April 20, 2024, 03:58:45 AM

Author Topic: Jose Mourinho Thread  (Read 7395 times)

Jose Mourinho Thread
« on: February 25, 2007, 10:50:37 AM »
Rumors - Jose could be leaving Chelsea

JOSE A GONER
Source: News of the World

ROMAN ABRAMOVICH has signalled the end of Jose Mourinho's Chelsea reign by refusing to confirm he will still be the Blues manager next season.

Billionaire Chelsea owner Abramovich held three-hour talks with fans after the club's 1-1 Champions League midweek draw in Porto.

And one heartbroken season ticket holder revealed: "Everyone wanted to know if Mourinho is staying, but every time the question was asked there was no answer.

"That convinced us all that Mourinho will definitely be leaving in the summer."

Our revelations on the morning of Chelsea's Carling Cup Final clash with Arsenal come just 24 hours after Mourinho insisted he would never walk away from the club.

It will put Abramovich on a collision course with his players after skipper John Terry, Didier Drogba, Michael Essien and Claude Makelele have publicly given Mourinho their full backing.

Terry is also prepared to lead a players' deputation to Abramovich, insisting: "We all agree we don't want Jose to go and if it takes five or six of the senior players to tell them so, then that's what we're prepared to do."

Mourinho revealed he had twice thought about quitting Stamford Bridge but then declared: "I will not walk away to another club.

I would never do that to Chelsea."

"Normally, there are three ways for a manager to leave a club. he can walk away, be sacked or his contract can finish.

"So there are only two ways I can leave."Either I'll go in 2010 when my contract finishes, or the club is not happy with my work and they decide to sack me."

"The power is always in the club's hands."

« Last Edit: August 01, 2015, 05:54:37 AM by Flex »

Re: Rumors - Jose could be leaving Chelsea
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2007, 11:04:29 AM »
That would be  :( if Jose leaves, and not good for Chelsea.  I would miss his interviews and soundbites.

« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2007, 11:31:34 AM »
More trophies for Man Utd  ;D !!

« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2007, 12:20:28 PM »
More trophies for Man Utd  ;D !!

Yea, what a way to get them  ;D

Offline black chinee

« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2007, 12:32:14 PM »
Jose and Abromovich's money is the reason Cheeeeeeky is where they are today.... Money alone would not do it... u need the brains and the personality to deal with those rich babies....

Jose Mourinho Thread
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2007, 11:32:19 PM »
Jose Mourinho arrested

Just reported on BBC. No details yet.

EDIT: He was arrested and cautioned for cussing police who wanted to quarantine his dog  :rotfl:

« Last Edit: August 01, 2015, 05:53:43 AM by Flex »

Re: Jose Mourinho arrested
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2007, 06:54:34 AM »
wha dey quarantine terry and drogba for ??  mainge ??

« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2007, 06:55:46 AM »
i wonder if he pothong name is DOGBA? ;D
« Last Edit: May 16, 2007, 07:07:19 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2007, 07:22:12 AM »
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #9 on: May 16, 2007, 08:17:00 AM »
Mourinho 'arrested' in pet dog row
Source: MSN news

Chelsea Football Club manager Jose Mourinho was arrested and cautioned after an argument with police over his pet dog, it has been reported.

The Sun said Mourinho snapped at officers who wanted to put his Yorkshire terrier in quarantine, fearing it had been taken abroad, then back to Britain, without jabs.

The newspaper said Mourinho refused to let police take the dog and got into an argument with officers. He received a caution for obstructing police at a west London police station.

A Scotland Yard spokesman said officers went to an address in central London at 7.45pm on Tuesday with an officer from the Animal Health and Welfare Service.

He said: "A 44-year-old man was arrested on suspicion of obstructing police and was taken to a west London police station.

"He subsequently received a caution for obstructing police."

Scotland Yard said the dog was to be seized for alleged offences under the Animal Health Act of 1981 and the Rabies Order of 1974.

The spokesman said officers discussed the removal of the animal from the address with the owners.

The Sun reports Mourinho, 44, was at Chelsea's player of the year awards when his wife Tami telephoned to tell him the dog was being taken away.

Mourinho arrived at his home at 9pm and the newspaper says he bundled the dog away from police, claiming it was now on the loose.

