December 01, 2023, 08:19:06 AM

Author Topic: Football slipping slowly away  (Read 4610 times)

Football slipping slowly away
« on: March 04, 2007, 09:36:22 AM »
Football slipping slowly away
By PETER O’CONNOR Sunday, March 4 2007
http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,53298.html

JAMAICA qualified for FIFA World Cup 1998 in France. They did so largely because the Jamaican Federation secured the services of a Brazilian Coach, Rene Simoes. The salaries for Simoes and his team, were met by the Government of Jamaica, Red Stripe Beer, Air Jamaica, and several other Jamaican corporations.

Jamaica did not repeat their qualification at Japan-Korea 2002 or Germany 2006. In 2006, Jamaica failed to qualify for the Digicel Caribbean Cup Finals, and therefore will not be at the CONCACAF Gold Cup in 2007.

Bermuda is not a football “power” — not even in the regional game. Bermuda also failed to qualify for the Digicel Cup Finals, falling at the final hurdle to eventual Champions — Haiti.

Trinidad and Tobago qualified for FIFA 2006 in Germany. They did so with a total local corporate sponsorship of less than US $1,000,000, and with no input from the Government.

Upon qualifying, the local federation did attract some local corporate sponsorship, again less than US$1M, from companies wishing more it seems to promote themselves, not seeking to help football.

TT has since qualified for the CONCACAF Gold Cup, and the Under-17 team is still in the race for the FIFA Under-17 Championships later this year. So why am I making these comparisons?

Because, in spite of their “failure” to qualify for Germany 2006 or Gold Cup 2007, the Jamaican Government and the Jamaican corporate sector have undertaken to fund the continuing development of Jamaican football, including the salaries of new coach Bora Multinovic. The support package includes the costs of several major international friendlies and the hosting of the CONCACAF Under-17 Finals in April.

And in spite of the lack of international football impact, the Government of Bermuda has funded the Bermuda Football Federation up to US$15,000,000.

They have done this in order to support the development of football in Bermuda. And because, the “benefactor” of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation has announced that he can no longer carry the financial burden of Trinidad and Tobago’s football.

As I recall, there is only one active sponsor of the TTFF at this time, and that is TSTT. Those who “bought-in” after Bahrain have all gotten their value and left, and this includes the Government of TT.

While we all talk about South Africa 2010 and Youth Development, not one cent has been put into any campaign by anyone except Jack Warner.

Since returning from Germany 2006, the TT Football Federation has hosted a 28 Nation Under-16 Tournament (August 2006, TT finishing third and qualifying for CONCACAF Under-17), a four-nation Under-20 Qualifying tournament, a home and away Under-20 play- off with Jamaica (we lost, Jamaica is now in the CONCACAF U-20s), the Digicel Cup (Digicel sponsored for CFU) and several friendlies for our Seniors, Under-20s and U-17s and our Womens’ Teams.

With the exception of the Digicel Cup, not one of these events received one cent of sponsorship support from government or the corporate sector.

Indeed, even the visit of the Mexico Under-17 team (the current World Under-17 Champions) this week — being played on Fatima Ground today and Tuesday — is supported by Mr Warner alone. There is obviously no value to either the Government or the local corporate sector in supporting the national football teams at this stage.

Clearly we must qualify for South Africa in November 2009 to be considered. What is it that the Governments and businesses of Jamaica and Bermuda see in football that we cannot see?

Here we are, riding a wave of triumph and success, and cannot get a cent for support, but Jamaica and Bermuda, swallowing hard and hoping to rebuild, can be fully funded by their governments and business interests? So Jack Warner has announced that he will no longer be the sponsor, and has effectively given notice to all of the Federation’s Coaching Staff.

I doubt that anyone will stay on as a volunteer, so I expect a total collapse in the country’s international programme, if not all football.

Part of the reason that there is no funding for local football is because Jack Warner is deeply involved in the Opposition Party, and the Government “punishes” football to some extent because of this.

