March 29, 2024, 02:25:52 AM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 295384 times)

Re: FIFA July Ranking
« Reply #900 on: July 18, 2007, 11:03:23 AM »
Brazil take over the #1 spot.
Yaaay Brasil! Yaaay Mexico!

« Reply #901 on: July 18, 2007, 12:49:52 PM »
Check out the thrashing the U-20 Reggae Boyz getting from Argentina in their PanAm match now on ESPN Deportes.   

That is a very good result.  I wonder how much points you get for it.

« Reply #902 on: July 18, 2007, 12:56:53 PM »
Check out the thrashing the U-20 Reggae Boyz getting from Argentina in their PanAm match now on ESPN Deportes.   

So Boxhill does get all de blame when results are bad.
Who gets credit for a good result?

« Reply #903 on: July 18, 2007, 12:57:31 PM »

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #904 on: July 18, 2007, 01:27:13 PM »

So Boxhill does get all de blame when results are bad.
Who gets credit for a good result?
This is not a result for Boxhill in as so much a moral victory for the Young Boyz and Coach Downsell who did not get the time allowed for preparations for the game.
The Reggae Girlz were thrashed 11-1 by Canada for the same reason. They were call to camp with less than a week before the start of the PanAm Games.
Boxhill has still not heeded from his mistakes of 3 years ago. It's a case of a little to late.
jjbrown

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #905 on: July 18, 2007, 01:30:25 PM »

Not sure. But the Young Boyz are still getting a lot of good preparation against some top young teams.
Don't you think.  ;D ;D ;D
jjbrown

« Reply #906 on: July 18, 2007, 03:52:08 PM »
JA IN REL SHIT  :devil: tht is where they deserve to be

« Reply #907 on: July 18, 2007, 05:33:30 PM »
We still ranked dat good the way that JW and dem goin I say that we go be off the list

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #908 on: July 19, 2007, 10:58:39 AM »
So from this point onward. There is nowhere to go but UP.  ;D ;D
jjbrown

« Reply #909 on: July 19, 2007, 11:10:19 AM »

Dais what Boxhill plan was all along.  I trust u don't doubt him anymore.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #910 on: July 19, 2007, 11:50:22 AM »

Dais what Boxhill plan was all along.  I trust u don't doubt him anymore.
Boxhill got his four year term like any other JFF President. He has failed to qualify any of the Reggae Boyz and Girlz unit for their respective World Cups.
He has continously shown a lack of understanding of successfully running an organization.
He had his four years. He failed miserably. Time's up.   
jjbrown

Offline jonny

New FIFA ranking for August
« Reply #911 on: August 22, 2007, 02:23:43 AM »
New FIFA ranking for August :

11 Mexico down 1
17 USA down 3
52 Costa Rica down 2
53 Canada down 1
57 Honduras up 6
63 Trinidad & Tobago up 2
71 Panama down 14
80 Guatemala down 5
88 Haiti up 4
90 Guyana up 10
91 Cuba down 1
95 Jamaica down 2

Concacaf

International
« Last Edit: August 22, 2007, 04:20:37 AM by Flex »

Re: New FIFA ranking for August
« Reply #912 on: August 22, 2007, 02:46:01 AM »

You know anytime someone posts the FIFA Rankings, there are always people who cry it down as being insignificant and largely inaccurate.

However, I think the recently publicised difficulties in our guys securing work permits shows the importance of staying at or above 70th place in the world.

It would be interesting to note what's the situation with JA footballers trying to get work permits in UK, as their 95th place does not assist them in any way.

« Reply #913 on: August 22, 2007, 03:30:51 AM »
a very accurate ranking lol...  TnT 63  JA 95   exactly where them yardies belong

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #914 on: August 22, 2007, 03:38:25 AM »
wam fli like u gehin tie up or wah...like u forgehin dah de majourity ah de jamaican team is from de UK(england) so rankin en go make no difference :devil:
all dat is necessary is necessary

FIFA World Rankings....study T&T progress.
« Reply #915 on: August 22, 2007, 09:40:57 AM »
check this out...T&T is now 63rd overall...Iraq and South Africa right around us
didnt we draw with Iraq a couple yrs ago in England? (know it mighta been a weaker iraq side cause of their situation...Sadaam was still alive etc...)

anyways...the link showin we was like 87th in January 07...now we 63rd..thas a serious jump...
but unless i suffering from short term memory..what games we play and win since then that push us up so?
only thing i could think of is digicel cup...and is not no big sides in
that..

http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=tri/ranking/gender=m/index.html
note that we reached as high as 25th!!!!!!!!!! study dat

and here r the full rankings
http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/ranking/lastranking/gender=m/fullranking.html

Re: FIFA World Rankings....study T&T progress.
« Reply #916 on: August 22, 2007, 10:38:54 AM »
check this out...T&T is now 63rd overall...Iraq and South Africa right around us
didnt we draw with Iraq a couple yrs ago in England? (know it mighta been a weaker iraq side cause of their situation...Sadaam was still alive etc...)

anyways...the link showin we was like 87th in January 07...now we 63rd..thas a serious jump...
but unless i suffering from short term memory..what games we play and win since then that push us up so?
only thing i could think of is digicel cup...and is not no big sides in
that..

http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=tri/ranking/gender=m/index.html
note that we reached as high as 25th!!!!!!!!!! study dat

and here r the full rankings
http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/ranking/lastranking/gender=m/fullranking.html

We actually beat Iraq 2-0 at the Hawthorns, Ah remember Stern score....not sure if he score both goals though.

