April 27, 2024, 01:16:01 AM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 298548 times)

Offline judge101

• If it is to be, then it is up to me
Re: T&T up to 4th Place in CONCACAF (new FIFA Rankings) - 81st overall
« Reply #1140 on: September 03, 2008, 05:59:24 AM »
like we beat cuba and trade places hahaha

t&t just keep climbing up man
wise men talke because they have something to say,fools talk because they have to say something

Offline Edgar

• Football Rankings
« Reply #1141 on: October 02, 2008, 01:03:44 AM »
Unfortunately, you'll be going down 8 places in the October FIFA Ranking.

« Reply #1142 on: October 02, 2008, 01:30:41 AM »
Unfortunately, you'll be going down 8 places in the October FIFA Ranking.

2 posts and you're already the bearer of bad news?
Things slow over on big soccer lol?

Welcome :beermug: .

« Reply #1143 on: October 02, 2008, 01:31:10 AM »
This is what i like about this forum,when T&T went to one hundred and something on FIFA Rankings all hell broke loose,all kind of remarks was posted about JW,Pacho,Corneals etc,you know how long these rankings were posted i was waiting to hear when someone would say something about it.My thing is i don't mind criticisms of the technical staff or anyone for that matter but be constructive,give credit when and where ever it is due,what beats me it still have those that talking about team going down.    

Offline Edgar

• Football Rankings
« Reply #1144 on: October 02, 2008, 01:32:25 AM »

Just another quiet day at the office :)

Thanks!  :cheers:

« Reply #1145 on: October 02, 2008, 02:29:02 AM »
This is what i like about this forum,when T&T went to one hundred and something on FIFA Rankings all hell broke loose,all kind of remarks was posted about JW,Pacho,Corneals etc,you know how long these rankings were posted i was waiting to hear when someone would say something about it.My thing is i don't mind criticisms of the technical staff or anyone for that matter but be constructive,give credit when and where ever it is due,what beats me it still have those that talking about team going down.    

Coops,
There was just something fittingly ironic about us hitting our lowest ever ranking (under 100) in our centennial year during the nonsense that has passed for football administration in the last year and a half.

Anyone who takes the FIFA ranking seriously i.e. who doesn't take it seriously knows exactly how random it is outside of the top 60 and probably figured out that it would rise as soon as the semi final qualifiers started, provided we got points out of the games we were supposed to.

All that said 81st...and soon to be 89th isn't exactly anything to be proud off - particularly in light of the work permit situation.

« Reply #1146 on: October 02, 2008, 03:29:54 AM »

Coops,
There was just something fittingly ironic about us hitting our lowest ever ranking (under 100) in our centennial year during the nonsense that has passed for football administration in the last year and a half.

Anyone who takes the FIFA ranking seriously i.e. who doesn't take it seriously knows exactly how random it is outside of the top 60 and probably figured out that it would rise as soon as the semi final qualifiers started, provided we got points out of the games we were supposed to.

All that said 81st...and soon to be 89th isn't exactly anything to be proud off - particularly in light of the work permit situation.
        It's not a matter of being proud,the point is why waist down everybody and the whole system when we drop in the rankings if it's nothing to be proud of,regardless to how anyone feels about the rankings it affects the average T&T fan because they like to boast especially if we under Jamaica,Bermuda,Cuba etc etc By the way i feel it's something to feel good about based on what this team has been through,some i'm sure some still questioning why or how we got there.

« Reply #1147 on: October 02, 2008, 04:16:29 AM »
Just another quiet day at the office :)
Thanks!  :cheers:
Bălţi, Moldova?
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Edgar

• Football Rankings
« Reply #1148 on: October 02, 2008, 04:24:36 AM »

« Reply #1149 on: October 02, 2008, 04:31:31 AM »
Bălţi, Moldova?

Go west a little bit. Google Maps.
Cool
the first time I googled your location it came up in Moldova
now it shows in Romania :thinking:
Welcome
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #1150 on: October 02, 2008, 05:14:52 AM »

Coops,

It's not a matter of being proud,the point is why waist down everybody and the whole system when we drop in the rankings if it's nothing to be proud of,regardless to how anyone feels about the rankings it affects the average T&T fan because they like to boast especially if we under Jamaica,Bermuda,Cuba etc etc By the way i feel it's something to feel good about based on what this team has been through,some i'm sure some still questioning why or how we got there.

