March 28, 2024, 09:06:58 AM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 295310 times)

Re: FIFA Rankings - St Vincent Ranked higher than T&T now
« Reply #690 on: November 23, 2006, 01:44:33 PM »
73  Cyprus 428  7      16
76  Zimbabwe 424  6      14
77  Slovenia 414  1      -4
78  Cape Verde Islands 413  5      4
79  Algeria 412  -6      -35
I say we play these teams, here we sure to win,maybe we will get in the 100's ranking lol ZIMBABWE? STEUPS

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #691 on: November 23, 2006, 02:31:30 PM »
73  Cyprus 428  7      16
76  Zimbabwe 424  6      14
77  Slovenia 414  1      -4
78  Cape Verde Islands 413  5      4
79  Algeria 412  -6      -35
I say we play these teams, here we sure to win,maybe we will get in the 100's ranking lol ZIMBABWE? STEUPS

If you're looking for easy points, don't play either Zimbabwe or Slovenia  ;)
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #692 on: November 23, 2006, 02:39:38 PM »
I told you it'd get worse before it got better...

All I have to say is we better win all our matches in the digicell cup

Well said breds

Offline rowdy

« Reply #693 on: November 23, 2006, 03:34:41 PM »
I cant remember the last time we were ranked this low ???

Oktober 1994, but just think about June 2001: there it was 25
So come on!

http://www.fifa.com/en/mens/statistics/rank/compare.html?static=5
« Last Edit: November 23, 2006, 03:56:53 PM by rowdy »

Offline leon

« Reply #694 on: November 23, 2006, 04:31:15 PM »
Actually in St Vincent, There's no great celebration taking place,,,but it sure cause a stir in the region. Just think where they would be if most of their  players were based in Europe !!

« Reply #695 on: November 23, 2006, 10:51:31 PM »
Well seeing as Jamaica ranked 58 maybe we need to play them.

« Reply #696 on: November 24, 2006, 01:49:13 AM »
i just realise Cuba ranked #1 in the Caribbean,well Jamaica must be cussing for that.

« Reply #697 on: November 24, 2006, 06:31:32 AM »
I like the fella who say we sure to win if we play slovenia  ::)
Is amazng how men does get tisik over these rankings, time after time.

Its pretty simple. Since the end of September, St. Vincent has had 6 games that have been treated statistically like World Cup qualifiers (Jamaica, Haiti, St. Lucia) and now Bermuda, Barbados, Bahamas.

Teams like Haiti, by the end of november would have had 8 "world cup qualifiers" in 2 months (Jamaica, St. Lucia, St. Vincent), (Cuba, Martinique, Surinam) and (Bermuda, Antigua/Dominican Republic/Guadeloupe/Guyana)

What ii means is that they could have theoretically won their first 3 matches, got a win and a draw in the second round, still end up third and then win the last 2 matches. thats 19 points multiplied by a world cup qualifier coefficient (2.5)

All of this comes about because FIFA made no distinction between the different phases of qualification for the Gold Cup. The caribbean cup itself will be treated as a qualification for the gold cup, but also the qualifiers for the caribbean cup. In other words, Haiti can play 8 qualifying matches for the cc, and then play 5 matches in the caribbean cup itself if they get to the final. If  they get to the gold cup itself, they'll have at least 2 matches there with a coefficient of 3 (only the WC itself is worth more -coefficient of 4)

compare this to Trinidad who has yet to play a competetive match before the beginning of the cc. We have had 4 friendlies (coefficient 1) and of these we have only 6 points (2 wins, as losses count for nothing). Add to this that our entire World Cup adventure since we qualified resumes to 1*4 (Sweden) and (3*1) Iceland + 1*1 (Peru). In the last year we have collected 14 points against relatively low ranked opposition (sweden excepted), divided by an incredible number of games (iceland, slovenia, peru, czech, sweden, england, paraguay, japan, st vincent, panama, austria)

I repeat the best is yet to come undone. Wim and the TTFF had better make sure they manners the digicell cup, foreign based or not.

