April 24, 2024, 12:19:01 AM

Author Topic: Manzanilla Cooldown runs into hot water  (Read 7784 times)

Manzanilla Cooldown runs into hot water
« on: February 14, 2007, 08:42:27 PM »
By Jada Loutoo

Fatigued masqueraders may have to find another way to cool down this Ash Wednesday as a Sangre Grande magistrate has pulled the plug on the annual Manzanilla Cool Down fete.

Senior Magistrate Cherill-Anne Blake yesterday denied fete promoters, Anil Ali and Lyndon Jo Jo” Legall, a licence to host the popular beach event.

The event has been, in the past, marred with fights, robberies, and last year’s the debacle of alleged lewd dancing by patrons and these were cited by Magistrate Blake, who said the event had become “ungovernable.”

Already, promoters Ali and Legall—through their lawyer Indar Jagroo—have filed an emergency appeal, challenging the magistrate’s decision.

In an interview yesterday, Jagroo said the magistrate turned down the application for the licence based on the number of arrests made by police last year.

Some 19 people were arrested for various offences.

She also cited the alleged incident of lewd dancing at the event, despite there being a somewhat heavy police presence.

But, Jagroo said the alleged crimes were committed within the confines of the fete— held on the Manzanilla Resort compound—but on the outskirts within a one-mile radius.

Jagroo argued that the fete’s promoters had no control over the behaviour of the public, adding that there were no objectors present in court yesterday.

He is hoping for a hearing of the appeal filed, either today or tomorrow.

The popular event has been subjected to attacks by the clergy with Roman Catholic priest Fr Michael Makhan, saying traditional Ash Wednesday church services have been forced to stop because of the fete and the traffic and noise associated with it.

The Inter-Religious Organisation also frowned on the event, saying there should be no feteing on Ash Wednesday.

Promoters had promised a more large-scale event with performances by Bunji Garlin and his Asylum band, Faye Ann Lyons-Alvarez, Prophet Benjamin, King David, Ziggy Ranking, Blazer, Crazy, Blackie and Impulse, among other local and foreign acts.

Improved parking facilities and tighter security were also assured for Carnival’s last hurrah, as described by the promoters.

©2005-2006 Trinidad Publishing Company 

Re: Manzanilla Cooldown runs into hot water
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2007, 09:34:51 PM »
Yeah why not...I not against people havin fun

but dem ting start to get outta hand for lil trini ....same reason de pull de plug on freaknik in de Atl

lawd dem was memories  ;D

« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2007, 10:09:19 PM »
By Jada Loutoo

The popular event has been subjected to attacks by the clergy with Roman Catholic priest Fr Michael Makhan, saying traditional Ash Wednesday church services have been forced to stop because of the fete and the traffic and noise associated with it.

The Inter-Religious Organisation also frowned on the event, saying there should be no feteing on Ash Wednesday.

let them keep quiet ... next thing they will bawl no kind ah party during lent and  Ramadan then no party on xmas night ...

« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2007, 10:11:17 PM »
FETE TOO LEWD

Magistrate refuses liquor licence for Manzanilla Cooldown

Trevor Burnett

Thursday, February 15th 2007

There will be no Ash Wednesday Cooldown at Manzanilla Beach this year, if a Sangre Grande magistrate has her way.

Senior Magistrate Cheryl Ann Blake yesterday refused to grant the bar licence for the staging of the annual beach lime.

Magistrate Blake, however, instructed the applicant, Joseph "Jo-Jo" Legall, of his right to apply to a judge in chamber for the licence.

In her ruling, the magistrate said, "The immoral stripping by young women and the intolerable lawlessness of patrons without the police performing their duty, which was publicised, does not augur well."

She was referring to last year's event, in which several female patrons exposed themselves while performing during a competition.

They were competing for an outfit sponsored by a popular Arima store and $100 donated by a member of the audience.

Contacted on the matter yesterday, Legall said, "I feel the matter should not be publicised and made to be scandalous, since we have a good chance of getting the licence from the judge in chamber."

