April 27, 2024, 10:44:17 AM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 298700 times)

Offline Baygo Boy

Re: To day is the day for Ranking release
« Reply #150 on: December 01, 2005, 03:00:57 PM »
If we move into the top 50 we lucky - last months'  ranking included the 2 Bahrain games if I am not mistaken, and we haven't played any games since then. If we do move up it would be because others moved down.

« Reply #151 on: December 01, 2005, 04:43:10 PM »
Morvantman congrats sweetheart....althought ah doh know what E5 mean, it sounds/look like something to be proud of and
I'm guessing it is a promotion.   :-*

« Reply #152 on: December 02, 2005, 03:16:23 AM »
Morvantman congrats sweetheart....althought ah doh know what E5 mean, it sounds/look like something to be proud of and
I'm guessing it is a promotion. :-*

Well congratulations on that Movantman What MOS(full name)? I am retired not But still here in GE.

« Reply #153 on: December 02, 2005, 09:58:11 AM »
well what dey ass is this
it look like tnt and bahrain playing 'exchange spots'

i truly though that we would have been in the late 30s man
steups

rank means nothing after the draw........ but look at this
« Reply #154 on: December 04, 2005, 12:01:00 PM »
table showing fifa ranking of teams that have qualified for the world cup.

TEAM   RANK
Brazil    1
Czech Republic   2
Netherlands    3
Argentina   4
France    5
Spain    6
Mexico    7
USA   8
England    9
Portugal    10
Italy    12
Sweden    14
Japan    15
Germany    16
Iran    19
Croatia    20
Costa Rica   21
Poland    23
Tunisia    28
Korea Republic   29
Paraguay    30
Saudi  Arabia   32
Switzerland   36
Ecuador   37
Ukraine    40
Ivory cost   41
Serbia & Montenegro   47
Australia    49
Ghana   50
Trinidad & Tobago   51
Togo    56
Angola    62

results against teams we have played that are not in our zone

Paraguay games played 2  result draw when 1989 where Trinidad

Saudi Arabia games played 2 result T&T lost when 1994 & 1998 where neutral

Korea Republic games played 1 result Draw when 2004 where Korea
« Last Edit: December 04, 2005, 12:15:35 PM by freakazoid »

Re: rank means nothing after the draw........ but look at this
« Reply #155 on: December 04, 2005, 12:06:27 PM »
I pretty sure we did lorse to S. Arabia

« Reply #156 on: December 04, 2005, 12:15:53 PM »
yeah my bad

Offline ß!aCkÒuT

• Time To Play The Game
« Reply #157 on: December 04, 2005, 02:19:51 PM »
after world cup we will hopefully be in d low forties
If love were a flame, it has ignited my soul...my one spark has created the magnificent fire of true passion

".The Poet."

Offline Warrior Prince

Re: New Ranking
« Reply #158 on: December 04, 2005, 08:40:12 PM »
Ppl we have moved from number 53 to 2 spot up at number 51 now. Slow and steady we shall rise.

well said slow and stedy wins d race
dat rankin completely suprised me!!!! but eh, T&T going in as de underdogs, and will upset some teams in WC.

and everybody know this going to happen
T-&-T!  #1 one Team in The WORLDDDDDDD

« Reply #159 on: December 04, 2005, 09:35:27 PM »
hmmmm... i still think we should be ranked just behind jamaica, if not, infront of them... o well we will be soon

FIFA Rankings (Dec 2005)
« Reply #160 on: December 19, 2005, 09:15:14 AM »
« Last Edit: December 19, 2005, 09:22:52 AM by Tallman »

Re: FIFA Rankings (Dec 2005)
« Reply #161 on: December 19, 2005, 12:32:39 PM »
Bahrain and Jamaica move up yes.

« Reply #162 on: December 19, 2005, 12:33:46 PM »
why the f**k

NEITHER OF THEM HAVE WON A GAME IN HOW LONG!?

STEWPSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

« Reply #163 on: December 19, 2005, 12:41:55 PM »
Why allyuh doh bother to investigate how de rankings work?

Then yuh wouldnt make asinine comments such as these.....

« Reply #164 on: December 19, 2005, 12:59:42 PM »
1. I know the ranking procedure.
2. I don't post to please you.

« Reply #165 on: December 19, 2005, 01:16:13 PM »
If we continue to be inactive we will surely slip in rankings. One disadvantage of not having a home based team ready to play is an inability to keep your rankings. Anyway rankings are not necesssarily the utmost priority, but ignoring them has consequences too such as 1. congtracts for players in Europe.
2. Your bargaining position for games and match fees against other teams. Teams get more points for beating higher ranked teams. I really wish we had a respectable team based at home so as to avoid turning down these friendlies.

