April 23, 2024, 09:17:53 PM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 297819 times)

Re: I know noone cares but ... Feb FIFA rank
« Reply #240 on: February 15, 2006, 10:35:56 AM »
Look where Germany is: 19 !!!!!

« Reply #241 on: February 15, 2006, 10:37:17 AM »
you mean beating FIU and the Honduran club was not good enough to move up? damn!

Offline Pasdah Beatz

• Spiritual Seal
  • I was born to die as a SoCa WaRrIoR
NO man
« Reply #242 on: February 15, 2006, 10:47:14 AM »
you mean beating FIU and the Honduran club was not good enough to move up? damn!

Look yuh have point man laughing at yuh

U.S. moves up another spot in FIFA rankings
« Reply #243 on: February 15, 2006, 11:06:37 AM »

February 15, 2006

ZURICH, Switzerland (AP) -- The United States moved up one place and into a three-way tie for sixth in FIFA's rankings released Wednesday.

Brazil maintained the top spot it has held since July 2002, a month after it won its record fifth World Cup. The Czech Republic remains second, followed by the Netherlands, Argentina and France.

The United States share No. 6 with Mexico and Spain, which was tied for fifth with France in the January rankings.

Egypt, which won its fifth African Cup of Nations title on Friday, rose 15 places to 17th, its highest position in eight years. Nigeria moved up 12 positions to 12th while African Cup semifinalist Cameroon gained seven spots to 16th.

The next list will be released on March 15.

Re: U.S. moves up another spot in FIFA rankings
« Reply #244 on: February 15, 2006, 11:09:10 AM »
we should go back up after we put 5 on iceland.

Offline 1989

USA Vs. Mexico
« Reply #245 on: February 15, 2006, 12:09:56 PM »
I believe that the next world rankings could well have USA as the #1 football team in CONCACAF.  They've managed to beat a few teams recently in convincing style, while Mexico has been dragging their feet.  That of course would give Arena major bragging rights.  All in all however, he would have earned it.
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

Re: USA Vs. Mexico
« Reply #246 on: February 15, 2006, 12:12:13 PM »
Head to head..how does Mexico stack up to USA?

« Reply #247 on: February 15, 2006, 12:13:53 PM »
we should go back up after we put 5 on iceland.

That all depends on Iceland's FIFA Ranking! What is Icelands Ranking? Are they in the top 40?!  8)

Offline 1989

« Reply #248 on: February 15, 2006, 12:22:51 PM »
Head to head..how does Mexico stack up to USA?

RAW Stats 1993 - 2006:

Country   GP   W   D   L   GF   GA   GD   
USA   22   9   6   7   25   18   7   
Mexico   22   7   6   9   18   25   -7

Detailed:

Summary   
   USA (USA)   2:0 (0:0)    Mexico (MEX)      
FIFA WC 2006 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF Zone    COLUMBUS USA - 03.09.2005    

Mexico (MEX)   2:1 (2:0)    USA (USA)      
FIFA WC 2006 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF Zone    MEXICO CITY MEXICO - 27.03.2005    

USA (USA)   1:0 (0:0)    Mexico (MEX)      
Friendly 2004    DALLAS USA - 28.04.2004    

USA (USA)   0:0    Mexico (MEX)      
Friendly 2003    HOUSTON USA - 08.05.2003    

Mexico (MEX)   0:2 (0:1)    USA (USA)      
2002 FIFA World Cup Korea/Japan (TM)    JEONJU KOREA REPUBLIC - 17.06.2002    

Friendly 2002    DENVER USA - 03.04.2002    

Mexico (MEX)   1:0 (1:0)    USA (USA)      
FIFA WC 2002 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF    MEXICO CITY MEXICO - 01.07.2001    

FIFA WC 2002 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF    COLUMBUS USA - 28.02.2001    

Friendly 2000    LOS ANGELES USA - 25.10.2000    

USA (USA)   3:0 (1:0)    Mexico (MEX)      
U.S. Cup 2000    EAST RUTHERFORD USA - 11.06.2000    

Mexico (MEX)   1:0 a.e.t. (0:0)    USA (USA)      
FIFA Confederations Cup Mexico 1999    MEXICO CITY MEXICO - 01.08.1999    

USA (USA)   1:2    Mexico (MEX)      
U.S. Cup 1999    SAN DIEGO USA - 13.03.1999    

USA (USA)   0:1 (0:1)    Mexico (MEX)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 1998    LOS ANGELES USA - 15.02.1998    

Mexico (MEX)   0:0    USA (USA)      
FIFA WC 1998 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF    MEXICO CITY MEXICO - 02.11.1997    

USA (USA)   2:2 (1:1)    Mexico (MEX)      
FIFA WC 1998 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF    FOXBORO USA - 20.04.1997    

USA (USA)   0:2 (0:1)    Mexico (MEX)      
U.S. Cup 1997    PASADENA USA - 19.01.1997    

