April 19, 2024, 04:04:14 PM

Author Topic: Chutney Soca Thread  (Read 29861 times)

Re: 2013 Chutney Soca
« Reply #60 on: December 30, 2012, 11:40:05 PM »
M'ba - Jharay (2013 Chutney Soca)
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/lHECAFRpDnE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/lHECAFRpDnE</a>
Written and Compose by:- Gary Thomasos Dass
Produce and Arrange by:- Kenny Phillips
Executive Producers:-
K. Saunders and Kathy-Ann Phillip

M'ba real blaze the T&T PP government in this one sah!! Wicked tune!  :beermug:
« Last Edit: January 11, 2013, 04:07:39 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #61 on: January 07, 2013, 02:50:01 PM »
Ravi B ft. Konshens - Friends With Benefits

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/bbU1bJ0KvYE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/bbU1bJ0KvYE</a>
« Last Edit: January 11, 2013, 04:08:08 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #62 on: January 07, 2013, 02:51:34 PM »
DollyBoy Ft Hunter - Need Somebody

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/20S4OE3j4dQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/20S4OE3j4dQ</a>
« Last Edit: January 11, 2013, 04:09:32 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #63 on: January 07, 2013, 02:53:35 PM »
Raymond Ramnarine ft. Mr.Vegas - I Ain't Marridin' No More Remix

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ez7od_DDCos" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ez7od_DDCos</a>
« Last Edit: January 11, 2013, 04:10:42 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #64 on: January 07, 2013, 03:21:42 PM »

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ez7od_DDCos" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ez7od_DDCos</a>
Holy instant classic !!! Best song in years .
« Last Edit: January 11, 2013, 04:11:36 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #65 on: January 09, 2013, 10:56:43 AM »
Prophet Benjamin sets his sights on Chutney Soca crown
Published: Wednesday, January 9, 2013
Reshma Ragoonath
http://www.guardian.co.tt/carnival/2013-01-09/%C2%ADprophet-benjamin-sets-his-sights-chutney-soca-crown

Prophet Benjamin has been synonymous with conscious reggae, but in 2013, this Point Fortin resident is seeking to break into the chutney genre as he sets his sights on the Chutney Soca Monarch crown. On Saturday, Benjamin, aka Devon Samuel, will square off against 44 contestants, including chutney soca heavyweights such as Rikki Jai, as he competes in the semifinal round of the Lotto Plus 2013 Chutney Soca Monarch at the Rise Car Park, Chaguanas.

This year is the first time Benjamin has thrown his hat into the race to try his hand at chutney singing. His 2013 offering No Lookani, produced by Rishi Mahatoo, of Maha Productions, has been receiving a lot of airplay on local radio stations. His YouTube video has also been gaining popularity, with 9,300 views.

Benjamin, in an interview yesterday, said his decision to sing chutney should not come as a surprise, because he is a Trinidadian. “It is just a nice music. Chutney is a nice music. I am from T&T, it is a cosmopolitan country and different people have different likings. If I could bring happiness to the people in the chutney arena I would. Likewise, I would not go anywhere that would disrespect what I stand for,” Benjamin said.

Last year, Benjamin shocked many and sparked a bit of controversy when he entered the Soca Monarch competition with his song Throw Wine. The lyrics of the song  mentioned Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar. However, Benjamin expressed confidence that his 2013 offering would attract positive reviews, which he has already begun receiving.

“I keep getting calls from around the world. I did not expect it (No Lookani) would reach so far. I get a call from Bosnia. I have friends in that part of the world that listen to it, like it and playing it. From Guyana, Suriname go back to North America loving it,” he said. Benjamin added, “I am excited to spread the joy and love that Rastafarians have to offer.”

He said he expected to get some negative comments about his entry into the chutney arena, but put a positive spin on that. “If they do not do that, I would not be successful. Negative and positive bring electricity and the negative and positive opinions of people will bring spiritual growth and development.” Benjamin said he is excited about competing in Saturday’s semifinal, but admits he has no expectations for the finals.

“I am happy, I am looking forward to it. It is an opportunity to spread love and unity among the people and that is what I am about, love and unity. I feel a joy and I am feeling fun in the air, joy in the air. I am excited to make my people happy. I am excited to contribute to the East Indian community in our country.”

Benjamin’s manager Rick Davis believes the song, which is an authentic chutney song, will assist in the unification of the country. “That is our effort to unity here. Generally we know they would never give us the crown, but we going out there to give a hell of a performance and prove the sceptics wrong,” Davis said.

MORE INFO
The 2013 Lotto Plus Chutney Soca Monarch grand final is set for January 26 at Skinner Park, San Fernando. A first prize of $1 million is up for grabs. Finalists who do not make it to the first five positions will receive $60,000 each. Last year, the popular Carnival event was staged at Queen’s Park Oval, Port-of-Spain, for the first time. Southex CEO George Singh announced last month that the event will return to its traditional stomping ground, Skinner Park, San Fernando.

