March 29, 2024, 12:08:18 AM

Author Topic: Ministry surprised by TTFF move.  (Read 13087 times)

Offline royalian

Ministry surprised by TTFF move.
« on: March 07, 2007, 10:06:53 PM »
Ministry surprised by TTFF move.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

TOO HASTY.

Sport Minister Roger Boynes yesterday urged the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) to cooperate with the ministry as he denied suggestions that the government was not adequately supporting the football body.
On Tuesday afternoon, the T&TFF issued a press release which claimed that they were forced to immediately suspend their national football teams due to "a lack of financial support".
The local football body claimed that their operations were subsidised by T&TFF special advisor and FIFA vice-president Jack Warner and accused Boynes of not fulfilling his promises of financial assistance.
At present, the national under-17 football team, who are preparing for next month's Under-17 World Cup qualifying series, are the only T&TFF squad listed as active.
But Boynes countered that the T&TFF was in no doubt as to the process regarding the disbursement of State funds and insisted that the government deserved some respect for their continuing support.
Boynes, who had a back operation on February 26, spoke to the Express from the Laser Spine Institute in Florida where he completed his post-operative physiotherapy yesterday. He insisted that he was equally accommodating to the T&TFF and spoke to the association president, Oliver Camps, last week about the request for funding.
Camps was made aware of the procedures involved in obtaining government funding-Boynes gave the T&TFF's request at close to $183 million-and, according to Boynes, had agreed to be patient.
"The cabinet sub-committee is looking over the budget," said Boynes. "It is millions of taxpayers' money... so we must make sure that all systems are in place to account for the money. I spoke to Mr Camps last week and he said he is willing to wait until the procedure takes place.
"When you look at the support the government has given to local football, I feel they should work with us."
The Sports minister also pointed out that, although the government was committed to assisting local football, the T&TFF had a responsibility, as an autonomous body, to source their own funding from international sponsors and the private sector.
Richard Groden, the T&TFF general secretary claimed, in Tuesday's release, that the football body lacked the resources to pay their coaches. The salary of their technical staff were given as "close to US$100,000" or TT$625,000.
But when contacted yesterday by the Express, Groden refused to discuss the financial health of the T&TFF and also felt that no further clarification was necessary on their proposed suspension of national football team activity.
The T&TFF claimed it had already written to the British clubs that employ their national players and explained that their March 24 friendly fixture with Chile was now cancelled. But there was no word about similar explanations to sponsors of the "Soca Warriors" as to its supposedly calamitous state.
Last year, the T&TFF, according to its own press releases, should have received over $52 million from sponsors for its 2006 World Cup bid. This figure does not include another $7.9 million received for qualifying for the prestigious tournament or its share in television rights for pre-World Cup games that were broadcast live across Europe and other parts of the globe. Adidas alone pledged $73,036,500 to the T&TFF as part of a four-year sponsorship deal.
Boynes confirmed that the government had picked up its debt for the Warriors' qualifying campaign while the players are yet to receive a cent from the T&TFF for their efforts. So where is the money?
Groden refused to say. Warner chaired the Local Organising Committee (LOC) 2006, which was appointed as the financial arm of the T&TFF's World Cup campaign, but he has consistently refused to speak to this reporter.
Boynes said the government must be careful in its examination of the football budget and it is unlikely to be the last time the T&TFF's figures comes under scrutiny.
The Warriors have threatened to take the T&TFF to court over bonuses arising from the team's World Cup qualification and are insisting that an independent auditor peruse their accounts. The initial statement offered by the T&TFF, last September, was done by Kenny Rampersad and Company and contradicted earlier releases by the same body regarding its income.
Prior to the Germany World Cup, the T&TFF claimed to have raised $52,316,112 but, when it was time to share with the players, it insisted that the correct figure was $18,255,952. Groden, again via press release, further claimed expenses of $17,973,749-although Boynes reiterated yesterday that the government covered all expenses-and eventually offered the squad $141,102 or $5,644.08 per player on October 10, 2006.
Boynes suggested that the government have a duty to their citizens to be careful about how their money was spent although he did not infer dishonesty on the part of the T&TFF.
"The Cabinet sub-committee may want to consider (an independent auditor)," said Boynes. "And the Cabinet might want the ministry to pay salaries directly too. I do not know what will be decided but it is the Cabinet's responsibility to make sure that the payment goes where it is supposed to although we are not saying that the T&TFF won't do this."
Boynes expressed his hope that the T&TFF sorted out their own difficulties before the June CONCACAF Gold Cup tournament.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2007, 05:40:51 AM by Flex »