Offline black chinee

« Reply #10 on: May 16, 2007, 08:58:47 AM »
Jose is real kicks yes :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #11 on: May 16, 2007, 09:31:31 AM »
that is alyuh big coach lol  :rotfl: .  yeh buss dey head for yuh dog.  :devil:

« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2007, 11:03:26 AM »
is stress de man under after losin de epl and come weekend losin de FA cup.he pick the wrong group to take out he frustrations.

« Reply #13 on: May 16, 2007, 11:09:28 AM »
stay strong Joe-zay....dey tryin tuh destabilise de camp. ;D

« Reply #14 on: May 16, 2007, 11:24:05 AM »
stay strong Joe-zay....dey tryin tuh destabilise de camp. ;D
Mant utd hire d police men  :devil:

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #15 on: May 16, 2007, 11:34:08 AM »
just ketch it in ah quick lil new flash(wasnt payin much attention) but ah think dey say de dog name is Ruud Gullit...if so den mourinho is ah sad c**t yes :devil:
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #16 on: May 16, 2007, 11:57:43 AM »
just ketch it in ah quick lil new flash(wasnt payin much attention) but ah think dey say de dog name is Ruud Gullit...if so den mourinho is ah sad c**t yes :devil:
yuh serious about that d dog name there lol  ???  :devil: talk serious

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #17 on: May 16, 2007, 01:08:15 PM »
The dog is reportedly called Gullit, after the former Chelsea player and manager Ruud Gullit

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/main.jhtml?xml=/news/2007/05/16/nmorinho16.xml
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #18 on: May 16, 2007, 01:37:38 PM »
The dog is reportedly called Gullit, after the former Chelsea player and manager Ruud Gullit

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/main.jhtml?xml=/news/2007/05/16/nmorinho16.xml
jose is a rel c**t yes  :rotfl: lord oh  :D

« Reply #19 on: May 16, 2007, 04:24:03 PM »
They try to luck up the man best friend.

Pedigree of Mourinho!
« Reply #20 on: July 31, 2015, 07:05:59 PM »

Re: Jose Mourinho Thread
« Reply #21 on: October 30, 2015, 02:59:48 PM »

« Reply #22 on: October 30, 2015, 03:04:42 PM »
How officials are always at fault in paranoid world of Jose Mourinho
By Jeremy Wilson, The Telegraph

Jose Mourinho has a video clip on his mobile phone of the late Brian Clough giving an interview to John Motson and, inevitably, the verbal dominance of Old Big ’Ead wins approval from the Special One. Comparisons between two of football’s most charismatic managers are natural but one glaring contrast is clear: Clough tried never to criticise referees, and here he launches into an unprompted defence of them.

“What you do to referees is nothing short of criminal,” Clough tells the beleaguered Motson. “I think the standard you feel should be coming from referees is absolutely incredible. It should be overemphasised how hard it is to referee a match.”

Former referee Jeff Winter sensed this in 2005. “On the few occasions Chelsea lose a football match there is a conspiracy theory – it is the referee’s fault,” he said. “A referee may get a decision wrong in 90 minutes, but he’s not to blame for everything.”

Mourinho’s biggest controversy that season was his claim that referee Anders Frisk had allowed Barcelona manager Frank Rijkaard into his room at half-time of Chelsea’s Champions League defeat before sending off Didier Drogba. Uefa’s venue director, Pascal Fratellia, swore that Rijkaard was outside the room.

Despite all his success at Inter Milan, Mourinho said: “I always had the feeling that the referees had a campaign of errors against us. I started coaching the team to play 10 against 11, to be ready in case we had a man sent off.”

It got to the stage where Italian referees were reportedly threatening to go on strike if Mourinho was not punished. In explaining its £35,000 fine and three-game touchline ban, Serie A said that Mourinho had “repeatedly challenged the officials, especially by mimicking handcuffs with his wrists and arms crossed, and faced the crowds and television cameras. Also, he insulted the referee and his assistants in the tunnel and repeatedly insulted officials”.

Next came Real Madrid. He noted before the Clasico in November 2010 that Barcelona “is happy” with Iturralde González to be the referee.