« Reply #166 on: December 19, 2005, 01:23:00 PM »

3. I Don't F***ING care

« Reply #167 on: December 19, 2005, 02:34:13 PM »
Man I remember the days when we were #29.  But then again we weren't in the WC.   ;D

« Reply #168 on: December 19, 2005, 02:56:20 PM »
Who cares about rankings man?
What a ranking doin? Makin yuh sleep better at night or wha?
I sleep well knowing my side going to the world cup ahead of all the other so-called "higher-ranked" players

« Reply #169 on: December 19, 2005, 05:48:22 PM »

3. I Don't F***ING care

4. :rotfl:

« Reply #170 on: December 19, 2005, 06:18:29 PM »

U.S. is No. 7 in FIFA rankings
« Reply #171 on: January 18, 2006, 12:36:22 PM »
U.S. is No. 7 in FIFA rankings
Associated Press
Posted: 1 hour ago     

ZURICH, Switzerland (AP) - The U.S. national soccer team advanced one place to No. 7 Wednesday in FIFA's rankings for January.

FIFA WORLD RANKING
Top 20 January 2006 

Rank  Country  Points  +/- 
1  Brazil  839  -1 
2  Czech Rep.  796  - 
3  Netherlands  790  -1 
4  Argentina  772  - 
5  France  768  - 
5  Spain  768  - 
7  Mexico  767  -1 
7  USA  767  -
9  England  757  - 
10  Portugal  753  -1 
11  Turkey  748  - 
12  Italy  741  - 
13  Denmark  733  - 
14  Sweden  731  -1 
15  Japan  714  -1 
16  Greece  708  - 
17  Germany  707  -1 
18  Uruguay  705  -1 
19  Iran  703  - 
20  Croatia  701  - 

Ranking criteria 

Support your favorite team with official World Cup gear from the Fox Soccer Shop! 

Brazil maintained the top spot it has held since July 2002, a month after it won its record fifth World Cup. The next three teams also were unchanged - Czech Republic, Netherlands and Argentina. France shared fifth with Spain.

Mexico, which was tied for fifth last month, dropped into a tie for seventh with the U.S. England remained ninth, ahead of Portugal.

The next 10 places were almost the same: Turkey was No. 11, followed by Italy, Denmark, Sweden, Japan, Greece, Germany, Uruguay, Iran and Croatia. Only Germany changed places, dropping to 17th from a tie for 16th.

Among teams in the top 20, only Turkey, Denmark, European champion Greece and Uruguay failed to qualify for the 32-nation World Cup, which begins in June 9 in Germany.

(Trinidad still at 50)
« Last Edit: January 18, 2006, 12:39:36 PM by e-man »

Re: U.S. is No. 7 in FIFA rankings
« Reply #172 on: January 18, 2006, 01:00:46 PM »
da team is number one for assholism rankings in my book.

Bahrain could foolow closely.

« Reply #173 on: January 18, 2006, 01:13:34 PM »
remember de fifa rankings are heavily funded by US investors, so de US will b up dey, but dey dont deserve dat ranking, dey cant even beat croatia or italy, far less sweden

« Reply #174 on: January 18, 2006, 01:46:59 PM »
remember de fifa rankings are heavily funded by US investors, so de US will b up dey, but dey dont deserve dat ranking, dey cant even beat croatia or italy, far less sweden

as flawed as the fifa rankings are, the procedure is very transparent, well documented and available here

« Reply #175 on: January 18, 2006, 02:03:17 PM »

They there because they winning. What craziness yuh talking Triniinfinite ???  Steups.

We playin Paraguay...you playin Paranoid

« Reply #176 on: January 18, 2006, 02:05:38 PM »
Doh worry nah they have a real hard round of games in their group that ranking may not hold after the World Cup. They would be lucky to get out the first round

« Reply #177 on: January 18, 2006, 02:37:11 PM »
out of the whole top 20, de only teams i could see the US beating right now is Mexico (at home), Iran, and maybe Japan and Greece. but a ranking is better than no ranking.

« Reply #178 on: January 18, 2006, 02:49:03 PM »

They there because they winning. What craziness yuh talking Triniinfinite ???  Steups.

We playin Paraguay...you playin Paranoid

Agreed.... the US is ah big side. They might not be the prettiest team to watch .... but the do the basics right and get the jog done. The ranking totallu justified as of lately.

Offline trinidre

« Reply #179 on: January 18, 2006, 02:57:04 PM »
the fifa rankings is not justified and even though i agree the us is ah good side and they getting better they are not ranked 7 in the world..........one of the reasons they rank so high is because of the quality of their opposition.......the US beating everybody in concacaf but does not do well against the big European teams which they do not play that regularly.