March 28, 2024, 11:09:12 AM

Author Topic: US soccer boss eyes bid for 2018 World Cup  (Read 3009 times)

US soccer boss eyes bid for 2018 World Cup
« on: February 20, 2007, 09:10:59 PM »
Mods ... if this has been posted .. .please merge

World Cup back in North Amercia .. not if England has its way ...

US soccer boss eyes bid for 2018 World Cup: report

Tue Feb 20, 1:02 PM

WASHINGTON (AFP) - US Soccer Federation president Sunil Gulati told US media that his group is preparing a bid for the 2018 World Cup and positioning US cities to be ready as a backup for the 2014 edition.

The Washington Post reported that the federation will form an organizing committee this weekend at annual meetings in Los Angeles and prepare to advise world governing body FIFA of its intent to launch a 2018 bid.

The only men's World Cup hosted by the United States was in 1994, which was a success in terms of attendance and staging. The Americans have improved their reputation among global football squads since, reaching the last eight in 2002.

"We've got some history and a track record," Gulati told the Post. "We showed in 1994 that the US is capable of hosting a terrific event.

"Now with the way the soccer landscape in this country has evolved, we would be in position to put on a spectacular event. We are much more a part of the sport internationally than we were in 1994."

England is also planning a 2018 bid, with British Finance Minister Gordon Brown saying earlier this month that the government will back any bid by England's Football Association (FA) to host the 2018 World Cup.

FIFA is not expected to make a decision on a 2018 host until 2011 or 2012. South Africa will host the next World Cup in 2010 with the 2014 event set to be hosted in South America.

England's only time as host of the World Cup was in 1966 and that was also the only time the English have won the Cup.

German football legend Franz Beckenbauer, president of Germany's 2006 World Cup organizing committee, has called England "the only country with an obvious chance" of hosting the 2018 World Cup.

But there have been US upsets of England before, notably a 1-0 victory at the 1950 World Cup in Brazil.

The US bid comes as England's David Beckham prepares to leave Real Madrid in July to join the Los Angeles Galaxy for a 250 million-dollar deal that has sparked new excitement over the sport in America.

The 1994 US World Cup set a record for average attendance at 68,991 over nine venues.

Brazil and Colombia have indicated interest in hosting the 2014 World Cup but FIFA president Sepp Blatter has said he would move the event to another continent if no South American candidate is prepared to host.

Gulati told the post the US plan is aimed at 2018 but added, "Obviously FIFA knows what we are capable of and if something else changed we would be open to any other possibilities."

The US record includes a historic Women's World Cup in 1999 that drew 100,000 spectators to the US-China final and a 2003 Women's World Cup that was taken over on short notice when an outbreak of SARS forced a move from China.

FIFA is expected to name a 2014 site in November. Brazil, a five-time World Cup champion, has not hosted since 1950. South America has not hosted a World Cup since Argentina did so in 1978.

Gulati described FIFA as "very open" to a 2018 US bid and said feedback was "very positive from regional officials in the Confederation of North, Central and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF).

USA 2018 / 2022 World Cup Bid Host Cities Announced
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2010, 03:26:22 PM »
i hope they get it for the sake of us in FL / GA and the Caribbean. it go be a fete. imagine if trinidad qualify and playing in the SE or NE....bachannal!

http://footballfashion.wordpress.com/2010/01/12/united-state-fifa-world-cup-2018-2022-bid-official-host-cities/

Re: USA 2018 / 2022 World Cup Bid Host Cities Announced
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2010, 06:31:54 PM »
surprised none in San Jose

« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2010, 06:39:01 PM »

San Jose has no venue, Stanford they say is too small now, Oakland Coliseum and Candlestick Park are old and not the right shape.
Until the 49ers get their new stadium built in Santa Clara there won't be a decent World Cup level facility in the Bay Area.

San Diego's Qualcom and LA's Coliseum and Rose Bowl are it for the moment.

« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2010, 06:41:12 PM »
I have questions about Tampa Bay and Nashville.

-------------------

San Jose ent get it because they ent have a stadium to host a World Cup game.  For the same reason I was surprised at first that Columbus ent get one... but truth is as fine as those "soccer specific" MLS stadia are, they are purposely built to only accommodate 35,000 or so spectators to keep the atmosphere "cozy", and not the 70-80,000 that a World Cup event commands.

