April 24, 2024, 10:45:48 PM

Author Topic: Chutney Soca Thread  (Read 29885 times)

Chutney Soca Thread
« on: February 27, 2007, 10:14:33 AM »
Rikki Jai Was Bestowed The Title Of “Chutney Soca Grandmaster
Source: Trinidad Guardian

Rikki Jai (Samraj Jaimungal) has been bestowed the title of “Chutney Soca Grandmaster.”

The announcement was made last week by Nirmal “Massive” Gosein, producer of D’massive Gosein Roving Chutney Calypso Comedy Tent, at the tent’s finale for the c2k7 season.

Jai was given a crystal trophy and $10,000 by Gosein And Nal Ramsingh, CEO of Ramsingh Sports World before thousands in Couva.

Gosein said Jai must be recognised as one of the leading pioneers of the Chutney Soca genre and a driving force in the industry.

Jai said he was humbly accepting the award on behalf of his countless fans that have supported his career since the inception.

Re: Rikki Jai is Chutneys' finnest
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2007, 10:19:23 AM »
chutney soca is annoying at best.

usually is just plain shit.

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2007, 06:43:18 PM »

Boss, be open-minded. Different culture......different preference. What if someone say that about rap, reagge or soca? Have some respect. What is that one?

« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2007, 08:45:28 AM »
dais mih humble opinion breds.

more power to whoever like they chutney business.

Offline johnny_ringo

« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2007, 09:34:20 AM »
Shitty dish network providers are the most annoying of all !!!  :devil:

« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2007, 01:31:25 PM »

Boss, be open-minded. Different culture......different preference. What if someone say that about rap, reagge or soca? Have some respect. What is that one?

I agree with yuh Kingman, people's  culture should be respected...i wondered if anybody in germany was thinking that there was too much dotish Trinis in Germany acting like they win the World Cup after their first game especially when they play plain shit.

« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2007, 02:21:08 PM »
i see wha allyuh brothers saying.

now chutney is part of trini culture and, therefore, we culture. but that doh mean a man have to like something just because is part of the cultural fabric of where he come from.

just like how i doh like chutney music, i doh like:

- heavy pepper sauce on mih food like so much other trini
- pastelle
- curry
- the disgraceful drunkeness that so much trini is engage in
- rapso artist like kmc feeling they could sing and making some real schupid tune that people like for some reason
- cricket

is just preference like who some people have a preference for chutney music but may not like soca.

allyuh understand where i coming from?
« Last Edit: February 28, 2007, 02:32:39 PM by Andre »

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2007, 03:07:16 PM »

now chutney is part of trini culture and, therefore, we culture. but that doh mean a man have to like something just because is part of the cultural fabric of where he come from.

- pastelle
- curry
- rapso artist like kmc feeling they could sing and making some real schupid tune that people like for some reason
- cricket

is just preference like who some people have a preference for chutney music but may not like soca.

I totally get whey yuh coming from!!! :beermug:
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2007, 06:21:32 PM »

- pastelle
- curry
- cricket

i understand whey yuh coming from..me personally..i am not a chutney fan but there are some songs I like, as a matter of fact i listen to all types of music, just that i like some more than others.

it is just how u said it..it not what u say but how u say it...calling an aspect of someone culture plain shit or annoying at most is a bit ignorant.  Saying it is not ur speed or cup of tea or u not on dat chutney scene sounds a lot better.

Just my humble opinion..... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2007, 07:20:02 PM »

But andre TI say they does play chutney around port of spain on nelson and duncan street , the harp in success laventille  all down in snake valley paradise heights  and pizzar lands lavantille ... yuh hear it in china town belmont  morvant ... wha wrong wid you andre wha make you eh like it  chuitney yuh want TI get vex wid yuh ah wha .... man in the ghetto does bump it out of the car eating some doubles/ kentucky with plenty pepper and a red solo  :beermug: :devil:

« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2007, 09:56:07 PM »

- pastelle
- curry
- cricket

NO!! me eh understand whey you commin from atall

Wha kinda madman doh like Pastelle??

