April 25, 2024, 04:33:10 PM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 298132 times)

Re: To day is the day for Ranking release
« Reply #120 on: November 22, 2005, 01:23:11 PM »

Key for Trinidad to move into the top 32 before now and the finals, is to play and beat teams ranked above them, at least 3 times. That will guarantee T&T making up on the 31 points gap that currently exists between them and Jamaica.

Wow, didnt know Ja was ranked 22 in the world. ;D

That is JA maths.

All working must be shown in GREEN ink.

« Reply #121 on: November 22, 2005, 01:31:34 PM »

Key for Trinidad to move into the top 32 before now and the finals, is to play and beat teams ranked above them, at least 3 times. That will guarantee T&T making up on the 31 points gap that currently exists between them and Jamaica.

That is JA maths.

It's actually 30 points. Ja has 626, TT has 596.

« Reply #122 on: November 22, 2005, 01:39:34 PM »

That is JA maths.

It's actually 30 points. Ja has 626, TT has 596.

Thanks for the clarification Doc. I read Trini's post and didn't even realize that is was points and not places that RF was referring to.

In any case, he sums still wrong.

« Reply #123 on: November 22, 2005, 01:50:58 PM »

That is JA maths.

Offline TnTVillan

« Reply #124 on: November 22, 2005, 05:27:24 PM »
I just can't wait

12.09.05/mas-pst/ Schedule-2006_WR-WWR.doc
FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking Schedule 2006
Final version
Published: Monthly on Wednesdays
Deadline: Thursday prior to the release date
Month Release Date Deadline Interval (weeks)
(December Mon 19 Dec 2005)
January 18 Jan 12 Jan 4
February1 15 Feb 09 Feb 4
March° 15 Mar 09 Mar 4
April 19 Apr 13 Apr 5
May° 17 May 11 May 4
June2 NO RANKING NO RANKING NO RANKING
July 12 Jul FWC Final 8
August 16 Aug 10 Aug 5
September° 13 Sep 07 Sep 4
October 18 Oct 12 Oct 5
November 22 Nov 16 Nov 5
December 3° 20 Dec 14 Dec 4
1 Following CAN 2006 (ending 10 Feb)
2 No publication due to FIFA World Cup Germany™ (9 June – 9 July)

Wonder where Trinidad is going to be placed

U hadda be a waggonist i now check fifa site and rankings are released tomorrow.
Do some research next time.

This is your only warning.
Next time i reporting you to the A.W.A.T.T.

« Reply #125 on: November 22, 2005, 05:37:42 PM »
  Yes we were ranked 29th or 24th in the world if I remember correctly! Who knows for sure can enlighten me but I know it was somewhere around there.

We were ranked #29 after we did not qualify for WC 1990. I don't think we would move that much since we drew at home and had a slim 1-0 victory from a lower ranking team. we would be in the the mid 40's maybe.

« Reply #126 on: November 22, 2005, 05:40:10 PM »
We were ranked #29 after we did not qualify for WC 1990.

I am pretty sure that the FIFA rankings did not start until the mid-nineties, yuh must mean 2001 before we start to get one setta licks in the Hex.

« Reply #127 on: November 22, 2005, 05:44:24 PM »
Guys, our ranking will be based on games played in Oct. THe Rankings are always based on a month behind the current one.

« Reply #128 on: November 22, 2005, 05:46:17 PM »
Nah, de rankings out long time man..they just restructered it in the mid nineties with coca-cola being the major sponsors. The whole point system was altered to have more weight when playing important games and strong teams.

« Reply #129 on: November 22, 2005, 05:46:56 PM »
tnt should jump about 8spots.

« Reply #130 on: November 22, 2005, 06:52:31 PM »
Oh lord have mercy...

The fifa rankings as they exist now date from 1993...

As someone rightly pointed out, qualifying for the world cup in itself has no effect on our rankings, its in relation to the MATCHES we play to get there.

For the record, the matches that are going to be taken into account if i remember rightly are the win over Mexico and the two matches against Bahrain.

A quick review of how the rankings go. The rankings count the BEST 7 results in a year (meaning november to november and not january to november) for the last 8 years for a team. The most recent years results are counted at full value and for every year past, the results lose 1/8 of its value.
(In other words, our results from 8 years ago are worth one eigth of our results from this year.)

The points gained from a certain result depend on the strength of the opponent (based on its rnking at the time), the strength of its confederation (euro and south american teams are rated highest), the importance of the match (for our purposes wc qualifiers are worth the most), the margin of victory (a win by one goal gives less points than a win by 2 or 3), the venue (if the match is played away from home we gain more points).

