April 26, 2024, 02:47:41 AM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 298279 times)

Offline Girl Warrior

The revolution is not an apple that falls when it is ripe. You have to make it fall... Che Guevara

Re: FIFA December Ranking
« Reply #721 on: December 21, 2006, 10:19:59 AM »

1. The ranking that the British home office uses is an average of our ranking in the last 2 years. Obviously falling to 91 doesn't help, but its not as dramatic as you make it sound Also the ranking is not the only criteria that determines if the work permits are given or not, which is why men like scotland who should be in the scottish premiership playin first division...

2. At this stage, playing more internationals would not necessarily help us, at least not when they're friendlies, and defiitely not if we lost them. The main problem is us getting to host the Digicell Cup. I think if we had to qualify (and did) we would be somewhere in the 50s or so, definitely not lower than the 60s

I agree it is not the only criteria but for a country like T&T unfortunately it is as dramatic as I make it sound. The first criteria for RENEWALS of work permits is club appearances (I did mention this). And it is 75% of appearances over the DURATION of their expiring contract. The guys I mentioned will have had to go to appeal, if, as I said their contracts were up for renewal TODAY!. The two year rankings average is used for players who are new to UK football, have no noted pro experience for the panel to refer to and their teams current ranking is below 70. Other than maybe Silvio Spann, I doubt any other T&T local based pro would have an easy ride getting a permit. This is what I mean. If your ranking is higher than 70 and you have played in 75% or more of your countries internationals in the past two years you will get a permit...any disparity with this and it has to go to appeal.

Unless like Yorkie, yuh is ah bigtime pro anyhow.

I see mih error. nuff respect for the correction. In your initial post you had stated 75% of their clubs appearances and i took 'club' to mean the english team...

Apologies,midnight...I think I confused you, you did read it correctly. Last post on this topic I promise.

A). National rankings and national appearances are of great significance for Non-EC Players that have never played in the UK before. It is the first judging criteria. Your playing CV comes second. For those that have played in the UK before or are changing UK teams, the criteria are reversed. As the T&T pro league isn't really considered a significant league by Britain...National team ranking and appearances would be the first and only criteria for players like Hardest, Whitely and the majority of local based pro's. The two year ranking thing does not help T&T as we have not yo-yo'd up and down the rankings but rather, steadily slipped down them over the past 24 months. I would assume the panel would currently consider T&T a team that is useless without its foreign based players therefore someone like Josh Johnson was a lucky guy (probably had an EC relative) I'm sure his application went to appeal. I doubt he would have got a permit for a contract with Wrexham if he had applied right now as he currently fails in all criteria.

B). Permits issued for contract renewals is all about club appearances. If you ain't appeared in 75% or more of your team's (team begin the club employing you not your country!) games over the duration of your old contract and don't have a good reason why (injury, international appearances etc) you in trouble. Kenwyne Jones may be making regular appearances now, but over his full contract he has played in only about 45-50% of Southamptons games. He would most likely get it renewed as he is a regular this season but only on appeal! Jason Scotland lost his Dundee Utd contract on this criteria but got a contract with St Johnston as his situation reverted to point A). a Non-EC national that had played in the UK before. He had recently played in a higher division (good CV) and was a national team player of a country ranked above 70. If he had tried to play for another Premiership team he would have been blanked as he had strugglled to even make the bench for a struggling fellow Premiership team during his contract.

Hope I clarified, apologies if I confused you.

