March 29, 2024, 04:53:52 AM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 295395 times)

Re: 106th is the October 2010 FIFA Ranking.
« Reply #1350 on: October 21, 2010, 06:21:20 AM »
massive pay increase for coach = lowest ranking EVER

Trinidad yuh sweet !!!!

« Reply #1351 on: October 21, 2010, 06:22:19 AM »
doh study dem baller, right now some poeple living in a fantasy land thinking T&T football still good. 

Is only now alyuh realize that, we peaked in 2000-2001  and weren't producing no more latas, yorkes and Leonson's since den I relatively young an' I realise dat, some on hear figure it out aready and d ress never really left 1989................in fact you could say dat all d "EXCEPTIONAL" Talent started dryin up rong dey, an jus like d WI cricket, d power dat be never ketch d boat...........or ignored it completely ??? :( an now we suffering, my feeling is dat Latapy never truly understood the poor raw material he had to work with, and worse dan dat I doh tink he able to work wit or build on what we have now.....because jus like some on here, I feel he lil obsessed wit tryin to look like ah brazil or ah Spain witout d brazil an' spain talent.................we should be building ah workman like team dat could grind out d results first and den try to inject some style. I prefer ugly football dat go get d results, dan try to play stylish football wit poor ballers dat does look plain ugly :(
« Last Edit: October 21, 2010, 06:40:09 AM by lefty »

« Reply #1352 on: October 21, 2010, 03:15:22 PM »
First century we score since Lara retire :-)

106, not out....play will resume tomorrow.

« Reply #1353 on: October 21, 2010, 10:14:53 PM »
 :o WDMC?!!!

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #1354 on: October 22, 2010, 06:28:58 AM »
Why the hating on Guyana? Reggaefan and others.

If you were at the match when Trinidad played Guyana you could see how well Guyana has improved and why we have been unbeaten for so long. To be fair, Trinidad was outplayed in that match and in my view were it not for the poor finishing could easily have been beaten 4-2 or even 5-2. Yes it was that bad and neither Jackie Chan nor Codrington played for Guyana in that match. Except for Peltier, Jorsling and the goalkeeper, no one else from Trinidad's team had a really good game. I don't think Latapy was all to blame, the players were not good enough. They could not do what he was asking them to do which was to attack against Guyana the home team. They could not respond - they were average. Guyana just had too much pace and energy. They had the same belief like some of you that Trinidad would put six in Guyana but 10 minutes into the game realised that the game was on.

Someday Guyana will be giving Jamaica fits too, just like the USA is finding out with basketball. For those who can remember - Guyana did well in the last Digicel Cup and I believe also had the leading scorer for the tournament in Codrington.

Unlike Jamaicans, most Guyanese genuinely like Trinidad's football team and it is sad what is happening with Trinidad but belittling and dis-respecting Guyana and going on as if Guyana's football is undeservedly ranked at 98 will not help Trinidad football get any better.

No man, not disrespecting guyana at all. But i think you guys have a better chnace at beating Jamaica at Cricket than you have at beating us at football. ;D

Offline jamaica98

« Reply #1355 on: October 23, 2010, 06:33:42 PM »

thats just not right.... :-X

« Reply #1356 on: October 23, 2010, 07:56:43 PM »
 :-\

« Reply #1357 on: October 23, 2010, 08:15:11 PM »

« Reply #1358 on: October 23, 2010, 09:14:59 PM »

how much out?  ???

Offline Boodsy

November 2010 FIFA Rankings - T&T up 28 places to #78
« Reply #1359 on: November 17, 2010, 09:22:57 AM »
CONCACAF Top 10
World     Zone    Team                       Move
24         1      USA                        1 Up
28         2      Mexico                     0 Equal
57         3      Honduras                  -3 Down
63         4      Costa Rica                 3 Up
64         5      Panama                    -5 Down
78         6      Trinidad and Tobago       28 Up
82         7      Jamaica                   -3 Down
85         8      Canada                    -2 Down
86         9      Guyana                    12 Up
91         10     Grenada                   34 Up

CFU Top 10
World     Zone    Team                      Move
78         1      Trinidad and Tobago       28 Up
82         2      Jamaica                   -3 Down
86         3      Guyana                    12 Up
91         4      Grenada                   34 Up
94         5      Cuba                      27 Up
101        6      Haiti                     27 Up
115        7      Antigua and Barbuda       16 Up
120        8      Barbados                 -13 Down
121        9      Suriname                  -8 Down
122        10     St. Kitts and Nevis        7 Up

http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/ranking/lastranking/gender=m/fullranking.html#confederation=23914&rank=198
« Last Edit: November 17, 2010, 09:27:38 AM by Boodsy »

Re: November 2010 FIFA Rankings - T&T up 28 places to #78
« Reply #1360 on: November 17, 2010, 09:46:04 AM »
Well at least I now feel that this ranking system ent that bad. Just reward for our recent results.