Losing to a team has very little effect on your rankings, at best it may help the team to climb over you in the rankings, but the loss can only be integrated into *your figures* if it figures as one of your *best 7* results of the year. For Jamaica's 5-0 to be counted as one of their best 7 results of the year, they either have to have played virtually nothing since november last (not the case since they played the digicel cup and the gold cup with their last couple of qualifiers) or have had an extremely awful year. The fact that the match was a friendly makes it even more improbable that it would have given them even token points. (I also think that there is a provision to stop teams from gaining negative points from a match by rounding off to 0). On the other hand it is theoretically possible that the 5-0 loss to Argentina in the World Cup may still be among their best 7 results of that year, seeing the importance of the match, the quality of the opponent and the venue of the tournament.

Therefore, the Mexico result is certainly going to replace one of our prior best 7 this year. The bahrain win in bahrain probably is also (they were only 3 points and 2 places below us) as well as the draw those most likely are: Our 7 best results probably are

16-NOV-05  MANAMA (Bahrain)  Bahrain vs. Trinidad and Tobago 0:1 (0:0) 
12-NOV-05  PORT OF SPAIN (Trinidad and Tobago)  Trinidad and Tobago vs. Bahrain 1:1 (0:0) 
12-OCT-05  PORT OF SPAIN (Trinidad and Tobago)  Trinidad and Tobago vs. Mexico 2:1 (1:1) 
08-OCT-05  PANAMA CITY (Panama)  Panama vs. Trinidad and Tobago 0:1 (0:0) 
03-SEP-05  PORT OF SPAIN (Trinidad and Tobago)  Trinidad and Tobago vs. Guatemala 3:2 (0:1) 
04-JUN-05  PORT OF SPAIN (Trinidad and Tobago)  Trinidad and Tobago vs. Panama 2:0 (1:0) 
30-MAR-05  PORT OF SPAIN (Trinidad and Tobago)  Trinidad and Tobago vs. Costa Rica 0:0

though the loss to the us (in WCQ) or the honduras (GC) draw in the us might replace the costa rica draw or the panama win

at the same time we have to look at our neighbours (in the ranking)
in front of us we had zimbabwe, ghana, togo, belgium, ivory coast, south africa, bulgaria, slovakia finland, israel, serbia montenegro, jamaica and honduras. its impossible to say which of these teams will drop without knowing what results 'drop off' their points table but its pretty safe to say that teams that either didn't play during the period or had games in which they had atrocious results aren't going to gain any points relative to us, and may even drop some.

I know for a fact that that 6-1 Jamaica gave to us in kingston back in 97 isn't going to count for them anymore, not even at 1/8 of its value...

i'll make some bold predictions knowing that i risk a lot... I don't see us gaining more than 25 points... I think between 10 and 20 is a safe estimate.

We aren't going to overtake : ghana (beat saudi (a)) , ivory coast (win romania (n), draw italy (n)), belgium (draw lithuania(a)), bulgaria (draw malta (a) win georga (h), win mexico (n), slovakia (draw russia (h)loss spain (a), draw spain (h), finland (lose cze (h) draw estonia (h)), serbie (win bosnia (h) win china (a), loss south korea (a)
We are going to overtake : zimbabwe (no activity), togo (loss iran(a), paraguay(n)), south africa (loss to senegal (h)) isreal (beat faroes (h))

i don't know about: jamaica (no activity), honduras (no activity) both 30 points ahead of us and i think that would be hoping for too much...but you never know with the point swing

Well this was sure fun....please don't hit me tomorrow   ;D

« Reply #131 on: November 22, 2005, 07:02:31 PM »
thanks midknight..all this time I thought itwas teh countries who buy the most coca cola  ;D
but seriously thanks for your education.

« Reply #132 on: November 22, 2005, 08:00:51 PM »
  Yes we were ranked 29th or 24th in the world if I remember correctly! Who knows for sure can enlighten me but I know it was somewhere around there.

We were ranked #29 after we did not qualify for WC 1990. I don't think we would move that much since we drew at home and had a slim 1-0 victory from a lower ranking team. we would be in the the mid 40's maybe.

what shit...!!! you making up rankings???

They start de ranking system in 1993 and we start off at 85

We was up to 33 in Aug 96
We was between 29-30 from Aug 2000-Feb 2001
We peak at 25 in June 2001

Thanks Midknight... I now see your post dey... yuh really hada bawl Lorda mercy sometimes yes
« Last Edit: November 22, 2005, 08:02:55 PM by FF »

« Reply #133 on: November 23, 2005, 12:00:47 AM »
The FIFA rankings are a pile of @$$ and have little bearing on the relative strength of national teams especially among the top 25%.

Anyone here seriously think that the US (ranked 7th) is really better than Spain (8th), England (9th), Italy (12th), Germany (15th) or even Croatia (19th)??????????

We're ranked higher than Scotland.  Anyone remember what happened the last time we played them?

As for Jamaica we've beaten them once since 2000!  How is it that we're so much better than them now?

Don't let World Cup qualification go to your head.