« Reply #917 on: August 22, 2007, 11:16:26 AM »
To think Guyana is now ranked ahead of Jamaica....wow.

I not into kicking them men while they're down though...won't belong before they start to ascend back to where they belong.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #918 on: August 22, 2007, 02:46:20 PM »

You know anytime someone posts the FIFA Rankings, there are always people who cry it down as being insignificant and largely inaccurate.

However, I think the recently publicised difficulties in our guys securing work permits shows the importance of staying at or above 70th place in the world.

It would be interesting to note what's the situation with JA footballers trying to get work permits in UK, as their 95th place does not assist them in any way.
The present FIFA rankings will not stop Jamaican footballers from getiing permits to play in England since their FA utilizes a different ranking system.
jjbrown

« Reply #919 on: August 22, 2007, 04:31:43 PM »

The present FIFA rankings will not stop Jamaican footballers from getiing permits to play in England since their FA utilizes a different ranking system.

Most Jamaican footballers are from the U.K anyways :heehee:

« Reply #920 on: August 22, 2007, 04:41:09 PM »

If this is the case, I'm assuming that they use the same one that they use to judge our players right? If that is the case can you please elaborate cos quite a few people here misguided

« Reply #921 on: August 22, 2007, 05:09:44 PM »
Them rankings is still bull!!!!

« Reply #922 on: August 22, 2007, 05:45:04 PM »
We actually kinda lucky to be so high IMHO. Cause is not like de senior team really making a big impact and accumulating wins and points while Jackula have most a dem blacklisted and sidelined. To make matters wuss, we not active and no plan in place to play certain countries.  Under 17 doh count for de rankings. Pure last minute wheelin' and dealing to play bogus national teams. Look !   >:( ...... doh leh me get started on dis Jackula ting right now nah. Even Jamaica and Grenada (same ting  ;D) .... easy nah Ja-2099.... know who dey playing next or every other month. What is de matter with us?  :'(

« Reply #923 on: August 22, 2007, 05:55:09 PM »
Did any CFU teams have friendlies today? I know most of the rest of CONCACAF did:

USA - Sweden
Guatemala - Panama
Costa Rica - Peru
Mexico - Colombia
El Salvador - Honduras
Canada - Iceland

unless I overlooked something no Caribbean play today.

« Last Edit: August 22, 2007, 05:57:42 PM by E-man »

« Reply #924 on: August 22, 2007, 07:29:58 PM »
Jack just proveing to everyone how his so called T&T B team can keep our flag flying,i just think unless we can really understand the criteria FIFA uses to figure out these rankings they will always look like something wrong.

« Reply #925 on: August 22, 2007, 09:01:09 PM »
as one of many who dont really take on this too much, i actually check out the international rankings, and in a way, this latest international ranking dont look that bad...in my opinion, plenty of them teams are more or less where they belong...

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #926 on: August 23, 2007, 07:09:48 AM »

T&T were one of the few CONCACAF countries to move up.

Who do you play next ?  The rest of CONCACAF played yesterday.

Panama   2 - 1   Guatemala
Costa Rica   1 - 1   Peru
Mexico   0 - 1   Colombia
Iceland 1 - 1 Canada
USA 0 -1 Sweden
ES 2-1 Honduras
« Last Edit: August 23, 2007, 07:15:17 AM by Winnipeg Fury »

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #927 on: August 23, 2007, 07:29:47 AM »

Most Jamaican footballers are from the U.K anyways :heehee:
That's right. And the US team is made up of immigrants.  ;D
jjbrown

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #928 on: August 23, 2007, 07:35:11 AM »

If this is the case, I'm assuming that they use the same one that they use to judge our players right? If that is the case can you please elaborate cos quite a few people here misguided
Sorry. I cannot elaborate. That's just how they explained in a nutshell when Jamaica fell to 73 in the FIFA rankings about 2 years ago. ???
jjbrown

TnT is #1
« Reply #929 on: August 23, 2007, 07:39:20 AM »
CFU Rankings - Aug 2007 (world ranking in brackets)

1 Trinidad & Tobago (63)
2 Haiti (88)
3 Guyana (90)
4 Cuba (91)
5 Jamaica (95)
6 St Vincent & the Grenadines (104)
7 Barbados (119)
8 Suriname (123)
9 Bermuda (130)
10 Antigua & Barbuda (131)
11 Dominican Republic (140)
12 St Kitts & Nevis (141)