March 28, 2024, 04:21:29 AM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 295294 times)

Re: FIFA Ranking: T&T now 68.
« Reply #780 on: February 14, 2007, 10:30:29 AM »

The biggest uncertainity in this whole ranking is how much points u going to lose in the coming month due to previous games being weighted less.

Some months u will lose none...others u might actually pick up small points and then sometimes a big loss.  Like come June we will see the Sweden game lose some value.

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #781 on: February 14, 2007, 10:39:08 AM »

RankTeam     .Pts:    .+/-Rank     .+/-Pts:
6        England13300-29
16    Sweden894-2 -64
19    Mexico 8572 -26
28    USA    7833-9
30    Parag    755 510
34    Chile      706 6 6
41    Japan    64959
51    Cuba    590 -3-29
54    CR      5351275
56    JA     5311 4
59    HON    504-3 -34
62    Guinea 495-40 -386
66    VEN    452 7 18
67    Peru    447 30
68    T&T44619 74
74    Panama    423612
87    Canada    362 -6-37
87    Guat    3621880
92    Haiti      3540   8
98    Bahrain   313-1-8
100    SVG    308423

Wayys...Guines was up in the 20s?  Shot back down to earth.

A lot of teams losing points but some still move up by losing less than others.  So maybe Haiti lost points from previous good results.  How many games you'll played for the year?  Cuba was the highest ranked team in the Digicel so beating them was the biggest scalp.

In January, we won 4 matches without counting the wins over Martinique and Guadeloupe.

Notice that since TnT beat the same teams we beat and their victory over Cuba sure handed them more points than us, we expected TnT to remain ahead of us. But, for us not to move at all is quite unbelievable.

However, my question is how can you earn pts when you don't play  any match?
« Last Edit: February 14, 2007, 10:44:14 AM by Toussaint »
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #782 on: February 14, 2007, 10:42:57 AM »
Let me just reiterate that the FIFA ranking system is BALLS so there's no point getting worked up over it (or Jamaica for that matter  ::) ).

This has been a public service announcement.

Now return to your regularly scheduled bickering.

« Reply #783 on: February 14, 2007, 10:46:26 AM »
In January, we won 4 matches without counting the wins over Martinique and Guadeloupe.

Notice that since TnT beat the same teams we beat and their victory over Cuba sure handed them more points than us, we expected TnT to remain ahead of us. But, for us not to move at all is quite unbelievable.

Yea I find it lil strange too but who did u beat?  T&T was probably the highest ranked u beat.
I think you'll lost points from matches 1 or2 years ago.
You'll had any big wins about 1,2 or 3 years ago around Jan. in a regional tournament...GC...Digicel?

Offline Toussaint

• Haiti Spors
« Reply #784 on: February 14, 2007, 10:50:52 AM »

The biggest uncertainity in this whole ranking is how much points u going to lose in the coming month due to previous games being weighted less.

Some months u will lose none...others u might actually pick up small points and then sometimes a big loss.  Like come June we will see the Sweden game lose some value.

That explains how a team can actually move up the ranking without earning new points. But, it does not explain how a team actually earn pts without playing at all. In our case, Jamaica earned 4pts. How?

« Reply #785 on: February 14, 2007, 10:57:47 AM »
Jan last 2 years u tied with Costa Rica in a friendly  (impressive) and beat T&T...and draw with Cuba in a GC qualifier (Digicel?)...so them points get devalued.  We were ranked higher then so that is a good bit of points.

U lose a little points from WC qualifiers in Jan/Feb 2004 against Turks..a friendly draw with Nicaragua

How many games u'll play in 2005?  Real little bit.

http://www.fifa.com/en/mens/results/resultsdetails.html

« Reply #786 on: February 14, 2007, 11:00:31 AM »

Their earned points didn't change....but the number of games counted decreased...so a game they lost (0 earned points) got dropped.  Earned points / less games counted  =  more ranking points
e.g.   instead of   20/2 = 10    they get  20/1 = 20
something so.

So u can get more ranking points when losses get dropped off cuz of the time weighting thing.