Trust me. We didn't wait for the ranking to "waist down everybody and the whole system". We was doing it long before that.

But in all honesty,there are a few fair minded one's who give jack his jacket (no pun intended) when he deserves it. You just have to look harder.

« Reply #1151 on: October 02, 2008, 06:58:08 AM »
I think FIFA needs to get rid of this ranking system because it is a joke.   FIFA rankings should not be used for anything football related like work permits or world cup qualifying seedings.  Men on hear does bash de system when we drop low in de rankings then celebrate when we move up.

Look at where El Salvador is ranked and where Haiti is ranked.  But Haiti was destroyed by El Salvador last month in world cup qualifying.

« Reply #1152 on: October 02, 2008, 07:06:12 AM »
I think FIFA needs to get rid of this ranking system because it is a joke.   FIFA rankings should not be used for anything football related like work permits or world cup qualifying seedings.  Men on hear does bash de system when we drop low in de rankings then celebrate when we move up.

Look at where El Salvador is ranked and where Haiti is ranked.  But Haiti was destroyed by El Salvador last month in world cup qualifying.

And El Salvador will presumably gain points for that victory.
There's a reason why the games are played right?

« Reply #1153 on: October 02, 2008, 09:17:00 AM »
I think FIFA needs to get rid of this ranking system because it is a joke.   FIFA rankings should not be used for anything football related like work permits or world cup qualifying seedings.  Men on hear does bash de system when we drop low in de rankings then celebrate when we move up.

So then you agree with me that the rankings are meaningless

« Reply #1154 on: October 02, 2008, 10:03:56 AM »

So then you agree with me that the rankings are meaningless
       Don't get me wrong guys,agreed the rankings might be meaningless but if you notice every time it's posted we are going through the same old talk,it has an effect on countries(teams/players),where/how you are seeded in tournaments,how it affects players contracts etc etc it's something we just can't disregard. 

« Reply #1155 on: October 02, 2008, 10:14:51 AM »
I think FIFA needs to get rid of this ranking system because it is a joke.   FIFA rankings should not be used for anything football related like work permits or world cup qualifying seedings.  Men on hear does bash de system when we drop low in de rankings then celebrate when we move up.

The rankings are considered over a period of time, not just the last month.

FIFA RANKINGS
« Reply #1156 on: October 08, 2008, 01:53:01 PM »
we rise to no. 5. in concacaf & 80 overall.

http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/ranking/lastranking/gender=m/fullranking.html#confederation=23914&rank=173

Ranking   Zonal Ranking   Team   Pts
Sep 08   +/- Ranking
Aug 08   +/- Pts
Aug 08
24   1    Mexico   807   8      57
28   2    USA   788   3      21
60   3    Honduras   502   1      -4
73   4    Costa Rica   438   5      24
80   5    Trinidad and Tobago   414   12      35
81   6    Canada   412   -2      0
84   7    Suriname   405   0      9
92   8    Cuba   383   -12      -22
96   9    Panama   365   -4      -14
99   10    Guatemala   356   1      -5
105   11    Jamaica   339   3      10
112   12    Guyana   315   6      50
117   13    Haiti   290   6      38
122   14    Antigua and Barbuda   256   10      55
125   15    Bermuda   245   -6      -15
131   16    El Salvador   220   -11      -37
134   17    Barbados   202   0      9
139   18    Grenada   192   -3      0
146   19    Puerto Rico   180   -3      0
147   20    Netherlands Antilles   173   0      0
147   21    St. Vincent and the Grenadines   173   3      11
159   22    St. Kitts and Nevis   113   1      0
161   23    St. Lucia   108   1      0
163   24    Turks and Caicos Islands   96   2      0
165   25    Bahamas   94   0      -2
170   26    British Virgin Islands   79   1      0
173   27    Belize   71   2      0
176   28    Dominican Republic   66   1      0
180   29    Nicaragua   45   4      0
184   30    Cayman Islands   36   3      0
191   31    Dominica   25   0      0
193   32    Aruba   22   0      0
194   33    US Virgin Islands   17   0      0
200   34    Anguilla   0   0      0
200   35    Montserrat   0   0      0

Re: FIFA Ranking for October
« Reply #1157 on: October 08, 2008, 02:02:45 PM »
YES!!  We go reach de Hex for sure now!!

