March 28, 2024, 05:05:54 PM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 295341 times)

Re: FIFA Ranking Thread.
« Reply #1560 on: August 06, 2015, 03:15:25 PM »
Whether we move top 50 or bottom 50 does not phase me one bit. The English are doing what is beneficial for their football. That is their rule. remember the U.S. has eligibility rules for soccer also, and we follow these rules. We just have to develop something for us. I would like the see in the future, where the CFU revisit a proleague with 18 to 20 teams. Promotion and demotion. Quite a bit of money to do that though.

« Reply #1561 on: August 07, 2015, 09:34:17 PM »
Just read an article...we're ranked 56th...while Jamaica is at 55...they top the cfu rankings...and obliviously we're second...Haiti is 3rd at 84...

That draw against panama Jed...just can't get over that 😐

« Reply #1562 on: August 25, 2015, 06:47:45 AM »
Sigh. Still, another two years to move us up :)

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #1563 on: August 25, 2015, 09:23:49 AM »
Just read an article...we're ranked 56th...while Jamaica is at 55...they top the cfu rankings...and obliviously we're second...Haiti is 3rd at 84...

That draw against panama Jed...just can't get over that 😐

The loss to Panama in the Gold Cup quarterfinals last month wouldn't have hurt our rankings, since losses or wins in PK-shootouts are not taken into consideration 'point-wise' with regards to FIFA rankings.  The loss in PKs, is not considered a 'loss' by FIFA --- only wins or losses in Regulation time (or extra-time) are taken into consideration.    :)
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #1564 on: September 03, 2015, 07:44:15 AM »
Latest rankings are out. We have moved up two spots to 54.

http://www.fifa.com/fifa-world-ranking/ranking-table/men/

CONCACAF TOP 10

26   MEX Mexico   848 (847.90)   
28   USA USA   823 (822.57)   
39   CRC Costa Rica   731 (730.69)
52   JAM Jamaica   602 (601.65)   
54   TRI Trinidad and Tobago   594 (593.92)   
59   PAN Panama   551 (550.70)
81   HON Honduras   404 (403.80)
87   HAI Haiti   385 (385.38)
98   GUA Guatemala   333 (332.79)
102   CAN Canada   319 (319.42)   

« Reply #1565 on: September 03, 2015, 07:58:40 AM »
Moving on up!

« Reply #1566 on: November 06, 2015, 10:53:39 AM »
After dropping down, we have moved back up 5 spaces to 54 once again in the World Rankings.
The other good part is we have overtaken Jamaica as Caribbean #1

http://m.fifa.com/fifa-world-ranking/ranking-table/men/index

CONCACAF TOP 6

24   MEX Mexico   
33   USA USA      
40   CRC Costa Rica   
54   TRI Trinidad and Tobago
61   JAM Jamaica
65   PAN Panama

« Reply #1567 on: November 06, 2015, 11:06:19 AM »
After dropping down, we have moved back up 5 spaces to 54 once again in the World Rankings.

CONCACAF TOP 6

24   MEX Mexico   
33   USA USA      
40   CRC Costa Rica   
61   JAM Jamaica
65   PAN Panama

At this point in time, does ranking matters?

« Reply #1568 on: November 06, 2015, 11:49:30 AM »
Yes, morale boost for the fans, socawarriors, nonbelieving investors, contracts for our players like Alvin Jones, Nicholas Dillon, Ball-Pest, transfers to europe for Jonathan Glenn, etc.
« Last Edit: November 06, 2015, 12:10:24 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #1569 on: November 06, 2015, 12:17:38 PM »

CONCACAF TOP 6

24   MEX Mexico   
33   USA USA      
40   CRC Costa Rica   
61   JAM Jamaica
65   PAN Panama

At this point in time, does ranking matters?

Why ask specifically at this point in time? For what it's worth, rankings however flawed are one measuring stick of progress

« Reply #1570 on: November 06, 2015, 01:36:51 PM »
yeah right!

« Reply #1571 on: November 06, 2015, 01:51:01 PM »
Care to elaborate or point out reasons for disagreement?

Are rankings not one metric (among many) to measure where your program is?

« Reply #1572 on: November 06, 2015, 05:08:50 PM »
Rankings have some worth. The higher ranking helped us avoid a wcq game against a team like Nicaragua.. We seen the scare they gave the yardies.

Rankings might not be 100% accurate. But it gives us a good measuring stick of where we are at and how far we have to go. I believe this is our highest ranking in years.
« Last Edit: November 06, 2015, 05:11:46 PM by gawd on pitch »

« Reply #1573 on: November 06, 2015, 05:31:04 PM »
Additionally ease work permit woes for our players....