The following month, after a match against Sevilla, he came into the press conference with a list of 13 “serious mistakes” that had been made in the game by referee Clos Gómez. “I am tired of this,” he said. “My team needs to be defended. Not just today but many times over. If I say what I think, I will be on the front pages tomorrow and I will be suspended.

Then there was the Champions League defeat by Barcelona in April 2011, which was overshadowed by Mourinho’s reaction to Pepe being sent off. “One day, I would like Josep Guardiola to win this competition properly,” he said. “If I tell Uefa what I really think and feel, my career would end now. Instead I will just ask a question to which I hope one day to get a response: Why? Why? Because every semi-final the same things happen. Where does their power come from? They have power and we have no chance.”

On his return to Chelsea in 2013, Mourinho again faced Guardiola in the European Super Cup. Chelsea lost on penalties to Bayern Munich after Ramires was dismissed. Mourinho even admitted his player deserved a second yellow “in pure terms” but the wider observations quickly followed.

“It’s nothing new for me. At Chelsea, I played two or three times with 10 men against Barcelona. I went to Inter and played a Champions League semi-final, one hour, with 10 men against Barcelona. I go to Real Madrid, I played again a Champions League semi-final with 10 men. I came back to Chelsea and played a Super Cup final with 10 men again. Go to analyse the actions and make your conclusions.”

A swipe at Chris Foy after defeat at Aston Villa; sarcastic praise of Mike Dean after Chelsea lost at Sunderland; a cryptic attack on Mike Riley, the referees’ boss.

After he had a penalty appeal turned down against Southampton last December, Mourinho said: “In other countries where I worked, tomorrow in the sports papers it would be front-page scandal because it is a scandal. It is clearly the result of something that looks like a campaign.”

Then, after Diego Costa’s stamp on Emre Can in January this year: “I don’t know what you understand by a stamp. Maybe you are already influenced by the campaign on the television with the certain pundits saying that Costa has crimes.”

He was quickly into his stride this season. “The most important thing of this start to the season is that it’s not normal that, in three matches, you have two penalties against and play with 10 men twice,” he said.

What has followed is the latest claim that referees are collectively “afraid” to give decisions for Chelsea.

Mourinho is outraged but it seems extraordinary he is not aware of the distinction in the FA rule book between criticising a performance or decision and any inference of wider bias. It is the latter that provokes disciplinary action.

So why does he adopt such language? In the belief that successive teams in three different countries are the persistent victims of injustice? To create a siege mentality in the dressing room? To distract from his team’s failings? Or is it to influence referees?

Whatever the answer, this element of a career that has combined moments of genius, hilarity and outright disgrace has become boring. Clough loved his music and, for Mourinho, it is surely now time to find another song to sing.

Original article
« Last Edit: October 30, 2015, 03:08:22 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #23 on: November 07, 2015, 04:25:28 AM »
Chelsea’s José Mourinho: Stadium ban changes everything about how I manage
The Guardian

• Manager will serve one-match stadium ban away to Stoke
• Referee Jon Moss says Mourinho called him ‘f**king weak’ at West Ham

José Mourinho has grudgingly conceded the one-match stadium ban he will serve at Stoke City on Saturday will “change everything” in terms of how he approaches games in future as he contemplates his absence from a match Chelsea desperately need to win to breathe life into their Premier League campaign.

The Portuguese will not be in attendance at the Britannia Stadium after he was sent off for twice refusing to leave the referee Jon Moss’s dressing room at Upton Park last month. The written reasons behind the three-man disciplinary commission’s decision revealed he had accused the officials of being “f**king weak” and had to be escorted away by a member of West Ham United’s security staff. As a result, he will not be permitted on the footprint of the ground for the 5.30pm kick-off.

Mourinho, who opted not to appeal against the first stadium ban handed to a top-flight manager since Alan Pardew head-butted David Meyler last year, would risk further punishment from the Football Association should he remain on the team bus if it is parked on site. Yet, while he suggested he would feel helpless and “unable to do his job” while most likely reduced to watching the game on his iPad, he will be permitted to communicate with his coaching staff, the assistants Rui Faria and Steve Holland, on the bench by telephone.