Re: US soccer boss eyes bid for 2018 World Cup
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2010, 07:43:40 PM »
No Obamatown(chicago)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2010, 06:23:34 AM »
I suprised as Kaiserslautern in Germany only had a capacity of 44,000

« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2010, 11:37:16 AM »
I suprised as Kaiserslautern in Germany only had a capacity of 44,000
There were a number of cities that had less Leipzig, Nuremburg..

But we know attendance in US was high in '94 (avg 69,000), so they need to bring out the highest capacity stadiums.

« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2010, 11:41:06 AM »
i feel USA go get one of them cup. they have bigger stadiums and immigrant population to fill nuff seats + the tourists.

bigger stadiums = more seat = more tix sold = more money for FIFA.

is all bout the bottom line.

« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2010, 11:46:06 AM »
I hope they get it. Cheaper for me.

« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2010, 01:31:07 PM »

:cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Fire bun Hengland!!.... :devil: ;D

« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2010, 01:36:03 PM »

And ah hope Seattle host the games with T&T's group  :devil:

« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2010, 02:58:11 PM »
Seattle??!!   Ent there does be cold ALL THE TIME??!!  :-\ :-\

East Coast, Florida, Atlanta....I good with that...

but before we reach dey......T&T in the World Cup??  In 2018??  Yeah right  ::) ::)!!

« Reply #13 on: January 13, 2010, 03:05:41 PM »
i feel USA go get one of them cup. they have bigger stadiums and immigrant population to fill nuff seats + the tourists.

bigger stadiums = more seat = more tix sold = more money for FIFA.
is all bout the bottom line.

To your point... and Deeks they address Chicago's exclusion as well:

Atlanta — Georgia Dome (70,868)
Baltimore – M&T Bank Stadium (71,008)
Boston – Gillette Stadium (73,393)
Dallas – Cowboys Stadium (91,600) and the Cotton Bowl (89,000)
Denver – Invesco Field (75,165)
Houston – Reliant Stadium (76,000)
Indianapolis – Lucas Oil Stadium (66,500)
Kansas City — Arrowhead Stadium (75,364)
Los Angeles — Rose Bowl (89,109) and Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum (93,607)
Miami – Dolphin Stadium (80,240)
Nashville – LP Field (75,000)
New Jersey — New Meadowlands Stadium (84,046)
Philadelphia – Lincoln Financial Field (69,111)
Phoenix – University of Phoenix Stadium (71,362)
San Diego — Qualcomm Stadium (67,700)
Seattle – Qwest Field (68,056) and Husky Stadium (72,500)
Tampa – Raymond James Stadium (75,000)
Washington – FedEx Field (86,690)

“With Chicago, I think there was some Olympic fatigue,” Gulati said, referring to that city’s unsuccessful bid to host the Summer Games in 2016. “And in this group, Soldier Field was one of the smallest stadiums.”

----------------

...The 21 stadiums, Gulati said, have an average capacity of more than 70,000, which would mean that more than 5 million tickets would be available for the 64-game, 32-team tournament — a figure that is 33 percent more than in 1994, when the World Cup in the U.S. set an attendance record that still stands, with a field of only 24 teams.

http://goal.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/01/12/us-selects-18-cities-and-21-stadiums-as-potential-world-cup-hosts/

« Reply #14 on: January 13, 2010, 03:06:46 PM »

but before we reach dey......T&T in the World Cup??  In 2018??  Yeah right  ::) ::)!!

DeSoWa might better say, but Seattle rains all the time but the pacific northwest usually has a balmy climate... not that cold.

« Reply #15 on: January 13, 2010, 03:54:32 PM »

DeSoWa might better say, but Seattle rains all the time but the pacific northwest usually has a balmy climate... not that cold.

Tat is the "norm" but not with the global "warming" and "cooling that's been going on these days. The one thin I like about Seattle is now not a guarrantee...we normally have a cool summer avg 75F deg (about 24C) and a warm Winter avg 45F deg (about 7C) but last Summer I experienced my hottest weather ever 103F (about 40C) and this winter so far my coldest 13F (about -10C) Still plenty rain, which I like that's what keep the winter days "warm" with the cloud cover, when it was cold it was actually "sunny"  ;D

Anyways to answer your question Sugar, it won't be that cold, it would be a nice cool temp to enjoy yourself, especially with the JW Black bottle ah hear you does walk rong with  :devil:

« Last Edit: January 13, 2010, 03:56:18 PM by DeSoWa »

« Reply #16 on: January 13, 2010, 04:36:14 PM »

for real :devil:

« Reply #17 on: January 13, 2010, 05:26:41 PM »

for real :devil:
eh heh...same ting  here
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.