April 18, 2024, 03:01:50 AM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 297273 times)

Re: FIFA Ranking April
« Reply #1050 on: April 09, 2008, 08:08:37 AM »
That ranking is so bloody rubbish...we could beat Etheopia and Libya combined with our first team(with all available players),they should stop leading people astray.

« Reply #1051 on: April 09, 2008, 08:23:06 AM »
At least we movin up.

« Reply #1052 on: April 09, 2008, 08:45:15 AM »
That ranking is so bloody rubbish...we could beat Etheopia and Libya combined with our first team(with all available players),they should stop leading people astray.

It doh matter to FIFA what we could do....it's what we have been doing that counts when tallying the points....

Offline trinsolutions

« Reply #1053 on: April 09, 2008, 08:51:41 AM »
since we that good can we set a friendly march to play those countries

« Reply #1054 on: April 09, 2008, 09:43:23 AM »
What did Argentina do to  be #1?

« Reply #1055 on: April 09, 2008, 09:57:41 AM »
Check where Honduras reach.

Check where we reach..... :'(

Lol...I juss saying de same thing.  Ethiopia?? Libya??

« Reply #1056 on: April 09, 2008, 09:58:39 AM »

Every month is de same song with allyuh....maybe is time some ah allyuh familiarize allyuh self with the ranking criteria and just take it for what it is.

« Reply #1057 on: April 09, 2008, 10:46:14 AM »

How do you know that?

« Reply #1058 on: April 09, 2008, 10:56:07 AM »
Check where Honduras reach.

Honduras has been doing well in recent friendlies beating Paraguay and Colombia.

Paraguay was last month, but they got quite a few points from Colombia for April for a net gain of 43 pts.

26/03   COL 1:2 (0:1) HON   Friendly   494.10 pts

Trinidad & Tobago gained points from two friendlies, for a net gain of 16 pts taking into account back end points dropping off:

26/03   JAM 2:2 (2:0) TRI   Friendly   82.45 pts
19/03   TRI 1:0 (0:0) SLV   Friendly   183.60 pts

Jamaica gained as well, but lost points of the back end getting a net gain of -4 pts

26/03   JAM 2:2 (2:0) TRI   Friendly   90.95 pts

« Reply #1059 on: April 09, 2008, 11:43:30 AM »
Even Salaslie Aye (sp) and them knocking better ball than we.

Maybe we can get the bobo shantee them in trinidad to pray for Jack and the TTFF.

But all Joke aside some Ethopians that I used to go to school with was some bad ballers,
Plently drama in the country so maybe the football getting fight down but in the past they was tops in africa.

« Reply #1060 on: April 09, 2008, 03:21:45 PM »
Ethiopians have good skills. I have seen some in the US on college teams and in the amatuer leagues. But in Africa, the game is very physical, with individual skills of course. They just in a tough group.

« Reply #1061 on: April 09, 2008, 03:38:05 PM »
Even Salaslie Aye (sp) and them knocking better ball than we.

Maybe we can get the bobo shantee them in trinidad to pray for Jack and the TTFF.

But all Joke aside some Ethopians that I used to go to school with was some bad ballers,
Plently drama in the country so maybe the football getting fight down but in the past they was tops in africa.

Coming from ah man who break he toe kicking ah dinner mint.....yuh seriously want to tell we who could kick good ball KND? :devil:

TnT versus Ethiopia: Giving credence to FIFA ranking
« Reply #1062 on: April 12, 2008, 10:27:28 AM »
Help me to really  make sense of FIFA  world ranking system. I can't really say the last time I heard of Ethiopia making some football news. Then again I really  don't follow their football team. In the latest ranking I noticed that they are ranked above TnT. I wonder how this is determined.

I say TnT should begin a campaign to invite the ten teams ranked above them to friendlies and subsequently work themselves  to the top. Make this  into a season of play leading up to World Cup. You will expose our team to a variety of different syles and different level of competitions.