Offline jonny

FIFA December Ranking
« Reply #698 on: December 18, 2006, 04:45:22 AM »
New FIFA Ranking for December :

20 Mexico -
31 USA -
46 Cuba -
56 Honduras -
57 Jamaica up 1
68 Costa Rica -
81 Panama down 9
82 Canada -
85 St Vincent & the Grenadines up 2
91 Trinidad & Tobago down 1
98 Barbados up 11
100 Guyana up 5
102 Haiti Down 10
105 Guatemala down 3
107 Bermuda up 14
122 Surinam down 14
132 Antigua & Barbuda down 6
136 Dominican Rep up 23
143 St Kitts and Nevis down 2
146 Bahamas down 3
156 El Salvador up 13
160 St Lucia down 5
163 Grenada down 18
168 Nicaragua up 1

http://www.fifa.com/en/mens/statisti...c-2006,00.html

Re: FIFA December Ranking
« Reply #699 on: December 18, 2006, 06:18:23 AM »
Premptive strike  :-[

"It'll get worse before it gets better"

« Reply #700 on: December 18, 2006, 06:57:07 AM »
With dat ranking we should'nt qualify for nothing , not even Gold Cup farless World cup .

Offline ANC2

« Reply #701 on: December 18, 2006, 07:47:35 AM »
With dat ranking we should'nt qualify for nothing , not even Gold Cup farless World cup .

Royal doh study it. How Cuba ranked so high? When last they played? How often they play?  Imagine Cuba ranked higher than Costa Rica & T&T whom played in the WC. FIFA should scrap that shit and concentrate on rankin its officials  :devil:

« Reply #702 on: December 18, 2006, 07:52:32 AM »
Good Morning Guys.
                               Please don't take that seriously. The only real ranking is when two teams take the field and battle to the end. Coca Cola rankings is sponsor money for FIFa. Peace

« Reply #703 on: December 18, 2006, 07:59:02 AM »
how st vincent can be ranked above us , we just hit them 5

« Reply #704 on: December 18, 2006, 08:03:43 AM »
how st vincent can be ranked above us , we just hit them 5

like you jes like to talk or wha?  Dis has been discussed so many times before I feel yuh jes like to have yuh fingers banging on de keyboard oui.....steups.

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #705 on: December 18, 2006, 08:05:48 AM »
According to the ranking, SVG is much stronger than TnT, Haiti, and Guatemal; Bahamas better than El Salvador :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: I looooooooove this ranking.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2006, 08:09:22 AM by Toussaint »
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

Offline Milan!!!

• Naps man fuh life!!!
« Reply #706 on: December 18, 2006, 11:18:07 AM »
steups..why waste time posting this BS rankings...we all know how irrelevant it is....

« Reply #707 on: December 18, 2006, 11:42:01 AM »

This thing losing credibility.....alternate rankings might start to gain more airtime.

Any other noteable ranking systems out there?  all ah dem probably biased in some way or other but this Fifa one is too volatile.

« Reply #708 on: December 18, 2006, 11:58:31 AM »
So many times the ranking business been explained and yet every month ppl on here cussin.
Steups. Allyuh just like to hear yuhself.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #709 on: December 18, 2006, 11:59:07 AM »

Royal doh study it. How Cuba ranked so high? When last they played? How often they play?  Imagine Cuba ranked higher than Costa Rica & T&T whom played in the WC. FIFA should scrap that shit and concentrate on rankin its officials  :devil:
Cuba has played 6 games since September and has not lost and drawn only one. The same cannot be said of T&T so Cuba rightly deserves the spot as the #1 Caribbean ranked team.
jjbrown

« Reply #710 on: December 18, 2006, 08:12:37 PM »
Boy another thing to look for monthly to love this site even more.

"Ah Love it"- Andre Samuel

« Reply #711 on: December 18, 2006, 09:51:01 PM »
Jonny, no dis meh boi, but ah does not even post under dis type ah thread, cuz it is f*****g sickening 2 see way we rank. Bless.

Offline marcpurcell

« Reply #712 on: December 19, 2006, 08:25:59 AM »
Cuba has played 6 games since September and has not lost and drawn only one. The same cannot be said of T&T so Cuba rightly deserves the spot as the #1 Caribbean ranked team.