The commission had taken into account four previous misconduct charges since October 2013 – an appeal over a fifth has since been rejected, taking the combined fines imposed on him to £141,000 – but there is clear resentment in Mourinho’s camp at being punished in this way for an offence “connected to words, to complaints”. The 52-year-old claimed he was “sad” that he felt he would no longer be able to be himself on the touchline or, indeed, in the buildup or aftermath of games.

“I’ve been banned from the bench before but this is a stadium ban, stopping me working,” he said. “It will make me change. Change everything, change everything. The dimension of my punishment, and the stadium ban that stays suspended [a separate charge relating to post-match comments about referees after the defeat to Southampton on 3 October], obviously affects everything. My answers to questions, obviously, are going to be different. The way I participate with the game, obviously, is going to be different.
Advertisement

“I had a game a few days ago where I stood for 90 minutes in my own technical area. The other manager [Liverpool’s Jürgen Klopp] was jumping like Michael Jordan and nothing happened. So, for me, I know everything is different. It’s all changed a lot. This is what I have. I have to adapt to it. I think the message the game’s powers want to give me. The message is more than clear.”

The manager’s own position will inevitably remain under scrutiny while the team’s form remains sluggish – they go into the weekend’s fixture 15th in the table with six defeats from 11 games – but he suggested the FA’s stance would not yet force him from the English game. “When I’m happy in the club, when I’m happy with my players, when I enjoy working with them … that’s fine for me,” he said, suggesting he could “sit on the street corner with my iPad” watching the game, follow it on social media or, instead, “watch a movie”.

The disciplinary commission, who had also fined Mourinho £40,000, took exception to the language and behaviour used by the Chelsea manager after he was invited into the referee’s room by Moss at half-time in the defeat at West Ham on 25 October. Moss’s account of the incident, backed up by that of his assistants and the fourth official, details how the Portuguese was “waiting for us clearly agitated and began aggressively asking about first-half decisions” at the interval. The referee duly invited him and the West Ham security manager, Simon Sutton, into his dressing room.

“Mr Mourinho asked me about a tackle, an offside and a goalline clearance,” wrote Moss, with that a reference to Nemanja Matic’s dismissal, a Cesc Fàbregas disallowed goal and a Kurt Zouma effort ruled out by goalline technology. “I gave him brief answers to his questions. After this I asked him to leave the dressing room area. He refused. I asked him again. After he refused again I asked Mr Sutton to escort him from the room.

“At this point Mr Mourinho became very aggressive and animated. He shouted that you f**king referees are weak... [Arsène] Wenger is right about you … you are f**king weak. I advised Mr Mourinho not to take his position in the technical area for the second half due to his actions.” He watched the second half from the back of the directors’ box.

Mourinho admitted the charge and, while the commission considered that to be to his credit, they pointed to “a total lack of respect for the match officials and the sanctuary of their changing room”, adding: “That is a most serious matter and has to be dealt with accordingly.” A touchline or extended touchline ban was subsequently ruled out because they had “the potential of enabling Mr Mourinho to commit a similar offence whilst serving his suspension since he would be allowed to access the area around the changing rooms.”

« Reply #24 on: February 27, 2019, 03:00:39 AM »
Jose Mourinho: The inside story of how his Man United tenure unravelled
By Rob Dawson - Manchester United correspondent

Jose Mourinho's reign began to unravel in earnest over the summer, but an atmosphere of fear and paranoia had already set in long before. Such was the shadow he cast over Manchester United that it began to affect even the most innocuous of matters, even those far from the pitch.

When a member of his backroom unknowingly agreed to a blind date with a media personality, the meeting was swiftly moved from Manchester city centre to a rural Cheshire pub out of fear they would be spotted and Mourinho would find out. When the United employee sat down, his conversation starter was: "I could be sacked for being here."

There was no second date.

In the end, the appointment of Mourinho, one that looked certain to rescue United from the post-Fergie doldrums in May 2016, gradually became so toxic that Ed Woodward and the Glazers were forced to act.

The tension over transfers

In May, Dwight Yorke gave an interview suggesting United would have won the Premier League title with Pep Guardiola in charge. On reading his comments, Mourinho tried to get Yorke removed from his role as club ambassador. The club declined.

It was far from the only disagreement between club bosses and their manager, with the most bruising confrontations being fought over transfers.

