March 28, 2024, 03:20:25 PM

Author Topic: T&T v Republic of Ireland  (Read 18585 times)

Offline Irishman Don

T&T v Republic of Ireland
« on: July 19, 2005, 06:39:43 AM »
I am looking for any information, especially a match report, from a game played between the Republic of Ireland and Trinidad and Tobago on 30 May 1982 at the Armira Stadium in Port of Spain. Can anyone help me? I have the Irish team and scorers but I do not have anything on T&T, except that they won 2-1. Any help would be great as I need this information for a book which I ma writing. I might as well chance my arm and ask if anyone had any photographs or a programme from this match whichI could use in the book. All the best, Donal Cullen dndcullens@yahoo.ca

Re: T&T v Republic of Ireland
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2005, 07:00:46 AM »
That was a good year for T&T....

10/03/1985 Canada 1 v 2 Trinidad/Tobago Fr.
11/11/1984 Mexico 0 v 2 Trinidad/Tobago  Fr.
16/11/1983 Sweden 0 v 5 Trinidad/Tobago Fr.
30/05/1982 Ireland 1 v 2 Trinidad/Tobago Fr.
21/03/1982 USA 1 v 2 Trinidad/Tobago Fr.

I cant remember the goal scorers though, sorry.

« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2005, 07:15:28 AM »
What sport was that.

Rubgy

I cant believe we buss up them big teams so :)

Tallman will find the stats have no fear

« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2005, 07:21:48 AM »
Football:

http://www.socawarriors.net/games_since_1935.htm

Wait nah, ah think ah have them scores mix up we... :D like is de odda way around..
« Last Edit: July 19, 2005, 07:29:18 AM by Sam »

« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2005, 01:10:29 PM »
Yes Sam,

those scores are the other way around.

I clearly remember the Swed and Mex. games.

TT was playing with a basci second Eleven as certain players were persona non grata with Jack.

marcelle made his debut in the Sweden game.

A Mucurapo Jr. Sec. Keeper (Ali??) made his debut vs. Mex.

« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2005, 01:48:56 PM »
Jesus Lord, some of you guys real OLD.  ;D

« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2005, 01:54:37 PM »

JUNIOR SEC!!!! wayyyyssss sahhh!!

was ah u-14 game or wha VB?

« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2005, 08:11:40 PM »
That was a good year for T&T....

10/03/1985 Canada 1 v 2 Trinidad/Tobago Fr.
11/11/1984 Mexico 0 v 2 Trinidad/Tobago  Fr.
16/11/1983 Sweden 0 v 5 Trinidad/Tobago Fr.
30/05/1982 Ireland 1 v 2 Trinidad/Tobago Fr.
21/03/1982 USA 1 v 2 Trinidad/Tobago Fr.

I cant remember the goal scorers though, sorry.

You and KND liming strong now and sharing that same bad weed Sam?
U sure we didnt qualify for the world cup in mexico in 86?

« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2005, 05:59:10 AM »
LOL trini !  Alyuh go kill ah man .

« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2005, 06:13:00 AM »

JUNIOR SEC!!!! wayyyyssss sahhh!!

was ah u-14 game or wha VB?

Pardon me...it was obviously Sr. Sec. the guy was  about 17 years of age.

A Rasta by the  name of Rickey Sheppard made his debut in that game as well.

The game was largely dominated by Mex. But as I said we were playhing with very understrenghthed teams.

« Reply #10 on: July 20, 2005, 06:15:56 AM »

Pardon me...it was obviously Sr. Sec. the guy was about 17 years of age.

A Rasta by the name of Rickey Sheppard made his debut in that game as well.

The game was largely dominated by Mex. But as I said we were playhing with very understrenghthed teams.

That was Richey.

« Reply #11 on: July 20, 2005, 06:21:50 AM »
I am looking for any information, especially a match report, from a game played between the Republic of Ireland and Trinidad and Tobago on 30 May 1982 at the Armira Stadium in Port of Spain. Can anyone help me? I have the Irish team and scorers but I do not have anything on T&T, except that they won 2-1. Any help would be great as I need this information for a book which I ma writing. I might as well chance my arm and ask if anyone had any photographs or a programme from this match whichI could use in the book. All the best, Donal Cullen dndcullens@yahoo.ca

Regardng Ireland's tour of TT that year.

The actually played two games. One vs. ASL, the Club Champs and the other vs. TT.