TTFF_saddist

Re: TOO HASTY: Ministry surprised by TTFF move
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2007, 10:21:06 PM »
Well all I can say is that I fully support the minister in this current debacle.  Where oh where has the money gone?  it appears to anyone who has the eye of a cyclops that the TTFF and "its special advisor" Jacko has been pocketing money forever.

We get TV rights and they are owned by Jacko, for the princely sum of US$!.00..what a deal eh guys and gals?

Then we get sponsorship deals, we get World Cup money, we get governmental sponsorship, and still we are dead broke?

Why?

jacko, time to sail off into the darkness with your ill-gotten money, and when you do leave, please take Fuentes, groden, camps and O'Connor with you.

PS if you have room in your luggage please take the Corneal and Wim with you.  But take care NOT to pack Alvin close to your cash, becasue it will diappear faster than you can believe.

People, please don't beleive for one minute that Jacko has any love for T&T or football, beyond what he can gain from these entities.

he is selfish and absolutely nasty.

Fuentes is his lackey as is Groden, Corneal and Wim.  Why is an unprven coach worth so much?  And what is he doing for his pay?  I suggest we bring back Porterfield and let himget treatment in St. James.  he can do no worse than Wim.

« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2007, 10:55:36 PM »
Funds raised      Qualifying Payment          Adidas 4 yr deal                televisionrights $$
$52,316,112  +    7,900,000        +  18,259,140 ($73,036,500/4) +     ??????  =      :thinking:  :o

« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2007, 11:36:53 PM »
Funds raised      Qualifying Payment          Adidas 4 yr deal                televisionrights $$
$52,316,112  +    7,900,000        +  18,259,140 ($73,036,500/4) +     ??????  =      :thinking:  :o

Are all these figures you just quoted in US or TT dollars?

« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2007, 04:24:25 AM »
The more and more i read about this the more i find the Ministry must not give a damn cent. I getting real cynical with more information. TTFF pretty much blackmailing the population of Trinidad and Tobago holding us to ransom with football.

186 Million dollars.... And when d money run out in a year or two, dey gonna suspend all programs again. The key quote in the whole artile is

The Sports minister also pointed out that, although the government was committed to assisting local football, the T&TFF had a responsibility, as an autonomous body, to source their own funding from international sponsors and the private sector.

I guess this is their tactical plan

« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2007, 04:52:58 AM »
Anybody who still grateful to JW for 'supporting' us for so many years is a backside. What was cloudy is now in plain sight. Jack Warner is now actively sabotaging football in T&T.

Whey de money gone ? Steups !

Re: Ministry surprised by TTFF move.
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2007, 07:15:40 AM »
Yep! Isn't it the norm...one side say one thing and the other, well.. lets just say we've come to expect this.

it's as if we've been stuck in the same merry-go-round for how many years now?

« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2007, 08:10:28 AM »
Count on Lasana !!!!!!!!!!!!!   ;)

The TTFF will not disclose they accounts to anyone so I guess they will get no help, because Jack dirty, he want to use the money and not account for it...

Millions of Money Missing.

Un-accounted for. Maybe its in one of Jack family account, because I know Jack smater than that.

« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2007, 08:19:45 AM »
At least the Ministry are placing numbers in front of us. TTFF keep refusing to answer question.

« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2007, 08:28:42 AM »
With all this ole talk jus make sure come june we in d Gold cup eh to save us from embarrasment

Offline christiano

« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2007, 08:34:44 AM »
My issue is to find out from Mr Boynes that considering all the information is provided to him, how long will it take Cabinet to make a decision and how long will it take for the disbursement of funds and specifically the payment of Coaches which HE promised over 8 months now.

« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2007, 08:41:34 AM »
My issue is to find out from Mr Boynes that considering all the information is provided to him, how long will it take Cabinet to make a decision and how long will it take for the disbursement of funds and specifically the payment of Coaches which HE promised over 8 months now.
For real boss

« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2007, 09:02:07 AM »
Why is it even a cabinet level decision? What is the purpose of the Ministry of Sports? Don't they have a Budget? What is Boynes purpose?

WTF!?

Steups...TNT politics needs a total revamping. How to do that boy?

It's no wonder that Jackula could do whatever the hell he wants.

« Reply #13 on: March 08, 2007, 09:07:18 AM »
For real boss
Why aren't the players getting the money the TTFF promised them before dat ??? ??? steeeeeeps

« Reply #14 on: March 08, 2007, 09:12:30 AM »
All this is a cover to distract the attention from the players lawyers and the TTFF. If Jack can prove the TTFF broke then the players cannot sue or win a law suit, allyuh think Jack stupid !!! you cannot get anything from a bankrupt federation and who will look bad in de end, ent de players if they pursue...
« Last Edit: March 08, 2007, 09:23:40 AM by Flex »

« Reply #15 on: March 08, 2007, 09:14:41 AM »
Why is it even a cabinet level decision? What is the purpose of the Ministry of Sports? Don't they have a Budget? What is Boynes purpose?

WTF!?

Steups...TNT politics needs a total revamping. How to do that boy?

It's no wonder that Jackula could do whatever the hell he wants.
It is not tht simple u lookin at millions of tax payers money tht he hav 2 give to a currupt organization, is our money jumpin up in this to eh

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #16 on: March 08, 2007, 10:07:29 AM »
It is not Mr Boynes money to give SocaFan. Cabinet have to be involve. It not an all fours match, those decision take time. Also would you hand over your car keys to someone you dont know have a driver permit? Let TTTF come upfront with the books and I am sure the ministry will try to get what they need.
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #17 on: March 08, 2007, 10:39:42 AM »
So basically Cabinet going to approve it next week and decide how they want to monitor the money.

Is the sub-committee communicating with the TTFF?  If they come up with a system and TTFF reject it we back to square one and more time wasted.  Worse yet more wrangling in the press, uncertainty and PURE POLITICS.

drama drama in an election year

If this sub-committee come up with a good system they should use it to find the $1.6 billion they cah account for in CEPEP   :devil:
« Last Edit: March 08, 2007, 10:41:19 AM by dcs »

Offline christiano

« Reply #18 on: March 08, 2007, 10:42:00 AM »
It is not Mr Boynes money to give SocaFan. Cabinet have to be involve. It not an all fours match, those decision take time. Also would you hand over your car keys to someone you dont know have a driver permit? Let TTTF come upfront with the books and I am sure the ministry will try to get what they need.

I have no arguments about the need for accountability.But Boynes knew all of that and still went on a stage and made a promise to PAY COACHES !!!!! Why did he ? What does he expect the coaches to do while "cabinet deliberates". Thats why Simoes left.

Boynes wanted ICC and LOC to wait for cricket bids..We got the brown bag package !!! He wanted them to wait too ??????????????????????
Is that Jack fault too ??

Boynes promise Bovel a swimming pool !! Where the pool ???? How many years past ????? Is that Jack fault too ??

While every side has their fault on this matter. Does life stops while Boynes takes gods time to be satisfied ????
« Last Edit: March 08, 2007, 10:43:45 AM by christiano »

« Reply #19 on: March 08, 2007, 10:59:47 AM »

I have no arguments about the need for accountability.But Boynes knew all of that and still went on a stage and made a promise to PAY COACHES !!!!! Why did he ? What does he expect the coaches to do while "cabinet deliberates". Thats why Simoes left.

Boynes wanted ICC and LOC to wait for cricket bids..We got the brown bag package !!! He wanted them to wait too ??????????????????????
Is that Jack fault too ??

Boynes promise Bovel a swimming pool !! Where the pool ???? How many years past ????? Is that Jack fault too ??