« Reply #11 on: March 01, 2007, 08:25:41 AM »
Rikki gwan good but dat young yute call adesh samaroo a mash up de place man .. he have some decent chunes..  Chutney is alright music man I does listen to it when I  drinking wid mi Indian friends dem or Guyaneese.. dem guyaneese love dey chutney music nuh rass... dem even swear sundar was a guyaneese.. anyway andre speak yu mind man .. people have to be lil boy to dig any horrors about yu choice of music ..  I like mi Indian music but it have to be film songs mi nah innah dat chutney soca ting dat much.. I jes get a cd from Trini wid an artist call Indar kanhai de man have a voice of gold for anyone who vibes a lil indian ting.. check dat bredda out nice music..
war..

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #12 on: March 01, 2007, 11:30:50 AM »

- pastelle
- curry
- cricket

I was now askin myself that.

« Reply #13 on: March 19, 2007, 09:16:57 AM »

- pastelle
- curry
- cricket

;D ;D

« Reply #14 on: March 19, 2007, 09:18:45 AM »
I always liked Rikki Jai mehself...from back in the dey.

Big Up Rik!!

Offline johnny_ringo

« Reply #15 on: March 19, 2007, 11:31:31 AM »
boy i remember drivin through somewhere by Enterprise with meh boy dem ah day. We stop by this random  ole bar to buy blends and RIKKI JAI was just there chiilin like its Cheers. Seemed like a cool guy so he gets my vote.
Plus the video where he film on san-do hill was best
« Last Edit: March 19, 2007, 11:36:53 AM by johnny_ringo »

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
« Reply #16 on: March 24, 2007, 06:53:54 AM »
I like a couple chutney tunes but I'm not a big Chutney fan...I like the fact that Chutney is part of our culture...It proves the diversity within our culture....and the couple chutney tunes I like were from Rikki Jai..
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

« Reply #17 on: March 24, 2007, 08:54:04 AM »
Alyah ein't like" Rum till I die " boi daiz good chutney boi

http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/chutney/rum_till_i_die.htm

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
Chutney Soca Thread
« Reply #18 on: August 06, 2007, 07:51:30 PM »
« Last Edit: August 06, 2007, 07:53:18 PM by trinindian »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
Re: Soca-Chutney: Shurwayne Winchester - Don't Stop
« Reply #19 on: August 07, 2007, 01:08:49 PM »
Man I love dis chune bad!

De video not so hot doh. It look like he advertising de car and sunglasses. De girl nice doh and ah love dat red sari!

Re: Soca-Chutney: Shurwayne Winchester - Don't Stop
« Reply #20 on: August 12, 2007, 01:45:48 PM »
He still bulling.

2011 Chutney Monarch !!!!! (Samraj Jaimungal ) RIKKI JAI
« Reply #21 on: February 20, 2011, 01:17:43 AM »
I only saw the last five chutney competitors RICK RAMOUTAR was one of them,he was good.
RIKKI JAI was always well loved for years. 

« Last Edit: February 20, 2011, 02:02:37 AM by davyjenny1 »

Re: 2011 Chutney Monarch !!!!! (Samraj Jaimungal ) RIKKI JAI
« Reply #22 on: February 20, 2011, 08:28:32 AM »
congrats to rikki. always liked him  :beermug:

Rikki Jai wins $2M
« Reply #23 on: February 21, 2011, 06:28:13 AM »
Rikki Jai wins $2M
Monday, February 21 2011
T&T Newsday Reports.

The first $2 million grand prize of the 2011 Carnival season was awarded to Rikki Jai, who defeated 14 competitors at the Chutney Soca Monarch final before a massive crowd at Skinner Park, San Fernando in the early hours of yesterday morning.

And speaking to reporters following his victory, the 46-year-old Rikki Jai, (Samraj Jaimungal), could barely contain his joy at winning the crown for a sixth time saying, “God is good and the People’s Partnership is good.”

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar took centre stage with Arts and Multiculturalism Minister Winston “Gypsy” Peters to present Rikki Jai with a replica cheque for $2 million, a historic sum which Persad-Bissessar had promised to the winners of all calypso, soca, chutney soca and Panorama competitions during the Partnership’s general election campaign last May.

After the announcement that he had won, Rikki Jai dropped to his knees in front of the cheering crowd of an estimated 30,000, then got up and walked toward the official party but had to be helped as he nearly collapsed, overcome with emotion.

