April 18, 2024, 09:17:15 PM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 297344 times)

Re: FIFA World ranking January
« Reply #750 on: January 29, 2007, 09:32:52 AM »
Never happen I am sure.

We get no respect

Offline TRUwarrior

« Reply #751 on: January 29, 2007, 09:39:54 AM »
fifa rankings are shit
at least we movin up

« Reply #752 on: January 29, 2007, 09:43:25 AM »
CFU games to help our rankings?

T&T 1 BAR 1 (not good)
T&T 3 HAI 1 (good)
T&T 3 CUB 1 (good)
T&T 1 HAI 2 (not good)

The T&T vs MAR game will not be included in the ranking point system because they are not a FIFA team.
I guess these results will put us in the 70's

« Reply #753 on: January 29, 2007, 09:44:42 AM »
I am also looking at a possible favorable outing on the 31st and 4th, that should do us good.

« Reply #754 on: January 29, 2007, 10:14:09 AM »
alyuh even study the results of the other teams in front and around us? Didn't/dont central america have gold cup qualifiers soon?

« Reply #755 on: January 29, 2007, 10:54:39 AM »
Well I more concern bout dem other carribean countries that boasting better position than ours

« Reply #756 on: January 29, 2007, 12:31:02 PM »
If these games count as continental qualifiers (Ranking System), then we supposed to get 1873 points from these matches.

Divide that by the number of mtches we played in the last 12 months and that would be the amount of ranking points we gaining.

More than likely it wouldn't weigthed as a continental qualifer but a "small regional tournament" which is same as a friendly.  Then you hadda divide 749 by the number of matches in the last 12 months to see how much points we gain.  all this not counting the points we lose from games 4 years ago and others that now being weigthed less.

4 matches in Digicel....3 WC....how many international friendlies?

According to SW.net is about 19 games  ;D

So we supposed to pick up  749/19 ~ 39 ranking points  Doh know how much we lose doh.

If is a continental qualifer then  1873/19 ~ 98 ranking points...minus whatever we lose.

Even if we lose both upcoming games then is 1873/21 ~ 89 ranking points...minus whatever

When is the next one coming out?
« Last Edit: January 29, 2007, 12:44:09 PM by dcs »

« Reply #757 on: January 29, 2007, 12:33:49 PM »
If these games count as continental qualifiers (Ranking System), then we supposed to get 1873 points from these matches.

Divide that by the number of mtches we played in the last 12 months and that would be the amount of ranking points we gaining.

More than likely it wouldn't weigthed as a continental qualifer but a "small regional tournament" which is same as a friendly.  Then you hadda divide 749 by the number of matches in the last 12 months to see how much points we gain.  all this not counting the points we lose from games 4 years ago and others that now being weigthed less.

4 matches in Digicel....3 WC....how many international friendlies?

I believe it will be weighed as a continental qualifier...

All the other caribbean teams games to just to reach Trinidad were treated as such.

« Reply #758 on: January 29, 2007, 12:48:09 PM »

I think we should at least get ahead of Canada...get somewhere in the 70s.

FIFA Ranking: T&T now 68.
« Reply #759 on: February 14, 2007, 06:49:16 AM »
CONCACAF

19  Mexico
28  USA
51  Cuba
54  Costa Rica
56  Jamaica
59  Honduras
68  Trinidad and Tobago
74  Panama
87  Canada
87  Guatemala
92  Haiti
100  St. Vincent and the Grenadines
104  Guyana
108  Barbados
114  Surinam
118  Bermuda
125  El Salvador
135  Dominican Republic
138  Antigua and Barbuda
141  St. Kitts and Nevis

INTERNATIONAL.

67  Peru
68  Trinidad and Tobago
69  Togo

Full Ranking
« Last Edit: February 14, 2007, 06:52:17 AM by Flex »

Re: FIFA Ranking: T&T now 68.
« Reply #760 on: February 14, 2007, 06:50:55 AM »
strange.