Irle. lost to ASL 3-1 (I'm almost positive it was 3-1, but they def. lost.)....the game vs. the national side was so low key that there ws no result posted in the Press or TV.....I guess after losing to ASL, no one really took them seriously....Bear in mind that in 82, 83 alot of teams were touring TT...so after losing the first game...the Ir. team lost their appeal in TT.

Peace,

« Reply #12 on: July 20, 2005, 06:23:28 AM »

« Reply #13 on: July 20, 2005, 06:26:12 AM »
aye alyuh dem days I was still watching flintstones an ting. :D

« Reply #14 on: July 20, 2005, 06:51:54 AM »

Obviously Doc is older than me.. ;D

Right you are! :D
« Last Edit: July 20, 2005, 06:54:24 AM by doc »

Offline Irishman Don

« Reply #15 on: July 20, 2005, 08:13:37 AM »
Thank you all for your replies. Just to clarify matters. The Republic of Ireland DID lose 2 - 1 to Trinidad and Tabago but they beat the ASL 3 -1 the following day. Ireland toured with a third string team but the Irish goalscorer against T&T was none other then Liam Brady who was playing in Italy at the time. The T&T match was the third of a tour in which we lost 0-1 to Chile and 0-7 to Brazil. The tour was not given much coverage in Ireland but the result from Port of Spain made biggish headlines. In the book I am writing I am missing only the details from the T&T match and one other. I have been trying for ages to get some info but nothing so far. Your comments have been most interesting and I thank you all.

« Reply #16 on: July 20, 2005, 09:36:50 AM »
Irishman Don,

sorry I couldn't provide more info for you.

Yes I seem to remember that 7-0 thrashing.

Now Doc and  others I need someone to confirm this for me...I really don't think Irl. beat ASL 3-1...I believe it was the other way around.

Can anyone else give some input? ....Doc...Palos??

Peace,

Offline Irishman Don

« Reply #17 on: July 22, 2005, 02:43:52 PM »
The details I have on the ASL match are that Ireland won 3-1 but they admittidely are sketchy. The Irish goalscorers are given as Sean O'Driscoll (who was for a long time manager of Bury), Kevin O'Callaghan (who starred in the film "Escape to Victory") and Gerry Ryan (who was f**kin' useless) but they might have got this wrong too!!! The Trinidad match still bugs me. I had thought of flying down to Port of Spain and looking up the newspapers of the time but I can see by the reply's that the game was not covered that well. Anyway, the trip would be a waste of time as I would have to explain to everyone I meet that I do not like cricket as it is boring. I worked with a few lads from the islands up here in Canada and whereas we could all agree that Dwight Yorke and Stern John were good players they refused to accept that cricket is the most boring game imaginable. All right it might be fun on the islands but in Britain it is total crap. Sorry I got off the point there but as far as I know Ireland lost to Trinidad and in the book I am writing it seem sthat all I can do is bluff my way through the report. You guys BEAT the Republic of Ireland and it has to rank as one of your greatest results but nothing is known about the match!!! Holy man! I guess it will just have to be our little secret.  ;D ;)

« Reply #18 on: July 22, 2005, 02:58:33 PM »
Contact TTFF, they might be able to giyou some guidance ;D

« Reply #19 on: July 22, 2005, 03:12:02 PM »
 the URL for the  site may be of help:

http://observer.guardian.co.uk/irelandfootball/story/0,11021,586469,00.html

This site list all the matches of Northern Ireland:

http://www.rsssf.com/tablesn/nil-intres.html

« Last Edit: July 22, 2005, 03:32:32 PM by AlbertaTrini »

« Reply #20 on: July 23, 2005, 04:13:31 AM »
the URL for the  site may be of help:

http://observer.guardian.co.uk/irelandfootball/story/0,11021,586469,00.html

This site list all the matches of Northern Ireland:

http://www.rsssf.com/tablesn/nil-intres.html

Sorry to disappoint yah Alberta...but N.Ireland and the Rep of Ireland are two different countries when it comes to football.  He wants to know about the Rep (EIRE) not Northern Ireland

« Reply #21 on: July 23, 2005, 05:24:57 AM »
 You guys BEAT the Republic of Ireland and it has to rank as one of your greatest results but nothing is known about the match!!! Holy man! I guess it will just have to be our little secret.  ;D ;)

one of our greatest results....not too sure abt. that.

Remember in that year, Ireland was getting beaten by a lot of folks. It seemed to be a weak team. Therefore, beating them was expected. And losing to them would have been indicative of how terrible we were.

We have beaten the likes of Mex and colombia. And drew with S. Korea in Seoul. So beating a reasonable weak Irish team may not have raised too much eyebrows. It's simply indicative of how weak the Irish were at that time.