“I have to say my belly was in my hand, coming down from five to second, my belly still cramping, my belly still cramping. I happy, I just happy,” Rikki Jai later told reporters.

Rikki Jai, singing his own composition “White Oak and Water”, dethroned defending monarch Ravi Bissembhar (Ravi B), who performed “Ah Kyah Come”, in a competition by which the winner was chosen through a text vote system by local and international audiences in the United States and Canada watching live on State-television CNMG.

There was heavy campaign in the press for Rikki Jai and Bissembhar in the run-up to the final. Rikki Jai’s sponsor Angostura’s White Oak ran advertisements, and so did Bissembhar’s sponsor Digicel. During the televised broadcast, advertisements ran reminding viewers to text for Rikki Jai.

The champion monarch received 18,285 votes, 7,000 more than the 11,187 votes which Bissembhar received. Another crowd favourite, Veeshal K I Persad placed third with 10,451 votes for his song, “No More Rum Again”.

The results were not well received by some patrons at Skinner Park, who chanted for Bissembhar, prompting the Prime Minister to say “We love you too Ravi.”

Rikki Jai noted it was not an easy win.

“This was no easy battle tonight, this texting thing is not what people make it out to be, but at the end of it I am very happy to be the champion Chutney Soca Monarch 2K11. I really can’t express myself, the joy is unbelievable,” he said.

During his performance late Saturday night, Rikki Jai told the tale of a man who wants to marry a woman but had no dowry except, “White Oak and Rum”. He emerged from a replica of a White Oak bottle, but later told the crowd, his song was not about rum-drinking but about love, even saying he met his wife Shellyann at a chutney soca competition and they had two sons, Ashish, six, and Vashish, four.

His experience as a chutney soca performer for more than 20 years shone through as Rikki Jai commanded the waving audience, backed by a supporting cast of break-dancers from Xtreme Break Dance Company, traditional East Indian dances by Premala Dancers and costumed Carnival revellers.

Bissembhar too delivered a show-stopper, featuring elaborate dance numbers, dressing in a suit that shot out fireworks that blazoned the letter R on his back. Many of the competitors portrayed over-the-top productions characteristic of Bollywood musicals, however Rikki Jai won over the television audience to capture his sixth crown. He previously won in 1998, 1999, 2001, 2002 and tied in 2003 with veteran chutney artiste Heeralal Rampartap.

“My heart beating fast here. I’ve been down this road before but this one special, this one special, that’s all I could say,” Rikki Jai said, adding, “I feel great to be the first person to win the two million dollars and I want to wish and extend all the best wishes to the next person who takes the next two million.”

The Government-sponsored $2 million was a staggering amount compared to the second prize of $100,000 which is funded by the competition’s promoter Southex.

The third place winner is to receive $60,000 with $30,000 going to each competitor placing fourth to 15th.

What does Rikki Jai plan to do with his winnings?

“What I plan to do with it? I can’t say yet, but good things, good things. Trust me, I’m not going to waste this two million dollars. It’s going to be put in the right place, in the right time for the right people. In my religion, I’m a Hindu, charity really and truly should not be something of glory, if you want to do it, you do it and take the blessing from the Lord,” he said.

Rikki Jai also announced his retirement from the Chutney Soca Monarch competition saying he now had another major Carnival competition in his sights — the calypso crown.

“This is my sixth and final time, I said it in an interview that if I win this competition in Skinner Park for the sixth time, I am retiring from Chutney Soca Monarch, and I am coming for the Calypso Monarch, that’s where I am going next,” he said. Rikki Jai, previously made it to the Calypso Monarch final at Dimache Gras in 2001 with his compositions “A Good Father” and “Identity”, placing seventh. He also won the South Calypso Monarch and the National Unattached Calypso Monarch in that same year.

The 2011 Chutney Soca Monarch competition began shortly after 9 pm on Saturday with the appearance of Guyanese Terry Gajraj, who sang “Sumatie” and had a contingent of supporters waving the national flag of Guyana.

Although greatly outnumbered, women artistes, Sally Sagram, Arti Butkoon and veteran Drupatee Ramgooni-Persad, who returned to competition after a 12-year absence, stood up strong to the men with racy songs of courtship, infidelity and sexuality. Sagram sang “Go So Nah”, Butkoon “River Lime” and Ramgoonai-Persad “Mih Lover”.