« Reply #1158 on: October 08, 2008, 02:12:42 PM »
U posted January's ranking. Like dem ting in yuh avatar distracting u too.
We droped to 88th this month.

CONCACAF Oct 08 Ranking
Ranking Zonal Ranking Team Pts

21 1  USA 861 7  73
24 2  Mexico 841 0  34
50 3  Honduras 601 10  99
69 4  Costa Rica 476 4  38
84 5  Canada 415 -3  3
88 6  Trinidad and Tobago 404 -8  -10
89 7  Guatemala 394 10  38
91 8  Panama 385 5  20
98 9  Cuba 366 -6  -17
104 10  Haiti 340 13  50
108 11  Suriname 311 -24  -94
114 12  Barbados 300 20  98
116 13  Jamaica 295 -11  -44
118 14  Guyana 290 -6  -25
120 15  El Salvador 285 11  65
125 16  St. Vincent and the Grenadines 261 22  88
129 17  Bermuda 251 -4  6
133 18  Antigua and Barbuda 232 -11  -24
141 19  Grenada 192 -2  0
144 20  Puerto Rico 180 2  0
151 21  Netherlands Antilles 169 -4  -4
156 22  St. Kitts and Nevis 123 3  10
161 23  St. Lucia 108 0  0
162 24  Cayman Islands 101 22  65
169 25  Turks and Caicos Islands 83 -6  -13
170 26  Bahamas 81 -5  -13
173 27  Belize 71 0  0
176 28  British Virgin Islands 67 -6  -12
177 29  Dominican Republic 66 -1  0
181 30  Nicaragua 45 -1  0
191 31  Dominica 25 0  0
193 32  Aruba 22 0  0
194 33  US Virgin Islands 17 0  0
200 34  Anguilla 0 0  0
200 35  Montserrat 0 0  0
« Last Edit: October 08, 2008, 02:15:09 PM by FireBrand »

« Reply #1159 on: October 08, 2008, 02:22:26 PM »
Allyuh need to give dem shit rankings ah rest.  They mean nothing.

« Reply #1160 on: October 08, 2008, 02:31:27 PM »
Allyuh need to give dem shit rankings ah rest.  They mean nothing.

Tell dat to Hyland, J.M Williams and de rest of our future hopefulls.

« Reply #1161 on: October 08, 2008, 03:11:13 PM »
I ent seeing Jamaica? ???  8)

« Reply #1162 on: October 08, 2008, 03:30:24 PM »
I ent seeing Jamaica? ???  8)

116 & 13   :-\

« Reply #1163 on: October 08, 2008, 10:10:30 PM »
Yep d ranking eh mean nutten 2 u but every footballer who want 2 play in d UK sure does watch it like a chile dey have 2 supervise

« Reply #1164 on: October 08, 2008, 10:18:13 PM »
If a players is good they will come for him. Everybody put too much into this ranking crap.

« Reply #1165 on: October 08, 2008, 10:21:01 PM »
If a players is good they will come for him. Everybody put too much into this ranking crap.

They will "come for him" but that ent mean he will go anywhere.  Unfortunately for you and others who want to discount the ranking, the only people who matter (Home Office and others who grant work permits in some parts of Europe) put stock into the ranking.

« Reply #1166 on: October 08, 2008, 10:24:51 PM »
Deeks everybody know d rankin is crap where d US was rank 4 WC 06 in d top 10. Like we dey eh get out d 1st round so until Gordon Brown Home Office come up wit someting else d rankings is mucho importante

Offline assrancid

• Man who scratch ass should not bite fingernails.
  • Education should be the handmaid of citizenship.
    • Stony Brook University
FIFA RANKINGS
« Reply #1167 on: November 12, 2008, 07:46:51 AM »
Last Updated 12 Nov 2008Next Release 17 Dec 2008Ranking Zonal Ranking Concacaf

