July 26, 2024, 07:42:17 PM

Author Topic: 'Champions League' surface at Marvin Lee...set to open mid-April  (Read 2214 times)

'Champions League' surface at Marvin Lee...set to open mid-April.

The newly laid down artificial football pitch at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Centre of Excellence has been described as “Champions’ League” quality and is rated far higher than any other of its kind in the Western world..
This was the view of visiting FIFA consultant Dr Eric Harrison of European-based company Medici Sports  Harrison inspected the surface on Thursday morning in the company of FIFA Vice President Jack Warner and other local football officials including TTFF General Secretary Richard Groden, FIFA Development Officer Harold Taylor, Deputy FIFA development officer Darryl Warner as well as venue manager Neil Mollineau, Brian Ibrahim of Terra Forma, the local contracting company involved and project manager Gerard “Tex” Teixeira.
“The impression is excellent. What we have done is used local people where we could but there was also the need for specialist technical knowledge which was the reason for bring in a team from Europe to ensure that everything was spot on. They have all done a wonderful job. This is meant to be a premier facility. It is the highest level achieved in artificial terms today,” Harrison told TTFF Media in reference to the surface which is idea put forward by Warner as he felt it would be a massive boost to the staging of matches here. It is also part of the second FIFA Goal Project in which leisure-grass Belgium-based company Domo was also involved.
The revamped facility which will include the restructuring of covered stands is likely to be opened in mid-April according to Warner who also met with Harrison and his team to discuss plans for the maintenance of it
“Maintenance is the key here,” Harrison added and when asked as to whether there will still be some form of discomfort for players who have in the past complained about the negative effects on their legs after playing on the surface, Harrison explained that with this pitch there should be no grumbles. All that is required is for players to maybe get a feel of the surface.
“The two star level has been designed for the highest level of play. It is used in the Champions’ League and also for World Cup qualifiers. You can now play World Cup qualifying football here because this has been approved by FIFA. Normally for this type of surface you begin at level one but here you have gone right to the top… there isn’t any better than this,” Harrison added.
He said a natural field can have up to 300 hours of football played on it per year whereas the new artificial surface at the Marvin Lee Stadium can now accommodate 2000 hours of action per year, roughly six hours per day.

Re: 'Champions League' surface at Marvin Lee...set to open mid-April
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2007, 03:06:51 PM »
What is the seating capacity off this stadium 

« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2007, 03:39:45 PM »
If nothing else it should be good for the games that draw a smaller type crowd for a more intimate setting

« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2007, 07:28:42 AM »
i guess thats where the money went ???

« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2007, 10:37:28 AM »
Personally I think football on artificial surfaces just does not play the same. I watched the U17's on it and it was difficult for players to strike the ball properly, unless its dam dribble properly and the ball plays too fast.

Offline EJA

« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2007, 11:19:24 AM »
de worse ting that could happen. yuh go see how injuries will start to pile up.

Offline Papachunks

« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2007, 12:05:16 PM »
How de hell we fitting the same crowds we got for world cup qualifiers if that stadium not even half the size of the National one......that just doh make sense. Unless they mean to play the earlier matches that dont draw big crowds.

Offline fivers

« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2007, 12:38:19 PM »
The good thing about us having this, is for instances when we play Costa Rica at Costa Rica. When our boys played there we could not handle the speed of the pitch. This is a good way for us to prepare. This is the reason why they are so good at home. That was an excellent move. Honestly, I never liked those turfs but I heard this one is good as it can get.

« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2007, 12:45:30 PM »
i guess thats where the money went ???

for real.  >:(

« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2007, 01:07:06 PM »
de ball does bounce too much on artificial surfaces

« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2007, 04:11:35 PM »
I'll wait for some player responses to the surface before i pass judgement. I have played on artificial turf before and i doh like, but as was stated, this is what they call a level two surface and comparable to champions league surfaces so it hadda be worth something.  Lewwe wait and see how it actually plays