« Reply #1361 on: November 17, 2010, 09:54:03 AM »
Well at least I now feel that this ranking system ent that bad. Just reward for our recent results.
???

« Reply #1362 on: November 17, 2010, 09:59:55 AM »
???

it seems inconsistent and vikie vie... but if you understand the points system and the multipliers for competitive games then it makes sense

We gained net 120 points for those last 3 competitive victories and points dropping out from 4 years prior

in comparison... Jamaica gained net 1 point....
« Last Edit: November 17, 2010, 10:01:42 AM by FF »

« Reply #1363 on: November 17, 2010, 10:00:17 AM »
how we reach so high?

« Reply #1364 on: November 17, 2010, 10:22:13 AM »
how we reach so high?

By doing the opposite of what we did to get so low

« Reply #1365 on: November 17, 2010, 10:23:52 AM »
whoo hoo!!  We going Brazil!!! 

Offline madness

« Reply #1366 on: November 17, 2010, 10:33:22 AM »
i hope we get there soon. lets look at the caribbean cup first

« Reply #1367 on: November 17, 2010, 11:02:53 AM »
 :devil: look at we rank  :)

« Reply #1368 on: November 17, 2010, 11:09:09 AM »
I thought that those last 3 games should not be taken into consideration this soon  ??? Should it not be results from around mid year coming into play now?

Eman way yuh thread explaining this.

??? ??? ??? ??? ???

« Reply #1369 on: November 17, 2010, 11:10:26 AM »
I thought that those last 3 games should not be taken into consideration this soon  ??? Should it not be results from around mid year coming into play now?

??? ??? ??? ??? ???

between me and Midknight we fed up explain these rankings...

rankings are current up to the prior month leading up til the rankings release... what would be the point if they now considering mid year results??
« Last Edit: November 17, 2010, 11:13:23 AM by FF »

« Reply #1370 on: November 17, 2010, 11:18:11 AM »

??? ??? ??? ??? ???

between me and Midknight we fed up explain these rankings...

rankings are current up to the prior month leading up til the rankings release... what would be the point if they now considering mid year results??

I found it.

Number of matches considered per year
 Average points gained from all matches in last 12 months (minimum: 5 matches)

Strength of Opponent
Position in world ranking (no. 1 = 2.00, no. 30 = 1.70, no. 118 = 0.82 etc.)
Formula: [200 - Position] / 100

Regional strength 

Based on results in last three FIFA World Cups (wins per confederation per match)

« Reply #1371 on: November 17, 2010, 11:20:35 AM »
So Guyana who we beat and Haiti who we beat also moved up 27 spots. And we were ranked 106  ???

« Reply #1372 on: November 17, 2010, 11:25:36 AM »
???

it seems inconsistent and vikie vie... but if you understand the points system and the multipliers for competitive games then it makes sense

We gained net 120 points for those last 3 competitive victories and points dropping out from 4 years prior

in comparison... Jamaica gained net 1 point....
I do actually understand that FF. My response was more aimed at the "just rewards for our recent results" part of Rastaman's post. Other than those last 3 competitive wins I didn't think we'd had particularly good results recently. I was actually figuring that maybe we had some poor results from a year ago falling out of consideration for the rankings. Thanks for the info nevertheless.

« Reply #1373 on: November 17, 2010, 11:46:18 AM »
Maybe because our wins were apart of a tournament and not friendlies could be a reason why we jumped so high.

« Reply #1374 on: November 17, 2010, 11:52:14 AM »

??? ??? ??? ??? ???

No, the previous month's results are factored right in. The rise is definitely due to the Caribbean cup results:

06/11   TRI 4:0 (4:0) HAI   Continental Qualifier   475.20
04/11   TRI 2:1 (2:0) GUY   Continental Qualifier   673.20
02/11   TRI 6:2 (2:2) VIN   Continental Qualifier   488.40

http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=tri/ranking/gender=m/index.html

« Reply #1375 on: November 17, 2010, 11:57:25 AM »
Good news.  As long as we continue we'll soon be above 70.

« Reply #1376 on: November 17, 2010, 02:43:22 PM »
Be careful with dem kinda statements. Remember that it is the net result of points gained from recent results minus points gained from results 1 yr ago that are now out of consideration. That's the reason why Jamaica only gained net 1 point and dropped 3 places.

« Reply #1377 on: November 17, 2010, 02:52:06 PM »
Be careful with dem kinda statements. Remember that it is the net result of points gained from recent results minus points gained from results 1 yr ago that are now out of consideration. That's the reason why Jamaica only gained net 1 point and dropped 3 places.

4 YEARS AGO

« Reply #1378 on: November 17, 2010, 10:57:52 PM »
Maybe because our wins were apart of a tournament and not friendlies could be a reason why we jumped so high.

ding ding ding ding

« Reply #1379 on: November 17, 2010, 11:04:21 PM »

Jamaica as defending champions is also not playing the preliminary competitive matches and therefore aren't getting the artificial ranking boosts for october/september that the other top 5 caribbean teams (minus french territories) are.