Team Pts
Nov 08 +/- Ranking
Oct 08 +/- Pts

24 1 USA 834 -3 -27
25 2 Mexico 827 -1 -14
46 3 Honduras 623 4 22
57 4 Costa Rica 542 12 66
73 5 Cuba 460 25 94
78 6 Trinidad and Tobago 443 10 39
81 7 Canada 434 3 19
83 8 Jamaica 421 33 126
89 9 Panama 404 2 19
100 10 Barbados 361 14 61
105 11 Haiti 341 -1 1
108 12 Guatemala 321 -19 -73
109 13 El Salvador 306 11 21
116 14 Guyana 283 2 -7
122 15 St. Vincent and the Grenadines 266 3 5
126 16 Bermuda 251 3 0
129 17 Suriname 239 -21 -72
133 18 Antigua and Barbuda 216 0 -16
139 19 Grenada 199 2 7
141 20 Puerto Rico 180 3 0
155 21 Netherlands Antilles 128 -4 -41
163 22 St. Kitts and Nevis 105 -7 -18
164 23 Cayman Islands 101 -2 0
169 24 Turks and Caicos Islands 83 0 0
171 25 Bahamas 81 -1 0
172 26 St. Lucia 75 -11 -33
176 27 Belize 71 -3 0
177 28 British Virgin Islands 67 -1 0
179 29 Dominican Republic 66 -2 0
185 30 Nicaragua 45 -4 0
191 31 Dominica 25 0 0
193 32 Aruba 22 0 0
195 33 US Virgin Islands 17 -1 0
201 34 Anguilla 0 -1 0
201 35 Montserrat 0 -1 0

By the end of this Caribbean tourney, we should have put away Jamaica and Cuba.

By the end of the Hex next year we should have put away the US, Costa Rica and Possibly Jamaica.

Offline Boodsy

Re: FIFA RANKINGS
« Reply #1168 on: November 12, 2008, 07:59:20 AM »
Last Updated 12 Nov 2008Next Release 17 Dec 2008Ranking Zonal Ranking Concacaf

Team Pts
Nov 08 +/- Ranking
Oct 08 +/- Pts

24 1 USA 834 -3 -27
25 2 Mexico 827 -1 -14
46 3 Honduras 623 4 22
57 4 Costa Rica 542 12 66
73 5 Cuba 460 25 94
78 6 Trinidad and Tobago 443 10 39

81 7 Canada 434 3 19
83 8 Jamaica 421 33 126
89 9 Panama 404 2 19
100 10 Barbados 361 14 61
105 11 Haiti 341 -1 1
108 12 Guatemala 321 -19 -73
109 13 El Salvador 306 11 21
116 14 Guyana 283 2 -7
122 15 St. Vincent and the Grenadines 266 3 5
126 16 Bermuda 251 3 0
129 17 Suriname 239 -21 -72
133 18 Antigua and Barbuda 216 0 -16
139 19 Grenada 199 2 7
141 20 Puerto Rico 180 3 0
155 21 Netherlands Antilles 128 -4 -41
163 22 St. Kitts and Nevis 105 -7 -18
164 23 Cayman Islands 101 -2 0
169 24 Turks and Caicos Islands 83 0 0
171 25 Bahamas 81 -1 0
172 26 St. Lucia 75 -11 -33
176 27 Belize 71 -3 0
177 28 British Virgin Islands 67 -1 0
179 29 Dominican Republic 66 -2 0
185 30 Nicaragua 45 -4 0
191 31 Dominica 25 0 0
193 32 Aruba 22 0 0
195 33 US Virgin Islands 17 -1 0
201 34 Anguilla 0 -1 0
201 35 Montserrat 0 -1 0

By the end of this Caribbean tourney, we should have put away Jamaica and Cuba.

By the end of the Hex next year we should have put away the US, Costa Rica and Possibly Jamaica.

WTF...anybody could explain this one...How the hell Cuba moved up 25 places to jump ahead of T&T after losing all those matches...FIFA ranking really screwed yes :rotfl:
« Last Edit: November 12, 2008, 08:02:16 AM by Boodsy »

Re: FIFA RANKINGS
« Reply #1169 on: November 12, 2008, 08:11:05 AM »
I always say that this rankings thing is so screwed up, but i guess they have the fairest possible system to determin how the points are allocated.

We beat USA 2-1, beat Dom Rep 9-0, and drew with guat in guat and moved up 10 places as a result.

Who Cuba beat besides Guat?

Plus, how could Barbados be ahead of El Salvador, Haiti and Guat? lol