Legall will have to wait until tomorrow, when his attorney will address the judge in chamber for the granting of the all-important bar licence.

The Manzanilla Ash Wednesday Cooldown was started by radio personality Tony Philips in 1998, which then rivalled the traditional Maracas Ash Wednesday Cooldown.

Today, the franchise has changed promotional hands and has grown into one of the biggest post-Carnival activities in Trinidad and Tobago.

At a post-Carnival news conference on April 2, 2006, Commissioner of Police Trevor Paul said an investigation was being launched into the conduct of police officers at the 2006 Manzanilla Ash Wednesday Cooldown.

The investigation surrounded female participants engaging in obscene behaviour, exposing their private parts for the crowd.

Commissioner Paul had promised that action would be taken against officers, who it is alleged were aware of the activities and did nothing to stop the vulgarity.

He also ordered that the people guilty of participating in the offensive behaviour be sought out and prosecuted.

Similar investigations are being conducted by former Chief of Defence Staff Brigadier Ancil Antoine, whose soldiers were also present at the incident.

If any action was taken in these investigations, they were not made public.

Two weeks ago, at a joint news conference with head of the Special Anti-Crime Unit of Trinidad and Tobago Brigadier Peter Joseph and Chief of Defence Staff Brigadier Edmund Dillon to discuss security plans for Carnival 2007, Commissioner Paul noted that there would be a police presence at both pre-Carnival and post-Carnival activities, including the cooler fetes, and that there would be no repeat of obscene behaviour which occurred at last year's "Carnival Cool Down" in Manzanilla.

He added that if it did reoccur there would be "prompt action to stop it".

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2007, 11:37:43 PM »
i guess dey go have to head down to the Moruga Beach Cool Down...
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2007, 03:06:59 AM »

Police watching women expose demselves an police watching police watch women expose demselves  ;D ;D

Offline Crissy D

« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2007, 12:01:45 PM »
At least somebody decided to take a stand for the youths of Trinidad & Tobago....
Let Dem Take dat in the roo-tung-ku-toong-toong.... Dem girls was on display, like pork hang up in the market on a h Sunday, whilst the kiddies was around & then when porn takin place in the school yard, they askin why......Steups

« Last Edit: February 21, 2007, 07:28:48 AM by Crissy D »
If yuh have it..........flaunt it!

« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2007, 12:21:31 PM »
At least somebody decided to take a stand for the youths of Trinidad & Tobago....
Let Dem Take dat in the roo-tung-ku-toong-toong.... Dem girls was on display, like pork hang up in the market on a h Sunday, whilst the kiddies was around & then when porn takin place in the school yard, they askin why......Steups
yuh right. when i use to go back ind e 90's u could see it getting progressivley more and more lewd.
they really needed to d o somin
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2007, 02:02:13 PM »
yuh right. when i use to go back ind e 90's u could see it getting progressivley more and more lewd.

wha if allyuh conservative people doh like it doh go. dem who want to see the lewd nees go everyman to his own .....

« Reply #9 on: February 16, 2007, 02:04:58 PM »

wha if allyuh conservative people doh like it doh go. dem who want to see the lewd nees go everyman to his own .....

man have u ever been to one? i not conservative at all but its disgusting . but yuh right. to each his own. if u like dem kinda hting ..i cyah vex with u man
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #10 on: February 16, 2007, 03:11:28 PM »
nope i have never been i only been to maracas and that was 1997 .... when i used to live in trinidad  . if dat is wha people like they like .. ...

yuh eh conservative but it just out ah yuh range  so yuh find it disgusting ;D  but the the people who like it its normal and fun. to them.. ....  let them enjoy dont stop they fun

« Reply #11 on: February 16, 2007, 03:14:59 PM »
nope i have never been i only been to maracas and that was 1997 .... when i used to live in trinidad  . if dat is wha people like they like .. ...

yuh eh conservative but it just out ah yuh range  so yuh find it disgusting ;D  but the the people who like it its normal and fun. to them.. ....  let them enjoy dont stop they fun

lol true..but man that lime does breed real fight n shit also  rela plenty. i thought they woulda stop that fete years ago jus cause ha de fight cause de whole of arima does be there./..nuff said. with hwo things now i knwo it go be real fight n thing. but one thign it doe shave real real real plenty policeofficers and defence force

« Reply #12 on: February 16, 2007, 03:49:12 PM »
just now dem puckers dem go stop carnival too!!!!!!!! bout lewd behavior??  low de people dem nuh!!!!!!!!!!!
war..

