April 27, 2024, 02:02:53 PM

Author Topic: Tech Help...Speeding up your confuser!  (Read 3527 times)

Tech Help...Speeding up your confuser!
« on: March 20, 2007, 02:42:42 PM »
I need some techy help today
what are the things that I have to do to my Computer Confuser to speed it up..I cyar afford to buy a dual core machine just yet.
Thanks
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Re: Tech Help...Speeding up your confuser!
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2007, 02:46:28 PM »
1. defrag
2. get rid of spyware/trojans/malware
3. get rid of temporary files (from browser activity and other sources, and prior to de-fragging)
4. max out on RAM (a big win)
5. run Linux/Solaris, anything but Windoze :-)

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2007, 02:53:32 PM »
As Cantona mentioned.. put as much ram in as you can. Its cheap and very simple to install. Also check to see how many programs load when you boot up. You can remove some so they won't hog your resources.

run > msconfig > startup...

Edit : don't forget to also clean up your registry.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2007, 03:41:08 PM by Jumbie »

« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2007, 02:54:27 PM »
1. defrag...Cool know about that
2. get rid of spyware/trojans/malware...Yeah but what to use it dem place den?
3. get rid of temporary files (from browser activity and other sources, and prior to de-fragging)..Done that
4. max out on RAM (a big win)....Doing that tomorrow
5. run Linux/Solaris, anything but Windoze :-) ...........buh?.......buh?  ;D ;D....nooooooooooooooooo :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: what do I do about all my Windows based programs ???

Thanks for your suggestions
« Last Edit: March 20, 2007, 02:56:17 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2007, 05:38:13 PM »
WC, what kind of programs you find slow? figure out whether they are memory-intensive, CPU-intensive, network-intensive or graphics-intensive and proceed accordingly.

« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2007, 06:52:08 PM »
As Cantona mentioned.. put as much ram in as you can. Its cheap and very simple to install. Also check to see how many programs load when you boot up. You can remove some so they won't hog your resources.

run > msconfig > startup...

Edit : don't forget to also clean up your registry.

Good one but if yu doh know what to delete in regedit den doh play wid it, you might delete something dat might be for the OS and den yu in sh*t street after.  Go brave brudda :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2007, 08:25:22 PM »

I notice that  SVCHOST.exe  can be a huge processor HOG when it randomly feel like it.

Also, I notice Windows/Microsoft update is a much bigger ordeal than it used to be.  I guess they up the ante expecting people to have more powerful machines.

Anyway...use task manager to monitor what going on when your PC moving sluggish.

SVCHOST is a front for other things like Windows Update and some other VITAL processes.  Hard to tell what it fronting for without getting complicated.  If you ever see it using 99% of your processor...disable Windows update TEMPORARILY and see what happen.  I saw a dramatic drop.

If that is the problem u can schedule windows update to run at a convenient time rather than whenever it feel like it.  Just make sure to have it on otherwise your PC may be vulnerable.

More RAM usually solve plenty.  1 Gig?

« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2007, 09:22:02 PM »
download Hijack This..found here http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html
then run a scan and save the log
the log should be in notepad form
then post the log here
if ah ent around ah sure one ah dem fellas go help yuh
btw..since yuh asking this kinda question..dont even run 'regedit'  :D

