April 24, 2024, 10:49:21 PM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 297962 times)

Offline toonmili

Re: FIFA Ranking Thread.
« Reply #1530 on: July 17, 2014, 03:29:33 PM »
That gap is only in the rankings. In real life we could beat them. We could a few teams that went to the World Cup too.

« Reply #1531 on: July 17, 2014, 03:55:32 PM »
Yea rankings stupid - average of all points earned in a year, but only points for a win or draw. Means there's much more incentive to arrange games you can win than games that can challenge you - it was an old Football manager trick - arrange friendlies between you and over-ranked teams, and watch your ranking rise as a nation

« Reply #1532 on: August 27, 2014, 06:54:41 PM »
Fifa August rankings still have our women inactive for the past 18 months. Didn't we play Venezuela recently?

soca warrioirs ranked 49
« Reply #1533 on: October 23, 2014, 02:11:07 AM »

« Reply #1534 on: October 23, 2014, 04:48:21 AM »
Both men and women in top 50...Beautiful sight!

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #1535 on: October 23, 2014, 05:21:04 AM »
Further movement up the rankings expected after the final round next month. Top 30 perhaps  ;D  ;D

« Reply #1536 on: October 23, 2014, 05:29:05 AM »
Further movement up the rankings expected after the final round next month. Top 30 perhaps  ;D  ;D

eggs on foul belly......quiet confidence please

« Reply #1537 on: October 23, 2014, 08:00:16 AM »
Will this help us with players trying to penetrate the English leagues?

« Reply #1538 on: October 23, 2014, 08:16:03 AM »
Points breakdown

M       *I        *T       *C     =   P
TRI - ATG   1:0   3      2.5      120      0.85      765
TRI - LCA   2:0   3      2.5      77      0.85      490.88
TRI - DOM   6:1   3      2.5      93      0.85      592.88

M: points for Match result

Teams gain 3 points for a victory, 1 point for a draw and 0 points for a defeat. In a penalty shoot-out, the winning team gains 2 points and the losing team gains 1 point.

I: Importance of match

Friendly match (including small competitions): I = 1.0
FIFA World Cup™ qualifier or confederation-level qualifier: I = 2.5
Confederation-level final competition or FIFA Confederations Cup: I = 3.0
FIFA World Cup™ final competition: I = 4.0

T: strength of opposing Team

The strength of the opponents is based on the formula: 200 – the ranking position of the opponents.As an exception to this formula, the team at the top of the ranking is always assigned the value 200 and the teams ranked 150th and below are assigned a minimum value of 50. The ranking position is taken from the opponents’ ranking in the most recently published FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking.

C: strength of Confederation

When calculating matches between teams from different confederations, the mean value of the confederations to which the two competing teams belong is used. The strength of a confederation is calculated on the basis of the number of victories by that confederation at the last three FIFA World Cup™ competitions (see following page). Their values are as follows:
CONMEBOL 1.00
UEFA 0.99
AFC/CAF/OFC/CONCACAF 0.85
« Last Edit: October 23, 2014, 08:18:27 AM by FF »

« Reply #1539 on: October 23, 2014, 11:10:56 AM »
Will this help us with players trying to penetrate the English leagues?

Not yet!! I think the team has to be in the top 70 for 24 consecutive months and the player must have played in 75% of the competitive matches.

Offline toonmili

« Reply #1540 on: October 23, 2014, 12:34:15 PM »
Oh thank the lord. I no longer have to bow my head in international forums.  ;D

« Reply #1541 on: October 23, 2014, 01:21:32 PM »
T&T just moved up into the top 50 in the FIFA Rankings at position no. 49 and also to 4th position in CONCACAF. Click link (The FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking - Ranking Table - FIFA.com) then click CONCACAF.

Keep it up Soca Warriors. Hopefully we can now attract more of the top teams in the Top 50 for friendlies and can now sign more of our players to the top leagues around the world.

Our women footballers (Soca Princesses) are also now in the Top 50 (The FIFA Women's World Ranking - FIFA.com) at position 46.
Good luck to them as well and in their important World Cup qualification game against Costa Rica tomorrow.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2014, 01:40:28 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #1542 on: October 24, 2014, 07:22:08 AM »
Wow! Big jump

« Reply #1543 on: November 05, 2014, 03:04:12 AM »
T&T women move 33 places in Fifa rankings.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T’s senior women’s team was the biggest mover among all 177 nations, leaping to 46th spot, when Fifa issued its latest women’s national team rankings a fews days ago.

The Women Soca Warriors made the massive jump, 33 places upward from 79th spot, following their impressive run at the Concacaf Women’s Championship, where they ended just behind third-place finisher Mexico (remaining in 25th spot), runner-up Costa Rica (remaining in 40th spot) and world leader USA.

Along the way, T&T recorded wins against Haiti (down four places to 60th) and Guatemala (two places down to 79th).

T&T also recorded a 1–0 loss to the USA, which was the best result by any team against the Americans at the Concacaf event. With the move, T&T went three places above Ecuador, the team it will meet in an intercontinental playoff for Concacaf and Comnebol’s half-spot for Fifa Women’s World Cup qualification.

T&T will face Ecuador in Quito on Saturday, before playing the reverse leg in Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, on December 2. USA leads the standings, while Germany, Japan, France and Sweden make up the second to fifth ranked teams, respectively.

« Reply #1544 on: November 27, 2014, 08:52:25 PM »
Latest rankings now have T&T at 54th spot.