The moral of the story is T&T players should take some advice from guys like Errol Mcfarlane, Peter Prosper, Silvio Spann, kevaughn Connell, Latas, leonson etc forget about England/Scotland. They is not the only places on the planet where a good baller could get paid and it a hell of ah lot easier to get a work permit elsewhere.
« Last Edit: December 21, 2006, 10:23:40 AM by Rodney »

Offline jonny

FIFA World ranking January
« Reply #722 on: January 17, 2007, 03:56:26 AM »
New FIFA ranking for January :

21 Mexico down 1
31 USA -
48 Cuba down 2
56 Honduras -
57 Jamaica -
66 Costa Rica up 2
80 Panama up 1
81 Canada up 1
87 Trindidad & Tobago up 4
92 Haiti up 10
99 Barbados down 1
100 Guyana -
104 St Vincent down 19
105 Guatemala down 2
114 Surinam up 8
121 Bermuda down 14
136 Dominican Rep -
137 Antigua & Barbuda down 5
143 St Kitts -
147 Bahamas down 1
156 El Salvador -
163 Grenada -
164 St Lucia down 4
168 Nicaragua -

Deadline for results was Thursday last week.

http://www.fifa.com/en/mens/statistics/index/0,2548,All-Jan-2007,00.html

86 - Albania
87 - Trinidad and Tobago
88 - United Arab Emirates
« Last Edit: January 17, 2007, 05:38:22 AM by Flex »

Re: FIFA World ranking January
« Reply #723 on: January 17, 2007, 05:04:05 AM »
how panama in front ah we ???

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #724 on: January 17, 2007, 05:12:10 AM »
Forget that, how Jamaica or Canada in front of we?

Dis FIFA ranking ting is shyte! >:(
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #725 on: January 17, 2007, 05:13:17 AM »
A little off topic eh...
Seeing that Martinique and Guadelupe are wards of France and cant play in WCQ's...and that Angloma is running out for Guad. now, suppose one day, all them big french stars decide to jus come and play for Martinique to get them to the Gold Cup, allyuh feel FIFA will allow that?

Imagine Henry warming up on the side of the national stadium getting ready to come in after T&T went 2-1 up vs them 2 nights ago...
Man from T&T start pulling muscle and thing yes, LOL.

« Reply #726 on: January 17, 2007, 05:44:47 AM »
A little off topic eh...
Seeing that Martinique and Guadelupe are wards of France and cant play in WCQ's...and that Angloma is running out for Guad. now, suppose one day, all them big french stars decide to jus come and play for Martinique to get them to the Gold Cup, allyuh feel FIFA will allow that?

Imagine Henry warming up on the side of the national stadium getting ready to come in after T&T went 2-1 up vs them 2 nights ago...
i was wondering the same thing when i read that Angloma was playing for Guadulupe.

« Reply #727 on: January 17, 2007, 05:47:36 AM »

Thas the same way the Martiniquans must have felt when they see Hardest in de starting line up

« Reply #728 on: January 17, 2007, 06:06:48 AM »

Thas the same way the Martiniquans must have felt when they see Hardest in de starting line up

:rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:

« Reply #729 on: January 17, 2007, 06:09:48 AM »
In all seriousness, I just hope you guys realise that we ent getting a single fifa ranking point for beating Martinique, and if we meet them in the Finals or Guadeloupe in the semis or finals, we ent getting any points for those matches either, even if we beat them 100-0  :-[

« Reply #730 on: January 17, 2007, 07:31:37 AM »

:rotfl: :rotfl:  classic arrow post 

« Reply #731 on: January 17, 2007, 07:58:00 AM »
how panama in front ah we ???

Forget that, how Jamaica or Canada in front of we?

Dis FIFA ranking ting is shyte! >:(

Here we go again!
Is every month we must have this same argument?

