March 29, 2024, 02:22:40 AM

Author Topic: 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup™ Groups & Schedule Unveiled.  (Read 25877 times)

Offline Winnipeg Fury

2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup™ Groups & Schedule Unveiled.
« on: March 06, 2007, 01:33:32 PM »
2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup™ Groups & Schedule Unveiled.[/size]

CONCACAF (Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football) today unveiled the final groups for the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup™ that takes place from 6-24 June in six cities across the USA.
Group A, the first of three First Round Groups, which will be based in Miami’s Orange Bowl, includes the Central American champions Costa Rica, Canada from the North American Zone, Caribbean winners Haiti along with Gold Cup newcomers Guadeloupe.
Group B, with games at the Home Depot Center in Carson, California and Gillette Stadium in Foxboro, includes the defending Gold Cup Champions USA, both El Salvador and Guatemala from Central America and Trinidad & Tobago from the Caribbean.
The final quadrangular, Group C, will see games between Mexico of the North American Zone, Honduras and Panama from Central America and Cuba from the Caribbean. The Group C encounters will take place in two venues; starting at Giants Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey (near New York City) before heading to Reliant Stadium in Houston for the last day of first round play.
The quarterfinal matches, set for Saturday, 16 June (two games in Foxboro) and Sunday, 17 June (two games in Houston) will comprise the first and second-placed teams from each of the three groups along with the two best-finishing third-place squads.
The 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup™ semifinals and final are scheduled for Soldier Field in Chicago, Illinois on Thursday, 21 June and Sunday 24 June, respectively.
Speaking about the participation of the USA team in the Gold Cup, head coach Bob Bradley said:
“The Gold Cup is very important. It’s the championship for our confederation and the USA won the last go around. Defending the title in the first big tournament I’m coaching is very, very important.”
Speaking about the participation of the Mexican team in the Gold Cup, head coach Hugo Sanchez said:
“This is a new era for the Mexican team and I am convinced we are going to make history, but to start this history that will be so beautiful we have to win the Gold Cup.”

2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup™

GROUP A:

Costa Rica, Haiti, Canada, Guadeloupe

GROUP B:
USA, Trinidad & Tobago, Guatemala, El Salvador

GROUP C:
Mexico, Panana, Honduras, Cuba

2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup™

First Round – Group A, Orange Bowl; Miami, Florida
6 June 2007
Match 1: COSTA RICA – CANADA (7pm)
Match 2: GUADELOUPE – HAITI (9pm)

First Round – Group B, Home Depot Center; Carson, California
7 June 2007
Match 3: USA – GUATEMALA (6pm)
Match 4: EL SALVADOR – TRINIDAD & TOBAGO (8pm)

First Round – Group C, Giants Stadium; East Rutherford, New Jersey
8 June 2007
Match 5: PANAMA – HONDURAS (7pm)
Match 6: MEXICO – CUBA (9pm)

First Round – Group B, Home Depot Center; Carson, California
9 June 2007
Match 7: GUATEMALA - EL SALVADOR (12pm)
Match 8: TRINIDAD & TOBAGO – USA (2pm)

9 June 2007
Match 9: CANADA – GUADELOUPE (7pm)
Match 10: HAITI – COSTA RICA (9pm)

10 June 2007
Match 11: HONDURAS – MEXICO (4pm)
Match 12: PANAMA – CUBA (6pm)

11 June 2007
Match 13: COSTA RICA – GUADELOUPE (7pm)
Match 14: HAITI – CANADA (9pm)

First Round – Group B, Gillette Stadium; Foxboro, Massachusetts
12 June 2007
Match 15: USA – EL SALVADOR (7pm)
Match 16: TRINIDAD & TOBAGO – GUATEMALA (9pm)

13 June 2007
Match 17: CUBA – HONDURAS (7 pm)
Match 18: MEXICO – PANAMA (9 pm)

Quarterfinals – Gillette Stadium; Foxboro, Massachusetts
16 June 2007
Match 19: A1 vs. B2 (1pm)
Match 20: B1 vs. A3/C3 (4pm)

Quarterfinals – Reliant Stadium; Houston, Texas
17 June 2007
Match 21: C1 vs. A3/B3 (2pm)
Match 22: C2 vs. A2 (5pm)

Semifinals – Soldier Field; Chicago, Illinois
21 June 2007
Match 23: QF1 vs. QF2 (6pm)
Match 24: QF3 vs. QF4 (9pm)

Final – Soldier Field; Chicago, Illinois
24 June 2007
Match 25: SF1 vs. SF2 (2pm)

GOLD CUP HISTORY

YEAR CHAMPION RUNNER-UP VENUES
1991 USA Honduras Los Angeles, Pasadena (USA)
1993 Mexico USA Dallas (USA); Ciudad de México (México)
1996 Mexico Brazil Anaheim, San Diego, Los Angeles (USA)
1998 Mexico USA Oakland, Miami, Los Angeles (USA)
2000 Canada Colombia San Diego, Miami, Los Angeles (USA)
2002 USA Costa Rica Pasadena, Miami (USA)
2003 Mexico Brazil Foxboro, Miami (USA); Ciudad de México (México)
2005 USA Panama Carson, Foxboro, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, NY/NJ, Seattle (USA)

* All kick off times are in hosts time.