Mourinho believed his team over-performed to finish second last season and stressed the importance of increased investment over the summer. He informed Woodward and the recruitment department of the positions he believed needed strengthening and the club's scouts, video analysts and data experts worked on narrowing down the list of targets. But in meetings, usually over Skype, Mourinho is said to have frustrated other members of the staff by demanding players never previously mentioned.

Even in July, and having spent £50 million on Brazilian midfielder Fred, his assessment was that it would be a "difficult" season. It would get worse as the club continued to struggle in signing a central defender. Dismayed at the price quoted by Leicester City for Harry Maguire, Mourinho questioned why none of United's 52 scouts had noticed him playing well for Hull City just a year earlier.

But it wasn't just transfer spending that caused conflict. At one point during the club's preseason U.S. tour, Mourinho pulled English journalists out of a news conference to explain why he would be happy for Anthony Martial -- who had let it be known he'd been unsettled by Alexis Sanchez's arrival in January -- to be sold just days after the club has insisted privately the Frenchman was not for sale.

Already at this time, the hierarchy and Mourinho were no longer on the same page and for the players it became more and more difficult to escape the cloud of negativity.

For their part, United have been quick to stress that Mourinho has been supported in the transfer market to the tune of £400m spent on 11 players -- all, according to sources close to the club, Mourinho's choices. Mourinho, meanwhile, has argued consistently that United have failed to keep up with the "financial and strategic" support offered to his key rivals at Liverpool and Manchester City.

In particular, Woodward was forced to tell Mourinho they would not push the boat out to sign Jerome Boateng from Bayern Munich because of fears over his injury record. It was pointed out that the last two players Bayern had moved on to Old Trafford, Owen Hargreaves and Bastian Schweinsteiger, had not proved to be value for money. As it became apparent to Mourinho he would not get the new centre-back he wanted during the transfer window, he was overheard on the phone in the lobby of the team hotel in Miami during the preseason tour of the United States saying "everything is s---."

It summed up his mood throughout the entire trip that began the tailspin toward the sack.

A "high maintenance" employee

Mourinho oversaw United's worst start to a season in nearly 30 years, but it wasn't just results that had made his position untenable by the end -- it was also his attitude toward colleagues and his squad.

Offered the chance to talk up Paul Pogba after he won the World Cup at his first news conference at UCLA, the 55-year-old declined, instead choosing to say the midfielder must "understand" why his form had improved in Russia. Asked at the same news conference whether he believed his team were capable of challenging Manchester City for the title, he refused to answer.

Even from the start of his time at the club, there was always a nagging feeling that Mourinho didn't want to be there. United was meant to be his dream job but the cool, charismatic coach who showed up at Chelsea in 2004 was not the man who arrived at Old Trafford in 2016.

At his first meeting with journalists as United boss in a Shanghai hotel room, United's press officer told the group of 10 reporters he did not have much time before training.

"We are finished?" Mourinho said as he got up to leave. He had not yet fielded a question and it was assumed he was joking. He wasn't, and the laughter in the room quickly turned to confusion. Mourinho had to be ushered to re-take his seat.

One television reporter took a different approach to his first interview with the new manager in the summer of 2016. A family member had recently played Mourinho's body double in an advert and the journalist thought mentioning the coincidence would be a good ice breaker. It wasn't; the story didn't even prompt Mourinho to look up from his phone.

The interview was short and frosty, just like so many of his appearances in front of the cameras. In one sit-down with Sky Sports, he even sat with his phone on his knee to make sure it didn't extend beyond the agreed 10 minutes.

Mourinho cut an isolated figure in Manchester and was often spotted sitting alone in the restaurant at the Lowry Hotel in Salford, his home in the city for two-and-a-half years. It was fitting that his last act at the Lowry on Tuesday afternoon was to have lunch, spending most of his time on his phone.

Right from the start Mourinho would make regular trips back to London by train to see his family but wanted it known he was still committed to the job. During his first season he made sure a story was leaked to local newspaper the Manchester Evening News that despite spending time in the capital, he had not missed a single training session at Carrington.

However, much to his annoyance he wasn't in control of everything that seeped out.