« Reply #787 on: February 14, 2007, 11:05:14 AM »

That explains how a team can actually move up the ranking without earning new points. But, it does not explain how a team actually earn pts without playing at all. In our case, Jamaica earned 4pts. How?

i myself baffeled, how could ja remain above tt and haiti and dey didnt play no games, far less they werent even in the digicel, nor will they be in the gold cup, the rankings is pointless..

God is de BOSS...

Offline Toussaint

• Haiti Spors
« Reply #788 on: February 14, 2007, 11:07:45 AM »
Jan last 2 years u tied with Costa Rica in a friendly  (impressive) and beat T&T...and draw with Cuba in a GC qualifier (Digicel?)...so them points get devalued.  We were ranked higher then so that is a good bit of points.

U lose a little points from WC qualifiers in Jan/Feb 2004 against Turks..a friendly draw with Nicaragua

How many games u'll play in 2005?  Real little bit.

http://www.fifa.com/en/mens/results/resultsdetails.html

dcs, We could not lose points against Turks and Caicos (we beat them twice ,7-0 or 7-1 aggregate). In 2005, we had at least 6 wins. However, I agree with you that since then some of those earned points may have started devaluated. But, how do you earn pts without playing?

« Reply #789 on: February 14, 2007, 11:08:57 AM »
Dont lose sleep over rankings

« Reply #790 on: February 14, 2007, 11:09:33 AM »
In the nex ranking for us:
Iceland victory get devalue
Games from the 2005 Digicel getting devalue (JA will lose out...we shouldn't lose much gain maybe since we only won once)

« Reply #791 on: February 14, 2007, 11:09:55 AM »
I hope people realize what the shyt side T&T have has done for our Football,second in the Digicel Cup,qualified for the Gold Cup,improved our ranking in FIFA rankings etc locals and PFL played a mojor role in accomplishing that,i think/hope with the foreign based returning we should be ready for WC 2010.

« Reply #792 on: February 14, 2007, 11:14:00 AM »
But, how do you earn pts without playing?

By having a loss go away.  It makes the number of games played go down so your average score is better.
They didn't really earn any points.  Just the number of games u averaging over is less so they get a better score.
It kinda weird but u hadda take into account past results and see if what u doing now could replace your results from a year ago...2 years ago for the same month.  So not playing this month is better than losing one year ago so they gain some points.
Dais de best i cud do to explain it.    :-\

Offline Toussaint

• Haiti Spors
« Reply #793 on: February 14, 2007, 11:20:36 AM »
But, how do you earn pts without playing?

By having a loss go away.  It makes the number of games played go down so your average score is better.
They didn't really earn any points.  Just the number of games u averaging over is less so they get a better score.
It kinda weird but u hadda take into account past results and see if what u doing now could replace your results from a year ago...2 years ago for the same month.  So not playing this month is better than losing one year ago so they gain some points.
Dais de best i cud do to explain it.    :-\

It does it for me, thanks bro.

« Reply #794 on: February 14, 2007, 12:57:31 PM »
I understand the significance of FIFA's rankings for out football...but everytime I see a post dealing with this topic I have to laugh. One minute the entire board screaming how ridiculous FIFA's system is and how it is rubbish (especially when the US was ranked in the top 10)..next everyone is proud of our ranking or pissed that we ranked too low. Funny how we fluctuate between rubbishing the rankings and trying to validate them

« Reply #795 on: February 14, 2007, 01:12:23 PM »
No fluctuation sah, we have been pissed AND trying to validate our ranking for some time now.

Edit:
Yuh know what ah mean.

Rubbishing and validating.