USA (USA)   2:2 (1:1)    Mexico (MEX)      
Friendly 1996    LOS ANGELES USA - 16.06.1996    

USA (USA)   0:0 ( : )4:1 PSO    Mexico (MEX)      
Copa America 1995    PAYSANDU URUGUAY - 17.07.1995    

USA (USA)   4:0 (3:0)    Mexico (MEX)      
U.S. Cup 1995    WASHINGTON DC USA - 18.06.1995    

Friendly 1994    PASADENA USA - 04.06.1994    

USA (USA)   1:1 (0:0)    Mexico (MEX)      
Friendly 1993    WASHINGTON DC USA - 13.10.1993    

USA (USA)   0:4 (0:2)    Mexico (MEX)      
CONCACAF Gold Cup 1993    
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #249 on: February 15, 2006, 12:28:36 PM »
The fact remains that mexico competed very well in the Confederation Cup. Got some big results against ranked teams and thus went up the table. More recently they played some exhibition games and also won those games so that is why they have that showing.
How can you say they have been dragging their feet.

« Reply #250 on: February 15, 2006, 01:06:22 PM »
well fifa ranking saying that Iceland is ranked 96th in the world which I think might be crazy but that is where they are.

Offline FATZ

• I SELL FOOTBALL JERSEYS
Re: NO man
« Reply #251 on: February 15, 2006, 03:07:04 PM »

Look yuh have point man laughing at yuh

Are you for real or are you a cartoon character in real life???
WELCOME TO DINSLEY OUT IN THE STREETZ THEY CALL ME FATZ

Without Him, I am nothing but with Him I can do all things. Phil 4:13

Re: Not good
« Reply #252 on: February 15, 2006, 03:09:14 PM »
the matches we played in the US don't qualify as fifa matches

:mackdaddy:
bredda de man on kix

« Reply #253 on: February 15, 2006, 04:48:30 PM »
if we drop den jamaica mus be drop 2??

YEAH!!!

wah gwan wit da eh!?

dese ranking are utter bullshit.

Offline BigToe

• Laaaaard, ah cyan take it no more
« Reply #254 on: February 15, 2006, 11:36:08 PM »
the rankings don't mean shite

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
« Reply #255 on: February 16, 2006, 12:01:11 AM »

...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

Offline juventus_fc

« Reply #256 on: February 16, 2006, 08:13:11 AM »
So according to the rankings Italy not making the secong round in Bermany...i highly doubt that.....what has the czech done to be 2nd in the rankings......the had to be in a playoff to make world cup and did not even qualify last time......ok the reached the semis of the euro 2004 but greece won it so how come they not higher up.......germany definitely dont deserve to be 19th...but i guess its beacause of a lack of competitive matches

« Reply #257 on: February 16, 2006, 07:36:00 PM »
trinidad could be ranked 51 in de FIFA rankings,  but trinidad is ranked number 1 in we hearts.....LEH WE GO T&T!!!!! :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

Offline whayuhsay

Iceland is ranked 96th in Fifa's World Rankings
« Reply #258 on: March 04, 2006, 01:44:13 PM »
http://www.fifa.com/en/mens/statistics/index/0,2548,All-Feb-2006,00.html

Just something to keep in mind.  The team looked great but let's remember we played a very weak team.  I say much more preparation is needed, and am looking forward to the warmups against the better teams.  It seems the media took that 2-0 defeat and ran with it, people saying is 2nd rong for TnT and all kindah ting, I say mash yuh brakes.... 

Iceland also won one game against Malta and lost eight in Euro qualifiers http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/t/zone/standings.html?zone=eur ....
« Last Edit: March 04, 2006, 01:49:01 PM by whayuhsay »

Re: Iceland is ranked 96th in Fifa's World Rankings
« Reply #259 on: March 04, 2006, 01:57:56 PM »
We know what their rank and record is like. However, that doesn't mean TnT didn't play a damn good game of football regardless. If they had a mediocre performance people would not have been giving them so much praise.

Offline whayuhsay

« Reply #260 on: March 04, 2006, 02:06:11 PM »
Yeah man, the team looked great and it's great for the team's confidence... 

Then I read subsequent reports like this one Trinidad coach says his team will spring surprises in Germany http://thestar.com.my/sports/story.asp?file=/2006/3/2/sports/13542588&sec=sports , I just hope we not getting ahead of ourselves because the bottom line is we played a sh!t team.  I juss hoping we take the rest of our preparations very seriously and not get swell headed from dat victory as great as it was...

« Reply #261 on: March 04, 2006, 02:14:34 PM »
He said they could be a suprise package and that a lot of people would be surprised at what the team is able to do. But in many other interviews he has acknoledged that despite the win, the team still had a lot of work to do. So nah, de man still have he head on. Nuh no scene.

