April 19, 2024, 07:35:18 AM

Author Topic: T&T Professional Footballers Association Fundraiser in London, Thurs 22nd Mar'07  (Read 10788 times)

Who going to this? I may go.

« Last Edit: February 23, 2007, 12:33:36 PM by Carib-briton »

Re: UK Forum Members
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2007, 12:26:18 PM »
interesting...give we a review

« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2007, 12:42:58 PM »
Who is Laptapy and Birchill?  ;D appearance is also misspelled

We have a match against Chile carded for March 25th  :thinking: :thinking: :thinking:

If the players mentioned are really going to be in attendance, then either:
a) None of those players will be involved in the match against Chile. It kinda strange seeing Theobald name on de list since he is de current captain and he is not based in de UK. Notably absent from de list are Yorke, Stern, Scotland, Samuel and Atiba.

or

b) The match against Chile has not been finalized

« Last Edit: February 24, 2007, 04:03:44 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2007, 01:03:30 PM »
hmmmmm :thinking: :thinking: :thinking: :thinking: :thinking:
:waiting: Ah watching carefully....before ah say anyting.
Tallman you is de official detective. Link up wit yuh sources pardnah. Good look to de Warriors and any sincere wellwishers and organizers

« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2007, 01:08:11 PM »
hmmmmm :thinking: :thinking: :thinking: :thinking: :thinking:
:waiting: Ah watching carefully....before ah say anyting.
Tallman you is de official detective. Link up wit yuh sources pardnah. Good look to de Warriors and any sincere wellwishers and organizers

Dey Should appoint Tallman as TnT police commissioner and as a football historian, he go sniff out all discrepiancies with the state of affairs while educating dem youth!   ;D

« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2007, 01:22:10 PM »
why d f**k should we be fundraising for the professional footballer's association? All dem fellas who appearing makin real money!!

Dat is real ripoff ting :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:  :rotfl: :rotfl: :bs: :bs:

Let dem pay for dey own blasted association.

« Last Edit: February 23, 2007, 01:23:45 PM by Ryan »

« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2007, 02:15:24 PM »
I feel Jack will sue them for using the TTFF shield on the poster.  :devil:

Who is Laptapy and Birchill? ;D appearance is also misspelled
Maybe iz the ones from winning 11.

« Last Edit: February 23, 2007, 02:20:55 PM by E-man »

« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2007, 02:24:06 PM »

LOL  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #8 on: February 23, 2007, 02:31:18 PM »
Possibe E-man.

Buh wait nah! check dis......Suppose Jackula, Scamps and Grodent have a hand in all this....making a pre-emptive strike by forming a pseudo players union to sabotage the gathering storm? Jess something to consider. Doh panic yet.

Papayo!  :waiting: :shameonyou:   ..........     :thinking: :thinking:
« Last Edit: February 23, 2007, 02:48:30 PM by dreamer »

Offline rastafari

« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2007, 02:46:06 PM »
I am goint to support, but i am waiting to see what is going to take place with the game against chile.

Something fishy about the ad as well.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

Possibe E-man.

Buh wait nah! check dis......Suppose Jackula, Scamps and Grodent have a hand in all this....making a pre-emptive strike by forming a pseudo players union to sabotage the gathering storm? Jess something to consider. Doh panic yet.

Papayo!  :waiting: :shameonyou:   ..........     :thinking: :thinking:

I will call-up some numbers and investigate this & who behind it!

On 2nd thoughts something really looking fishy here as you lads are pointing out!

If everything is all cleared up for me then I will be attending.

Will keep you lads posted!

OK, now I have to resend my email to my posse in London as the thread has been merged
maybe I should wait to see if it gets merged again
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

OK, now I have to resend my email to my posse in London as the thread has been merged
maybe I should wait to see if it gets merged again

Hold yuh horses WestCoast! Who is really behind this needs to be investigated!

Ryan has made an important point as well, got me thinking!  :thinking:

Will update you guys when I find out more! I'm sure Tallman might beat me to any updates though knowing him!  8)

Hold yuh horses WestCoast! Who is really behind this needs to be investigated!
Ryan has made an important point as well, got me thinking!  :thinking:
Will update you guys when I find out more! I'm sure Tallman might beat me to any updates though knowing him!  8)
OK, will wait,
on second look at things, I feel Ryan and you might be right
Dem fellas make way more than most of us on here
No ???
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #14 on: February 25, 2007, 04:26:55 AM »
Possibe E-man.

Papayo!  :waiting: :shameonyou:   ..........     :thinking: :thinking:

It might just be that Scamps, Jackula and gang do have a hand and allowing dem man to use de TTFF and make money so as to work off what they themselves owe de players.

Offline JayTheWrecker

something doesn't sound right about this gig

and i can't imagine that Jackula would sponsor in any shape or form a players union
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

Come on London Crew !!....

Allyuh sleepin at the wheel ah what....