Part of the reason is that some people do not like Jack, and have said to me that they will become involved if Jack was not there. Well, here is your chance! I hope Jack calls their bluff and also steps down as Special Advisor to the Federation, to “clear the way” for government and corporate support. I certainly do not expect any rush to fill the void being left by Jack, at least not until November 2009, if we survive that long.

Re: Football slipping slowly away
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2007, 09:43:46 AM »
 Good Article...I hope that rattle some of those officials cages a bit

« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2007, 09:51:09 AM »
I agree. After all the ole' talk, Jamaican football has received more funding from its government and the Jamaican corporate sector than the the Trinidad and Tobago football team. That is why Jamaica has had the upper hand in the 90s and in the millenium over T&T and I believe that Mr. O'Connor proves this in his article.

It is time for the government and corporate sector in T&T to stand up and take notice.

« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2007, 09:57:00 AM »
If that article didn't make the front page then I highly doubt that they would even know about it.

« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2007, 10:08:54 AM »
It would be nice to have some clear accountability and auditing, so one could know where the money to be given is going.

Is it going to the mysterious JDA again  >:( , and up to now nobody has revealed what it stands for?.... Is it supposed to be going to players, then changed to "thorry we have to direct that money to the 2014 campaign" by Jackula jess so on payday?........Is it going to pay for big games against highly ranked opponents only to hear, predictably days before, that "Acthally, Chile ith not available, tho we will play Thint Vinthent"?.....Is the money to be given, going to be unaccounted for and when the public asks how it was spent, a vile contemptuous response of "Yuh thee, they juth after me because of political reasonth"?  Mr O'Connor please don't play stupid and avoid discussing the context of our problem...and while yuh at it, talk about players rights, contractual honesty and player trust in your beautiful idealistic vision...unless....... you don't really care about our so-called "lovely Soca Warriors" :thinking: :waiting:  

Uncle Jackula, we are waiting to hear about the money for the Socawarriors. We want to know if you shredded the contracts with Adidas and other sponsors, we want to know if you remember the clause that said some of the Warriors' money is for charity, we want to see your blacklist of the Socawarriors who will not be allowed to play for T&T again. In short, just go nah....please....just go Uncle  :-[ .  Mr O'Connor, if Uncle Jackula forgot to answer these questions could you help a little please, as I know you are a very efficient fellah

Football will continue to "slip away" while Uncle Jackula, Scamps and Grodent "slip away" as the attorney and auditor come knocking. There is NO QUESTION that a government should be funding the football program, but Jackula should let go and let them do it and take the blame, lose the elections obviously if they don't. After all, Uncle Jackula is busy at FIFA and cyah afford to be mortgaging his houses every month so  :-[ to pay.. can he  :'( ? Tha'is hard-worked-for money that Uncle  sweat for man, and de government, who obviously hates de Warriors and Uncle, taking advantage....

A li'l historical perspective sometimes is a good thing..
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=14593.0
« Last Edit: March 05, 2007, 11:24:47 AM by dreamer »

« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2007, 10:56:11 AM »
Lemeh ask u a question.

If you had a million dollars to give to TT football, but you know that JW would be there  and that if he did/didn't assist, his family would benefit millions from football related deals, eg. the 2016 U-17 WC, the ticket scandal re the 2006 WC. Seeing that the Warner family is in  a position to reap TENS OF MILLIONS from TT football, why should you give your money??

Warner benefits from TT football, he eh go leggo so.

I must give my money so JW could benefit at the expense of other entrepreuners??

Where is the accountability or impartiality?? Would you not think twice if you were the TT Govt. or potential sponsor.

And the mamaguy act of walking away from football doh fool nobody. Camps is a WARNER STOOGE,  plain and simple.

Let Camps resign, let Warner walk away. You will see a difference.

There are successful football ppl in TT if you give them a chance?

But who want to have to deal with "stooge Scamps," and Warner.

Peace,

Offline football prof

« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2007, 11:03:32 AM »
Many people knock Jack Warner. All I know is that he took money out of his own pocket, and tried to get a return on it. Regardless, the soca warriors might not have been in Germany without his help.

« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2007, 11:08:22 AM »
Use your million dollars to sponsor a PFL team nah.  Where all the money for PFL sponsorship then?
And I guessing all the other major sports have big sponsorship....or it have lil JWs in all the other sports programs?

I don't think what he said about the government not giving any money for Youth Development is correct.  Plus they also said they waiting on proper accounts of money spent to give more money for 2010...I think that is the last I remember of that.

They are not going to get any more money until they settle with the players and there is nothing wrong with that.

« Reply #8 on: March 04, 2007, 11:14:40 AM »
Many people knock Jack Warner. All I know is that he took money out of his own pocket, and tried to get a return on it. Regardless, the soca warriors might not have been in Germany without his help.
You mean money that was supposed to go towards the team...ended up in his pocket. If you notice the degrees of inconsistency with many of the financial dealings of the TTFF and the team by extension you realise that things dont add up. Imagine over a period of 5 years....the financial statement showing the bar of the stadium recording a profit of 50 dollars. Money coming in....and it never seems to be enough. Then mr. austin jack warner comes and makes a grand show of the team being bailed out by him....money which originally supposed to be available to them. So in short he taxes the muppets in the TTFF...and lends them back their own money....and they pay him back. Few people trust Jack. Plus he acts in a manner that continues to discourage trust. At the centre of every money furor with respect to TTFF is Jack. No financial statements forthcoming. Little to no acountability. Money coming in for set purposes....and those purposes hardly ever materialise.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #9 on: March 04, 2007, 11:27:13 AM »
Lemeh ask u a question.

If you had a million dollars to give to TT football, but you know that JW would be there  and that if he did/didn't assist, his family would benefit millions from football related deals, eg. the 2016 U-17 WC, the ticket scandal re the 2006 WC. Seeing that the Warner family is in  a position to reap TENS OF MILLIONS from TT football, why should you give your money??

Warner benefits from TT football, he eh go leggo so.

I must give my money so JW could benefit at the expense of other entrepreuners??

Where is the accountability or impartiality?? Would you not think twice if you were the TT Govt. or potential sponsor.

And the mamaguy act of walking away from football doh fool nobody. Camps is a WARNER STOOGE,  plain and simple.

Let Camps resign, let Warner walk away. You will see a difference.

There are successful football ppl in TT if you give them a chance?

But who want to have to deal with "stooge Scamps," and Warner.

Peace,

TTFF election suppose to be this year

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2007, 11:43:09 AM »

JW has undoubtedly done some good for T&T football but the means could never justify the end. It would indeed be short sighted to turn a blind eye to the many questionable situations (involving JW) which VB pointed out.

« Reply #11 on: March 04, 2007, 11:55:11 AM »
Use your million dollars to sponsor a PFL team nah....

Just stop a second and think about this in truth. If we were all business sponsors, how many of us would seriously put our money, say a million dullahs, in Jackula's hands suposedly to help the Warriors that we on this board are undoubtedtly supporters of. Yuh know what the answer is ?............ NONE......and that says alot as it becomes real now for us to identify with.

Imagine if Lincoln was appointed head of TTFF with a new staff, ......companies would be rushing to line up having the confidence that they could visualize the return on their money and we would have internationals with the national senior team, under 21, under 17 and even under 15 every month !!! >:( . Ah lie?
« Last Edit: March 04, 2007, 12:05:40 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #12 on: March 04, 2007, 12:06:17 PM »

JW has undoubtedly done some good for T&T football but the means could never justify the end. It would indeed be short sighted to turn a blind eye to the many questionable situations (involving JW) which VB pointed out.

Allyuh getting tie up oui. What was the motivating factor for all the things Jack did for T&T football? Not for the advancement of T&T football....but the advancement of Jack Warner's Pocket. How can you get money if you dont have reason to ask for it? How no matter how much money is given to T&T football....the constant cry is we need more money? Why the inconsistency in the figures...constant underhand dealing....and our football constantly underachieves? I had made an analogy about this before...the mamaguy of Jack doing things for football eh as people say...as well as the motives etc for why he does it.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #13 on: March 04, 2007, 12:55:45 PM »
oh oh..like yuh go awake TT from he slumber with that statement :D

« Reply #14 on: March 04, 2007, 01:05:05 PM »

Just stop a second and think about this in truth. If we were all business sponsors, how many of us would seriously put our money, say a million dullahs, in Jackula's hands suposedly to help the Warriors that we on this board are undoubtedtly supporters of. Yuh know what the answer is ?............ NONE......and that says alot as it becomes real now for us to identify with.