« Reply #761 on: February 14, 2007, 06:51:58 AM »
Italy oust Brazil to take top spot
FIFA.com

The FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking has a new leader: Italy. Following a successful year for the 2006 FIFA World Cup™ winners, Italy have managed to topple Brazil and reclaim the top spot for the first time since November 1993, ending Brazil's remarkable 55-month run at the top of the leader board. For their part, the South Americans recently suffered a 0-2 friendly defeat to Portugal, currently ranked eighth.

There is otherwise no change in the top five: Brazil are followed by Argentina, France and Germany. Spain return to the top ten for the first time since October last year (tenth, up 2).

Larger losses in February can be most clearly seen among the African teams: Cameroon (17th, down 6), Nigeria (36th, down 27), Egypt (42nd, down 23), Tunisia (45th, down 13) and Guinea (62nd, down 40) all slip down the ranking. All five teams have suffered from the depreciation in points of CAF Africa Cup of Nations matches played in January 2006. On a more positive note, several African teams improved their position over the past few weeks, with Ghana (22nd, up 6), Burkina Faso (57th, up 5) and 2010 FIFA World Cup™ hosts South Africa (59th, up 10) making notable gains.

Central America has also seen improvements, with four teams climbing more than ten positions in the last month due to successful qualifying campaigns for the next Gold Cup: Costa Rica (54th, up 12), Trinidad and Tobago (68th, up 19), Guatemala (87th, up 18) and El Salvador (125th, up 31). Trinidad and Tobago can also lay claim to the highest point-scoring match in February's ranking due to their 3-1 defeat of fellow CONCACAF member Cuba in a recent continental qualifier.

This month's ranking covers 87 new matches, most of them friendlies (74), with the remaining 13 games classed as continental qualifiers (Gold Cup, UEFA EURO 2008).

- The next FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking will be published on 14 March 2007.

« Reply #762 on: February 14, 2007, 06:55:22 AM »
I didnt realize current matches affected the ranking so much.
How then is JA still ahead of us

« Reply #763 on: February 14, 2007, 06:58:53 AM »
Wimp mus be having ah Catharis.  ;D ;D ;D

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #764 on: February 14, 2007, 07:36:15 AM »
How de ass Jamaica ahead of us?

FIFA ranking system useless no ass!
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #765 on: February 14, 2007, 07:43:11 AM »
How de ass Jamaica ahead of us?

FIFA ranking system useless no ass!

You have Cuba, Ja, Honduras etc with higher ranking but all you can get vex over is Jamaica!  ;D

Jamaica played and got good results vs Canada and Peru recently (you had good results recently ...albeit against weaker opposition the likes of Brarbados, Guadeloupe etc)
« Last Edit: February 14, 2007, 07:47:30 AM by Reggaefan »

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #766 on: February 14, 2007, 08:01:41 AM »
Confused. Can the experts help me?

Haiti was 92nd in Jan and Haiti remains 92nd. Cuba has been winning matches although against lower ranked teams, but instead of gaining pts Cuba actually lost 29 pts  ??? Help, Help, Help ;D
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #767 on: February 14, 2007, 08:08:02 AM »

Haiti was 92nd in Jan and Haiti remains 92nd. Cuba has been winning matches although against lower ranked teams, but instead of gaining pts Cuba actually lost 29 pts  ??? Help, Help, Help ;D
Its because you guys have not had good results against Canada and Peru

Offline Toussaint

• Haiti Spors
« Reply #768 on: February 14, 2007, 08:19:27 AM »

Its because you guys have not had good results against Canada and Peru

Maybe, we did against the team that had good results against Canada and Peru.

Mr Mc, you're not an expert, are you?  ;)

« Reply #769 on: February 14, 2007, 09:24:55 AM »

Losing matches doesn't hurt u that much.

This is just about what we expected...a lil higher thankfully.
El Salvador 125th   :o......now dat is ting to be vex about   :rotfl:

« Reply #770 on: February 14, 2007, 09:44:47 AM »

Haiti was 92nd in Jan and Haiti remains 92nd.

Toussaint that ranking system is some crazy shit.
Best thing to do is just ignore, it not worth the worry.
Or if u know who administers it, hit dem a big stone.