After deciding to spring a surprise with his team selection for the derby against Manchester City in December 2017 by picking Romelu Lukaku, Marcus Rashford and Martial, he was furious to discover the team had leaked on social media 24 hours before kick-off. United lost 2-1 and Mourinho was convinced that one of the reasons was that Guardiola had got wind of his plan. Mourinho demanded staff discover the source of the leak -- the member of staff on the blind date even quizzed his companion about the subject -- but it remained elusive.

As recently as the 2-2 draw with Chelsea in October, his teams were still being published on Twitter the day before the game, often sending Mourinho into a rage before a ball had been kicked.

There were plenty of light moments with players, staff and fans -- he watched part of a reserve team game with disabled fans in September, and would often be seen joking with players in favour along with former assistant Rui Faria -- but club employees routinely found him difficult to deal with, privately commenting he was "high maintenance."

Ahead of the FA Cup semifinal against Tottenham in April, he refused to choose between two hotel options, the Wembley Hilton and The Landmark in Marylebone. He was told both had pros and cons, which were spelled out to him. He shrugged his shoulders, told staff to choose but was unhappy once in the Hilton because his favourite meeting room was being used by Microsoft.

According to sources, United even tried to accommodate Mourinho whenever they could and cancelled a series of sponsor events ahead of the Europa League final in Stockholm at his request despite spending thousands of pounds to fly a number of high-profile executives and their guests to Sweden.

These issues weren't just related to members of staff. Mourinho's most high-profile feud at United was with record signing Pogba, stripped of the vice captaincy in September, but at different times during his reign the squad had been puzzled by his treatment of Luke Shaw and Martial. Telling a news conference that Shaw had used "his body with my brain" after a positive performance in his first game in four months caused particular bewilderment within an unhappy dressing room.

Mourinho just didn't fit

As well as disappointing results, a poor record in the transfer market and a style of football that failed to excite supporters, there was an overriding feeling that by the end Mourinho thought he was bigger than the club and his tenure had to end. By September, and despite agreeing a contract extension with Mourinho in January following his public flirtation with Paris Saint-Germain, the club were refusing to offer any cast-iron guarantees about his future.

Speculation linking Zinedine Zidane to Old Trafford -- most of which generated in Spain -- was knocked down after the dismal 3-1 defeat at West Ham, but questions about Mourinho in general were treated with more open-ended answers. Without the concrete backing Mourinho wanted, his agent, Jorge Mendes, was forced to step in by releasing a rare statement insisting that everything was fine.

It was telling that following Mourinho's sacking on Tuesday morning, sources close to the club made it clear that both the caretaker manager and the next permanent boss would be leaders who could unite the players behind them and re-connect supporters to the club.

Sources told ESPN FC that the players were "shocked" when they were informed of the decision by Woodward at Carrington on Tuesday morning but that the general feeling was one of "relief."

« Reply #25 on: February 27, 2019, 08:49:09 AM »
De man wanted to give Yorke the boot yes lol

« Reply #26 on: February 27, 2019, 10:12:53 AM »
Interesting that the club stood firm for Dwight.  Nice to see loyalty for one of our boys.

Man U have 52 scouts and can't find a suitable center back?  Mourinho right to complain about them.

« Reply #27 on: March 31, 2020, 06:51:21 AM »
Mourinho's ideal XIs: Which is better?
Omnisport

Whatever your thoughts on modern-day Jose Mourinho, you cannot deny his legacy in football. For one thing, he wouldn't let you.

Eight league titles across four different countries, domestic cups with Porto, Chelsea, Inter, Real Madrid and Manchester United, one Europa League, two Champions Leagues, the 2009-10 treble... Mourinho has a trophy cabinet that would be the envy of most coaches in the game.

His teams have, of course, boasted their fair share of star names who have helped him on his way to greatness - even if he didn't get on with them all. In fact, last weekend, Marca published a series of ideal XIs from football figures across the world, including one selected by Mourinho himself from his best club sides.

It's a pretty formidable line-up, but we at Stats Perform think we might have one to match. Each one contains a notable Opta fact for each player.

See which team you think is best...

MOURINHO'S BEST XI (according to the man himself):

Petr Cech
In Mourinho's first season in charge at Chelsea, Cech kept 24 clean sheets in the Premier League (2004-05), a record in the competition.