I really admire how Colombia is maintaining their position in the top 5
« Last Edit: November 27, 2014, 09:11:26 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #1545 on: April 16, 2015, 01:53:15 AM »
Soca Warriors ranked top Caribbean team.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

T&T senior men’s team will be aiming to live up to all expectations on the field and on paper at the Concacaf Gold Cup in July after being rated as the number one-ranked team in the Caribbean for this month despite its recent 1–0 loss to Panama at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva.

The Soca Warriors, coached by Stephen Hart, was ranked 65th in the world by Fifa, top in the Caribbean ahead of Jamaica (75th), Haiti (79th) and Antigua/Barbuda (106th).

T&T is just ahead of Burkina Faso, Bulgaria and Norway and right behind Peru, Australia and Republic of Ireland.

T&T is fifth in Concacaf at the moment, with Costa Rica leading the pack, ranked 15th in the world, followed by Mexico (18th), United States (27th) and Panama (53rd).

Hart said he was not moved by the ranking, saying that his main concern was the team’s readiness for the Gold Cup, which T&T kicks off on July 9 against Guatemala in Chicago.

“Like I said after the Panama game, the important thing for me and for the team is the preparation leading up to the Gold Cup which includes at least three proper international matches and training camps in order us for us to really go in there and compete with the rest of the region,” Hart said.

“Of course the rankings plays its part its part but it’s more important for us to straighten out everything in order for us to really get it right for the Gold Cup and the World Cup qualifiers which are right around the corner.”

« Reply #1546 on: April 16, 2015, 10:49:12 AM »
Nice to be above 70 (in the 60's) & tops in the Caribbean. Better opportunities to get games and for our players to get contracts.

« Reply #1547 on: July 09, 2015, 08:14:57 AM »
Now up to 64th :)

« Reply #1548 on: August 06, 2015, 10:11:35 AM »
August Rankings

Men
55  Jamaica
56  Trinidad and Tobago
84  Haiti
105 Antigua and Barbuda

women
48 Trinidad and Tobago
63 Haiti
74 Jamaica
98 Cuba
« Last Edit: August 06, 2015, 10:15:17 AM by royal »

« Reply #1549 on: August 06, 2015, 10:18:46 AM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/FHDwRECFL8M" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/FHDwRECFL8M</a>

« Reply #1550 on: August 06, 2015, 10:26:09 AM »
August Rankings

Men
55  Jamaica
56  Trinidad and Tobago
84  Haiti
105 Antigua and Barbuda

women
48 Trinidad and Tobago
63 Haiti
74 Jamaica
98 Cuba

If I am correct, we have been ranked in the top 70 for 2 years according to Fifa website. I guess our guys can get the much needed UK work permit.

« Reply #1551 on: August 06, 2015, 10:41:05 AM »
August Rankings

Men
55  Jamaica
56  Trinidad and Tobago
84  Haiti
105 Antigua and Barbuda

women
48 Trinidad and Tobago
63 Haiti
74 Jamaica
98 Cuba

If I am correct, we have been ranked in the top 70 for
2 years according to Fifa website. I guess our guys can get the much needed UK work permit.

Good observations  :beermug:

« Reply #1552 on: August 06, 2015, 10:42:52 AM »
Nice goin' fellas. Nice. Doh relax.

« Reply #1553 on: August 06, 2015, 10:51:59 AM »
August Rankings

Men
55  Jamaica
56  Trinidad and Tobago
84  Haiti
105 Antigua and Barbuda

women
48 Trinidad and Tobago
63 Haiti
74 Jamaica
98 Cuba

2 years according to Fifa website. I guess our guys can get the much needed UK work permit.

No dudes. The new regulations are in effect and it is top 50 now.

Posted last week

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=64165.msg935651#msg935651

« Reply #1554 on: August 06, 2015, 11:06:31 AM »
Above teams such as Japan, Paraguay and Australia now

« Reply #1555 on: August 06, 2015, 11:18:40 AM »
August Rankings

Men
55  Jamaica
56  Trinidad and Tobago
84  Haiti
105 Antigua and Barbuda

women
48 Trinidad and Tobago
63 Haiti
74 Jamaica
98 Cuba

Posted last week

Thanks FF... So we need to get under that 50

« Reply #1556 on: August 06, 2015, 02:24:42 PM »
August Rankings

Men
55  Jamaica
56  Trinidad and Tobago
84  Haiti
105 Antigua and Barbuda

women
48 Trinidad and Tobago
63 Haiti
74 Jamaica
98 Cuba

Posted last week

Thanks FF. I forget that we have to break 50 now.

I read that Rodolph Austin has to leave his family behind in the UK because of the new regulations. I guess the English FA has a better way of controlling the amount of Non-European players entering their leagues.

« Reply #1557 on: August 06, 2015, 02:29:02 PM »

Posted last week

I read that Rodolph Austin has to leave his family behind in the UK because of the new regulations. I guess the English FA has a better way of controlling the amount of Non-European players entering their leagues.
That is rough! Not even a grandfather clause for fellas who already in?

« Reply #1558 on: August 06, 2015, 02:46:33 PM »

Posted last week

You would think so.

« Reply #1559 on: August 06, 2015, 02:53:52 PM »

Posted last week

ridiculous rule especially coming from a country that benefited immensely by having foreign players join their league. my opinion is that commonwealth countries should have preference over other football associations in landing contracts in the english leagues. it bothered my uncle to no ends when west indians were not allowed to participate in county cricket anymore, he was a lancashire diehard but stopped supporting them when this rule came down, it almost seem like the same with this new football ruling concerning foreign players.

right now england is broke and loads of people are leaving either to australia or the united states looking for greener pastures. england needs to lighten up.