While every side has their fault on this matter. Does life stops while Boynes takes gods time to be satisfied ????
both sides do they mess, one thief aka jacko and one stick aka roger rabit  ;D

« Reply #20 on: March 08, 2007, 11:50:19 AM »
Look , Jack just caught alyuh. Blame the Gov't. People you all are educated, don't let bipartisan thinking cloud your ability to see what is in front of you.

Boynes cannot just write a check for all that money, it have to be approved. Ok, and even if he could do you really think he should just out and do it? Come on don't be so naive. Somebody has to get the TTFF to show the books and maybe this is what Boynes trying to get them to do. Look Groden will not answer any question about where the revenue from the WC gone.

But when contacted yesterday by the Express, Groden refused to discuss the financial health of the T&TFF and also felt that no further clarification was necessary on their proposed suspension of national football team activity

Why we not putting pressure on them to explain their spending.

We cannot buy "cat in bag" no more, lets see what you doing and then we will help. If the TTFF show where the money went through an independent auditor, then the Gov't should hold an emergency meeting to disperse funds as quickly as possible.
As it stands the Gov't cannot and should not give any monies (except for outstanding coaches fees, and even then make the checks out to Wim and CO.) to the TTFF, because the TTFF cannot show how and why they need it.

Ok school is about to start, but the school did not send home a book list, however, they send a note telling you we need money to buy the books for your children to use in school. What Willl you think? First you wil want to see what books they talking about, then how much they cost, how relevant are the books to the grade the kids in, and what access will the kids have to the books among others question.  Now the school refuse to answer your question or give you any insight into why they need the money. As far as you know the PTA just got through keeping a big fete in the school yard to buy the same books they asking you for money to buy. Plus They get money from the grocery down the road to buy other supplies, and the education board just give them money from the budget.

Will you still give them money to buy the books?

Offline christiano

« Reply #21 on: March 08, 2007, 11:57:21 AM »
Look , Jack just caught alyuh. Blame the Gov't. People you all are educated, don't let bipartisan thinking cloud your ability to see what is in front of you.

Boynes cannot just write a check for all that money, it have to be approved. Ok, and even if he could do you really think he should just out and do it? Come on don't be so naive. Somebody has to get the TTFF to show the books and maybe this is what Boynes trying to get them to do. Look Groden will not answer any question about where the revenue from the WC gone.

But when contacted yesterday by the Express, Groden refused to discuss the financial health of the T&TFF and also felt that no further clarification was necessary on their proposed suspension of national football team activity

Why we not putting pressure on them to explain their spending.

We cannot buy "cat in bag" no more, lets see what you doing and then we will help. If the TTFF show where the money went through an independent auditor, then the Gov't should hold an emergency meeting to disperse funds as quickly as possible.
As it stands the Gov't cannot and should not give any monies (except for outstanding coaches fees, and even then make the checks out to Wim and CO.) to the TTFF, because the TTFF cannot show how and why they need it.

Ok school is about to start, but the school did not send home a book list, however, they send a note telling you we need money to buy the books for your children to use in school. What Willl you think? First you wil want to see what books they talking about, then how much they cost, how relevant are the books to the grade the kids in, and what access will the kids have to the books among others question.  Now the school refuse to answer your question or give you any insight into why they need the money. As far as you know the PTA just got through keeping a big fete in the school yard to buy the same books they asking you for money to buy. Plus They get money from the grocery down the road to buy other supplies, and the education board just give them money from the budget.

Will you still give them money to buy the books?

take however long you want to disburse general funds !! But please pay the coaches as promised !

« Reply #22 on: March 08, 2007, 12:10:23 PM »
scotch and coconut water

« Reply #23 on: March 08, 2007, 03:09:31 PM »
I work in the Public Service and I know it take forever to get things dome. Jack taught for years so he knows how long it takes to get things goin. It took me 3 yrs to set a programme that I was hired to set up. Things doh happen fast in the Public Service

So if Boynes promise to pay coaches everybody kmow it go take a cabinet note to write and a cabinet minute with the decision then it go take months before the instructions to pay etc.

