April 27, 2024, 09:50:37 AM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 298697 times)

Re: New FIFA ranking for August
« Reply #930 on: August 23, 2007, 08:02:30 AM »

You know anytime someone posts the FIFA Rankings, there are always people who cry it down as being insignificant and largely inaccurate.

However, I think the recently publicised difficulties in our guys securing work permits shows the importance of staying at or above 70th place in the world.

It would be interesting to note what's the situation with JA footballers trying to get work permits in UK, as their 95th place does not assist them in any way.
The present FIFA rankings will not stop Jamaican footballers from getiing permits to play in England since their FA utilizes a different ranking system.
NONSENSE.

I will post it again for the 4th time on this forum..

To be eligible for a work permit:

A player must have played for his country in at least 75% of its competitive ‘A’ team matches he was available for selection, during the two years preceding the date of the application; and,
The player’s country must be at or above 70th place in the official FIFA world rankings when averaged over the two years preceding the date of the application.

http://www.workingintheuk.gov.uk/working_in_the_uk/en/homepage/work_permits0/applying_for_a_work/sports_and_entertainers/football_players.html

Now, notwithstanding what I’ve said above, we all know that certain players can and do get around these restrictions, with the benefit of various assurances given by national and club coaches in the appeal hearings when a player does not satisfy the criteria.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2007, 08:08:16 AM by FLi ! »

« Reply #931 on: August 23, 2007, 08:04:27 AM »
Sorry. I cannot elaborate. That's just how they explained in a nutshell when Jamaica fell to 73 in the FIFA rankings about 2 years ago. ???

Who is the 'they' that explained in a nutshell?? Jamaica FA? English FA?

If I was you I would try to confirm what 'they' told you.
I hope 'they' not takin allyuh for a ride.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #932 on: August 23, 2007, 08:44:15 AM »

You know anytime someone posts the FIFA Rankings, there are always people who cry it down as being insignificant and largely inaccurate.

However, I think the recently publicised difficulties in our guys securing work permits shows the importance of staying at or above 70th place in the world.

It would be interesting to note what's the situation with JA footballers trying to get work permits in UK, as their 95th place does not assist them in any way.
The present FIFA rankings will not stop Jamaican footballers from getiing permits to play in England since their FA utilizes a different ranking system.
NONSENSE.

I will post it again for the 4th time on this forum..

To be eligible for a work permit:

A player must have played for his country in at least 75% of its competitive ‘A’ team matches he was available for selection, during the two years preceding the date of the application; and,
The player’s country must be at or above 70th place in the official FIFA world rankings when averaged over the two years preceding the date of the application.

http://www.workingintheuk.gov.uk/working_in_the_uk/en/homepage/work_permits0/applying_for_a_work/sports_and_entertainers/football_players.html

Now, notwithstanding what I’ve said above, we all know that certain players can and do get around these restrictions, with the benefit of various assurances given by national and club coaches in the appeal hearings when a player does not satisfy the criteria.
I think I'm going to believe the FA official that made the statement on BBC World News at the time rather that old rules that can be interpretted.
I guess I made up this statement from out of nowhere.
jjbrown

« Reply #933 on: August 23, 2007, 08:55:07 AM »
Oh so it is old rules now?
2099 all yuh have to do is back it up with SOMETHING.
Go on yuh reggae boyz forums and ask if anybody know.

Arright 2099 I see it.
Allyuh don't have no special rules.
It is the same for everybody.
Ranking over the past 2 years.

It was wrong of Fli to insinuate that Jamaican footballers would have problems NOW.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2007, 09:00:37 AM by Peong »

Offline jonny

FIFA Ranking for September
« Reply #934 on: September 19, 2007, 02:48:02 AM »
New FIFA ranking for September :

13 Mexico down 2
18 USA down 1
54 Canada down 1
56 Costa Rica down 4
59 Honduras down 2
64 Trinidad & Tobago down 1
66 Panama up 5
71 Cuba up 20
83 Haiti up 5
88 Guatemala down 8
96 Jamaica down 1
97 St Vincent & The Grenadines up 7

Concacaf

Togo 63
Trinidad & Tobago 64
Iraq 65

Full International Ranking
« Last Edit: September 19, 2007, 07:28:29 AM by Flex »

Re: FIFA Ranking for September
« Reply #935 on: September 19, 2007, 05:32:02 AM »
Jamaica going for a century!!

« Reply #936 on: September 19, 2007, 06:35:56 AM »
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: I this rate they go beat Lara record by the time the WCQ done next year

« Reply #937 on: September 19, 2007, 06:53:16 AM »
Jamaica going to break a record yes  :devil:

« Reply #938 on: September 19, 2007, 07:24:34 AM »
ya tink dem Yardies would declare?  :devil: :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #939 on: September 19, 2007, 12:50:54 PM »

TT go be heading for  century too if they don't get their act together and play some meanngful games.

« Reply #940 on: September 19, 2007, 01:21:01 PM »

TT go be heading for  century too if they don't get their act together and play some meanngful games.

Stumps!!!  ;D

« Reply #941 on: September 19, 2007, 01:44:14 PM »

true dat.

