April 29, 2024, 08:00:36 AM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 299237 times)

Re: Latest FIFA Rankings
« Reply #1410 on: April 22, 2011, 09:25:44 AM »
Soca Warriors fourth in CFU rankings.
T&T Guardian.
Fri, 2011-04-22

Jamaica and Cuba suffered significant drops in the latest Federation of International Football Associations (Fifa) world rankings but this has not impacted on their standing in the Caribbean, as they remain the top two sides in the region.

The Jamaicans, the Digicel Caribbean Cup champions, dropped 16 places and the Cubans 18 spots to 64th and 82nd, respectively, in the world. In a shake-up of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) top five, T&T which has not played an international friendly for 2011 has moved up to third and Haiti, fourth after Grenada dropped five places in the world to 99th and are now the CFU fifth ranked team.

A little further down, the only other major news is that Antigua & Barbuda have advanced one place to reach the top-100 in the world for the first time, since the world rankings were launched 18 years ago. The rest of the rankings remain largely unchanged, with Guyana and Suriname slipping in their standing in the world.

Fifa reported that 124 international matches were played since the last edition of the world ranking five weeks ago, which has doubled the total number of games played for the year to 248, and all have impacted in determining the latest rankings.

Of the 124 matches contested, 50 were qualifiers for confederation championships (29 in Europe and 21 in Africa). The other 74 games were friendly internationals. World Cup champions, Spain is still the top team in the world followed by South Africa runner-up Holland, Brazil, Germany and Argentina.

England stays at sixth, ahead of Uruguay, Portugal, Italy and Croatia to complete the top ten. The USA at 22nd, down three places is the top ranked country in Concacaf ahead of Mexico (26th), Honduras (43rd), Costa Rica (55th), Jamaica, Canada (75th), El Salvador (87th) and T&T (94th).

Well yes allyuh see dat!? Big team is big team and big coach is big coach yes!!

Hey Fellas, I think Pfister know what he doing yes!

No games since he got hired and we already move up to third place in CONCACAF!

Allyuh watch and see what will happen with our rankings after we drop some licks on teams like Antigua, St Kitts & Bermuda!!

Well is now self I joining the bandwagon!!

Brazil 2014 here we come!  :wavetowel:

Yuh like schupidness eh?  :D

« Reply #1411 on: April 22, 2011, 04:47:03 PM »
Best we cancel all friendlies and jus move up de ranks ;D

« Reply #1412 on: April 22, 2011, 05:23:03 PM »
Best we cancel all friendlies and jus move up de ranks ;D

Like yuh trying to give we new coach ideas or what!?
We already know the TTFF will press the new coach hard to keep friendlies to a minimum to save cost but maybe REDjet might encourage them to play more games against Guyana, Barbados, Jamaica and whoever else REDjet will be serving from Trinidad!  If REDjet flying to Tobago look for us to play plently friendlies against them as well! ;)

Brazil 2014 here we come!  :wavetowel:
« Last Edit: April 22, 2011, 05:27:30 PM by Socapro »

Offline Boodsy

« Reply #1413 on: April 23, 2011, 06:47:41 AM »

3rd in CFU not CONCACAF...where we still languishing at 10th spot

« Reply #1414 on: April 23, 2011, 12:35:19 PM »

3rd in CFU not CONCACAF...where we still languishing at 10th spot

Sorry that's what I meant!  ;)

« Reply #1415 on: June 29, 2011, 07:44:51 AM »
so we move up 7 spots to 90th without playing a game  ??? what a ting !!!!!

« Reply #1416 on: June 29, 2011, 08:02:12 AM »

A parting gift 2 Jack

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #1417 on: June 29, 2011, 08:52:06 AM »

You moved up because teams around you lost ground. The FIFA rankings will reward you when you dont play...will penalize you when you play and lose. and rward you more when you play and beat teams above you. Jamaica jumped 17 places to #3 in concacaf primarily on back of the victory over Honduras in the Gold Cup.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2011, 09:22:58 AM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #1418 on: June 29, 2011, 09:10:47 AM »
Every month, same story...  ::)
This thread always serves as my reminder that education is a constant process.

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #1419 on: June 29, 2011, 09:25:54 AM »

Actually, there is a formula you can use to calculate the ranking. Theres a thread on the rbz forum that accurately projected jamaicas 38 ranking for June.

« Reply #1420 on: June 29, 2011, 09:27:03 AM »

Actually, there is a formula you can use to calculate the ranking. Theres a thread on the rbz forum that accurately projected jamaicas 38 ranking for June.

