April 28, 2024, 01:18:28 PM

Author Topic: Tobago Jazzz Festival  (Read 2014 times)

Tobago Jazzz Festival
« on: March 08, 2007, 10:12:26 PM »
Can yuh believe dis big time Jazz festival in the sister isle and no pan ,all the foreign artiste an no pan alyuh hear wat ah sayin  no pan, iz pan realy in danger oh wah, wat ah shame, them  promoters come from foreign oh wah ? 

Re: Tobago Jazzz Festival
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2007, 09:27:56 AM »
That Jazz Festival doh play Jazz and yuh expect to hear pan?  :devil:

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2007, 03:12:07 PM »
Can yuh believe dis big time Jazz festival in the sister isle and no pan ,all the foreign artiste an no pan alyuh hear wat ah sayin  no pan, iz pan realy in danger oh wah, wat ah shame, them  promoters come from foreign oh wah ? 

there are Jazz performers in TnT but yet dey bringing foreign acts worth thousands of dollars to sing everything EXCEPT Jazz

The Boothman brothers
Sean Thomas
Michael Austin
jus to name a few and dem bring acts like Shaggy and P Diddy for JAZZ ???
is to shoot dem effin promoters and dem >:(

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2007, 03:17:10 PM »

there are Jazz performers in TnT but yet dey bringing foreign acts worth thousands of dollars to sing everything EXCEPT Jazz

The Boothman brothers
Sean Thomas
Michael Austin
jus to name a few and dem bring acts like Shaggy and P Diddy for JAZZ ???
is to shoot dem effin promoters and dem >:(

Is de names dey like not de music.
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2007, 05:31:44 PM »
Dem promoters thinking jus like you it iz so sad , pan suppoze to be opening the show my breddar, respect to we culture come on wolfman ah expect better than that from yuh, wah happen yuh been in foreign to long oh wat ,like yuh loosin it .

Offline socachatter

• ey boy look ah make
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2007, 05:46:09 PM »
ah watch the lineup a few days ago and wonder mehself how dey ent include the likes of boothman and sean thomas.  and yes zulu yuh right - wey de pan?  is not really a jazz festival.  but ah watching de night with diana, heather headley and mary j, and then eath wind and fire!  ah organizing tuh make de turn.  IF ah could get a flight. 
"Moral certainty is always a sign of cultural inferiority.  The more uncivilized the man, the surer he is that he knows precisely what is right and what is wrong.  All human progress, even in morals, has been the work of men who doubted current moral values, not of men who tried to enforce them."

« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2007, 05:46:44 PM »
Liam played in St Lucia Jazz Festival 2 years straight...

so it more dan sad dat Tobago have a "jazz" festival and not one tenor pan pon'
steups

Speaking ah Jazz Festival
Check dey line up for St Lucia 4th -13th May 2007
If ah reaching just for 2 shows I good.

Al Jarreau/George Benson <-----------oh gorm
Will Downing/Gerald Albright <------------ ah want to dead oh gorm
Norman Brown Package <--------classica and smooth jazz
Boo Hinkson & Friends <-------- Jazz group
Natalie Cole <--------- Jazz singer
Isaac Hayes <---------Shaft
TBA
Pete Escovedo
John Legend <--------- oy
Blue Mango
Tania Maria
David Murray <------Smooth Jazz
W.E.S Group
Kali
Prolifik
Ma Mi La Kay
Barbara Cadet <--------Jazz singer
Nicole David
Charly Trio
Laborie Steel Pan  <--------- PAN
Ronald Boo Hinkson <------Trinidadian ?
Fuego Latino
Exile One <--------they riddim is to throw waist too
« Last Edit: March 09, 2007, 05:49:31 PM by TriniCana »

Offline socachatter

• ey boy look ah make
« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2007, 05:48:09 PM »
ah watch the lineup a few days ago and wonder mehself how dey ent include the likes of boothman and sean thomas.  and yes zulu yuh right - wey de pan?  is not really a jazz festival.  but ah watching de night with diana, heather headley and mary j, and then eath wind and fire!  ah organizing tuh make de turn.  IF ah could get a flight. 
"Moral certainty is always a sign of cultural inferiority.  The more uncivilized the man, the surer he is that he knows precisely what is right and what is wrong.  All human progress, even in morals, has been the work of men who doubted current moral values, not of men who tried to enforce them."

« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2007, 11:59:08 PM »
LABOREI STEEL PAN,iz playin in STLUCIA jazz festival  and Trinidad & Tobago iz the land of Calypsos and steel bands and they exclude we own culture from they show , alyuh know the worstist part of it all we show the world again that we doh give ah darm bout we own thing .it not looking good it seemz like things iz begining to fall apart.

« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2007, 03:14:22 PM »
Still don't see what's all the fuss about here. In the previous 2 years there was no Jazz and I recall one pan side the 1st year.

If people complain about it it's kept very quiet or it's not done to the right people because nothing has changed.

« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2007, 05:42:52 PM »
The way in which you say it , it sound like yuh sayin that we doh need pan in the festival ,  ah understand wah yeh sayin now , buh at the same time , it jus  to show how concoiue the promoters iz or for that matter the people of trinbago, buh they own culture , talking bout culture Carnival  jus finish and ah r shure if yuh stand  and listen yuh could still hear the soca and  pan playin

« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2007, 10:12:56 AM »
The way in which you say it , it sound like yuh sayin that we doh need pan in the festival ,  ah understand wah yeh sayin now , buh at the same time , it jus  to show how concoiue the promoters iz or for that matter the people of trinbago, buh they own culture , talking bout culture Carnival  jus finish and ah r shure if yuh stand  and listen yuh could still hear the soca and  pan playin

Well said. As consumers we are too laid back. Since the 1st one a group of us (about 6) wrote to the promoters saying that 1) there was no jazz in a jazz festival and 2) more local jazz artists could be included. Not even the DJs play jazz during the breaks; unless that changed last year. Who else complains to the promoters? Besides that, if we don't get what we want don't we spend our US$1500 to go anyway? Then we get into our little groups and complain about what was missing. No wonder every year we complain about the same things.

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
« Reply #12 on: March 30, 2007, 08:15:34 PM »
The point is..We should use this upcoming event to showcase our culture...regardless if they have or have not been doing it in the past...Dont understand why local promoters feel our culture should only be showcased during the Carnival season.. :-\
« Last Edit: March 30, 2007, 08:17:18 PM by problemjaydeess »
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!