Here we go again - Jan FIFA rankings
« Reply #732 on: January 17, 2007, 03:05:32 PM »

Rank Team                Pts  +/-Rank  +/-Pts
21   Mexico              883  -1      0
31   USA                 792  0      0
48   Cuba                619  -2      -22
56   Honduras            538  0      0
57   Jamaica             527  0      -2
66   Costa Rica          460  2      2
80   Panama              411  1      0
81   Canada              399  1      0
87   Trinidad and Tobago 372  4      12
92   Haiti               346  10      48
99   Barbados            309  -1      -5
100  Guyana              303  0      0
104  St.V & G            285  -19      -102
105  Guatemala           282  0      -2
114  Surinam             229  8      11
121  Bermuda             206  -14      -64
136  Dominican Republic  157  0      0
137  Antigua and Barbuda 153  -5      -15
143  St. Kitts and Nevis 137  0      0
147  Bahamas             113  -1      0

1  Brazil
2  Italy
3  Argentina 
4  France 
5  Germany
6  England
7  Netherlands 
8  Portugal
9  Nigeria
10  Czech Republic 
11  Cameroon 
12  Spain 
13  Ukraine 
14  Sweden
15  Croatia
16  Greece 
17  Switzerland
18  Côte d'Ivoire 
19  Egypt
20  Romania
« Last Edit: January 17, 2007, 03:17:35 PM by e-man »

Re: Here we go again - Jan FIFA rankings
« Reply #733 on: January 17, 2007, 03:20:51 PM »
one question, how does cuba get ranked 48th, please tell me, bc tt holds de most caribbean cups and the most hex appearances, not to mention most gold cup appearances and we below these teams, dat is bullshit... >:(

« Reply #734 on: January 17, 2007, 03:25:32 PM »
The rankings have always been a waste of time...why worry?

« Reply #735 on: January 17, 2007, 03:34:04 PM »
but FIFA restructure the rankings so isn't it the last few yrs performances that are taken into account??? I could be wrong...too lazy to check

« Reply #736 on: January 17, 2007, 03:38:23 PM »
It will be more interesting after the Digicel games come into play.
I sure beating Haiti will be worth a few spots by itself.  Not to mention beating Cuba if we manage to play them.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #737 on: January 17, 2007, 03:47:36 PM »
The most trustworthy source is ELO:

Ratings and Statistics as of Wednesday January 17 2007

rank team rating highest 1 yr change matches goals

local global rank rating rank rating total home away neutral wins losses draws for against

1 55 Jamaica 1595 36 1680 -4 -35 423 178 155 90 158 170 95 565 609

2 63 Cuba 1554 52 1616 +9 +24 267 60 110 97 110 94 63 422 355

3 72 Trinidad and Tobago 1530 36 1651 -9 -30 441 190 173 78 195 165 81 745 576

4 81 Haiti 1488 41 1629 +6 +26 297 117 88 92 129 110 58 515 419

5 103 Guadeloupe 1381 99 1407 +10 +25 70 14 23 33 37 25 8 133 84

6 111 Saint Vincent and the Grenadines 1361 104 1382 +6 +23 129 44 50 35 48 56 25 226 260

7 114 Martinique 1352 66 1529 0 +4 119 36 33 50 58 35 26 225 166

8 120 Guyana 1323 70 1398 +50 +220 118 49 45 24 45 48 25 188 182

9 125 Barbados 1308 107 1384 +12 +35 163 78 53 32 52 72 39 210 282

10 149 Surinam 1222 70 1471 -2 -8 167 65 66 36 53 69 45 266 268

11 151 Saint Kitts and Nevis 1214 118 1354 -2 -11 101 51 29 21 42 42 17 204 158

12 157 French Guiana 1195 156 1195 +1 0 42 12 15 15 8 22 12 42 65

13 162 Saint Lucia 1180 133 1291 -24 -84 103 31 46 26 38 49 16 165 173

13 162 Grenada 1180 126 1325 -12 -38 97 37 37 23 30 45 22 174 177

15 164 Bermuda 1179 92 1411 -2 +7 104 52 39 13 36 49 19 163 164

16 172 Netherlands Antilles 1099 41 1595 -8 -70 208 52 72 84 77 76 55 345 368

17 174 Dominican Republic 1087 161 1154 +2 +9 66 27 24 15 19 37 10 84 140

18 175 Antigua and Barbuda 1081 138 1254 -8 -55 118 44 45 29 36 59 23 163 215

19 177 Sint Maarten 1072 - - +1 0 21 4 7 10 8 9 4 29 36

20 183 Saint Martin 1012 - - -1 -16 18 4 7 7 5 11 2 19 49

rank team rating highest 1 yr change matches goals

local global rank rating rank rating total home away neutral wins losses draws for against