Offline Crissy D

NO MAYARO COOL DOWN
« Reply #13 on: February 21, 2007, 06:46:49 AM »
The Police Commissioner Trevor Paul made the decision to blank the event yesterday evening due to concerns of public safety, whilst promoters were still making finishing touches. Both Promoters & Vendors faced losses, the Promoters claim to have lost an estimated $250,000.00. Walk wit yuh ipod & chill!
« Last Edit: February 21, 2007, 06:51:30 AM by Crissy D »

Offline Crissy D

« Reply #14 on: February 21, 2007, 07:28:30 AM »
Aye, Lemmeh tell allyuh sumting...... Only slackers will tolerate & do dem kinda ting in front of kids, READ PROPERLY, "to each his own", I agree 110%, but for those who want to see they slackness........ it have places like Villa & ting , go dey! :-[

Re: NO MAYARO COOL DOWN
« Reply #15 on: February 21, 2007, 07:50:20 AM »
The Police Commissioner Trevor Paul made the decision to blank the event yesterday evening due to concerns of public safety, whilst promoters were still making finishing touches. Both Promoters & Vendors faced losses, the Promoters claim to have lost an estimated $250,000.00. Walk wit yuh ipod & chill!

didn't dey promoters say something about taking it to Moruga ?

« Reply #16 on: February 21, 2007, 09:11:07 AM »

nah cana it was suppose to be form manxan..to mayarooooooooo.. who de ass wanna go moruga for a cool down. unless is 10 pound ah compress they using to coold own.. :devil: ah need ah lil somkin emoticon on this thing

« Reply #17 on: February 21, 2007, 09:44:37 AM »

« Reply #18 on: February 21, 2007, 09:58:23 AM »

nah cana it was suppose to be form manxan..to mayarooooooooo.. who de ass wanna go moruga for a cool down. unless is 10 pound ah compress they using to coold own.. :devil: ah need ah lil somkin emoticon on this thing

i see....
btw when last you went down Moruga ???

« Reply #19 on: February 21, 2007, 10:03:44 AM »

i see....
btw when last you went down Moruga ???
as far as i remember i never been there..  ;D

« Reply #20 on: February 21, 2007, 10:19:43 AM »
well here is one from the newspapers...

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161106791

I'm guessing Mayaro is also out of the question.

Now i don't know if some of you all remember, as soon as midnight reach Carnival Tuesday all feting down until Glorious Saturday morning ???
Gone to work Ash Wednesday as if Carnival never happen. Who have ashes all over dey face as if dey priest see dem throwing waist on dey TV the day before.
What is a cooldown anyway - cause i'm sure theres no resting and relaxation scheduled for that occasion. Stay home and sleep if ya tired  >:(

steups

« Reply #21 on: February 21, 2007, 11:10:33 AM »

Now i don't know if some of you all remember, as soon as midnight reach Carnival Tuesday all feting down until Glorious Saturday morning ???
Gone to work Ash Wednesday as if Carnival never happen. Who have ashes all over dey face as if dey priest see dem throwing waist on dey TV the day before.
What is a cooldown anyway - cause i'm sure theres no resting and relaxation scheduled for that occasion. Stay home and sleep if ya tired  >:(

steups

u never went to radio tempo on manzan back in de day cana??? or even ah maracus cool down.
u sure u have yuh red oman from de east badge? ah will have to reevaluate yuh offical certified red oman standing humph
cool down - dat jus telling u ot go dip in de water oui... cause if like carnival still going on...one set ah stale drunk people..lol

