April 28, 2024, 05:47:07 PM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 298984 times)

Offline FATZ

• I SELL FOOTBALL JERSEYS
Re: FIFA Ranking
« Reply #90 on: November 17, 2005, 09:52:08 AM »
True, i was remembering the rankings when we beat Mexico. We may just jump into the top 50 when the November rankings come out.
WELCOME TO DINSLEY OUT IN THE STREETZ THEY CALL ME FATZ

Without Him, I am nothing but with Him I can do all things. Phil 4:13

« Reply #91 on: November 17, 2005, 10:10:19 AM »
Actually we're 53, Australia 54, and Bahrain 55. We might actually drop in the standings because Australia beat Uruguay, who're ranked 17th, yesterday.

Offline cm103

« Reply #92 on: November 17, 2005, 10:27:22 AM »
we r above bahrain in the standings. they 55th nd us 53rd

I stand corrected

« Reply #93 on: November 17, 2005, 10:45:17 AM »
i think we will pick up about 10 points from the 2 games. this should get us about 3 places on the list.

Offline Clarke

« Reply #94 on: November 17, 2005, 11:53:08 AM »
Actually we're 53, Australia 54, and Bahrain 55. We might actually drop in the standings because Australia beat Uruguay, who're ranked 17th, yesterday.

But remember we beat Mexico ranked number 5 the other day so that might better we standings i blv. And the qualification for the cup might cause a change too.

Offline trinimuse

World Cup Qualifiers and Rankings
« Reply #95 on: November 18, 2005, 01:40:09 PM »
Ah now recovering.  Reach home 3 dis morning, hangover..gyal sharing wine like water, bess ting sharing nuff ting ... Truly our country celebrates...  8)

Found this spread sheet on the www... is there anywhere I can upload it so that you all can dl it?

African Zone (5 Teams)      
 Team                       Qualified       OCT 2005 Ranking
  Angola (ANG)            8-Oct-05   60
  Cote d'Ivoire (CIV)    8-Oct-05   48
  Togo (TOG)            8-Oct-05   49
  Ghana (GHA)            8-Oct-05   51
  Tunisia (TUN)             8-Oct-05   27

Asian Zone (4.5 Teams)      
 Team                       Qualified      OCT 2005 Ranking
  Japan (JPN)              8-Jun-05   16
  Iran (IRN)                8-Jun-05     21
  Korea Republic (KOR) 8-Jun-05       29
  Saudi Arabia (KSA)    8-Jun-05     31

European Zone (14 Teams)      
 Team                               Qualified      OCT 2005 Ranking
  Germany (GER)                   Host          15
  Ukraine (UKR)                     3-Sep-05     39
  Netherlands (NED)          8-Oct-05       2
  Poland (POL)                     8-Oct-05     23
  England (ENG)                    8-Oct-05   9
  Croatia (CRO)                     8-Oct-05   19
  Italy (ITA)                       8-Oct-05     12
  Portugal (POR)            8-Oct-05    9
  Sweden (SWE)                12-Oct-05     13
  Serbia/Montenegro (SCG) 12-Oct-05   42
  France (FRA)                     12-Oct-05    5
  Switzerland (SUI)            16-Nov-05    38
  Spain (ESP)                      16-Nov-05    8
  Czech Republic (CZE)          16-Nov-05     3

North, Central American and Caribbean Zone (3.5 Teams)      
 Team                               Qualified       OCT 2005 Ranking
  USA (USA)                      3-Sep-05      7
  Mexico (MEX)                     7-Sep-05      6
  Costa Rica (CRC)             8-Oct-05    20
  Trinidad and Tobago (TRI)  16-Nov-05      53

Oceanian Zone (0.5 Teams)      
 Team   Qualified   OCT 2005 Ranking
  Australia (AUS)   16-Nov-05   54

South American Zone (4.5 Teams)      
 Team                      Qualified   OCT 2005 Ranking
  Argentina (ARG)   8-Jun-05    4
  Brazil (BRA)               4-Sep-05        1
  Ecuador (ECU)            8-Oct-05   36
  Paraguay (PAR)    8-Oct-05   33

if you cant be good....be careful...!