* Ticket information for the 2007 Gold Cup will be announced late March.

TICKETS.
CONCACAF & Fútbol Mundial Magazine join forces for 2007 Gold Cup Program[/size]

CONCACAF announced that for the second Gold Cup in succession the Confederation will be working with Fútbol Mundial magazine to produce the Official Program of the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup™.
As in 2005, Fútbol Mundial magazine is the official magazine of the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup™ and will work with CONCACAF to produce the official Gold Cup Program. The program will be bilingual and distributed for free to fans at each of the six venues in the USA that will host the event from 6-24 June.
"We are delighted to be working with Fútbol Mundial magazine on the Official Program of the Gold Cup. In 2005, the free program was hugely popular with the hundreds of thousands of fans that attended Gold Cup games and we’re sure it will be just as popular in 2007.” said CONCACAF General Secretary Chuck Blazer.
“The Gold Cup is the premier competition for national sides from the CONCACAF region and we are honored and excited to be associated with the tournament again,” said Publisher and Founder of Fútbol Mundial magazine, Félix Sención.
Launched during World Cup 2002, Fútbol Mundial magazine is the nation’s largest soccer and Spanish language sports publication with an audited circulation in excess of one million and over 2.8 million readers monthly.

CONCACAF GOLD CUP HISTORY
YEAR, CHAMPION, RUNNER-UP, VENUES[/b]
1991 - USA - Honduras - Los Angeles, Pasadena (USA)
1993 - Mexico - USA - Dallas (USA); Ciudad de México (México)
1996 - Mexico - Brazil - Anaheim, San Diego, Los Angeles (USA)
1998 - Mexico - USA - Oakland, Miami, Los Angeles (USA)
2000 - Canada - Colombia - San Diego, Miami, Los Angeles (USA)
2002 - USA - Costa Rica - Pasadena, Miami (USA)
2003 - Mexico - Brazil - Foxboro, Miami (USA); Ciudad de México (México)
2005 - USA - Panama - Carson, Foxboro, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, NY/NJ, Seattle (USA)

Source:
CONCACAF.COM
« Last Edit: April 19, 2007, 05:16:14 AM by Flex »

Offline TnTVillan

Re: Gold Cup Groups.......
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2007, 01:35:10 PM »
where is each group based? who's in miami???

« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2007, 01:36:53 PM »
I think we have the better group of the other 2 caribbean countries...USA would be tough to beat at home, but with our "best" team, it's doable  ;D

Offline killadrilla

• King Thierry
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2007, 01:37:15 PM »
Group A, the first of three First Round Groups, which will be based in Miami’s Orange Bowl, includes the Central American champions Costa Rica, Canada from the North American Zone, Caribbean winners Haiti along with Gold Cup newcomers Guadeloupe.

Group B, with games at the Home Depot Center in Carson, California and Gillette Stadium in Foxboro, includes the defending Gold Cup Champions USA, both El Salvador and Guatemala from Central America and Trinidad & Tobago from the Caribbean.

The final quadrangular, Group C, will see games between Mexico of the North American Zone, Honduras and Panama from Central America and Cuba from the Caribbean. The Group C encounters will take place in two venues; starting at Giants Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey (near New York City) before heading to Reliant Stadium in Houston for the last day of first round play.

concacaf.com

« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2007, 01:37:22 PM »
 :o

*sees that we're not in Mexico's group and falls off chair in utter shock*

« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2007, 01:38:32 PM »

Team USA normally plays on the west coast...so CA it might be for us.

« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2007, 01:39:10 PM »
Where Jamaica ?

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :devil: :devil: :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2007, 01:39:20 PM »
road trip boys?

who contributing to the socawarriors.net RV?

« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2007, 01:39:44 PM »
I'm in TOTAL SHOCK!

We in a tournament involvin Mexico and not in same group as dem?

:o :o :o

Daz about as good a group as we could hope to get.

Maybe de CR Canada Haiti Group similar.

Group of Death?

Ah would say Group C

« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2007, 01:40:24 PM »
:o

*sees that we're not in Mexico's group and falls off chair in utter shock*

But we are in the USA group..which is just as good for TV rights  ;D

« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2007, 01:41:42 PM »

If so I'll be driving down to LA!!!!!  Ato, yuh got an extra sofa to crash on?  ;D
« Last Edit: March 06, 2007, 01:45:19 PM by E-man »

Offline Swima

« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2007, 01:45:06 PM »
We got a really nice break this time and with as many as three getting out of the group, I think we are in good shape for the knock out rounds. From there it is always anyone's guess.

As long as the prep is ok, we should have a good showing.

Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2007, 01:45:59 PM »

I'll be driving down to LA!!!!!  Ato, yuh got an extra sofa to crash on?  ;D

I am seriously thinking about making the trip..ah have a friend in San Diego...is that close to Carson?