Case in point...

« Reply #1421 on: June 29, 2011, 09:42:16 AM »
Maybe is best we doh play... Grenada and Cuba moved down 19 and 20 spots respectively for their gold cup participation  :devil: ... Seriously though even though some forumites try to disregard these rankings as rubbish, the fact is it is important to our footballers obtaining european contracts, workpermits, etc...

« Reply #1422 on: June 29, 2011, 01:24:40 PM »

« Reply #1423 on: June 29, 2011, 02:56:44 PM »
rankings are over-rated!!!!!!1

Offline reggae-fan

FIFA rankings out today
« Reply #1424 on: August 24, 2011, 05:22:57 PM »
Netherlands trumps spain for #1 spot  :bs:

Mexico leads the pack in concacaf.

CONCACAF Rankings - http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/ranking/lastranking/gender=m/fullranking.html#confederation=23914&rank=207

Re: FIFA rankings out today
« Reply #1425 on: August 24, 2011, 05:28:48 PM »
So the match with India was really not an 'A' international. No points earned:
http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=tri/ranking/gender=m/index.html

« Reply #1426 on: August 24, 2011, 05:36:20 PM »

That shift happened for historical reasons and not anything happening in the last month. Holland didn't play any games and Spain lost to Italy in a friendly gaining 0 points.

England moving up to 4th is the real joke.

« Reply #1427 on: August 24, 2011, 06:01:12 PM »

That shift happened for historical reasons and not anything happening in the last month. Holland didn't play any games and Spain lost to Italy in a friendly gaining 0 points.

England moving up to 4th is the real joke.

Ah RF just you wait until Holland plays Spain again! And yeah boy ENGLAND 4th ??? Ha Ha HA HA HA iz like I feel asleep and woke up in some Bizarro world yes!

« Reply #1428 on: August 24, 2011, 06:36:30 PM »
GO ORANJE!!!

#1 for the first time.... :wavetowel:  ;D

« Reply #1429 on: August 24, 2011, 06:38:50 PM »
how england reach there tho??????? they were outside the top 10 last yr ...this shit funny yes

« Reply #1430 on: August 24, 2011, 07:55:07 PM »
who did england beat ?

« Reply #1431 on: August 24, 2011, 08:34:54 PM »

I think the game vs India will count in the next set of FIFA ranking ?

« Reply #1432 on: August 24, 2011, 08:36:36 PM »
GO ORANJE!!!

#1 for the first time.... :wavetowel:  ;D

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #1433 on: August 24, 2011, 10:59:50 PM »

I don't feel we deserve to get too many points for beating India especially considering they are ranked 158 in the world and how we played against them but that's just me!

When we start beating teams ranked similar to us or higher in the rankings then we could start getting worried if we are not moving up quick enough in the FIFA rankings. Until such time I think we deserve to be where we are in the rankings!  :beermug:

« Reply #1434 on: August 24, 2011, 11:01:41 PM »

No. It's listed for this month on that link. Plus if you reread one of the articles announcing the game they even said it wasn't going to be an 'A' international, but if that's the case I don't get why they list it at all.

« Reply #1435 on: August 24, 2011, 11:04:51 PM »

No. It's listed for this month on that link. Plus if you reread one of the articles announcing the game they even said it wasn't going to be an 'A' international, but if that's the case I don't get why they list it at all.

Guess that game was an official 'fete' match!  At least the T&T team getting appropriate recognition when we finally decide to play, 0 points for a 'fete' match!!  :devil:
« Last Edit: August 24, 2011, 11:06:59 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #1436 on: August 24, 2011, 11:15:11 PM »
Here's the quote

"We have just found out that the tour matches will not add to India's points (in the ranking system). It's just a friendly tour and makes no sense to release players right in the middle of pre-season. We have conveyed our decision to the AIFF in writing," said Chirag Tanna, Pune FC director of operations.

« Reply #1437 on: August 25, 2011, 04:28:29 AM »

« Reply #1438 on: August 25, 2011, 04:31:31 AM »
We desperate, have limited options and our international program does not exist.

I go take it - say thank you India and hope these jokers in the TTFF can actually organize an international without Jack Warner to wipe their as%.

« Reply #1439 on: August 25, 2011, 07:41:28 AM »

Since the WC, Spain has lost to Argentina, Portugal and Italy...both their losses to Argentina and Portugal were big losses...