To day is the day for Ranking release
« Reply #96 on: November 22, 2005, 03:07:05 AM »
I just can't wait

12.09.05/mas-pst/ Schedule-2006_WR-WWR.doc
FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking Schedule 2006
Final version
Published: Monthly on Wednesdays
Deadline: Thursday prior to the release date
Month Release Date Deadline Interval (weeks)
(December Mon 19 Dec 2005)
January 18 Jan 12 Jan 4
February1 15 Feb 09 Feb 4
March° 15 Mar 09 Mar 4
April 19 Apr 13 Apr 5
May° 17 May 11 May 4
June2 NO RANKING NO RANKING NO RANKING
July 12 Jul FWC Final 8
August 16 Aug 10 Aug 5
September° 13 Sep 07 Sep 4
October 18 Oct 12 Oct 5
November 22 Nov 16 Nov 5
December 3° 20 Dec 14 Dec 4
1 Following CAN 2006 (ending 10 Feb)
2 No publication due to FIFA World Cup Germany™ (9 June – 9 July)

Wonder where Trinidad is going to be placed

Offline Redditch Valiant

Re: To day is the day for Ranking release
« Reply #97 on: November 22, 2005, 08:54:50 AM »
The last one says world ranking 53, up 3 places  ;D but the next is due tomorrow.
Proud to be an honorary "Trinbagonian"
GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!!

Offline Redditch Valiant

« Reply #99 on: November 22, 2005, 09:05:36 AM »
we should be in the top 32

how de hell jamaica still rankin better than we when australia now light them up >:(

Offline Redditch Valiant

« Reply #100 on: November 22, 2005, 09:09:07 AM »
Maybe TnT will have gone up intomorrow's listing.

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #101 on: November 22, 2005, 09:12:22 AM »
i thought we got shot up to #23 after qualifying?

« Reply #102 on: November 22, 2005, 09:13:18 AM »

how de hell jamaica still rankin better than we when australia now light them up >:(

what makes us deserving of a top 32 placing?

Curious....I know we in de WC and is 32 teams but dat eh de logic behind de rankings...so????

« Reply #103 on: November 22, 2005, 09:15:56 AM »
Since Bahrain was rank lower than us. I except us to be rank around 47th. But i would love to see us in the 30's though. Go TNT.

« Reply #104 on: November 22, 2005, 09:30:34 AM »

Curious....I know we in de WC and is 32 teams but dat eh de logic behind de rankings...so????

trutrini i jusst joking bredda  ;D

yuh rell lighting man up lately boy

by de way i finally made E-5 ;D

« Reply #105 on: November 22, 2005, 09:36:18 AM »
 We have to win against some more big teams ...Go T&T

« Reply #106 on: November 22, 2005, 09:40:46 AM »

congrats on de promotion... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

trutrini i jusst joking bredda  ;D

yuh rell lighting man up lately boy

by de way i finally made E-5 ;D

Offline ANC2

« Reply #107 on: November 22, 2005, 09:43:02 AM »
Ent Senegal was ranked 54 when dem went WC and duss off nuff teams. Rankings is shit.

Offline greenpea

« Reply #108 on: November 22, 2005, 09:47:35 AM »
Aside ---- Prior to todays revision

Uraguay #17
TNT      #53
Australia #54

And people boldface to state that if Uraguay play TNT is a "no-brainer"...... i doh know about that... on any given day TNT could produce the magic....  :chilling:

« Reply #109 on: November 22, 2005, 09:51:28 AM »
Does this ranking include the Mexico result or did the last one?

Anyway beating Bahrain wouldn't do much for our ranking because they were ranked lower than us. Beating Mexico would but I still don't see us travelling far. It also depends on what results "fall off" the ranking.

Remember when we shot up to 29 based on the 2002 qualifying semis? Those points are worth less and less each year and that is why we have been slowly dropping since then.