« Reply #796 on: February 14, 2007, 01:14:32 PM »

more like try to understand.

we shud post the alternate rankings too

« Reply #797 on: February 14, 2007, 01:35:30 PM »
http://www.eloratings.net/caribbean.html

local global rating(1yr rnk/ratng) (matches-total home away neutral wins losses draws) (goals for against)
1   54   JA      1595     -3   -35    423   178   155   90   158   170   95   565   609
2   72   Cuba   1533   -1        +3    270   60   111   99   111   95   64   425   359
3   76   Haiti   1523   +11   +61    300   117   90   93   131   111   58   521   424
4   77   T&T   1521   -14   -39    446   193   175   78   197   168   81   753   586

If you copy any data from the World Football Elo Ratings web site, you must include an acknowledgement to both World Football Elo Ratings web site and Advanced Satellite Consulting, which is the primary

« Reply #798 on: February 14, 2007, 01:36:10 PM »

Dat ELO rankings is shyte too   :rotfl:

Check our stats compared to JA

« Reply #799 on: February 14, 2007, 02:09:50 PM »
Dese rankings is some of the most amazing  things I have ever seen. ???

New FIFA Ranking
« Reply #800 on: March 04, 2007, 12:21:54 AM »
I don't know if this has been posted already, i may be late on this but T&T jump 19 places in the latest FIFA rankings up to 68th. Link to full rankings posted below

http://www.fifa.com/en/mens/statistics/index/0,2548,All-Feb-2007,00.html

Re: New FIFA Ranking
« Reply #801 on: March 04, 2007, 12:30:56 AM »
Do yuh research before yuh post nah This is always posted the day of issue.

DAMN NEWBIES :devil:

Re: New FIFA Ranking
« Reply #802 on: March 04, 2007, 12:38:50 AM »
I've actually been on this board longer than u boss.....but i haven't been keeping up lately. My apologies for the late posting, respect  :beermug:

Argentina No. 1 in FIFA rankings for first time
« Reply #803 on: March 14, 2007, 10:58:45 AM »
T & T @ 68th.

http://www.fifa.com/en/mens/statistics/index/0,2548,All-Mar-2007,00.html

Argentina No. 1 in FIFA rankings for first time

March 14, 2007

ZURICH, Switzerland (AP) -- Argentina claimed the top spot in the FIFA rankings for the first time since they began in 1993, displacing World Cup champion Italy on Wednesday.

The United States dropped two places to No. 30, nine behind Mexico, the top-ranked team from the North and Central American and Caribbean region.

Italy fell to second, one spot ahead of Brazil, which had been No. 1 for 55 consecutive months before the Azzurri took over in February.

Argentina's move to the top was boosted by its 1-0 exhibition victory last month over World Cup runner-up France, which remained in fourth. Les Bleus were followed by Germany, England and the Netherlands, Portugal, the Czech Republic and Spain.

« Last Edit: March 14, 2007, 11:03:09 AM by Andre »

Re: Argentina No. 1 in FIFA rankings for first time
« Reply #804 on: March 14, 2007, 12:30:20 PM »
I like how the FIFA rankings move around now......For a while the top 5 spots or so hardly changed. Now you actually get the feeling that the rankings are more current/up to date (even if less accurate  ;D)

Offline sting_pana

« Reply #805 on: March 14, 2007, 01:45:37 PM »
And Panama is now #54
« Last Edit: March 14, 2007, 01:48:19 PM by sting_pana »

« Reply #806 on: March 14, 2007, 02:16:50 PM »
Yuh know by coincidence ah watch de replay of Argentina vs. Serb/Montenegro from de WC on Saturday gone, and while I didn't see many of their games....from what I heard and saw Saturday...Argentina was de best team at de WC, so it eh surprise mih de claim dey rightful place as #1....seems like Fifa have it right for once.....

And Panama is now #54

Sting Pana....whey yuh does come out??....jus so, jus so outta de blue.....ssstteeuuppss

« Reply #807 on: March 14, 2007, 02:35:10 PM »
Awaiting the many posts of indignation over the rankings.
My monthly fix...

« Reply #808 on: March 14, 2007, 05:01:12 PM »
My monthly fix...

argentina is my team but I dont agree that they deserve the no 1 spot after one victory against a team not rated as the top. Their record after the WC is poor ...

« Reply #809 on: March 14, 2007, 05:05:12 PM »
My monthly fix...

argentina is my team but I dont agree that they deserve the no 1 spot after one victory against a team not rated as the top. Their record after the WC is poor ...

I thought trinidad was your team first and then argentina,which is it?