Yuh should be tellin we what really goin on here ! :-\

Well in light of Shaka's comments on i95.5 that dreamer relayed:

He (Shaka)was very vocal about a need for the Footballers' Professional Association (FPA). Mentioned that its usefulness should be seen beyond just conflict resolution, but also for supporting the players' quests for careers, livelihoods and education after their careers inevitably come to an end. He said that this is what happens in England and agreed with Andre that even the WIPA (with Ramnarine) is ahead of them in this respect.

Apart from the relevance to present and future T&T players, yuh could look at it as a means by which the players hoping to secure a greater sense of stability once they retire and not getting the income they used to get.

Seeing Shaka's comments I can see why they might want to raise funds.

With the exception of Kenwyne and Birchall, dem men in dey early 30's and perhaps looking to wrap up their careers over de nex couple years. Even Carlos getting up there. Man like Dog might have to scrunt with pastor work in his latter years. Also they keeping mind their relationship over de years with Jack and the TTFF.

Still, everything is speculation...I eh too sure how I feel about dis gig yet. Still waiting to see more developments on it.

De promoter spell de name of the greatest T&T footballer wrong too...blasphemy.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2007, 01:59:26 AM by Grande man »

Okay fellas, I've done my research and can assure everyone that this fundraising event is legit as far as being in aid of getting a proper Trinidad & Tobago Professional Footballers Association off the ground is concerned.

Yes there are some print errors on the flyer but apparently that’s down to the printers and should be corrected!

As far as this event being close to the Chile game is concerned we are not sure what team is going to be selected (if any UK based will be used) or if this game will truly happen as advertised, it remains to be seen!

I will be cancelling my REPRESENT Thursday lime on Thursday 22nd March in order to attend and lend my support to this fundraising event and hope all the other T&T football supporters in London and the surrounding areas who can afford to attend will do so. Will be good to see you guys as well! Please walk with your digi-cameras!

It should be a good opportunity for us to support, meet and chat directly with our World Cup heroes and for us to make a positive move towards bettering our team’s chances of qualifying for future World Cups! :thumbsup:
« Last Edit: February 27, 2007, 08:22:37 AM by Socapro »

He (Shaka)was very vocal about a need for the Footballers' Professional Association (FPA). Mentioned that its usefulness should be seen beyond just conflict resolution, but also for supporting the players' quests for careers, livelihoods and education after their careers inevitably come to an end. He said that this is what happens in England and agreed with Andre that even the WIPA (with Ramnarine) is ahead of them in this respect.

Man like Dog might have to scrunt with pastor work in his latter years. Also they keeping mind their relationship over de years with Jack and the TTFF.

Still, everything is speculation...I eh too sure how I feel about dis gig yet. Still waiting to see more developments on it.

why is that a bad thing?  Being a pastor is an honored position and a very responsible one. I can oonly which that was the calling GOD had on my life but it is not.   I would even go as far as to say he is in a more secured position than the others since his future is secure in christ.

« Reply #20 on: February 27, 2007, 09:24:33 AM »

ha! i was about to say that.

maybe they is clones.

Explanation of flyer errors!

Apparently my friend who manages the TrinisInLondon.com website was sent a first draft before info was sent by promoters to the printers!

TrinisInLondon posted this first draft on their website because they found that the promoters were taking too long to get back to them with the final draft.

Once final draft is receieved then their website will be updated with that flyer! So apparently the flyers which will be on the streets will or should not have these spelling errors.

I hope this explanation clears it up!
« Last Edit: February 27, 2007, 09:36:59 AM by Socapro »

I have spoken with one of the players and can also confirm this is legit, please go support if you are able to
AS for what you said Ryan,  you dont think the players able to support ent doing so? More than half these men on the team (ones playing in Trinidad, MLS perhaps even  Scotland and lower div england) ent making much

Man like Dog might have to scrunt with pastor work in his latter years. Also they keeping mind their relationship over de years with Jack and the TTFF.

why is that a bad thing?  Being a pastor is an honored position and a very responsible one. I can oonly which that was the calling GOD had on my life but it is not.   I would even go as far as to say he is in a more secured position than the others since his future is secure in christ.

I eh say it is a bad thing. From a financial perspective though, the pay may be very modest.

Respect.

I eh say it is a bad thing. From a financial perspective though, the pay may be very modest.

Respect.
being a pastor... not if he move back to trini.lol
de kinda money dem fellas and dem racking up. since dog already well known he have less work to do. and he seem alot more sincere than some ah dem in trini.
 i pass and see pastor cuffie lil mansion/ castle/basilica oui. stained glass windows all kinda madness
pure madness.
i shoulda shout halleujia i know when god coming. all now ah driving a bmw and raveling all over de world...am sharing the good  message.
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Is there any reason they couldn't choose a date that wouldn't conflict with the Chile game or was this taken into account?

Cuz if the players are called and don't show it will be sort of a let down for patrons.  Is it too late to consider rescheduling...otherwise think about what names they putting on the flyer.

Maybe the names on the flyer have games and won't be available?

Anyway...good to see they are moving in the right direction...appeared shaky cuz of the leak but they will have our support.

Unofficial Press Release: Fundraising Gala for Trinidad & Tobago Professional Footballers Association

Hello my fellow Soca Warriors,

This is an unofficial press release for the event! I will endeavour to post the official one as soon as I have it (possibly by tomorrow).