Offline marcus

• BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS
« Reply #110 on: November 22, 2005, 10:00:48 AM »
IT'S HIGHLY DOUBTFUL WE BREAK THE TOP 32 IN THE RANKINGS, INFACT I AM SURE OF IT.....
« Last Edit: November 22, 2005, 11:23:05 AM by marcus »

Offline Hyperhot J

« Reply #111 on: November 22, 2005, 10:33:17 AM »
     AWATT I need your help! It appears that many posters here seem to be waggonists and are talking some real dotishness about the rankings etc. We will NOT be ranked in the top 32 when the rankings come out simply because we friggin in the World Cup. Rankings is purely points based on wins and draws that is all. We will definitely improve from 53 maybe to 40 - something based on our results which were mostly wins after our last 53rd rank.

To all waggonists or "New" Forumites, can any of you all ever remember that in June 2001 on the day we played the US in the US when we lost 2-0, can you all even remember that at that time under Porterfield we ranked the highest EVER in our HISTORY! Eh all yuh even know that! Yes we were ranked 29th or 24th in the world if I remember correctly! Who knows for sure can enlighten me but I know it was somewhere around there.

If you all would have remembered and followed the team, then these ranking questions would not be asked. AWATT please deal accordingly with these persons. Remember you are a true supporter not because of reading a book or cramming a football test, it is because you remembered with your heart and love for your team, this time it is T&T, but even if it is Arsenal or Real etc. a supporter a true one, would not need a book, they would remember and it would touch their life based on they themselves experiencing the victory defeat etc .

All new forumites join the ride and have the fun and you all will become a better and more experienced supporter by living it, and not just reading a book about T&T football the last 20 years etc.

Myself and many other forumites know most or all of T&T's info. because we lived it and lived for it in terms of T&T football, many people can go and research World Cup games online and read in books about different country's road to the World Cup. But just being there at the time and watching it on tv and remembering it and letting it have a place in your heart is the true supporter spirit.
"The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power." 

Cassius told Brutus in Julius Caesar by Shakespeare

« Reply #112 on: November 22, 2005, 10:55:50 AM »
Allyuh done with this "Waggonist" thing nah....
It getting kinda stale now.

If a man dont know that much about football, its only natural our qualification will serve to inspire people.
Lets educate them instead of bashing them.

« Reply #113 on: November 22, 2005, 10:59:28 AM »

Ja ranking wouldn't necessarily fall if they lose to a team like Aus. If they geh light up by a team like St. Vincent or Barbados then their ranking will certainly fall.

« Reply #114 on: November 22, 2005, 11:30:06 AM »

ah saying 30 - 28 range.
but ya know is only next week we go know how dey boys climbing

« Reply #115 on: November 22, 2005, 11:49:28 AM »

Australia beating Jamaica in a friendly non-Fifa sanctioned game is not going to carry much weighting on either Australia scoring points, or Jamaica losing points in te FIFA ranking. And I dont think qualifying for the world cup automatically pushes you into the top 32.  Cameroun, Columbia and Nigeria will all be missing from teh world cup, but that doesnt mean that they automaticall lose their top 25 FIFA Rankings to Togo,Trinidad and Tobago, and Ivory Coast. Key for Trinidad to move into the top 32 before now and the finals, is to play and beat teams ranked above them, at least 3 times. That will guarantee T&T making up on the 31 points gap that currently exists between them and Jamaica.

« Reply #116 on: November 22, 2005, 12:14:20 PM »

Key for Trinidad to move into the top 32 before now and the finals, is to play and beat teams ranked above them, at least 3 times. That will guarantee T&T making up on the 31 points gap that currently exists between them and Jamaica.

Wow, didnt know Ja was ranked 22 in the world. ;D

« Reply #117 on: November 22, 2005, 12:15:01 PM »
I think we will move about about 6 points to #47.

« Reply #118 on: November 22, 2005, 12:24:05 PM »
rankings don't mean anything
so we shouldn't worry about it

« Reply #119 on: November 22, 2005, 12:26:50 PM »
They dont mean a thing on the field, i agree, but they are a very decent idea and guage of the general position of your team in relation to others.
It is the best format we have to date, and for the most part, it holds true.