This year the Chutney Soca Monarch final is being sponsored in part by Guardian Media Ltd, the Ministry of Arts and Multiculturalism and the National Lotteries Control Board, among others.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2013, 04:12:06 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #66 on: January 09, 2013, 05:10:04 PM »
Chris Garcia - Mother-In-Law

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/7WPvMMHUKCM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/7WPvMMHUKCM</a>
« Last Edit: January 11, 2013, 04:14:02 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #67 on: January 11, 2013, 03:30:33 PM »
Daddy Chinee & Gayatones - Chutney Bubble

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/EI62OJbaP-Q" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/EI62OJbaP-Q</a>
« Last Edit: January 11, 2013, 04:33:06 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #68 on: January 15, 2013, 09:08:33 PM »
Possible contender for CSM....Drupatee song nice though

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/7LnJDbfPHvI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/7LnJDbfPHvI</a>
« Last Edit: January 15, 2013, 09:10:13 PM by ProudTrinbagonian »

« Reply #69 on: January 15, 2013, 09:12:09 PM »
Drupatee and Machel song badddd

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/6tME0564im8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/6tME0564im8</a>

« Reply #70 on: January 18, 2013, 10:11:01 PM »
Big Tune!

Kenneth Supersad - Bad Talking Woman

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/b6qS6myyajc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/b6qS6myyajc</a>

« Reply #71 on: January 22, 2013, 09:26:10 AM »
Saleem "Stinky" Beharry have the most original song this year though....hope he places top 3
Ah park up meh car in Sawa!

« Reply #72 on: January 22, 2013, 09:41:51 AM »
Saleem "Stinky" Beharry have the most original song this year though....hope he places top 3

Saleem Stinky Beharry - Park Meh Car

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/9jf0XGrMn0k" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/9jf0XGrMn0k</a>

« Reply #73 on: January 22, 2013, 08:55:55 PM »
Big Tune!

Kenneth Supersad - Bad Talking Woman

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/b6qS6myyajc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/b6qS6myyajc</a>

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Friggin solid!!!

« Reply #74 on: January 22, 2013, 09:00:53 PM »

Saleem Stinky Beharry - Park Meh Car

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/9jf0XGrMn0k" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/9jf0XGrMn0k</a>

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: funny!!! funny!!!!!

« Reply #75 on: January 26, 2013, 04:06:52 AM »
17 set for Chutney Soca final saturday

Fans of Chutney Soca partied all night as they listened to 42 performers competing for a place in the Chutney Soca Monarch finals carded for saturday at Skinner Park, San Fernando.
 following is a list of the 17 who will compete and try to dethrone defending champion KI Persad.

• SALEEM ‘STINKY’ BEHARRY
 • OMADATH MAHARAJ
 • ADESH SAMAROO
 • DRUPATEE RAMGOONAI
 • SALLY SAGRAM
 • HEMLATHA DINDIAL
 • VEEKASH SAHADEO
 • MICHELLE X
 • KENNETH SUPERSAD
 • PROPHET BENJAMIN
 • RICK RAMOUTAR
 • RIKKI JAI
 • ANIL BHEEM
 • RAYMOND RAMNARINE
 • HUNTER & JUNJEEZY
 • ROGER HINDS (GUYANA CHUTNEY SOCA MONARCH)
 • KI PERSAD (DEFENDING CHAMPION)

« Reply #76 on: January 26, 2013, 07:31:59 PM »

« Reply #77 on: January 26, 2013, 09:14:42 PM »
Order of appearance:

1. Hemlata Dindial
2. Adesh Samaroo
3. Michelle Xavier
4. Omadath Maraj
5. Rikki Jai
6. Roger Hinds (Guyana)
7. Raymond Ramnarine
8. Hunter and Junjeezy
9. Kris 'KI' Persad (defending champion)
10. Sally Sagram
11. Anil Bheem
12. Saleem Beharry
13. Veekash Sahadeo
14. Prophet Benjamin
15. Kenneth Supersad
16. Rick Ramoutar
17. Drupatee Ramgoonai

They now on #2 11:15pm. I don't know how you market these events internationally if you going to have them live at these times. You now get to the meat of it when the east coast of north america is in bed, and it's 4am GMT...
« Last Edit: January 26, 2013, 09:18:03 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #78 on: January 26, 2013, 11:07:35 PM »
Talk about asymmetric breasts ...  a kinda cyclops vibe ..or is that an incomplete wardrobe malfunction?
« Last Edit: January 27, 2013, 02:16:04 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #79 on: January 27, 2013, 02:00:13 AM »
Results:

1   Raymond Ramnarine
2   Rikki Jai
3   Kris 'KI' Persad
4   Kenneth Supersad
5   Drupatee Ramgoonai
6   Anil Bheem
7   Hunter and Junjeezy
7   Rick Ramoutar
8   Prophet Benjamin
9   Omadath Maraj
9   Sally Sagram
10   Saleem Beharry

The text voting business makes these competitions a farce. It doesn't make a difference what you do if the votes are for someone else. It's 70% votes, 30% judging.

I had Drupatee, Raymond Ramnarine and Kenneth Supersad in the top 3, so 1 out of 3 ain't bad.