Offline canadiantrini

• togeter we aspire. together we achieve
  • T+T=victory!
« Reply #134 on: November 23, 2005, 02:22:47 AM »
The FIFA rankings are a pile of @$$ and have little bearing on the relative strength of national teams especially among the top 25%.

easy pantha. dey are jus an indication of where teams are in dee world, and how well dey have been playin as of late.  but none of dose rankings really matter wen it come to WC...at WC every team is workin to be #1 and has a ligitamat shot at getting der.

« Reply #135 on: November 23, 2005, 03:50:37 AM »
New FIFA ranking - 51....

Nov-2005.

« Reply #136 on: November 23, 2005, 04:30:00 AM »
are u serioussssssssssssssss? yea fifa rankings is complete shit

« Reply #137 on: November 23, 2005, 05:19:01 AM »
Where is Canada :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #138 on: November 23, 2005, 05:55:51 AM »
i'll make some bold predictions knowing that i risk a lot... I don't see us gaining more than 25 points... I think between 10 and 20 is a safe estimate.

We aren't going to overtake : ghana (beat saudi (a)) , ivory coast (win romania (n), draw italy (n)), belgium (draw lithuania(a)), bulgaria (draw malta (a) win georga (h), win mexico (n), slovakia (draw russia (h)loss spain (a), draw spain (h), finland (lose cze (h) draw estonia (h)), serbie (win bosnia (h) win china (a), loss south korea (a)
We are going to overtake : zimbabwe (no activity), togo (loss iran(a), paraguay(n)), south africa (loss to senegal (h)) isreal (beat faroes (h))

i don't know about: jamaica (no activity), honduras (no activity) both 30 points ahead of us and i think that would be hoping for too much...but you never know with the point swing

Well this was sure fun....please don't hit me tomorrow   ;D

Rank  Team  +/-Rank
Oct 05  Pts:
Nov 05  +/-Pts: Oct 05 
39  Bulgaria  7       638 22
40  Ukraine  -1       627 -9
41  Côte d'Ivoire  7       626 15
41  Honduras  -1       626 0
43  Jamaica  -3       625 -1
44  Israel  -1       622 0
45  Slovakia  0       619 1
45  Finland  -1       619 0
47  Serbia and Montenegro  -5       612 -11
48  South Africa  -2       611 -5
49  Australia  5       610 16
50  Ghana  1       608 9
51  Trinidad and Tobago  2       607 11
52  Belgium  -3       603 -3
53  Bahrain  2       601 8
54  Zimbabwe  -2       600 2
55  Guatemala  1       584 2
56  Togo  -7       582 -24
57  Zambia  1       579 3
58  Uzbekistan  -1       578 -3
59  Belarus  11       573 14
59  Mali  -1       573 -3

Trinidad and Tobago gained 11 points  ;).
I was right about Zimbabwe and Togo, but I kind of lapsed on South Africa and especially on Israel. I was also off on Belgium...

« Reply #139 on: November 23, 2005, 09:00:35 AM »
Now we're ranked higher than Belgium........too funny  ;D.

Offline Reb

« Reply #140 on: November 23, 2005, 09:36:48 AM »
it always feel better when a #51 ranked team beats a top 20 team!! ENT???

« Reply #141 on: November 23, 2005, 12:21:35 PM »
it always feel better when a #51 ranked team beats a top 20 team!! ENT???
amen to dat brotha :beermug:

« Reply #142 on: November 23, 2005, 12:42:57 PM »
are u serioussssssssssssssss? yea fifa rankings is complete shit

Not for Brazil it isnt!

Offline canadiantrini

• togeter we aspire. together we achieve
  • T+T=victory!
« Reply #143 on: November 23, 2005, 12:45:17 PM »
dat rankin completely suprised me!!!! but eh, T&T going in as de underdogs, and will upset some teams in WC.

« Reply #144 on: November 23, 2005, 01:15:38 PM »
If we had actuallly beaten Bahrain at home in the first game, we mighta break into the top 50.

« Reply #145 on: November 23, 2005, 01:47:57 PM »
dat rankin completely suprised me!!!! but eh, T&T going in as de underdogs, and will upset some teams in WC.

Why does the ranking surprise you? have you ben following the rankings over the past year or so? Have yu been following football over the past year even?

« Reply #146 on: November 23, 2005, 02:14:33 PM »
We right dey wit Ghana, Australia and Serbia & Montenegro.  I not vex wit de rankin. 

« Reply #147 on: November 23, 2005, 03:09:50 PM »
Maybe Australia breds but not Ghana or Serbia.

If Beenie still around in 2010 then we'll be a force but right now we still have a LOT of work to do.

Offline Clarke

New Ranking
« Reply #148 on: November 24, 2005, 10:48:55 AM »
Ppl we have moved from number 53 to 2 spot up at number 51 now. Slow and steady we shall rise.

« Reply #149 on: December 01, 2005, 04:08:03 AM »
i waiting for the top 25. Then i will be happy. Not satisfied but happy