April 27, 2024, 09:58:31 PM

Author Topic: Hockey men in Argentina  (Read 1838 times)

Hockey men in Argentina
« on: March 02, 2007, 12:25:45 PM »
We are in Argentina preparing for the Pan American Games in July. We have 4 debutants with us and 2 other young players. We are missing 4 out of 5 UK players, but holding our own all things considered. We lost to Chile 0-7 (all goals in the 2nd half) on Wednesday, Argentina yesterday 1-8 and Chile again this morning 0-3. We play Argentina tomorrow morning and we head back home on Monday.

More to come later.

Re: Hockey men in Argentina
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2007, 12:53:04 PM »
you have the squad list anywhere boy?

how dev lumkit playing?

when yuh have some time post some pics.....argentina women sweet for days!

good luck breds  :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2007, 01:12:41 PM »
0-7, 1-8 and 03 is holding we own? I would hate to see a cut-arse

« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2007, 01:53:32 PM »
I expect us to get that kind of licks from Argentina but Chile??????

« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2007, 02:04:03 PM »
0-7, 1-8 and 03 is holding we own? I would hate to see a cut-arse

bare in mind a couple of things

(1) the T&T team just came from the Indoor Hockey World Cup and have been training mostly Indoor Hockey for the past few months.  Indoor Hockey is totally different from Outdoor Hockey.  The rules are different, the sticks are different, the facilities are different....it's like comparing Ball Hockey and Ice Hockey.....

(2) the team just arrived last last monday from Austria (indoor world cup) and then the next sunday they are going to Argentina to play friendlies to play outdoor hockey with a whopping 2-4 practices before heading out...fatigue/lack of outdoor preparations may be a factor.....

(3) all the new players that did not go the Indoor world cup have not lifted an outdoor stick since July-August last year(outdoor season)...so these so called debutants have only played indoor hockey for the last 5 or so months, and furthermore are not nearly in any physical condition to be playing International Hockey......meanwhile argentina and chile play outdoor hockey all year around, and the majority of clubs don't even play indoor hockey

(4) Argentina is the powerhouse of hockey in the Western Hemisphere....No team is even close to them right now (junior/seniors)....so believe it or not, the results above are not horrific noting that's not our 1st string team...
Chile has gotten extremely good recently, and they beat us last pan ams with our 1st string team.....so 3-0 is not a bad result.....but dat 7-0 surprise meh  :o
« Last Edit: March 02, 2007, 02:05:59 PM by lickslikefire »

« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2007, 07:50:26 PM »
1 - I played hockey myself and the indoor version is faster more intense than the outdoor game so going from outdoor to indoor is harder than the reverse.  I gave up playing indoor after two years and switched to rugby instead. All of the players who played in the indoor WC (who should be in excellent physical condition) also play outdoor...they're not specialist players so the transition shouldn't have been that that difficult.

2 - I don't accept the fatigue excuse but the lack of practice especially with the new players would result in a disjointed team performance.

3 - If this point is valid then none of those players deserve to play again.  If you've been invited to play for the national team in the off season you should take it upon yourself to keep yourself in shape.

4- You'll get no argument from me about Argentina, out best result against them has been a 3-1 loss (as far as I know) and that was the under 21 team.

This whole thing reeks of amateurish organization on the part of the hockey administration.  Scheduling these friendlies at this time makes no sense and the players should have been properly prepared.  They used to be better than this.

« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2007, 11:05:05 PM »
1 - I played hockey myself and the indoor version is faster more intense than the outdoor game so going from outdoor to indoor is harder than the reverse.  I gave up playing indoor after two years and switched to rugby instead. All of the players who played in the indoor WC (who should be in excellent physical condition) also play outdoor...they're not specialist players so the transition shouldn't have been that that difficult.

I agree that indoor players are not specialist players....but the transition is a lot harder at the international level in my opinion......if you didn't pick up an outdoor stick or hit a ball in 5 months, and you go play a team like Argentina or Chile who are in the heart of their outdoor season(furthermore their outdoor national team training for months even years now consistently), yuh don't think yuh go get yuh ass wash...N.B. Chile is no pushover...they tied Argentina last year in the round robin phase of the South American qualifiers for the Pan Ams....

2 - I don't accept the fatigue excuse but the lack of practice especially with the new players would result in a disjointed team performance.

3 - If this point is valid then none of those players deserve to play again. If you've been invited to play for the national team in the off season you should take it upon yourself to keep yourself in shape.

I find yuh point 3 kinda harsh, especially considering some of the "new" players got invited the Friday before they left on the Sunday.   I would agree with you if they had been given a reasonable timeframe to get fit.

I also agree that the scheduling of these friendlies is strange, but I'm sure there is a reason to it....maybe that's the only time Argentina/Chile was available, or maybe we wanted to blood and test out some new players against quality opposition.....regardless this team has a lot of things lined up before Pan ams...so I think they will be adequately prepared for July....  :beermug:
« Last Edit: March 02, 2007, 11:13:52 PM by lickslikefire »

« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2007, 01:21:37 PM »
Chile 0-7 and 0-3, Argentina 1-8 and 0-8.

Interesting points.

The indoor season had little to do with our performances in my opinion. We had one or two technical issues for our first training, but by the second that was pretty much sorted out. Admittedly the longer distances to run (at pace) was a bit difficult at times, but generally the indoor guys were able to cope.

Travelling to Argentina is a tough whole day process. We left T&T Monday morning (around 11:00) and got into Buenos Aires at 5:00 am. The fitness of the younger guys left a lot to be desired and their lack of fitness put pressure on everyone. The last game we just ran out of gas and despite this played Argentina well for most of the game.

I don't know what the non indoor guys have been doing in our absence, but the basic skills from too many players (in particular the younger guys) was not up to international standard. We suffered often because these guys were unable to consistently stop easy balls or make a simple pass. In addition, the pace and physical nature of hockey at this level overwhelmed a couple of the younger guys. Our local game is just not competitive enough to prepare players for international hockey. It's a wonder that we are as competitive as we are and I wonder what happens when this group that is 29 and up retires what will happen.

The scheduling of the matches is not really all that strange. This was in place months ago. Remember Argentina did not participate in the Indoor WC and they have no reason to put their preparation on hold because of it. In the meantime we have an early opportunity to see where we are and what needs to be done. Although it is good to play quality matches the week before a major tournament that leaves little room for assessment and correction. The one drawback was the absence of the UK based players (except one), but with that said it augers well for us that we were able to play the way we did against Chile and Argentina without them. Chile were fortunate in both matches, since neither score accurately reflected the game. To be fair to them they took their opportunities and made us pay for our mistakes. Argentina is not 8 goals better than us (they still are clearly better though) and although I anticipate both teams will improve before the Pan Am Games I think we have the ability to raise our game much more than either team since they had their full complement of players.

Pictures to come soon. Because we were short handed it was difficult to get pictures from the match.

Team:
Reiza Hossein, Andrey Rocke (goal keepers), Kwan Browne, Solomon Eccles, Wayne Legerton, Damian Gordon, Kiel Murray, Nicholas Wren, Akim Toussaint, Dev Lum Kit, Alan Henderson (UK based), Mathew Tang Nian, Stefan Mouttet, Christopher Scipio and Simon Craig
absent: Darren Cowie (broken thumb), Dwain Quan Chan (unavailable), Dillet Gilkes and Ron Alexander: all based in London