« Reply #262 on: March 04, 2006, 02:24:59 PM »
and what is a shite team? please define....thankin you in advance.

« Reply #263 on: March 04, 2006, 02:33:02 PM »
Yeah man, the team looked great and it's great for the team's confidence...  

Then I read subsequent reports like this one Trinidad coach says his team will spring surprises in Germany http://thestar.com.my/sports/story.asp?file=/2006/3/2/sports/13542588&sec=sports , I just hope we not getting ahead of ourselves because the bottom line is we played a sh!t team.  I juss hoping we take the rest of our preparations very seriously and not get swell headed from dat victory as great as it was...

I find d picture in your link (and in most of d match reports) of Yorke celebrating d penalty wid d keeper on his back is class. That is my new desktop wallpaper  ;D

Its true, we played a mediocre side. Iceland were fairly well organised, but they lacked class and weren't able to exploit the good positions they got themselves into. And they let us off the hook several times, especially in the first half.

Still, we played an organised game and actually looked like a team that had a structure and a plan. Apart from skill, now we have discipline.That is sumthing that we have never been good at. Under B St C it was every man for himself.

Another factor, that maybe people in Trinidad didn't pick up on, is that the temperature on Tuesday was minus 4 degrees which must have been a shock to d players not based in the UK, but we didn't let it affect us. We were still making mistakes on Tuesday, but if Beenhakker has enough time wid d players, we will continue to improve.

« Reply #264 on: March 04, 2006, 02:53:07 PM »
So by your indications T&T should come last in the world cup because if we go by FIFA ranking we are the lowest and weakest.... ranked 51...

FIFA ranking dont mean much.... according to Doc- doh trouble your heart, its 11v11 on game day... we almost didn't beat St Vincent and them is 100 and something...

England is number 9..
« Last Edit: March 04, 2006, 02:55:04 PM by Flex »

« Reply #265 on: March 04, 2006, 02:54:31 PM »
Maybe is just me but I wasn't impressed with what I saw in the 2nd half.
Granted the numerous subs kinda break the flow.

I go hadda look at the 1st half.  Allyuh sure it wasn't just tustyness to see we play a game dat have allyuh so   ;D

« Reply #266 on: March 04, 2006, 03:07:46 PM »
yeah we played a lower ranked team..but we all know that those rankings are real crap...fact is we played a decent game..second half got lil scrappy but with all the subs made that not really surprising..and must remember at this point the friendlies arent there really for the result altho we all like the wins...it is to improve and better the performances of individuals and the team.

« Reply #267 on: March 04, 2006, 03:20:53 PM »

Just something to keep in mind.  The team looked great but let's remember we played a very weak team.  I say much more preparation is needed, and am looking forward to the warmups against the better teams.  It seems the media took that 2-0 defeat and ran with it, people saying is 2nd rong for TnT and all kindah ting, I say mash yuh brakes.... 

Iceland also won one game against Malta and lost eight in Euro qualifiers http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/t/zone/standings.html?zone=eur ....

I understand what you are saying but this is my input. Iceland was in the same group with sweden during the World Cup qualifies. I think they finished 2nd-to-last in there group and they had lost 3-1 and 4-1 to Sweden respectively. I think beenie man wanted to test us with a team that played sweden to see where we were at. Did you know that Iceland trashed South Africa 4-1? and South Africa ranks 50th according to fifa. All and all, I THINK the fifa ranking is flawed. But i understand your point and concern. We still do not need to take the win to head. It was good for confidence though and analysis.

« Last Edit: March 04, 2006, 03:22:42 PM by kingman »

« Reply #268 on: March 04, 2006, 03:46:32 PM »

Just something to keep in mind. The team looked great but let's remember we played a very weak team. I say much more preparation is needed, and am looking forward to the warmups against the better teams. It seems the media took that 2-0 defeat and ran with it, people saying is 2nd rong for TnT and all kindah ting, I say mash yuh brakes....

I understand what you are saying but this is my input. Iceland was in the same group with sweden during the World Cup qualifies. I think they finished 2nd-to-last in there group and they had lost 3-1 and 4-1 to Sweden respectively. I think beenie man wanted to test us with a team that played sweden to see where we were at. Did you know that Iceland trashed South Africa 4-1? and South Africa ranks 50th according to fifa. All and all, I THINK the fifa ranking is flawed. But i understand your point and concern. We still do not need to take the win to head. It was good for confidence though and analysis.

true..true

« Reply #269 on: March 04, 2006, 03:52:43 PM »

Just something to keep in mind. The team looked great but let's remember we played a very weak team. I say much more preparation is needed, and am looking forward to the warmups against the better teams. It seems the media took that 2-0 defeat and ran with it, people saying is 2nd rong for TnT and all kindah ting, I say mash yuh brakes....

In the past 3 years, Iceland have also  beaten Italy and drawn with Germany, Italy and Mexico. They also have more Premiership players than we do.