« Reply #22 on: July 23, 2005, 06:48:34 AM »
You guys BEAT the Republic of Ireland and it has to rank as one of your greatest results but nothing is known about the match!!! Holy man! I guess it will just have to be our little secret.  ;D ;)

one of our greatest results....not too sure abt. that.

Remember in that year, Ireland was getting beaten by a lot of folks. It seemed to be a weak team. Therefore, beating them was expected. And losing to them would have been indicative of how terrible we were.

We have beaten the likes of Mex and colombia. And drew with S. Korea in Seoul. So beating a reasonable weak Irish team may not have raised too much eyebrows. It's simply indicative of how weak the Irish were at that time.

Have to agree with yuh there vb, ah don't recall much about that game but I do remember there was not a lot of coverage about the game in the press even after the win as most people thought that particular Irish team was EXTREMELY weak.  The only other thing I can recall about it was my Dad thinking of going as there were rumours of Laim Brady and Frank Stapleton playing, he asked the Parish priest (who was from Eire) what he thought...who told him not to bother, Ireland were useless and wouldn't take the game seriously anyway!! So he didn't go but took me to see us play Sweden when we loss 5-0 (Good call Dad!  ;D)

on that ASL result, check this link read the top of pg 7
http://www.tnt.fifa.com/files%2Ftto%2F79.pdf
« Last Edit: July 23, 2005, 07:12:59 AM by Rodney »

« Last Edit: July 23, 2005, 08:41:18 AM by AlbertaTrini »

Offline Irishman Don

« Reply #24 on: July 23, 2005, 10:10:11 AM »
The Irish team that toured South America and T&T in 1982 was, admittedly, weak but the Irish team had just come off World Cup qualifying which included France, Belgium and Holland and had nearly got to Spain. By the time the team arrived in Trinidad they were totally fed up but still had enough good players to make the defeat a big upset. We would have had a better team but the Falklands War was going on and most of the players in England did not want to travel as the tour origionally involved a game in Argentina. So we patched up a squad and went on holidays. The sequence of results coming into the tour was a draw with Holland in Holland and beating France at home. We then lost 2-0 to an Algerian side which was on it's way to Spain to beat West Germany. Sooooooooooo...........we were not as bad as some people like to make out. But T&T were better on the day.
Okay to put it in a different context. Trinidad and Tabago are one of the few sides in the World that hold a 100% record against the Republic of Ireland. We have beaten nearly everybody except Argentina and T&T so I guess you lot are as good as Argentina in Irish eyes!!!! :o

« Reply #25 on: June 25, 2008, 12:57:00 AM »
I'm guessing nothing has changed in three years and there are still no scorers or minutes available?

« Reply #26 on: June 25, 2008, 02:10:20 AM »
Contact players from that game.

Some of the players from that game, heavilly involved in Coaching now, are Brian Willimas (Petrotrin),
Ron La Forest (Ma Pau????)

Others who could be easilly found, Clayton Morris, John Granville (in England), Leroy Spann. The ASL manager, Arthur Suite.

Offline kentsoulman

« Reply #27 on: June 25, 2008, 03:16:15 AM »
Yes Sam,

TT was playing with a basci second Eleven as certain players were persona non grata with Jack.

Was you joking vb? Or was Jack playing his games 26 years ago?

« Reply #28 on: June 25, 2008, 05:20:20 AM »
No, not joking at all. That shit went on for about three years, as the better players played in Arthur Suite's league.

I think Jack and Suite finally solved the problem about late 88 to salvage TT for the WC qualifiers.

To make matter worse, when we tried to qualify for the 86 WC, Jack sold our home games so we had to play the opponents twice in THEIR  backyard. I think we lost to the US twice in the US, very close games. So Ron La Fores, Leroy Spann and others real get screwed.

It's becz most players were persona non grata that Alli and Sheppard made their debut vs. Mex.

I'm not sure if the Sweden game was a Second 11, because Clint Marcelle made his international debut in that game.

I will tell you that Suite's league had FAR greater appeal than the TTFA league. All the local stars and Refs were paid on time etc. ASL was the Manu U of my era. Only Defence Force could give them a good run. Not that there weren't other good teams around but the League and FA were usually between DF and ASL.

I am sure Coops could give you more info on that :-)

« Reply #29 on: June 25, 2008, 05:32:10 AM »
Yes Sam,
Was you joking vb? Or was Jack playing his games 26 years ago?
have you read the "The Cancer that is Jack Warner Thread" KSM?
« Last Edit: June 25, 2008, 05:34:41 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.