« Reply #22 on: February 21, 2007, 11:57:57 AM »

steups

u never went to radio tempo on manzan back in de day cana??? or even ah maracus cool down.
u sure u have yuh red oman from de east badge? ah will have to reevaluate yuh offical certified red oman standing humph
cool down - dat jus telling u ot go dip in de water oui... cause if like carnival still going on...one set ah stale drunk people..lol

no i have wuk on Ash Wednesday - a couple of years i took Wednesday off and went to Bago and even Maracas but never been to ah actually 'cool down' as allyuh call it.  And watchin dey photos in dey newspaper recently...it look like ah didn't miss much.

« Reply #23 on: February 21, 2007, 12:59:50 PM »

steups

no i have wuk on Ash Wednesday - a couple of years i took Wednesday off and went to Bago and even Maracas but never been to ah actually 'cool down' as allyuh call it.  And watchin dey photos in dey newspaper recently...it look like ah didn't miss much.
well i havent been to one since 99. prior to that them lime was de best. i eh know post 99 nah. dem ole niggas was slowly overunning it. maybe it is agood thng that babylon bops stop it. i have never been to tobago on a ash wednesday.

« Reply #24 on: February 22, 2007, 08:16:38 AM »

Trinidad & Tobago Newsday
Thursday, February 22 2007
Weary revellers head to Moruga, Maracas

THE ANNUAL Ash Wednesday cool down, usually held in Manzanilla but then moved to Mayaro which was also cancelled, came off at the Moruga Beach with hundreds of weary Carnival revellers packing the beach to catch some rest and relaxation.

Another Ash Wednesday destination — Maracas Bay — was also well packed with both locals and tourists.

This year’s cool down was mired in controversy involving the issue of morality and crowd safety which Sangre Grande Magis-trate Cheryl Ann Blake cited as grounds to refuse promoter Lyndon “Jo Jo” Legall a licence. She also spoke about lewd behaviour of some beachgoers at last year’s Manzanilla cool down.

This ruling was appealed but the magistrate’s decision was upheld by the Court of Appeal. The promoter subsequently moved the cool down to Mayaro Beach but this was blocked by the Commissioner of Police which led to Moruga being chosen as the third venue.

Twelve tents erected on Caravan Beach Court remained empty and the beach deserted. Cool down fans woke up yesterday morning to the news that the Mayaro venue was cancelled at the last minute and so headed down to Moruga by the busload.

There were long lines of traffic and patrons complained that there were not enough police to deal with the unexpected crowd. However, officers attached to the Moruga Police Station told Newsday drivers parked their vehicles badly which created the traffic woes.

The Moruga beach party got into full swing late yesterday where Maximus Dan and calypsonian Crazy, were listed to perform. Up to 5 pm, cars were backed up for miles as fete lovers tried to reach the Moruga beach.

Although no official Carnival cool down celebration was held in Tobago yesterday, hundreds flocked the island’s beaches to relax after the activities of the past few days. Tobago TUCO had initially planned a cool-down at the Fort Grandy beach but gave financial constraints as a reason for its cancellation.

Newsday spoke with several loungers at the Pigeon Point and Store Bay beaches who confirmed that they had come to Tobago to escape the Carnival activities in Trinidad. One such person, Allan Manwah, said that apart from feeling safer in Tobago, he and his family particularly enjoyed the tranquility of the island.

« Reply #25 on: February 22, 2007, 09:06:07 AM »
<stares at Hoe> >:(

Thank you very much dcs
I knew for a fact i wasn't going crazy

so Hoe ah guessing ah few hundreds 'asses' did go to cooldown :mackdaddy:

« Reply #26 on: February 22, 2007, 02:43:33 PM »
<stares at Hoe> >:(

Thank you very much dcs
I knew for a fact i wasn't going crazy

so Hoe ah guessing ah few hundreds 'asses' did go to cooldown :mackdaddy:
ah stand corrected.
 i guess ah few hundred did go...lol.it buss bad bad ah reading