Offline Toussaint

• Haiti Spors
« Reply #771 on: February 14, 2007, 10:01:04 AM »

Haiti was 92nd in Jan and Haiti remains 92nd.

Toussaint that ranking system is some crazy shit.
Best thing to do is just ignore, it not worth the worry.
Or if u know who administers it, hit dem a big stone.

Right. I was trying to figure out how Jamaica earned 4pts in the monthly ranking while the boyz didn't play a single match during that time and why Cuba seems to lose 29 pts when they have actually won 1 match and tie 1 and Haiti does not move up or down despite victories over Barbados and higher ranked TnT during that same period.

(Pst: not picking on Ja. Just trying to understand the rational behind that system. Apparently, there isn't).
« Last Edit: February 14, 2007, 10:02:51 AM by Toussaint »

Offline slates

• Big-up L'Anse Mitan Carenage
« Reply #772 on: February 14, 2007, 10:03:42 AM »
Ah hear W Connection beating Chivas is seen as a T&T victory over Mex. So we moving up 2 spots next ranking.

Toujour Pret!

« Reply #773 on: February 14, 2007, 10:09:27 AM »
acctually JA still riding on points they made during ouer WC run. They acquired alot of points then and since we are playing more matches now we should catch up with them and surpass them or they just fall like normal ;D

« Reply #774 on: February 14, 2007, 10:09:55 AM »
wait wait...
jamaica move up a spot??

ammm...how?
who they play recently?

i check and see their last game was in Nov....that right??
and as all ya say Haiti eh move....

my side gone 1st and i still find this rankings to be bogus

ya cah please everybody all d time but damn...at least get one person!

« Reply #775 on: February 14, 2007, 10:10:08 AM »
Ah hear W Connection beating Chivas is seen as a T&T victory over Mex. So we moving up 2 spots next ranking.

;D ;D ;D He need ah purge

Offline Toussaint

• Haiti Spors
« Reply #776 on: February 14, 2007, 10:13:39 AM »
acctually JA still riding on points they made during ouer WC run. They acquired alot of points then and since we are playing more matches now we should catch up with them and surpass them or they just fall like normal ;D

Since they did not play any match in the past month, they cannot possibly earn new pts. Assuming their accumulated pts have not yet started devaluating, they can at most have the same pts they had in the previous month unless someone here can make sense out of that.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2007, 10:18:03 AM by Toussaint »

« Reply #777 on: February 14, 2007, 10:13:53 AM »
I hear Jamaica gets extra points for supplying the FIFA administrators with top-quality sensi.

« Reply #778 on: February 14, 2007, 10:22:53 AM »
RankTeam     .Pts:    .+/-Rank     .+/-Pts:
6        England13300-29
16    Sweden894-2 -64
19    Mexico 8572 -26
28    USA    7833-9
30    Parag    755 510
34    Chile      706 6 6
41    Japan    64959
51    Cuba    590 -3-29
54    CR      5351275
56    JA     5311 4
59    HON    504-3 -34
62    Guinea 495-40 -386
66    VEN    452 7 18
67    Peru    447 30
68    T&T44619 74
74    Panama    423612
87    Canada    362 -6-37
87    Guat    3621880
92    Haiti      3540   8
98    Bahrain   313-1-8
100    SVG    308423

Wayys...Guines was up in the 20s?  Shot back down to earth.

A lot of teams losing points but some still move up by losing less than others.  So maybe Haiti lost points from previous good results.  How many games you'll played for the year?  Cuba was the highest ranked team in the Digicel so beating them was the biggest scalp.

« Reply #779 on: February 14, 2007, 10:27:24 AM »

They can in fact earn points without playing matches.

The ranking points are basically Earned Points / Games Played
And games are weighted depending on time also.
So if a game they lost drops down the weight scale or is no longer counted...Earned points will remain the same but games played with go down....so ranking points go up.

Ah tink    :thinking:

Since they did not play any match in the past month, they cannot possibly earn new pts. Assuming their accumulated pts have not yet started devaluating, they can at most have the same pts they had in the previous month unless someone here can make sense out of that.