Best regards
Socapro

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Celebrity Sports Fundraising Gala In Aid of Trinidad & Tobago Professional Footballers Association

Here follows the brief:

Several members of the Trinidad & Tobago World Cup squad have decided they wish to form a professional players union in Trinidad. They have completed much of the preliminary work already, and expect Shaka Hislop to become the figurehead for the union next year.

There is a professional league in Trinidad, but players do not have an association to help and advise them, and it is common for injured players not to receive wages and, in some cases, have their contracts cancelled.

This means that many young players leave the game early to take more secure jobs. This makes the world cup qualification by Trinidad & Tobago even more remarkable.  Currently, 15 of the World Cup squad play in the UK, but how many more future stars could Trinidad produce if the young players coming through were offered the security that players are offered in Britain?

In this, the centenary year of the PFA, the worlds oldest sporting union, it is amazing that footballers in some countries do not benefit from the same support and security that English based players enjoy. It is only when you talk to players who have never had union backing, that you realize how important it is to have a players association to back you. They ask for your support in helping to get this project up and running.

Together with Gillinghams Trinidad & Tobago players, Brent Sancho, Kelvin Jack and Ian Cox, the PFA is organizing an event to raise awareness within the football community and the general public, as well as raising enough money to fund the operating costs of the players union for the first year. The union should then be able to fund itself in the future.

We have been offered an opportunity by Hackney Empire theatre to host the opening night of the critically acclaimed  play “Sing Yer Heart Out for the Lads”, a football based play which challenges both patriotism and racism, on Thursday 22nd March. This event will also be strongly supported by the “Lets kick racism out of football” initiative. On the night, there will be a raffle and an auction.

It is important to the Trinidad players that they raise their own money to fund this project, but in order to achieve this aim, we need your help and support. We expect that there will be a strong representation from London based footballers and personalities, and the event has been well received by the media, and we can expect some great publicity and coverage both before and after the event from television companies, radio stations, newspapers and magazines.

In order to make the event successful, it is important to get as much support as possible from the Trinidad & Tobago community in London.

Lets help Make History ....again!
Thursday March 22nd, Hackney Empire, A Fundraising Gala In Aid of the
T&T Professional Footballers Association "Sing Yer Heart Out for the Lads" by Roy Williams & Directed by Marcus Romer.

Tickets for this event will be £20. They are also looking to provide an “afterparty” at a venue in Hackney, where people will be able to meet footballers from many London teams as well as some of the T&T World Cup Squad. At the theatre, there will be a raffle with signed football shirts from many English league clubs, and at the after party there will be an auction of Premiership and International signed shirts (including, of course, the Soca warriors!)
There will also be an opportunity to purchase “Lets kick racism out of football” T shirts which will be signed by a T&T player of your choice.

The Trinidad and Tobago players realize that they have lived the dream by playing in the World Cup, but also recognize that for the Islands new talent to come through, young players need to be offered the security that other players around the world enjoy.

I do hope you can support this event, as, in this centenary year of the English P.F.A., we want the whole of the English football community to support the footballers of Trinidad & Tobago and promote the international message of racial integration through football.

Thank you for taking the time out to read this notice!
« Last Edit: February 28, 2007, 06:09:35 PM by Socapro »

Explanation of flyer errors!
Apparently my friend who manages the TrinisInLondon.com website was sent a first draft before info was sent by promoters to the printers!
TrinisInLondon posted this first draft on their website because they found that the promoters were taking too long to get back to them with the final draft.
Once final draft is received then their website will be updated with that flyer! So apparently the flyers which will be on the streets will or should not have these spelling errors.
I hope this explanation clears it up!
SocaPro, Thanks for all your work on this
I will pass info on to my bros family in Watford and Chorleywood

Good work fellas and ah really happy for those who will be able to attend and support. Nice to see the cooperation and efforts to investigate unclear information.  Nice work Socapro. In dis rounds we cyah afford to be chupidy and too gullible to believe any gimmick, mamaguy and rip-off jess so because we geh entice by a nice jump, wine and jam.

All I want to know now is who is in charge of this money dey raising for the FPA and is the advertisement honest in giving the impression that all those socawarriors will be there? Other then that leh we roll. :)

Good work fellas and ah really happy for those who will be able to attend and support. Nice to see the cooperation and efforts to investigate unclear information.  Nice work Socapro. In dis rounds we cyah afford to be chupidy and too gullible to believe any gimmick, mamaguy and rip-off jess so because we geh entice by a nice jump, wine and jam.

All I want to know now is who is in charge of this money dey raising for the FPA and is the advertisement honest in giving the impression that all those socawarriors will be there? Other then that leh we roll. :)

We will update you on the advertisement and which T&T players are likely to attend the event soon!
Regards the money raised and who will be in charge I believe it will be a Finanicial Management company with experience in this area that will be working on behalf of the TTPFA. I guess they will also be looking to invest some of the money for higher returns rather than than just letting it lie there and not work on belhalf of the TTPFA to increase the funds available to our professional players.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2007, 05:49:54 AM by Socapro »