this is what a logfile look like:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.0
Scan saved at 10:19:39 PM, on 3/20/2007
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\WinSys.exe
C:\Program Files\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\sched.exe
C:\Program Files\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\avguard.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\tcpsvcs.exe
C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\SMAgent.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\WgaTray.exe
C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\YahooMessenger.exe
C:\Program Files\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\avgnt.exe
C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\MSNGAM~1\Windows\zclientm.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Program Files\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sb/msgr8/*http://www.yahoo.com/ext/search/search.html
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sp/msgr8/*http://www.yahoo.com
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/su/msgr8/*http://www.yahoo.com
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sb/msgr8/*http://www.yahoo.com/ext/search/search.html
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sp/msgr8/*http://www.yahoo.com
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://us.rd.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/su/msgr8/*http://www.yahoo.com
R3 - URLSearchHook: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll
O2 - BHO: Yahoo! Toolbar Helper - {02478D38-C3F9-4EFB-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll
O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Reader Link Helper - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: Skype add-on (mastermind) - {22BF413B-C6D2-4d91-82A9-A0F997BA588C} - C:\PROGRA~1\Skype\Phone\IEPlugin\SKYPEI~1.DLL
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PRONoMgr.exe] "C:\Program Files\Intel\NCS\PROSet\PRONoMgr.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PtiuPbmd] "Rundll32.exe" ptipbm.dll,SetWriteBack
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NVCLOCK] rundll32 nvclock.dll,fnNvclock
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [avgnt] "C:\Program Files\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\avgnt.exe" /min
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundFusion] RunDll32 hercplgs.cpl,BootEntryPoint
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KernelFaultCheck] %systemroot%\system32\dumprep 0 -k
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinSys] C:\WINDOWS\system32\WinSys.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LiveMonitor] C:\Program Files\MSI\Live Update 3\LMonitor.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SW20] C:\WINDOWS\system32\sw20.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SW24] C:\WINDOWS\system32\sw24.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe"  -osboot
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] C:\WINDOWS\system32\mstask.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [EA Core] "C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\EA Link\Core.exe" -silent
O9 - Extra button: Skype - {77BF5300-1474-4EC7-9980-D32B190E9B07} - C:\PROGRA~1\Skype\Phone\IEPlugin\SKYPEI~1.DLL
O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=39204
O16 - DPF: {30528230-99f7-4bb4-88d8-fa1d4f56a2ab} (YInstStarter Class) - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common\yinsthelper.dll
O16 - DPF: {3EA4FA88-E0BE-419A-A732-9B79B87A6ED0} (CTVUAxCtrl Object) - http://dl.tvunetworks.com/TVUAx.cab
O16 - DPF: {4F1E5B1A-2A80-42CA-8532-2D05CB959537} (MSN Photo Upload Tool) - http://by113fd.bay113.hotmail.msn.com/resources/MsnPUpld.cab
O16 - DPF: {FE0BD779-44EE-4A4B-AA2E-743C63F2E5E6} (IWinAmpActiveX Class) - http://pdl.stream.aol.com/downloads/aol/unagi/ampx_en_dl.cab
O18 - Protocol: cetihpz - {CF184AD3-CDCB-4168-A3F7-8E447D129300} - C:\Program Files\HP\hpcoretech\comp\hpuiprot.dll
O18 - Protocol: msnim - {828030A1-22C1-4009-854F-8E305202313F} - "C:\PROGRA~1\MSNMES~1\msgrapp.dll" (file missing)
O18 - Protocol: skype4com - {FFC8B962-9B40-4DFF-9458-1830C7DD7F5D} - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\Skype\SKYPE4~1.DLL
O23 - Service: AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic Scheduler - Avira GmbH - C:\Program Files\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\sched.exe
O23 - Service: AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic Guard - AVIRA GmbH - C:\Program Files\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\avguard.exe
O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\11\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
O23 - Service: Intel NCS NetService - Intel(R) Corporation - C:\Program Files\Intel\NCS\Sync\NetSvc.exe
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
O23 - Service: Pml Driver HPZ12 - HP - C:\WINDOWS\system32\HPZipm12.exe
O23 - Service: SoundMAX Agent Service - Analog Devices, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\SMAgent.exe

« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2007, 05:38:14 AM »
Search on the net for registry cleaner. It a simple program....just open tools->registry cleanup->do them all..........it finds all unneeded entries in the registry. Also you could check the front page for programs that you know you had and dont have any more and delete the entries.

Next ting....i need a listing of essential windows processes. I give them my laptop to configure for a new network in school....it wasnt achieving its potential before....it worse now. I hadda wait till school close to do the reinstall like i planning to...but in the mean time i want to know the processes you could do without so i go stop them from loading.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2007, 05:42:00 AM by Bourbon »
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2007, 06:35:19 AM »
lemee jus put it plain and simple for we commoners of what all dem techies saying....

1. uplug de comp.
2. find ah window not Windows OS but ah window preferably of de 5th floor and up.
3. well ah go let yuh figure out step 3   ;D

« Reply #10 on: March 21, 2007, 06:45:15 AM »
lemee jus put it plain and simple for we commoners of what all dem techies saying....

1. uplug de comp.
2. find ah window not Windows OS but ah window preferably of de 5th floor and up.
3. well ah go let yuh figure out step 3   ;D

Or

1. Take said laptop and find a door
2. Place firmly below door's edge (At bottom) and push in at a 30 degree angle

Now you have a perfect door stop  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #11 on: March 21, 2007, 06:51:18 AM »
allyuh 4cars wicked eh!

BTW.. ah notice westcoast posting bout flying kite.. no wonder the friggin computer slow..to much porn for it to digest. juss pull een one ah dem Asian smallies it have out dey and ah bet the computer will run faster.

oops.. den you mite be asking bout barbandey and paco wata
« Last Edit: March 21, 2007, 06:54:01 AM by Jumbie »

« Reply #12 on: March 21, 2007, 07:01:59 AM »
Search on the net for registry cleaner. It a simple program....just open tools->registry cleanup->do them all..........it finds all unneeded entries in the registry. Also you could check the front page for programs that you know you had and dont have any more and delete the entries.