Imagine if Lincoln was appointed head of TTFF with a new staff, ......companies would be rushing to line up having the confidence that they could visualize the return on their money and we would have internationals with the national senior team, under 21, under 17 and even under 15 every month !!! >:( . Ah lie?

Yuh know what,...I would.....
Me and Jack woulda make ah killing. :devil:

« Reply #15 on: March 04, 2007, 01:19:48 PM »

Yuh know what,...I would.....
Me and Jack woulda make ah killing. :devil:

You real brave because I ain't even trust him to be a partner in anything either because that man just to much of a snake to scam with him.

« Reply #16 on: March 04, 2007, 03:46:13 PM »
Dreamer sponsoring the ProLeague is diff from sponsoring TTFF teams.

And what about the other sports...where the millions for that?  Manning son might start a Semi-Pro basketball league so I guess money for dat might be forthcoming.

Anyway...I wouldn't mind if most of government money for sport went to the community level...and to maintain facilities.  Doh know what to say about Corporate sponsorship but I glad Digicel around....competition even for sponsorship.  Soca artistes and all benefiting from that.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2007, 03:52:15 PM by dcs »

« Reply #17 on: March 04, 2007, 07:12:21 PM »
No problem with these points. Coolo breezo.

« Reply #18 on: March 04, 2007, 08:21:06 PM »
Additionall,, the gov't and Corp TnT have to take some blame, that is no excuse for other sports and Youth development...

An example is the ongoing cricket WC. Manning say we should NOT have any of the matches in TnT cause the want the other islands need it more than we....that is the lamest, most dumb reasoning I ever heard !

« Reply #19 on: March 04, 2007, 08:26:31 PM »
It is quite unfair to blame all of the socawarriors financial shortcomings on Uncle Jacula. I can understand that he is de easies culprit and VB made and excellent point but so did anbrat and dcs.... We kinda have Jack up dey ranking with de Devil because we base all failure on jacks involvement. If no body sponsor, is jack. If de wrong people sponsor, is jack. De sponsors themselves also get to play that card... If Jack wasnt dey we woulda sponsor.
I am not buying that shit. Sorry. Money does buy out money. If i want to end your tenure, I do so with funds not talk. I not here to protect Jack but I am also not one that blames the Devil for my downfalls, I blame me.
Until de day that these local sponsors and government body step up and do what is right by our sportsmen/women then i see them all as failures. De whole ban of dem. failures.  Jack on de other hand is a thief, a dam scamps, (lol)  but he is not a failure.  A thief hand yuh chop off but a failure, what do you do with them?
maybe gettin sponsorship is part of Wim job too like so many people have added to he job description.

« Reply #20 on: March 04, 2007, 08:35:31 PM »
Good Evening Everyone.
                                      We have been through this scenario before. No accountability, no money. Contrary to what Mr. Oconnor says about Jack divorcing himself from TTFF is comical to say the least.  Does Mr. Oconnor really believe this to be true. He must be naive. Jack still pulling strings. The most important ones. If the gov't going to put money inTTFF expect them to put their political fingers there too. When UNC comes to power then Jack will have all the money he wants. Business men know Jack. They would not put their money there. The govt will put the money, but on their own terms.

« Reply #21 on: March 05, 2007, 10:41:23 AM »
and for the benefit of the yonger generation on the Forum, we must not forget that

Peter O'Connor was once a Warner puppet "extrodanairre." (sp)  :)

One of the worst periods of TT football was at the hands of O'Connor.

The ticket scandal of 1989 - HIS PRESIDENCY.

He just sat by like a dumb ass while JW ran the show.

Really Camps is just O'Connor reincarnated.