Each felt the time had come for a woman to be crowned chutney soca monarch, just as a woman had been elected prime minister last year.

Sagram even crowned herself with a tiara during her performance.

However, the men continued to dominate with Rick Ramoutar and Lalchan “Hunter” Babwah rounding off the top five.

« Reply #24 on: February 21, 2011, 08:32:34 AM »
Rikki Jai wins $2M
Monday, February 21 2011
T&T Newsday Reports.

Although greatly outnumbered, women artistes, Sally Sagram, Arti Butkoon and veteran Drupatee Ramgooni-Persad, who returned to competition after a 12-year absence, stood up strong to the men with racy songs of courtship, infidelity and sexuality. Sagram sang “Go So Nah”, Butkoon “River Lime” and Ramgoonai-Persad “Mih Lover”.

Each felt the time had come for a woman to be crowned chutney soca monarch, just as a woman had been elected prime minister last year.

I doh get dis reasoning.

Buh.....it had rel comess. Ravi B spend like 300 thousand to win 100 thousand. People rel tote.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #25 on: February 21, 2011, 10:41:37 AM »
Rikki Jai wins $2M
Monday, February 21 2011
T&T Newsday Reports.

I doh get dis reasoning.

Buh.....it had rel comess. Ravi B spend like 300 thousand to win 100 thousand. People rel tote.

The text thing is real mess... they trying ah American Idol thing, but unlike the contestants in American Idol who are all unknowns, the contestants in Soca Monarch have varying degrees of celebrity.  I like Rikki Jai as I've posted here recently, and he would have been my sentimental favorite (since I don't know any of the songs involved)... but it would have been near difficult for anybody else to compete with him on an even popularity footing.

« Reply #26 on: February 21, 2011, 10:48:11 AM »
Rikki Jai wins $2M
Monday, February 21 2011
T&T Newsday Reports.

I doh get dis reasoning.

ricky jai himself said the the 2M should ah by d value of d entire prize package 1M first prize and d other Million distributed for the other prizes.........."If only he had it in 'im to put d money where he mout is"....not dat he should  :P ............dat having been said, dat 2M was always going to cause confusion, especially since event handlers would have to foot d bill for d odder prizes and woulda it be difficult to give other prizes on dat level.

« Reply #27 on: February 21, 2011, 10:59:37 AM »
Rikki Jai wins $2M
Monday, February 21 2011
T&T Newsday Reports.

I doh get dis reasoning.

The text thing is real mess... they trying ah American Idol thing, but unlike the contestants in American Idol who are all unknowns, the contestants in Soca Monarch have varying degrees of celebrity.  I like Rikki Jai as I've posted here recently, and he would have been my sentimental favorite (since I don't know any of the songs involved)... but it would have been near difficult for anybody else to compete with him on an even popularity footing.

Actually Ravi B felt he won, and he believed it was fixed.  He had probably the biggest following that night.  After he ask the crowd to pelt the stage down, he release a public apology.  I know people at the CSM who hadda duck like a boxer to not get hit.  Too much drama...

I lose a lot of respect for Ravi B; whether or not he was "robbed" he needs to handle it like a professional.

« Reply #28 on: February 21, 2011, 11:15:35 AM »
I lose a lot of respect for Ravi B; whether or not he was "robbed" he needs to handle it like a professional.

He did handle it like a professional.... a professional wrestler!
Lucha Libre!

« Reply #29 on: February 21, 2011, 11:20:56 AM »
Actually Ravi B felt he won, and he believed it was fixed.  He had probably the biggest following that night.  After he ask the crowd to pelt the stage down, he release a public apology.  I know people at the CSM who hadda duck like a boxer to not get hit.  Too much drama...

What Ravi B felt is immaterial... and same for the crowd as well.  They open voting up to international voting and Rikki Jai has the largest international following... so right there they skew the balance (deliberately or not) in his favor, not that I complaining, just commenting as a casual observer.  If I as a competitor had to settle for one-fifth of the grand prize for placing second I mighta temporarily loss mih rationality too... but that is not excusing his behavior if in fact as you say, he incited the violent response at the end.