Who did Cuba play since September that they deserve a higher ranking?
Born in Montreal
Living in Toronto
But still a Barataria boy at heart

« Reply #713 on: December 19, 2006, 10:53:15 AM »
Good Morning Guys.
                               Please don't take that seriously. The only real ranking is when two teams take the field and battle to the end. Coca Cola rankings is sponsor money for FIFa. Peace

There is a very legitimate reason for people to get upset about these rankings......people do take them seriously, namely, the British Home office who issue work permits!! Britian employs the great majority of our foreign based and most recognised professionals. As of our current ranking any future T&T player offered a contract by a UK club will be immediatley blanked. All permit applications (even some for renewals) for T&T players will have to go to an appeals panel. If Colin Samuel, Josh Johnson, Hector Sam or Kenwyne Jones's contracts were up for renewal today them fellas would seriously be sweating about wether their contracts would be renewed or not! All these fellas are balancing percariously on the min spec of appearing in 75% of their clubs fixtures for their contract duration.

We may critisise the rankings and dismiss them, but they have a serious bearing on the wellfare of T&T footballers.

Though I don't think T&T currently are as good as 46th in the world neither do I think we should be as low as 91st! I also can't see how Cuba should be 46 more like 60. Who's fault is it...well mainly FIFA for such a SH*T system but also the TTFF for not playing more internationals....even against crap opposition, is not like they doh know the rules of the ranking system.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #714 on: December 19, 2006, 01:48:02 PM »

Who did Cuba play since September that they deserve a higher ranking?
Here are Cuba's matches since September.

Digicel Cup
          First Round
Group/Grupo EGroup/Grupo E GP/PJ W/G L/D T/E +/- PTS
Cuba 3 3 0 0 19:0 9
Bahamas 3 2 1 0 6:9 6
Turks & Caicos Islands 3 1 2 0 4:9 3
Cayman Islands 3 0 3 0 1:12 0

2.9.2006 Bahamas - Cayman Islands 3:1 (2:0) La Habana, CUB
2.9.2006 Cuba - Turks/Caicos Islands 6:0 (3:0) La Habana, CUB
4.9.2006 Cayman Islands - Turks/Caicos Islands 0:2 (0:1) La Habana, CUB
4.9.2006 Cuba - Bahamas 6:0 (4:0) La Habana, CUB
6.9.2006 Turks/Caicos Islands - Bahamas 2:3 (0:0) La Habana, CUB
6.9.2006 Cuba - Cayman Islands 7:0 (4:0) La Habana, CUB

Second Round
Group/Grupo I GP/PJ W/G L/D T/E +/- PTS
Cuba 3 2 0 1 5:2 7
Martinique 3 2 0 1 2:0 7
Haiti 3 0 2 1 2:4 1
Surinam 3 0 2 1 2:5 1

8.11.2006 Haiti - Cuba 1:2 (0:1) Fort de France, MQE
8.11.2006 Martinique - Surinam 1:0 (0:0) Fort de France, MQE
10.11.2006 Cuba - Surinam 3:1 (3:0) Fort de France, MQE
10.11.2006 Martinique - Haiti 1:0 (1:0) Fort de France, MQE
12.11.2006 Surinam - Haiti 1:1 (0:0) Fort de France, MQE
12.11.2006 Martinique - Cuba 0:0 Fort de France, MQE
Group/Grupo I GP/PJ W/G L/D T/E +/- PTS
Cuba 3 2 0 1 5:2 7
Martinique 3 2 0 1 2:0 7
Haiti 3 0 2 1 2:4 1
Surinam 3 0 2 1 2:5 1
jjbrown

« Reply #715 on: December 20, 2006, 10:26:10 AM »
Good Morning Guys.

There is a very legitimate reason for people to get upset about these rankings......people do take them seriously, namely, the British Home office who issue work permits!! Britian employs the great majority of our foreign based and most recognised professionals. As of our current ranking any future T&T player offered a contract by a UK club will be immediatley blanked. All permit applications (even some for renewals) for T&T players will have to go to an appeals panel. If Colin Samuel, Josh Johnson, Hector Sam or Kenwyne Jones's contracts were up for renewal today them fellas would seriously be sweating about wether their contracts would be renewed or not! All these fellas are balancing percariously on the min spec of appearing in 75% of their clubs fixtures for their contract duration.

