March 29, 2024, 01:30:23 AM

Author Topic: We are in an automatic promotion place  (Read 3203 times)

Offline Cartman

We are in an automatic promotion place
« on: March 17, 2007, 12:19:21 PM »
The table looks very nice tonight, 2nd top and only 3 points behind Derby. West Brom play Birmingham in the morning so I am hoping for a West Brom win.

It was a scrappy game today, Hull never threatened to score all game and at half time we should have been at least 4 - 0 up.

Yorke has another good game, he hardly moved from the centre circle, won the battle in midfield and kept it simple.

Good goal from Stern John after a hash from the goalie, makes up for his miss on Tuesday night  :rotfl:

Crowd was 38,500, not bad for a championship side eh
Roy Keane's Red & White Army

Re: We are in an automatic promotion place
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2007, 02:32:09 PM »
Cartman your personal singing  :D has improved from last week as the lads came away with a victory
Yeah Evans and John.
We have to find a way to convert those misses into Goals.
there are way too many misses.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2007, 04:43:54 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2007, 04:21:40 PM »
 :beermug: WELL DONE. big up to stern john

« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2007, 04:39:25 PM »
Birmingham have 2 games in hand though.

« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2007, 04:45:39 PM »
Birmingham have 2 games in hand though.

We have to back West Brom hard for that one. Even if is a tie and Birmingham get a point they go be cutting it close to Sunlun. Birmingham have tuh lose.

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2007, 06:33:20 PM »
Cartman where is the video of the goals? ???
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

Offline Cartman

« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2007, 06:57:24 PM »
Cartman where is the video of the goals? ???

sorry been out celebrating  :-[
Roy Keane's Red & White Army

« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2007, 08:12:04 PM »
« Last Edit: March 18, 2007, 02:28:01 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline black chinee

« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2007, 08:12:49 PM »
good to hear.... congrats to stern john

Offline JW

• Mackem Abroad
  • Eat My Goal
    • Black Cats of North America
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2007, 07:36:43 AM »
Were.....   :(

Baggies 1 Brum 1

Would have taken that result before kick-off, although it would have been nice if West Brom had been able to defend a lead against 10 men.  >:(

Good news is that Cardiff have 3 key players doubtful for our next game at Ninian Park.... the Magic Carpet ride continues.  :beermug:
Hey, careful, man, there's a beverage here!

Offline Papachunks

« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2007, 09:03:51 AM »
Well das arite, now southampton have a better chance at the playoffs because of WBA, Jones might still have a chance.

« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2007, 11:00:54 AM »
West Brom 1-1 Birmingham 

Johnson (right) scored his first goal in over three years
Birmingham moved to second place in the table after coming from behind with 10 men to draw at West Bromwich Albion.
The game exploded into life on the hour when Dean Kiely courageously blocked Rowan Vine's close-range volley.

West Brom, who had lost their previous three games, made the most of that reprieve as Paul McShane sidefooted home a cross from Jason Koumas.

Julian Gray was then sent off for tripping McShane but Damien Johnson's stunning volley gave Blues a point.

Interview: Birmingham boss Steve Bruce

Johnson, who suffered a broken jaw when the two teams met at St Andrews earlier in the season, displayed exemplary technique in guiding a curling, left-footed volley past Kiely's despairing dive.

Neither side could claim anything for artistic merit in a game that was admittedly played in difficult conditions.

Light snow flurries and a biting wind punctuated a stop-start match that left both keepers with little to do until Kiely's dramatic intervention to thwart Vine.

606: DEBATE
Give your thoughts on the match 

Kiely spread his body to create a huge barrier that enabled him to block Vine's goalbound volley.

West Brom seemed to draw strength from Kiely's heroics and McShane swept them into the lead with a low shot following Koumas' cross.

As Birmingham searched for an equaliser the visitors were soon a man down after Gray felled McShane as the West Brom goalscorer surged towards goal.

Despite their numerical superiority, West Brom were unable to establish control of the game and with four minutes remaining Birmingham snatched a point, thanks to Johnson's first goal in over three years.

Birmingham would have gone top if they had won at The Hawthorns, although manager Steve Bruce has the consolation of still having a game in hand over leaders Derby and third-placed Sunderland.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

West Bromwich Albion manager Tony Mowbray:
"Of course we're frustrated. It's a game we put a lot of work into and didn't get our reward. It was a wonder strike that got them a point.
"I know there comes a time when you have to look at the results but we are functioning very well as a team.

"We've been lacking a cutting edge, but that's something we have to work on."

Birmingham manager Steve Bruce:
"We needed that resilience and took a bit of a gung-ho approach and thankfully Damien popped up with a wonder strike.
"I've had him with me for five years and I will never spend another £50,000 like I did on him.

"The goal he scored was possibly the best he has scored in his career."

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

West Brom: Kiely, McShane, Clement, Sodje, Robinson, Gera (MacDonald 55), Koren, Greening, Koumas (Carter 84), Kamara, Ellington.
Subs Not Used: Daniels, Phillips, Hodgkiss.

Booked: Greening, McShane.

Goals: McShane 64.

Birmingham: Doyle, Kelly, Martin Taylor (Jerome 75), Jaidi, Sadler, Johnson, Muamba (Larsson 82), Clemence, Gray, Bendtner, Vine (Campbell 75).
Subs Not Used: Maik Taylor, Nafti.

Sent Off: Gray (66).

Booked: Clemence.

Goals: Johnson 86.

Att: 21,434.

Ref: M Riley (W Yorkshire).

« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2007, 11:22:39 AM »
Southampton need to step it up if they want to get anywhere.  Ppl doin them favours but like dey doh want no points.
I guess they waitin on Jones' return.

Offline Co Durham

• Were gonna need a bigger boat..
« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2007, 01:02:26 PM »
Next match, Cardiff away..isn't it?

Hear Chopra is adoubt for that game and that the defender Loovrens is out for the season...

All help is welcome but there will be a welcome in the hillsides... ;)
Un chat noir c'est pour plus d'une saison c'est pour toujours bonny lads, pour toujours.

« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2007, 06:56:29 PM »
« Last Edit: March 18, 2007, 07:03:52 PM by Socapro »