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2007, 01:46:58 PM »
I think we have the better group of the other 2 caribbean countries...USA would be tough to beat at home, but with our "best" team, it's doable  ;D

Haiti's group isn't too bad either. We just gonna have to beat our closest cousins again ;D

I feel sorry for Cuba. They're gonna have to do it the hard way once more.

TnT gets the easiest group. But, in California? That's an exile ;) You will have my support in Foxboro if I am not in Miami for Haiti.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2007, 01:48:35 PM by Toussaint »
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #14 on: March 06, 2007, 01:50:27 PM »

I'll be driving down to LA!!!!!  Ato, yuh got an extra sofa to crash on?  ;D

I am seriously thinking about making the trip..ah have a friend in San Diego...is that close to Carson?

It's about 100 depending on what suburb. I actually have friends right next door in Torrance.

But how come they haven't figured out the exact dates after the draw. What still needs to be determined?

« Reply #15 on: March 06, 2007, 01:53:39 PM »
the full schedule.

talking to the queen about another football tour.

http://www.concacaf.com/competitions/goldcup/2007/downloads/GoldCupSchedule2007.pdf

« Reply #16 on: March 06, 2007, 01:54:49 PM »
we get a nice group now we can cut usa arse once we get our full team that is

« Last Edit: March 06, 2007, 02:13:32 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #18 on: March 06, 2007, 01:59:46 PM »

dream on.

jackoff eh go let that happen. expect a B+ side.

« Reply #19 on: March 06, 2007, 02:07:18 PM »

dream on.

jackoff eh go let that happen. expect a B+ side.
for real horse

« Reply #20 on: March 06, 2007, 02:12:00 PM »
boy if jacko let us play with a weak side he doh care about trinindad football, of all d things he do tht will hurt meh bad

« Reply #21 on: March 06, 2007, 02:13:53 PM »
Dat is f****d up man, from de time ah see USA in de same group wid we, ah didn't have tuh scroll down tuh find de answer, ah know T&t wasn't going tuh play in Miami  >:(  >:(  >:(. If ah not mistaking, ah doh think USA ever play de Gold Cup in Miami. Ah would really love tuh see meh bois play, but ah doh know nah, dat flight from Miami tuh California 2 damn long boi. HIGHLY BLESSED.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2007, 02:16:30 PM by SUPA »

« Reply #22 on: March 06, 2007, 02:16:48 PM »
supa,

come nah man. u living ft. lickerdale. u know how it is down there. look how hollywood and south broward done like hialeah. if u was USA why the ass u would want to play in a foreign country like miami?

« Reply #23 on: March 06, 2007, 02:18:25 PM »
Carson, CA - Home Depot Center (These are double headers, right?)

Thursday June 7:
 6:00PM USA v Guatemala
 8:00PM T&T v El Salvador

Saturday June 9:
12:00PM El Salvador v Guatemala
 2:00PM T&T v USA

Foxboro, MA

Tuesday June 12
 7:00PM USA v El Salvador
 9:00PM T&T v Guatemala

« Reply #24 on: March 06, 2007, 02:21:41 PM »
Ja!

Offline Swima

« Reply #25 on: March 06, 2007, 02:25:44 PM »
Dat is f****d up man, from de time ah see USA in de same group wid we, ah didn't have tuh scroll down tuh find de answer, ah know T&t wasn't going tuh play in Miami  >:(  >:(  >:(. If ah not mistaking, ah doh think USA ever play de Gold Cup in Miami. Ah would really love tuh see meh bois play, but ah doh know nah, dat flight from Miami tuh California 2 damn long boi. HIGHLY BLESSED.

They played in a Miami group in the 2000 Gold Cup. They had Haiti and Peru in their group. We got to the semis in that edition.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #26 on: March 06, 2007, 02:27:02 PM »
might not be ah bad time tuh tell de girlfriend we should go visit she family in San Francisco  ;D

« Reply #27 on: March 06, 2007, 02:29:23 PM »
might not be ah bad time tuh tell de girlfriend we should go visit she family in San Francisco  ;D

san fran real far from LA dred. yuh looking at a whole day drive on expensive CA gas.

is a boss town though. one of my favorites to visit.

« Reply #28 on: March 06, 2007, 02:30:17 PM »
Carson, CA - Home Depot Center (These are double headers, right?)

Thursday June 7:
 6:00PM USA v Guatemala
 8:00PM T&T v El Salvador

Saturday June 9:
12:00PM El Salvador v Guatemala
 2:00PM T&T v USA

Foxboro, MA

Tuesday June 12
 7:00PM USA v El Salvador
 9:00PM T&T v Guatemala

looks like i will be in foxsboro in june family, me marc purcell, rticluate, on de block, maybe ribbit and a few others, say wha, i wonder if ah could pull orf goin la then comin back foxsboro

When do tickets go on sale?

« Reply #29 on: March 06, 2007, 02:33:22 PM »
this is what it looking like:

game 1 & 2 - LA
game 3 boston

QF - boston or houston

Semi & Final - chicago

too much football for a man on a budget to handle.