21 185 Cayman Islands 991 158 1176 -12 -104 60 28 14 18 13 38 9 66 157

22 186 Dominica 989 153 1195 -1 -26 71 15 30 26 16 40 15 80 168

23 189 British Virgin Islands 942 189 948 +2 0 57 21 21 15 11 38 8 58 164

24 192 Aruba 933 185 1015 0 0 39 12 16 11 5 27 7 49 127

25 197 Puerto Rico 890 171 1098 0 0 75 21 25 29 8 58 9 51 262

26 198 Bahamas 885 198 888 +8 +43 31 9 10 12 6 23 2 23 102

27 213 Turks and Caicos 727 - - +4 +41 10 0 5 5 1 8 1 6 38

28 215 US Virgin Islands 712 - - -3 -28 23 7 10 6 1 19 3 11 134

29 219 Montserrat 650 - - +1 0 21 3 11 7 2 18 1 15 112

29 219 Anguilla 650 219 655 0 -7 32 5 17 10 2 28 2 23 140

If you copy any data from the World Football Elo Ratings web site, you must include an acknowledgement to both World Football Elo Ratings web site and Advanced Satellite Consulting, which is the primary
jjbrown

« Reply #738 on: January 18, 2007, 03:19:02 AM »
Ah jess see how cuba get all dem points tuh be soo high. Dey play some no name countries with week footbal beat dem bad and get high FIFA points

check this http://www.fifa.com/en/mens/results/resultsdetails.html

« Reply #739 on: January 18, 2007, 07:13:51 AM »
The most trustworthy source is ELO:

Its a question of opinion...

ELO ratings are generally more reliable when comparing between confeds, FIFA's within confeds...and this was already posted i believe

« Reply #740 on: January 18, 2007, 07:33:31 AM »
one question, how does cuba get ranked 48th, please tell me, bc tt holds de most caribbean cups and the most hex appearances, not to mention most gold cup appearances and we below these teams, dat is bullshit... >:(

Is every month you does ask the same stupid question?

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #741 on: January 18, 2007, 08:16:13 AM »

Is every month you does ask the same stupid question?
Simply because they only look at 1 team and not the whole.
jjbrown

« Reply #742 on: January 21, 2007, 04:50:10 PM »
According to the latest FIFA ranking, I just realised that we beat Cuba which is ranked the Caribbean number one team.....

Bravo....   ;)

« Reply #743 on: January 21, 2007, 04:54:17 PM »
According to the latest FIFA ranking, I just realised that we beat Cuba which is ranked the Caribbean number one team.....

Bravo....   ;)

This Caribbean cup should do wonders for us as far as this ranking goes. Especially if we take Haiti again in the final.

« Reply #744 on: January 21, 2007, 05:13:49 PM »
This Caribbean cup should do wonders for us as far as this ranking goes. Especially if we take Haiti again in the final.

Well, do we count the win vs Martinique also ?

« Reply #745 on: January 21, 2007, 05:33:28 PM »
study st. vincent WAS above us! WTF!

but the rankings is madness
we make WC..so we should get a good bit of points for it though we lost 2 and drew 1...
all that time sides like cuba wasnt even in the Hexagonal...so they shoulda been losing points

and what Nigeria doin so high?

« Reply #746 on: January 21, 2007, 05:48:56 PM »

Well, do we count the win vs Martinique also ?

Nah. They not in Fifa rankings.

« Reply #747 on: January 29, 2007, 01:47:59 AM »
So who want to guess what our ranking is gonna be in February seeing our performance this month. Hopefully we get a really good showing on the 31 & 4

What you all think?

NICE fuh real