Offline Adam Lake

Latest FIFA Ranking: T&T move up
« Reply #1574 on: December 03, 2015, 09:39:19 AM »
http://www.fifa.com/fifa-world-ranking/ranking-table/men/index.html

:wavetowel:  :beermug: :beermug:

Not sure where to post this topic, so hence I created one. My apologies, to the moderators, please feel free to merge with exisitng thread if there is one for Latest Ranking

« Reply #1575 on: December 03, 2015, 09:43:55 AM »
We at 49 and 54. We so good we deserve two spots?
While we wait for them to sort that out, how cape verde reach so high up?
« Last Edit: December 03, 2015, 09:46:29 AM by Peong »

« Reply #1576 on: December 03, 2015, 09:47:04 AM »
T&T will end the year in the top 50 of the FIFA Rankings after moving up to #49 in the latest rankings.
This marks the first time the senior national team has cracked the top 50 since May 2006.
We remain #4 in CONCACAF and #1 in the CFU

CONCACAF TOP 6

22   MEX Mexico   
32   USA USA     
37   CRC Costa Rica   
49   TRI Trinidad and Tobago
54   JAM Jamaica
64   PAN Panama

FYI former perennial big 6 member Honduras continues to fall like a big stone now at 101 behind Guatemala and even El Salvador
« Last Edit: December 03, 2015, 09:53:43 AM by FF »

« Reply #1577 on: December 03, 2015, 09:49:28 AM »

Must be your internet cache was not cleared from the last time. Jamaica is 54 and it is updated as far as I see

Offline Adam Lake

« Reply #1578 on: December 03, 2015, 09:54:49 AM »

Latest ranking today we at

Worldwide #49
CONCACAF #4
CFU #1

« Reply #1579 on: December 03, 2015, 10:47:01 AM »

Latest ranking today we at

Worldwide #49
CONCACAF #4
CFU #1
Being inside the top 50 is a tremendous for our program and it can open more opportunities for our players, way to finish the year strong. Congrats to coach Hart and the team :beermug:

« Reply #1580 on: December 03, 2015, 10:50:44 AM »
Not only that, but they fell 7 spots and still sitting pretty.

« Reply #1581 on: December 03, 2015, 10:58:11 AM »

Cape Verde's squad isn't that bad actually - I think they have some good 2nd gen migrants - typical for island nations :p

« Reply #1582 on: December 03, 2015, 11:01:21 AM »

Must be your internet cache was not cleared from the last time. Jamaica is 54 and it is updated as far as I see

Thanks. Looks like the mobile site has some issues.

« Reply #1583 on: December 03, 2015, 11:05:35 AM »
Well done Warriors. Those wins against Panama away and against Guatemala away, latter during a World Cup qualifier and more points rich, were great for the last rise in the rankings.

« Reply #1584 on: December 03, 2015, 12:23:09 PM »
Belgium tho

« Reply #1585 on: December 03, 2015, 12:32:48 PM »

Cape Verde's squad isn't that bad actually - I think they have some good 2nd gen migrants - typical for island nations :p

Cape Verde had some good results this year.They beat Portugal in a friendly. Probably the reserves. The tied Tunisia. Tied with DR Congo, and beat the other Congo. Tied Zambia. Beat up São Tomé 7-1.

« Reply #1586 on: December 03, 2015, 01:35:42 PM »
Interesting that the only CAF nation in the Top 30 is Ivory Coast.

« Reply #1587 on: December 03, 2015, 02:47:22 PM »

Don't mean to step in and correct yuh Asylum. But Algeria is in Africa too. They are the second CAF nation under 30.

I know what you mean though. Geographically the North African teams are CAF. But culturally they have more ties to the middle east than Sub Sahara Africa. I occasionally make the mistake of not identifying them as a CAF team too.

I think Ghana is probably better than Ivory Coast. But the ranking tools say otherwise.

« Reply #1588 on: December 03, 2015, 02:58:54 PM »

Don't mean to step in and correct yuh Asylum. But Algeria is in Africa too. They are the second CAF nation under 30.

I know what you mean though. Geographically the North African teams are CAF. But culturally they have more ties to the middle east than Sub Sahara Africa. I occasionally make the mistake of not identifying them as a CAF team too.

I think Ghana is probably better than Ivory Coast. But the ranking tools say otherwise.

Good call. Dahis de price of skimming casually. Did not notice them above Ghana.

« Reply #1589 on: December 03, 2015, 03:12:11 PM »

Good call. Dahis de price of skimming casually. Did not notice them above Ghana.

You mean Algeria? Algeria is number 28. Ghana is 33