We may critisise the rankings and dismiss them, but they have a serious bearing on the wellfare of T&T footballers.

Though I don't think T&T currently are as good as 46th in the world neither do I think we should be as low as 91st! I also can't see how Cuba should be 46 more like 60. Who's fault is it...well mainly FIFA for such a SH*T system but also the TTFF for not playing more internationals....even against crap opposition, is not like they doh know the rules of the ranking system.

1. The ranking that the British home office uses is an average of our ranking in the last 2 years. Obviously falling to 91 doesn't help, but its not as dramatic as you make it sound Also the ranking is not the only criteria that determines if the work permits are given or not, which is why men like scotland who should be in the scottish premiership playin first division...

2. At this stage, playing more internationals would not necessarily help us, at least not when they're friendlies, and defiitely not if we lost them. The main problem is us getting to host the Digicell Cup. I think if we had to qualify (and did) we would be somewhere in the 50s or so, definitely not lower than the 60s

« Reply #716 on: December 20, 2006, 10:32:37 AM »

1. The ranking that the British home office uses is an average of our ranking in the last 2 years. Obviously falling to 91 doesn't help, but its not as dramatic as you make it sound Also the ranking is not the only criteria that determines if the work permits are given or not, which is why men like scotland who should be in the scottish premiership playin first division...

2. At this stage, playing more internationals would not necessarily help us, at least not when they're friendlies, and defiitely not if we lost them. The main problem is us getting to host the Digicell Cup. I think if we had to qualify (and did) we would be somewhere in the 50s or so, definitely not lower than the 60s

I agree it is not the only criteria but for a country like T&T unfortunately it is as dramatic as I make it sound. The first criteria for RENEWALS of work permits is club appearances (I did mention this). And it is 75% of appearances over the DURATION of their expiring contract. The guys I mentioned will have had to go to appeal, if, as I said their contracts were up for renewal TODAY!. The two year rankings average is used for players who are new to UK football, have no noted pro experience for the panel to refer to and their teams current ranking is below 70. Other than maybe Silvio Spann, I doubt any other T&T local based pro would have an easy ride getting a permit. This is what I mean. If your ranking is higher than 70 and you have played in 75% or more of your countries internationals in the past two years you will get a permit...any disparity with this and it has to go to appeal.

Unless like Yorkie, yuh is ah bigtime pro anyhow.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2006, 10:47:40 AM by Rodney »

« Reply #717 on: December 20, 2006, 11:48:48 AM »

I agree it is not the only criteria but for a country like T&T unfortunately it is as dramatic as I make it sound. The first criteria for RENEWALS of work permits is club appearances (I did mention this). And it is 75% of appearances over the DURATION of their expiring contract. The guys I mentioned will have had to go to appeal, if, as I said their contracts were up for renewal TODAY!. The two year rankings average is used for players who are new to UK football, have no noted pro experience for the panel to refer to and their teams current ranking is below 70. Other than maybe Silvio Spann, I doubt any other T&T local based pro would have an easy ride getting a permit. This is what I mean. If your ranking is higher than 70 and you have played in 75% or more of your countries internationals in the past two years you will get a permit...any disparity with this and it has to go to appeal.

Unless like Yorkie, yuh is ah bigtime pro anyhow.

I see mih error. nuff respect for the correction. In your initial post you had stated 75% of their clubs appearances and i took 'club' to mean the english team...

« Reply #718 on: December 20, 2006, 04:22:39 PM »
 one day we will be back in the 40's again don't worry.

Offline Girl Warrior

CFU December Ranking
« Reply #719 on: December 21, 2006, 07:32:58 AM »
1. Cuba
2. Jamaica
3. SVG
4. Trinidad & Tobago
5. Barbados

The revolution is not an apple that falls when it is ripe. You have to make it fall... Che Guevara