April 18, 2024, 04:45:45 PM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 297328 times)

Offline fillin

Re: New FIFA rankings
« Reply #60 on: October 19, 2005, 10:05:11 AM »
With the Friendly Matches Coming the ranking should change

all what will matter is the game on 12th & 16th Nov.

TnT on 12th & Bahrain on 16th ...

Wish Both Teams Luck

Cheeeeers

« Reply #61 on: October 19, 2005, 11:52:36 AM »
Dem rankings always suspect to me.  There's gotta be a better formula that FIFA could employ.

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #62 on: October 19, 2005, 11:56:01 AM »
honestly i dont think any formula can work perfectly.

Offline greenpea

Latest FIFA World Rankings w/ source
« Reply #63 on: October 19, 2005, 09:10:37 PM »
http://www.newsinghana.com/sports.php?story=336

The next FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking will be published on 23 November 2005
« Last Edit: October 19, 2005, 09:12:27 PM by Tallman »

Offline Alsalman

« Reply #64 on: October 19, 2005, 11:29:52 PM »
Dem rankings always suspect to me.  There's gotta be a better formula that FIFA could employ.

man don't take them seriously ... I think most soccer fans completely ignored it after Mexico and the US started being ranked better than Italy  ;D

« Reply #65 on: October 20, 2005, 12:13:49 AM »
Dem rakings is pure ta-ta hole!

Australia just demolished Jamaica 5=0 and the scoreline could have been worse!

But Jamaica ranked higher dan Australia....

hahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahaha!

« Reply #66 on: October 20, 2005, 08:27:30 AM »
the FIFA rankings can't be accurate - most countries play so few competitive matches outside of their region/zone. the most they can say is about the level of competition WITHIN the region.

but even within a region the rankings saying nothing. the african qualifiers completely different than the rankings. same for other regions; denmark, greece, columbia, jamaica, etc.  all should have made it.

in cricket, the schedule set by the ICC - teams are guaranteed to play each other eventually. a ranking system make more sense in this case.

why FIFA think they can rank sides this way?

Trinidad Ranked 53 in de world
« Reply #67 on: November 07, 2005, 11:54:35 AM »

1 Brazil
2 Netherlands 
3 Czech Republic
4 Argentina 
5 France
6 Mexico 
7 USA
8 Spain 
9 England
9 Portugal 
11 Turkey
12 Italy 
13 Sweden
14 Denmark 
15 Germany
16 Japan 
17 Uruguay
18 Greece 
19 Croatia
20 Costa Rica 
21 Iran
21 Republic of Ireland
23 Cameroon
23 Colombia   
23 Nigeria
23 Poland 
27 Tunisia
28 Romania 
29 Korea Republic
30 Russia
31 Saudi Arabia
32 Egypt 
33 Paraguay
34 Senegal 
35 Morocco
36 Ecuador 
37 Norway
38 Switzerland 
39 Ukraine
40 Honduras 
40 Jamaica
42 Serbia and Montenegro 
43 Israel
44 Finland 
45 Slovakia
46 Bulgaria 
46 South Africa
48 Côte d'Ivoire
49 Belgium
49 Togo 
51 Ghana
52 Zimbabwe
53 Trinidad and Tobago
54 Australia 
55 Bahrain   

i get dis off ah www.fifa.com trinidad shoulda been rank higher than that. i know trinidad could beat some of dem teams that rank higher than dem.

Re: Trinidad Ranked 53 in de world
« Reply #68 on: November 07, 2005, 12:01:16 PM »
Pardna thanks, but this is Socawarriors.net.... if yuh look at de homepage on de upper right-hand side u will see our fifa ranking. Yeah, I agree we should be ranked higher.
Peace bro.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2005, 12:03:00 PM by Fire Brand »

« Reply #69 on: November 07, 2005, 12:02:36 PM »
Well we went up 3 places from a month ago ent? We waz 56th. It is only up from now on.  :beermug:

« Reply #70 on: November 07, 2005, 12:04:52 PM »
We haven't done anything YET to deserve a higher ranking......stress on the word YET.......

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #71 on: November 07, 2005, 12:15:08 PM »
I'll never understand the FIFA ranking. How could Zimbabwe be ranked higher than Australia?

« Reply #72 on: November 07, 2005, 12:25:40 PM »
We haven't done anything YET to deserve a higher ranking......stress on the word YET.......

That is a subjective statement kicker. In my opinion we do deserve to be ahead of a few of the countries in de top 50. Me eh calling no names because ah not in de mood to start nuttin with ah certain fellow islander.  ;D
Ah vibezing it up!

« Reply #73 on: November 07, 2005, 03:34:08 PM »
In my opinion we deserve to be at least at #39 so that certain cousins up north are forced to face who is boss round these parts but we've got something much more important to deal with right now which is to put two good beatings a certain Asian team and let them Bah and Rain tears for so after our games on 12th & 16th Nov.  ;)

T&T and Soca Warriors we love you!

« Reply #74 on: November 07, 2005, 03:52:24 PM »

That is a subjective statement kicker. In my opinion we do deserve to be ahead of a few of the countries in de top 50. Me eh calling no names because ah not in de mood to start nuttin with ah certain fellow islander.  ;D
Ah vibezing it up!

haha...I hear yuh....I doh really fuss up with Rankings. The system doesn't speak to "head-to-head" comparisons of teams........it's all points driven and accumulated points could maintain your position on the list for a while even if your team loses form

......and it's pretty irrelevant in the whole scheme of things.