« Reply #942 on: September 19, 2007, 01:57:28 PM »

Thank you!! and also get our blacklisted players back on the field

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #943 on: September 19, 2007, 03:31:49 PM »
 :applause: :applause: :applause: Boxhill out of the JFF. And like I predicted he would have Jamaica ranking in the 90s or 100 by the time his four years is up.
jjbrown

« Reply #944 on: September 20, 2007, 06:04:25 AM »
:applause: :applause: :applause: Boxhill out of the JFF. And like I predicted he would have Jamaica ranking in the 90s or 100 by the time his four years is up.

congats ::)

Offline jonny

FIFA October Ranking
« Reply #945 on: October 24, 2007, 02:28:31 AM »
October ranking :

15 Mexico down 2
18 USA -
51 Canada up 3
55 Honduras up 4
64 Cuba up 7
65 Panama up 1
66 Costa Rica down 10
68 Haiti up 15
73 St Vincent & the Grenadines up 24
78 Trinidad & Tobago down 14
92 Guyana up 11
93 Barbados up 16
100 Guatemala down 12
103 Jamaica down 7

http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/ranking/lastranking/gender=m/fullranking.html
« Last Edit: October 24, 2007, 02:44:50 AM by jonny »

Offline Flash7

• Allez Le Rouge et Bleu!!
Re: FIFA October Ranking
« Reply #946 on: October 24, 2007, 05:28:39 AM »
1 word........wow

« Reply #947 on: October 24, 2007, 06:28:17 AM »

These rankings doh mean jackshit !!!

« Reply #948 on: October 24, 2007, 06:29:04 AM »
Vincy doin big tings!

Again we on the wrong side of that magic 70th place.
After the top 40 spots everyting does be erratic.
Big rises and falls.
Whatever yes

« Reply #949 on: October 24, 2007, 06:41:44 AM »
costa rica below honduras and panama, not mention cuba... thats a joke.. :rotfl: also..

God is de BOSS...

« Reply #950 on: October 24, 2007, 06:49:45 AM »
costa rica below honduras and panama, not mention cuba... thats a joke.. :rotfl: also..

God is de BOSS...
Its an objective measure of results achieved with known weighting for games played. Its not an opinion.

« Reply #951 on: October 24, 2007, 07:22:16 AM »
Men just vex Vincy ahead of us.

All the other teams above us have been active playing friendly matches while we play one game vs El Salvador.

But if anybody could tell me who vincy play to jump up 24 places it will be appreciated.

« Reply #952 on: October 24, 2007, 07:47:03 AM »

All the other teams above us have been active playing friendly matches while we play one game vs El Salvador.

But if anybody could tell me who vincy play to jump up 24 places it will be appreciated.

Actually I'm not concerned where TT is in the rankings because we have not done anything of note internationally for awhile , but when you look at the rest of it you have to laugh.

« Reply #953 on: October 24, 2007, 07:58:44 AM »

These rankings doh mean jackshit !!!
Unless it happens to also endorse your personal estimation of the teams...then the rankings mean everything.

I'm not sure on what basis SVG leap-frogged us...or why we plummetted 14 points, but as someone already noted...wow!

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #954 on: October 24, 2007, 08:24:13 AM »
 :applause: :applause: I am not disappointed by Jamaica's ranking. I kept insisting from 2003 that Brainless Boxhill would have Jamaica sitting in the 90's or 100's spot by the time his 4 years was up.
Now the new Jamaican government has began plans to roll in a new era for Jamaica's sports. ;D ;D
jjbrown

« Reply #955 on: October 24, 2007, 08:48:21 AM »
Every month, same comments

For those of you who (still!) wonder about how the rankings are compiled:

http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/ranking/procedure/men.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FIFA_World_Rankings#Current_calculation_method
« Last Edit: October 24, 2007, 08:53:01 AM by Bitter »

« Reply #956 on: October 24, 2007, 09:34:17 AM »
d ranking still doh mean shit

« Reply #957 on: October 24, 2007, 09:38:35 AM »
they do to FIFA.

FIFA is use them as a factor for world cup seedings.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2005/writers/grant_wahl/08/17/us.rankings/index.html

« Reply #958 on: October 24, 2007, 09:39:18 AM »
hmmm

if dese rankings are meaningless .. .then how do we compare teams? do we only rely on de standings in international tournaments?

until a superior system is created, dese rankings still paint de best picture , imperfect as dey may be ..

« Reply #959 on: October 24, 2007, 09:55:28 AM »

Vincy seems to have been inactive for months. So refer to Bitter for guidance.

Anyhow, you can also compare here:

http://www.eloratings.net/

In other sports, individuals maintain rankings based on the Elo algorithm. These are usually unofficial, not endorsed by the sport's governing body. The World Football Elo Ratings rank national teams in men's football (soccer). Jeff Sagarin publishes team rankings for American college football and basketball, with "Elo chess" being one of the two rankings he presents. In 2006, Elo ratings were adapted for Major League Baseball teams by Nate Silver of Baseball Prospectus.[13] Based on this adaptation, Baseball Prospectus also makes Elo-based Monte Carlo simulations of the odds of whether teams will make the playoffs.[14] One of the few Elo-based rankings endorsed by a sport's governing body is the FIFA Women's World Rankings, based on a simplified version of the Elo algorithm, which FIFA uses as its official ranking system for national teams in women's football (soccer).