March 28, 2024, 11:11:16 PM

Author Topic: LENT ,LENT  (Read 3846 times)

LENT ,LENT
« on: February 21, 2007, 07:25:44 PM »
As they say lent iz ah time for Christians to  fast for  forty days and forty nights ,from 6. 00 am to 6.00pm . stay away from meat , have pure thought flowing through your mind  constantly.go to church an get yuh ash on yuh forehead . no partying , drinking , no calypso muzik,and at the end of lent you make ah Judas poor and hang it by the neck on ah tree and beat the day light out ah it .poor Judas  he kah dead becaz every year at the end of lent they would beat him,and after all that fasting and prayin yuh kah wait for easter to come quick enough to start partyin and doing the same old thing again until that time come again and yuh start the rotein all over again.

Re: LENT ,LENT
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2007, 08:12:32 AM »
what allyuh giving up?

« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2007, 10:10:36 AM »
sex

« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2007, 11:14:59 AM »
chocolate and cussing for dey 40 days....
beer and meat products on fridays...

« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2007, 02:32:42 PM »
I'm giving up religion.

« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2007, 03:41:30 PM »
I'm giving up religion.

now that's funny  :D

« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2007, 05:58:10 PM »
why iz it we have to give op somtin ? for what,  way that tradition come from ? that we should not do this and that, ah mean i went through that shit  growing up in my parentz house it int change anything . havta go to church from 12 till some time in the evening that useta geh me mad . ah think on good friday they have station ah the cross  and all the ritualsthat go wid it .

« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2007, 08:07:55 PM »
why iz it we have to give op somtin ? for what,  way that tradition come from ? that we should not do this and that, ah mean i went through that shit  growing up in my parentz house it int change anything . havta go to church from 12 till some time in the evening that useta geh me mad . ah think on good friday they have station ah the cross  and all the ritualsthat go wid it .

yuh musbe Baptist  :D

but Lent is not really about giving up tings although that is a common practice.

Lent is a time to reaffirm yuh faith in Christ.  Many people believe that to do so, yuh have to go into self denial, repentance, fasting ect.  Because these practices usually cause yuh to hallucinate and I suppose, in that state, you come to some kind a self realization.  The North American Natives would deprive their bodies to the point where dey would have spiritual visions.

I believe that to reaffirm your faith, you do not have to give up anything.

As long as you find time to focus on the goal of reaffirmation.

I know of one priest whose Lenten practice was to go to a movie at least once a week.  In watching the movies, he would study human behavior and eventually get closer to a spiritual awareness and god

Anyway .. not everybody is believe what I juss say and would call me a heretic .. it has no strong basis in traditional theology.

So I going to have a Guinness and reflect on my spirituality  :beermug:
« Last Edit: February 22, 2007, 08:15:15 PM by p »

« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2007, 08:13:21 PM »
man where you was with dat statement when i was starving mehself for 40 days every year ;D ;D

I believe in that statement big time
I believe it is more of giving up of things that have no redeeming qualities...like
cigarettes, alcohol (buss head from some) and foods that may add to bad health.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2007, 08:20:09 PM »
man where you was with dat statement when i was starving mehself for 40 days every year ;D ;D

I believe it is more of giving up of things that have no redeeming qualities...like

I think that people who "give up" tings have a false sense of security . . after all, if they gave up smoking or booze or extra-marital affairs , dat means dey will be forgiven of their sins.  Is like going to church every Sunday and being there only in body and not in Sprit

« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2007, 08:37:17 PM »
man, I real glad I give up cigarettes many years ago. who knows what my health would be if I had kept smoking 2 packs of cigarettes a day and also the amount of alcohol i used to put back, maybe I would have driven while drunk and kill somebody
so I GLAD as hell.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2007, 08:53:15 PM »
yuh glad az hell or dat waz hell which one . :devil:

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #12 on: February 23, 2007, 08:22:25 AM »
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #13 on: February 23, 2007, 11:24:53 AM »

I think that people who "give up" tings have a false sense of security . . after all, if they gave up smoking or booze or extra-marital affairs , dat means dey will be forgiven of their sins.  Is like going to church every Sunday and being there only in body and not in Sprit

excuse you, infact puddin you  >:(
all meh securities in tact
ah jus stop drinking beer cause ah promote meh self to red wine cause it good fur dey hert
ah trying to stop eating meat period - dey injecting dem chicken to much fur me to stomach.

as fur dey chocolate cake ah promote meh self to vanilla ice cream <stares at Coco>  ;D
cussing...well ah trying to be a lady.
ah say TRYING. >:(
but ah developing ah ucler in meh throat  :'(

« Reply #14 on: February 23, 2007, 11:40:28 AM »
man, I real glad I give up cigarettes many years ago. who knows what my health would be if I had kept smoking 2 packs of cigarettes a day and also the amount of alcohol i used to put back, maybe I would have driven while drunk and kill somebody
so I GLAD as hell.

give yourself a pat on the back for making and following through on that move. My dad started smoking at a VERY early age and a few yrs back he just quit cold turkey.. hopefully this means we will have him around much much  longer.

Every time I go get my wife at work I'm blown away by the number of hospital staff I see huddled in a corner (minus 30 C temp) to take that drag. These people see the effects everyday and yet they chance it by smoking.

again..good move quitting!

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #15 on: February 23, 2007, 12:09:47 PM »
[quote
I think as fur dey chocolate cake ah promote meh self to vanilla ice cream <stares at Coco>  ;D

wha yuh lookin at me for??????  I like coconut ice cream mehself eh...
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #16 on: February 23, 2007, 12:30:26 PM »

« Reply #17 on: February 23, 2007, 07:02:49 PM »
So explain dis lentil ting

I is ah muslim and mih wife is catholic

She say ah cyah gih she no more meat fuh de nex month and ah could only eat she fish on Friday..what de hell dat mean?

« Reply #18 on: February 24, 2007, 12:17:51 AM »
Dat mean put yuh meat in the deep freze for one month, an tor out the fish thursday night for friday ah hope yuh geh it  stew and fry .dize not ah fast dize ah fasting, in other words she givin up food for funk.

« Reply #19 on: February 24, 2007, 01:02:31 AM »
lentil peas

« Reply #20 on: February 24, 2007, 08:54:53 AM »

« Reply #21 on: February 24, 2007, 08:59:38 AM »
yuh glad az hell or dat waz hell which one . :devil:
boat ;)