So if u doin busines with the gov't of TNT you know that it go take long for things to happen. So u plan your business and when it happen it happen.

It eh right but that is how it is. If you want your bill to be paid the PS have to approve bills does sit down for months.

This on top of the fact that them fellas cyah be trusted mean it go take real lomg before they get any money.

Where Craib and TSTT money that they promise?

« Reply #24 on: March 08, 2007, 03:18:47 PM »
scotch and coconut water

:rotfl:   ;D Yuh know! It amazes me tha people after all these years does still believe the shit Camps, Jack and Groden does spit out. If was not for the FIFA force field all dem in jail by now playing dominos & Sam would ah get ah chance to buss some slap on dem.  ;D

« Reply #25 on: March 08, 2007, 03:55:01 PM »
scotch and coconut water

:rotfl:   ;D Yuh know! It amazes me tha people after all these years does still believe the shit Camps, Jack and Groden does spit out. If was not for the FIFA force field all dem in jail by now playing dominos & Sam would ah get ah chance to buss some slap on dem.  ;D
So what yuh trying tuh say, Sam woulda be in de big house too?  :rotfl:

« Reply #26 on: March 08, 2007, 04:13:41 PM »
scotch and coconut water

So what yuh trying tuh say, Sam woulda be in de big house too?  :rotfl:

Like yuh forget his likkle adventure when he went home last time  ;D
Sam where yuh?

« Reply #27 on: March 08, 2007, 04:34:58 PM »

In a logical world ....It is Mr. Boynes money to give!! Isn't he the Minister of Sports!? Why should cabinet be involved in this decision?

The question I am asking is what is the relevance of the Ministry of Sport and Mr.Boynes. What, is he just a messenger boy waiting for the cheque to cut to deliver it to TTFF?

Again, doesn't the Ministry of sport project a budget and have funds to cover sport interests in the country? The decision for cabinet should be how much money to allocate to the Ministry of sport, and thats that. Not directly how much to give to football or any individual sport. The latter should be a job for the Ministry of Sports directly, and there should be a general accounting office to keep things transparent. Any other way would just be inefficient, and since obviously this is not how it works in TNT, there will always be a bottleneck of issues for Cabinet to handle. Cabinet cyar (or shouldn't be anyway) involved in this decision. It should be Mr.Boynes neck on the line over how to spend the money. What are the taxpayers paying him to do?

What is the point of having a whole ministry of Sports, (not to mention culture and youth affairs, because them other two doh seem to exist in the eyes of government worse than sport), when they apparently don't have a budget and can't decide how to spend money? What de hell do they do then? (This I have always wondered).THIS is the real waste of taxpayer's money.

It's not just our politicians that need to go, its our political system.

Listen...ah man asked a question the other day if forumites would throw in their hat with Jack in a business venture involving football. I was just joking and say I would, because me and Jack would make a killing. To be honest, Jack is ah crook no doubt about that, BUT, The Government of TNT and the citizens tolerate the bullshit and allow taxpayers money time and again to be ripped off. The only real corruption shakeout there has ever been is with the UNC and that was just politically motivated bullshit, thats all. The whole mess that is TNT football is laughable. If the people of TNT doh seem to mind, why not make endless money from them? What yuh think Beenhacker, Wim and them doing?

We know Jack is a damn thief. We know that. But Jack is being facilitated by stupidity.

« Reply #28 on: March 08, 2007, 04:44:06 PM »
imagine if de government had given in to Jacks award campaign ...where would we be now ? we would have had to cancel any tarnished award ..after all who would want to associated wid dat ?

« Reply #29 on: March 08, 2007, 06:08:16 PM »
Ah putting in mih 2 cents again.

Last year, de same Roger Boynes say dat he had a written contract (he wave it in front Andy Johnson on TV6), dat say ticket prices for games will remain de same....de same TTFF Jackula turn round and charge fans double what was being paid before de team qualify.....
Ent it have a saying....once bitten, twice shy?.....I want to see how Boynes handling dis one....

Den again...last year Jackula did say "Yesterday was yesterday and today is today....."    ::)
Ah feel goh be de same shit all over again.....sigh....