All in all, I think our ranking is relatively "fair". We could argue that there are a few teams above us that we could beat, but I'm sure that there are a few teams below us that feel they could beat us

I personally don't think that there is much separating us from Scotland (62), Peru (63), Latvia (64), Hungary (66) Chile (72) & Wales (73).......for example

......so give and take, I think we're pretty close to where we deserve to be.........until proven otherwise.....
« Last Edit: November 07, 2005, 03:57:07 PM by kicker »

« Reply #75 on: November 07, 2005, 04:06:05 PM »

So Trinidad beats Mexico, ranked 5. Does that mean Trinidad should be ranked 4? Or Jamaica ties Brazil, does it mean that Brazil and Jamaica are joint #1?  The rankings are not based on one match, nor is it based on 3 matches for that matter. Its an index of games played over a particular period of time. If Trinidad beats Brazil in a friendly game tomorrow, Trinidad doesnt automatically jump to #1 in the world and Brazil to 100.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2005, 04:10:47 PM by Reggaefan »

« Reply #76 on: November 07, 2005, 04:09:40 PM »
In my opinion we deserve to be at least at #39 so that certain cousins up north are forced to face who is boss round these parts but we've got something much more important to deal with right now which is to put two good beatings a certain Asian team and let them Bah and Rain tears for so after our games on 12th & 16th Nov.  ;)

T&T and Soca Warriors we love you!

Come on Socapro....you know Trinidad have always been King of Caribbean Football. You dont need FIFA rankings to prove it. Jamaica only wearing your crown (Copa Caribe) title while you persue your world Cup dreams. The title will be returned to you  in time for the next WCQ rounds for South Africa 2010. I'm sure you will gladly take it back the while Jamaica persue their World Cup dreams.

« Reply #77 on: November 07, 2005, 05:01:10 PM »

So Trinidad beats Mexico, ranked 5. Does that mean Trinidad should be ranked 4? Or Jamaica ties Brazil, does it mean that Brazil and Jamaica are joint #1?  The rankings are not based on one match, nor is it based on 3 matches for that matter. Its an index of games played over a particular period of time. If Trinidad beats Brazil in a friendly game tomorrow, Trinidad doesnt automatically jump to #1 in the world and Brazil to 100.

Ja might not jump to #1, but we would!!! :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline Behbehman

« Reply #78 on: November 07, 2005, 05:10:12 PM »
http://www.fifa.com/en/mens/statistics/index/0,2548,All-Oct-2005,00.html

Check it out. Bahrain
Ah wonder if Jack fix this too ?  :rotfl: :devil: :beermug: :rotfl: :devil: :beermug: :rotfl: :devil: :beermug:

We go deal up wid the rankings after we buss up Bahrain like parata :challenge:

Fifa Ranking
« Reply #79 on: November 08, 2005, 12:06:41 AM »
What is the highest T&T ever rank?    Ah see at one time we were 29th...that is pretty good for a small country like us.

Plus a just watch Japan vs Bahrain.............And the footbal brand BAHRAIN for true...dem men look like they aint have no natural skill at all........I done no that them comin with a set a wildness.  Real beat go share this saturday......

Re: Fifa Ranking
« Reply #80 on: November 08, 2005, 12:10:06 AM »
 T&T just need to play better opposition(Friendlies) and we will surely rise in the rankings....T&T beating Bahrain BAD ....Go T&T !!!!

Re: Fifa Ranking
« Reply #81 on: November 08, 2005, 12:18:01 AM »
Ponnox doh even worry to download that game...is real tata for true.......Them fellas looking real mis match....We could put 4 past this team.....It done taken 2 man at least on Latas......at Yorke and Aurtis....and Stern lurking for when they get drawn out....It go be real trouble.....

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
FIFA Ranking
« Reply #82 on: November 17, 2005, 07:59:38 AM »
Do you think we would be in the top 40, later this month?
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

Offline cm103

Re: FIFA Ranking
« Reply #83 on: November 17, 2005, 08:01:37 AM »
Bahrain was lower than us in the ranking so I don't see that happening yet but we will move up a bit.

Do friendlies count towards the ranking?

Get well soon Berchie, we need yuh against the big sides in d runup

« Reply #84 on: November 17, 2005, 09:08:57 AM »
Do friendlies count towards the ranking?

yes.

Offline FATZ

• I SELL FOOTBALL JERSEYS
« Reply #85 on: November 17, 2005, 09:13:27 AM »
We should and would at least move above Bahrain the standings.
WELCOME TO DINSLEY OUT IN THE STREETZ THEY CALL ME FATZ

Without Him, I am nothing but with Him I can do all things. Phil 4:13

Offline d00d

• ball kicker defender guy
« Reply #86 on: November 17, 2005, 09:15:49 AM »
we r above bahrain in the standings. they 55th nd us 53rd

« Reply #87 on: November 17, 2005, 09:16:04 AM »
We're ALREADY above Bahrain in the standings.

« Reply #88 on: November 17, 2005, 09:20:30 AM »
we were already ahead of them b4 de game.bahrain56 tnt 53

Offline d00d

• ball kicker defender guy
« Reply #89 on: November 17, 2005, 09:27:53 AM »
bess allyuh repeat wah i jus now say  :P