Let's start with the mighty Ethiopia.

http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/ranking

Check out the comparison table; very interesting comparison: http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/ranking/compare/compareteams.html#g=m&t1=TRI&t2=JAM&t3=&t4=&fm=4&fy=2008&tm=4&ty=2008
« Last Edit: April 12, 2008, 03:19:04 PM by AB.Trini »

Re: TnT versus Ethiopia
« Reply #1063 on: April 12, 2008, 10:32:56 AM »
not a bad idea in hind sight...

« Reply #1064 on: April 12, 2008, 10:54:43 AM »
I was thinking Iraq...they won the Asian cup...and are known to be the home of the Tigris and Euphrates...

« Reply #1065 on: April 12, 2008, 11:36:05 AM »
I was thinking Iraq...they won the Asian cup...and are known to be the home of the Tigris and Euphrates...

yeah let dem come and play against de land of de Caura and de Caroni

Check de current..like yuh feel is river lime or wha?

« Reply #1066 on: April 12, 2008, 12:05:18 PM »

yeah let dem come and play against de land of de Caura and de Caroni

Check de current..like yuh feel is river lime or wha?

Re: TnT versus Ethiopia: Giving credence to FIFA ranking
« Reply #1067 on: April 12, 2008, 03:26:50 PM »
Let me throw out tis  idea:  To level out the rankings and to incite some international rivalries. Do you think there would be  more merit and more fan support if world cup qualifications were based on FIFA rankings?

Given that, the top 100 nations would begin a world wide home and away playoffs based on ranking in order to make it into the top 5;. then top 25 then top 15 . This would mean that in the last two years leading up to WC, teams will begin the quest playing against international competition for  a 'true' FIFA ranking based on the level and quality of the opposition based on  international seeding.

So instead of regional representatives, you may truly get some of the best teams on the big stage.  FIFA ranking would then  take on a different meaning and instead ah we only fighting up with Jamaica for Caribbean supremacy, we might have to being to set our targets higher  given the varied international oppositions.

This will also give fans an opportunity to witness different teams from various regions of the world and to allow for  more international competitions.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2008, 03:42:52 PM by AB.Trini »

Re: TnT versus Ethiopia: Giving credence to FIFA ranking
« Reply #1068 on: April 12, 2008, 04:58:11 PM »
Let me throw out tis  idea:  To level out the rankings and to incite some international rivalries. Do you think there would be  more merit and more fan support if world cup qualifications were based on FIFA rankings?

Given that, the top 100 nations would begin a world wide home and away playoffs based on ranking in order to make it into the top 5;. then top 25 then top 15 . This would mean that in the last two years leading up to WC, teams will begin the quest playing against international competition for  a 'true' FIFA ranking based on the level and quality of the opposition based on  international seeding.

So instead of regional representatives, you may truly get some of the best teams on the big stage.  FIFA ranking would then  take on a different meaning and instead ah we only fighting up with Jamaica for Caribbean supremacy, we might have to being to set our targets higher  given the varied international oppositions.

This will also give fans an opportunity to witness different teams from various regions of the world and to allow for  more international competitions.

How so, regional competition always brings out the best in teams as well as greater fan support.

The qualifying in Concacaf already takes 2 years to sort itself out.  Additionally the rankings change monthly and one minute yuh in de top 100 den next yuh out.

Leave the ting as it is, if yuh look at the rankings and base de qualifiers off dat then it stops being a true world cup as regions will always be more represented than others.

Besides howq it is now, teams in de top 25 sometimes doh qualify fuh de World Cup  ask Holland
« Last Edit: April 12, 2008, 05:00:47 PM by truetrini »

FIFA Ranking May 2008
« Reply #1069 on: May 07, 2008, 02:22:29 PM »
In the May rankings we are up one

we gained 147 points from the Grenada match

27/04   TRI 2:0 (0:0) GRN   Friendly   147.90

17   1   Mexico -1   
21   2   USA 0
36   3   Honduras 2
62   4   Canada 1   
67   5   Panama -1   
77   6   Costa Rica -2   
88   7   Trinidad and Tobago 1   
91   8   Guatemala 4   
105   9   Jamaica -2   
109   10   Cuba 1   

« Reply #1070 on: May 07, 2008, 02:41:46 PM »
not a bad idea in hind sight...