Javier Zanetti
Zanetti was the only outfield player to play every minute of Inter's 2009-10 Champions League-winning campaign under Mourinho.

John Terry
Chelsea's former captain has made more Premier League appearances under Mourinho (187) than any other player, scoring 15 goals.

Ricardo Carvalho
The centre-back played under Mourinho for three different sides (Porto, Chelsea and Real Madrid) – indeed, no player has made more Champions League appearances under the Portuguese than Carvalho (54).

William Gallas
Only John Terry (15) has netted more Premier League goals among defenders under Mourinho than Gallas (seven – level with Branislav Ivanovic).

Claude Makelele
In Chelsea's title-winning campaign of 2004-05, Makelele made 140 interceptions from the heart of Chelsea's midfield. Only Patrick Viera (156) made more among outfield players that season.

Frank Lampard
Lampard scored more Premier League goals under Mourinho (49) than any other player. In 2004-05 Lampard became the first Premier League midfielder to reach double figures for both goals (13) and assists (18) since Matt Le Tissier in 1994-95, whilst only Thierry Henry (39) registered more goal involvements than the Englishman (31).

Eden Hazard
During Mourinho's second tenure in charge at Chelsea, Hazard scored in more Premier League games than any other player for the club (24 – 28 goals).

Mesut Ozil
Ozil provided more assists (47) and created more chances (314) than any other player under Mourinho in LaLiga.

Cristiano Ronaldo
Ronaldo scored 153 LaLiga goals under Mourinho, 83 more than any other player for Madrid during this period. He also scored 12 Champions League goals in 2012-13: at that stage, only Lionel Messi (14 goals in 2011-12) had scored more goals in a single Champions League campaign.

Didier Drogba
Drogba won the Premier League Golden Boot in 2006-07 under Mourinho (20 goals), despite Chelsea finishing second that season behind Manchester United.

AN ALTERNATIVE BEST MOURINHO XI (according to Stats Perform):

Iker Casillas
Only Victor Valdes (42) kept more clean sheets among LaLiga goalkeepers than Casillas (35) while Mourinho was in charge at Real Madrid.

Cesar Azpilicueta
Azpilicueta was Chelsea's Players' Player of the Year in Mourinho's first season back at the Blues in 2013-14.

Sergio Ramos
In Mourinho's three seasons at Real Madrid, only Guilherme Siqueira scored more LaLiga goals among defenders than Ramos (10).

Marco Materazzi
The treble-winning defender's only Champions League goal came in the 2008-09 season under Mourinho, against Anorthosis Famagusta in the group stages.

Marcelo
The Brazilian completed more dribbles in LaLiga than any other defender during Mourinho's stint as Real Madrid boss (154).

Esteban Cambiasso
Only captain Javier Zanetti (75) and keeper Julio Cesar (74) played more league games for Inter under Mourinho than Cambiasso (65).

Paul Pogba
No United player was involved in more Premier League goals than Pogba while Mourinho was in charge at Old Trafford (31 – 14 goals, 17 assists).

Deco
Deco was involved in more goals than any other Porto player in their successful 2003-04 Champions League campaign (seven – two goals, five assists), also creating more chances than any other player at the club (38).

Wesley Sneijder
Sneijder was involved in more goals than any other Inter player during their successful 2009-10 Champions League campaign (nine – three goals, six assists), also creating more chances than any other player at the club (33). After leading Inter to the treble and Netherlands to the World Cup final in 2010, he somehow failed to make the Ballon d'Or top three.

Samuel Eto'o
Only Eden Hazard (14) scored more Premier League goals for Chelsea than Eto'o in Mourinho's first season back at Chelsea in 2013-14, with the Cameroon striker netting a hat-trick against reigning champions Manchester United.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic
Ibrahimovic was top scorer in Serie A in Mourinho's first season with Inter, scoring 25 goals.

« Reply #28 on: March 31, 2020, 07:23:22 AM »
Not many would exclude Ramos from an XI, but Mourinho  yes.

« Reply #29 on: March 31, 2020, 09:06:56 AM »
Mesut Ozil over Messi, well yes, Jose bad minded boy.