« Reply #80 on: January 27, 2013, 02:14:09 AM »
Drupatee would have been higher in a vote by "professional" judges. I missed Rikki Jai's performance, but I'm not surprised by his placement. Hunter and Junjeezy breaking into the top 10 is definitely a beneficiary of the distorted text vote value.

Well-packaged show.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2013, 02:33:32 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #81 on: January 27, 2013, 02:20:24 AM »

Quags yuh call it out. Going forward what else could you reveal for the carnival? :)

« Reply #82 on: January 29, 2013, 08:41:06 AM »
A lil late but I just return from Trini....
Not getting into the politics from the Gen discussion forum to disturb my vibe for now....

Anyway, went to Chutney Soca Monarch and the show start rell late, but it was a good show,
I find the guy from India wasn't needed...the legends of Chutney was nice Rakesh is a boss.

17 artists was too much, shoulda been 10. there were a good few that had no place being in a final
Stinky get robbed, he was rell good, should have been top 5
Raymond was winning that from the get go. He had the crowd since the beginning when they call out he name
Rikki has stage presence but he shouldn't have been 2nd.  That's a name thing
KI was real good, he put down a nice performance...but he try to do too much
Drupatee was winning that if she brought Machel, but otherwise she sh*t on sheself
Hunter and Junjeezy had the guyanese vote, the song wasn't bad though
Kenneth Supersad put down a wicked performance, his song is real nice, had the older vote and woman vote.  He shoulda been top 3.  Raymond, Kenneth and KI were top 3 IMO.  Stinky was the darkhorse.  Man fly across stage in a Superman costume...lol

Ravi B and Karma special performance at the end of the show was the best of the night!

Good vibes there, even though they run out of Coconut water and Johnnie Black in VIP and had to wait an hour before they restock....and i ain't even getting into the washroom! that was nasty...good thing i iz a man, them ladies have it tough.

« Reply #83 on: January 29, 2013, 12:26:26 PM »

Quags yuh call it out. Going forward what else could you reveal for the carnival? :)
just took a quick listen to the 13 soca thread .And my favs after where Shurwaynes- We nah stopping ,huge song that .And I liked K-Rich -Wine back . Honorable mention to Machels-Float ,Shurwaynes- Tobago love, Erpaan -Eruption,.

« Reply #84 on: January 29, 2013, 09:33:39 PM »
I now hear this on Wack for the first time tonight, it old, but I still had to post it.

Vedesh Sookoo - Kaki and kaka
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/aTeHLpoGTUU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/aTeHLpoGTUU</a>

« Reply #85 on: January 29, 2013, 11:46:32 PM »
Yeah... i heard it tonight as well. Language is really something eh.. based on the specific context in which it is used.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2013, 11:53:59 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #86 on: January 30, 2013, 05:25:18 AM »
I think it's pretty clear why it hasn't achieved ... shall we say, "universal acclaim".

« Reply #87 on: February 22, 2013, 09:05:32 AM »
There is no way Prophet Benjamin should not have won the whole thing, his song is way better than the rest.

Anybody have de list of de winners.

All de other songs is de same shit, Prophet Benjamin was different and original..

« Reply #88 on: February 22, 2013, 09:12:38 AM »
There is no way Prophet Benjamin should not have won the whole thing, his song is way better than the rest.

Anybody have de list of de winners.

All de other songs is de same shit, Prophet Benjamin was different and original..

no way ,Raymond Ramnarine ft. Mr.Vegas - I Ain't Marridin a thousand times better ,
edit

1   Raymond Ramnarine
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/tgRFleCY0ec" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/tgRFleCY0ec</a>

2   Rikki Jai
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/IPmNZ8J8tBY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/IPmNZ8J8tBY</a>

3   Kris 'KI' Persad
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/qgYkzgQdMyI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/qgYkzgQdMyI</a>

4   Kenneth Supersad
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/K-CUb22aMwY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/K-CUb22aMwY</a>

5   Drupatee Ramgoonai
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/4KTTJ1mCKIc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/4KTTJ1mCKIc</a>

6   Anil Bheem
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/nvfLuASBt7c" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/nvfLuASBt7c</a>

7   Hunter and Junjeezy
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/b5HV5N6cOfU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/b5HV5N6cOfU</a>

7   Rick Ramoutar
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/znjIpq5pgYY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/znjIpq5pgYY</a>

8   Prophet Benjamin
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/EPwcbIbaqzQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/EPwcbIbaqzQ</a>

9   Omadath Maraj
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/WwJLTmZTqoI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/WwJLTmZTqoI</a>

9   Sally Sagram
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/5GbEhpToAdI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/5GbEhpToAdI</a>

10   Saleem Beharry
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/HOzP6-0HDcU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/HOzP6-0HDcU</a>

he came 8th .gonna listen to all the songs  and see if you just talking.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2013, 11:35:18 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #89 on: February 22, 2013, 11:40:43 PM »
To Quags and others, I've added YouTube videos of original songs for the first 10 places in this year's Chutney Soca Monarch competition.

You can listen and decide who has the best song of the lot and if the results seems fair but don't forget that 70% of the points were decided by Text Voting!