Not a bad idea IF we were guaranteed a win.

« Reply #1071 on: May 07, 2008, 02:44:49 PM »
Ranking is a bloody joke.

Re: FIFA Ranking May 2008
« Reply #1072 on: May 07, 2008, 11:54:21 PM »
T&T still CFU's number one
Express

Thursday, May 8th 2008

Trinidad and Tobago's Soca Warriors have retained the No.1 ranking in the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) for the month of May.

With a world ranking of 88th, T&T kept the region's top spot ahead of Jamaica, with Cuba at No.3 in the list collated from FIFA's latest Coca Cola World Rankings released yesterday.

Eight-time Caribbean Cup champions T&T are enjoying a third consecutive month as the CFU's No.1 team after returning there - for the first time in six months - in March.

Jamaica's Reggae Boyz retained second spot but slipped two places on FIFA's list to 105th, their lowest ever ranking since the FIFA ratings were introduced in August 1993.

The CFU's 2007 Team of the Year Haiti lost the No.3 position in the region after dropping seven places on FIFA's world list to 113th.

Cuba, 109th in the world, moved up No.3 in the CFU and Guyana (110th) also jumped one place to fourth in the region.

The bottom half of the Top-10 is exactly as it was a month ago, with Barbados, 117th in the world at No.6, followed by Antigua & Barbuda (127th), Bermuda (139th), Grenada (143rd) and Suriname (144th) in 10th spot.

Former Caribbean Cup runners-up St Vincent & the Grenadines are just outside the CFU's Top-10 at 11th with a FIFA rating of 145th.

Movement generally in the CFU was very marginal this month and there were no positional changes outside the Top-10 in the region.

Mexico and the USA continued to rule the ratings for CONCACAF, the Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football.

Ranked 17th in the world, the Mexicans stay No.1 in CONCACAF ahead of the USA, who are 21st.

Honduras are third in the confederation at No.36 on the FIFA list.

Canada (62nd) and Panama (67th) are fourth and fifth respectively in CONCACAF, with Costa Rica (77th), Trinidad and Tobago, Guatemala (91st), Jamaica and Cuba completing CONCACAF's Top-10.

CFU Rankings - May 2008

(world ranking in brackets)

1 Trinidad & Tobago (89)
2 Jamaica (103)
3 Haiti (106)
4 Cuba (110)
5 Guyana (111)
6 Barbados (116)
7 Antigua & Barbuda (127)
8 Bermuda (139)
9 Grenada (142)
10 Suriname (143)
11 St Vincent & the Grenadines (144)
12 Puerto Rico (149)
13 Netherlands Antilles (150)
14 St Kitts & Nevis (155)
15 Turks & Caicos Islands (165)
15 Bahamas (165)
17 St Lucia (168)
18 British Virgin Islands (173)
19 Dominican Republic (178)
20 Cayman Islands (185)
21 Dominica (191)
22 US Virgin Islands (192)
23 Anguilla (202)
23 Montserrat (202)
23 Aruba (202)

Reggae Boyz hit all-time low in world rankings
Gleaner

published: Thursday | May 8, 2008

JAMAICA'S REGGAE Boyz have slipped two spots to 105th, hitting an all-time low in the latest FIFA world rankings.

Jamaica, who were ranked as high as 27 in August 1998, began the year ranked at 98 before jumping a few places to 90 in February.

However, since that time the team has slowly tumbled down the global football charts. Ranked 103 last month a patch of inactivity for the team which saw the cancellation of two friendly internationals may be the likely culprit for the recent drop. Jamaica will not play another friendly international until they tackle Barbados on the third of next month.

Sore point

International rankings have been a sore point for the country in recent times with the national team falling below 70th place on average in the official rankings over the past two years; thus, Jamaican internationals wishing to ply their trade in the United Kingdom will not be issued with work permits.

