigan last August.

Trinidad and Tobago winger Carlos Edwards crossed from the right flank and Connolly calmly sidefooted the ball past Darryl Flahavan.

It was just the start Keane's men needed and such is the confidence coursing through his side that it did not take long for their second to arrive.

Hysen showed delightful footwork to latch on to Connolly's neat pass before skipping around Lewis Hunt and hitting a fierce shot which flew into the net.

The Wearsiders dominated Steve Tilson's side and their stylish display served to confirm the remarkable turnaround in fortunes engineered by Keane since his appointment last August.

Midfielder Liam Miller played a neat one-two with Dean Whitehead and smashed a shot against Shrimpers defender Peter Clarke.

The hosts went close seven minutes before the break when John headed goalwards to force Flahavan into a fine tip-over save.

To their credit, Southend refused to surrender and came out fighting after the break.

The Essex club arrived on Wearside having collected seven points from their past three games, which included a shock 3-1 win at Birmingham and a stunning 5-0 demolition of relegation rivals QPR.

They were willing enough but Sunderland's extra class always looked likely to prevail as the second half wore on - and so it proved.

Edwards narrowly missed the target in the 70th minute, but John showed them how to do it as he struck in the 77th and 78th minutes.

His first arrived when Whitehead swapped passes with Connolly and hit the ball against a post.

The rebound and fell to John, who tucked the ball away from 12 yards with the minimum of fuss.

And seconds later he had his second as he buried Miller's cross with a 12-yard shot which confirmed Sunderland's dominance.

John scored 29 goals in 74 starts for Coventry but fell out of favour at the Ricoh Arena this season.

With displays like this, he could prove Sunderland's most potent weapon in their quest to avoid the lottery of the play-offs and claim an automatic promotion spot. 
« Last Edit: February 17, 2007, 12:08:27 PM by palos »

Offline Cartman

« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2007, 12:06:54 PM »
also, Yorke was rested today as he is on 4 bookings so Keane did not want him to get suspended, his midfiled partner Dean Whitehead was also on 4 and got booked today so he will miss the Derby game

« Reply #10 on: February 17, 2007, 12:13:36 PM »
ANy clips of the goals?

« Reply #11 on: February 17, 2007, 12:21:04 PM »
will sunderland be able to hold on to to edwards come next season if they aren't promoted?

he's clearly prem material and is surely being scouted.

Offline safcpat

« Reply #12 on: February 17, 2007, 01:35:49 PM »
will sunderland be able to hold on to to edwards come next season if they aren't promoted?

he's clearly prem material and is surely being scouted.

I pray he stays with us,.it was a brilliant day to-day,John deserved his goals and I agree with Cartman, although it was a brilliant all-round team performance, Carlos was my MOM.Please Carlos, stay with us :-*
and it was good to see your flag flying at the SOL to-day
I like you, you remind me of when I was young and stupid

« Reply #13 on: February 17, 2007, 01:49:54 PM »
Carlos won't leave. Loyal warrior who knows when he is in a good thing and recognizes that patience is best. Sunlun is the best environment for Warriors right now. Total football (instead of the boom-kick variety) goes down well with our Trini ball skills.

Offline christiano

« Reply #14 on: February 17, 2007, 01:56:21 PM »
Carlos won't leave. Loyal warrior who knows when he is in a good thing and recognizes that patience is best. Sunlun is the best environment for Warriors right now. Total football (instead of the boom-kick variety) goes down well with our Trini ball skills.

Carlos Edwards story is a great one. From almost being a religiou worker as was expected by he Father to a demanded player in England is truly a touching story.

Carlos i think will be loyal to the team that he thinks he will have the greater playing time rather than making a move to a "bigger" team where his playing time may be less.

« Reply #15 on: February 17, 2007, 01:59:13 PM »
all in all, beat was sharing like hot pelau

a day in the football life of Carlos Edwards

class act

« Reply #16 on: February 17, 2007, 02:01:07 PM »

Offline christiano

« Reply #17 on: February 17, 2007, 02:08:07 PM »
How things change . Anyone realised that the last time Sun played Southend that Sunderland lost?

Sat., Aug. 19 Southend Utd 3 : 1  Sunderland

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #18 on: February 17, 2007, 02:49:42 PM »

Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

Offline Joe Public

« Reply #19 on: February 17, 2007, 03:16:29 PM »
Was over the moon with carlos edwards today, his workrate was second to none, and those who doubted the quality of his final ball were left in no doubt as to what he can do.  Today seemed like a turning point for us, everything seemed to be coming together, everyone pulling in the right direction.  Yes, i'm drunk, but very proud and very pleased of what i seen today.   :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

Ha'way me bonny bonny bairns! ;D
The big boys are in the butchers.

Offline Padams

• Great are the Warriors///We shall Prevail!!!!
« Reply #20 on: February 17, 2007, 03:24:59 PM »
Big up to Sunderland and more so to Stern and Carlos on a great performance... Keep up the good work fellas and keep dat Trini flag flying high in SOL!!!

Yo Cartman!! Alyuh should try and get Maximum Dan's 'FIGHTERS' on the airways all over Sunderland Big Big Tune  ;D
Iz not Pre-Marital Sex, if yuh have no intention 2 geh Married..........

Offline Joe Public

« Reply #21 on: February 17, 2007, 03:37:46 PM »
I got a photo of the T&T flag which is up in the south west corner today, my fone is rubbish so it might not be too clear, but i'll try and post it when i'm sober.  ;D
The big boys are in the butchers.

Offline dervaig

« Reply #22 on: February 17, 2007, 04:35:32 PM »
Big week upcoming for Sunderland.

@ Birmingham on Tuesday, @ home to Derby on
Saturday.

Full points in these games will bring the Prem that
much closer, anything less will hurt.

Offline Cartman

« Reply #23 on: February 17, 2007, 06:13:51 PM »
How things change . Anyone realised that the last time Sun played Southend that Sunderland lost?

your point is..................

« Reply #24 on: February 17, 2007, 07:00:09 PM »
I got a photo of the T&T flag which is up in the south west corner today, my fone is rubbish so it might not be too clear, but i'll try and post it when i'm sober.  ;D
Thanks Joe

???
not too sure what ya gettin at Christiano
maybe was an off day, but i doubt that Sunderland will have any more off days. ;) ;)
« Last Edit: February 17, 2007, 07:03:07 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #25 on: February 17, 2007, 07:07:46 PM »
???
maybe was an off day, but i doubt that Sunderland will have any more off days. ;) ;)

his point is Sunderland is a much improved squad. last time they met this team they were hammered..now they hammered them. it's a simple point of how good things have turned around after a dire start to the season. cheers all.  :beermug:

Offline Cartman

« Reply #26 on: February 17, 2007, 07:15:14 PM »
???

his point is Sunderland is a much improved squad. last time they met this team they were hammered..now they hammered them. it's a simple point of how good things have turned around after a dire start to the season. cheers all.  :beermug:

I agree mate, we have turned around our season and we are looking like promotion is a possiblity....fk me I hope so

« Reply #27 on: February 17, 2007, 07:19:42 PM »
He was absolutely great..........

Offline Cartman

« Reply #28 on: February 17, 2007, 08:06:04 PM »

today is the first time I have seen the flag but hey I love it... :beermug:

Offline black chinee

« Reply #29 on: February 17, 2007, 08:13:08 PM »
Great to see the lads bois getting on well........ real real happy to hear that