April 28, 2024, 01:57:34 AM

Author Topic: Babies first word  (Read 1808 times)

Babies first word
« on: March 03, 2007, 03:45:14 PM »
Ah think everybody in this lil village here have children ,wah ah tryin to overstan why iz it that the first word that comes out of a baby mouth wen dey begin to talk iz DA, DA and not MA, MA, they the  mother  spend the magority of time wid the baby but yet the first word that babies say iz DA, DA. ah wonder why ?

Re: Babies first word
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2007, 03:48:01 PM »
dey did tell me my first word was  BITH -KIT  ;)

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2007, 03:50:23 PM »
haha
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2007, 04:43:00 PM »

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2007, 04:54:09 PM »
Zulu...it have someting tuh do wid pronunciation.  To form MA MA, it requires closing the lips to form the M sound.  The D sound in Da Da is an easier sound which is why it comes faster to babies learning tuh talk.

On ah side note...my daughter first words were "Leave dat".  ;D
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2007, 05:00:27 PM »
my daughter's first words were "Dad may I have the credit card?"

« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2007, 05:19:04 PM »
well my mother said mine was "chipid"

but i swear i was talking as soon as ah come out dey womb
"light too bright, push meh back ein please thanks"

« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2007, 08:16:14 PM »
what about other languages.. French, arabic, chineee etc.. do they say their version of dada..hhhmmm

BTW dutty..is dat why you're considered a crix Connoisseur?

« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2007, 08:21:50 PM »
Zulu...it have someting tuh do wid pronunciation.  To form MA MA, it requires closing the lips to form the M sound.  The D sound in Da Da is an easier sound which is why it comes faster to babies learning tuh talk.

On ah side note...my daughter first words were "Leave dat".  ;D

Right and in countries where they say 'papa' it is even harder to pronounce than 'mama' so in those places 'mama' tends to be first.

« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2007, 08:43:37 PM »
my daughter's first words were "Dad may I have the credit card?"
mines was
"can i have the car tonight?"
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.