Soca warriors move up

In the regional rankings, Jamaica remain second behind Trinidad and Tobago's Soca Warriors who moved up one spot to 88. Cuba are third with their ranking at 109, Guyana are fourth at 110 and Caribbean champions Haiti are fifth at 113.

Mexico remain the number one ranked team in CONCACAF, weighing in at 17 in the world. The United States are next at 21, while Honduras (36th), Canada (62nd) and Panama (67th) round out the top five.

Jamaica's World Cup qualifi-cation campaign will officially kick off when they face The Bahamas, ranked at 164, at the National Stadium on June 16.

The second leg of that tie will be held at the Trelawny Stadium three days later.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2008, 12:05:54 AM by E-man »

Congrats TTFF (FIFA Ranking/July-08).
« Reply #1073 on: July 02, 2008, 04:32:05 AM »
Ranking   Zonal Ranking   Team   Pts Jul 08   +/- Ranking Jun 08   +/- PtsJun 08
19   1   Mexico   906   -5   Down   -114
30   2   USA   780   -9   Down   -94
48   3   Honduras   624   -11   Down   -72
69   4   Panama   466   -9   Down   -58
77   5   Canada   441   -17   Down   -83
78   6   Cuba   438   26   Up   136
79   7   Costa Rica   433   -4   Down   20
87   8   Suriname   396   58   Up   223
94   9   Jamaica   373   4   Up   47
102   10   Trinidad and Tobago   358   -15   Down   -7
104   11   Guatemala   351   -15   Down   1
117   12   El Salvador   262   3   Up   20
118   13   Bermuda   260   21   Up   75
119   14   Haiti   259   -6   Down   -3
122   15   Guyana   254   -14   Down   -35

So in our centennial year, we have hit our lowest ever ranking. Congrats TTFF!!!
« Last Edit: July 02, 2008, 06:29:36 AM by Flex »

Re: Congrats TTFF
« Reply #1074 on: July 02, 2008, 05:43:50 AM »
Alright, I might have dis wrong so somebody help mih out.  De basic argument on de forum is dat Cornea(s)l placing he Alcons players on de team to get caps so dey could meet one of de requirements of getting a contract abroad.

But ent another criteria is dat the team be above a certain FIFA ranking...(78?? ah eh sure).  So isn't Corneal eh shooting heself in de foot by using dese players WHO EH UP TO DE STANDARD REQUIRED TO PLAY INTERNATIONAL FOOTBALL....and dragging down we rankings in de process??  All yuh following mih??

Re: Congrats TTFF
« Reply #1075 on: July 02, 2008, 06:22:26 AM »
Dat kinda analysis 2 deep 4 dem fellas. Once d yute get call dey get pay d signin go b extra so dey prepare 4 d small money. All dis talk bout Hyland signin he young so d academy route might b used but blieve it when I C IT

Offline jonny

FIFA July ranking
« Reply #1076 on: July 02, 2008, 06:27:08 AM »
July ranking out today :

19 Mexico down 5
30 USA down 9
48 Honduras down 11
69 Panama down 9
77 Canada down 17
78 Cuba up 26 !
79 Costa Rica down 4
87 Suriname up 58 !!!
94 Jamaica up 4
102 Trinidad & Tobago down 15
104 Guatemala down 15
117 El Salvador up 3

http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/ra...23914&rank=171

Re: Congrats TTFF (FIFA Ranking/July-08).
« Reply #1077 on: July 02, 2008, 06:59:20 AM »
Alluyh eh see Bermuda up 21

« Reply #1078 on: July 02, 2008, 07:28:05 AM »
I doh ever really even take on the FIFA rankings anymore...actually to think of it never!

no worries, it only there for the sake of it  :angel:

« Reply #1079 on: July 02, 2008, 07:31:42 AM »
Alluyh eh see Bermuda up 21

They must move up. They buss Barbados tail twice and pull a fast one on us. that is 1000+ points right there