Next ting....i need a listing of essential windows processes. I give them my laptop to configure for a new network in school....it wasnt achieving its potential before....it worse now. I hadda wait till school close to do the reinstall like i planning to...but in the mean time i want to know the processes you could do without so i go stop them from loading.

WC, here is the registry cleaner I use.  I have found it to be very effective.

http://www.ccleaner.com/

Use the "Cleaner" and "Issues" option.  Doh mess with de rest unless yuh know wat yuh doing.

I have found that the defaul option in Cleaner and Issues does a good job.

Also download "spybot search and destroy" to get rid of hidden programs.

http://www.spybot.info/en/spybotsd/index.html

« Reply #13 on: March 21, 2007, 09:20:09 AM »

Use the "Cleaner" and "Issues" option.  Doh mess with de rest unless yuh know wat yuh doing.

Do me a favor stay away from mister spybot....it does miss a lot of things.........Jus get Symantec pro and yu should be ok.  Go to any download site (Limewire, torrent sites) and they should have crack versions of it.  Also you might want to do a google search for recent virus alerts and see what that brings up.  They have new ones coming up all de time.   :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #14 on: March 21, 2007, 10:34:14 AM »

i agree with the CCleaner recommendation to clean your registry and get rid of junk/temp files.

also, defrag.

finally, defrag yuh system file. DL the utility to do so for free at http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/FileAndDisk/PageDefrag.mspx.

...oh...and lay off de porn.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2007, 11:43:26 AM by Andre »

« Reply #15 on: March 21, 2007, 03:04:24 PM »

Do me a favor stay away from mister spybot....it does miss a lot of things.........Jus get Symantec pro and yu should be ok.  Go to any download site (Limewire, torrent sites) and they should have crack versions of it.  Also you might want to do a google search for recent virus alerts and see what that brings up.  They have new ones coming up all de time.   :beermug: :beermug:

Be careful downloading software from limewire, sometimes they ridden with viruses..

I use a virus scan right now called Kaspersky which handling me right up, you can try that but you'll have to find a crack for the key...

I think if you go to windows search and options, there something that loads a process to do faster indexing for searching which hogs resources as well.. Try disabling that too and free up space..

But all in all, a RAM upgrade will show you the biggest diff in performance..

« Reply #16 on: March 21, 2007, 07:25:48 PM »

Be careful downloading software from limewire, sometimes they ridden with viruses..

I use a virus scan right now called Kaspersky which handling me right up, you can try that but you'll have to find a crack for the key...

I think if you go to windows search and options, there something that loads a process to do faster indexing for searching which hogs resources as well.. Try disabling that too and free up space..

But all in all, a RAM upgrade will show you the biggest diff in performance..

Yeah yu better off for now bringing yu RAM to the max.  If I were you though I would think about getting a new machine, ah sure one ah we could hook yu up for little coin :beermug:

« Reply #17 on: March 21, 2007, 08:42:46 PM »
allyuh talking bout RAM dis and RAM dat  ;D ..up to now West Coast ent even say whether he Internet explorer lagging, or whether Microsoft Word taking long to open, or the PC taking long to boot up, or he cant play Halo or is it yuh cant multitask?
West coast if yuh really want some help or advice..yuh have to post your computer specs and the exact problem yuh having...then somebody could lead u down the right path.

« Reply #18 on: March 21, 2007, 10:11:15 PM »
allyuh talking bout RAM dis and RAM dat  ;D ..up to now West Coast ent even say whether he Internet explorer lagging, or whether Microsoft Word taking long to open, or the PC taking long to boot up, or he cant play Halo or is it yuh cant multitask?
West coast if yuh really want some help or advice..yuh have to post your computer specs and the exact problem yuh having...then somebody could lead u down the right path.

Good point but it is all general things dat we normally would do anyway.  Well where de specs and what yu want to do with de machine??  Are yu a gamer or a porn man etc etc.??

« Reply #19 on: March 22, 2007, 06:00:40 AM »
Thanks for ALL the suggestions so far
had furnace troubles so have not gone in for more RAM yet.
the confuser is very slow to boot up and then when I am working in programs it is very slow to change from one to the other.
So, very slow all around.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2007, 06:16:03 AM by WestCoast »

« Reply #20 on: March 22, 2007, 06:26:31 AM »
Depending on how old your computer is, that also could be too that your hard drive has seen better days and is on the way out..

Sometimes bad sectors on your HD does cause that lag in performance when booting up etc.. I would suggest that you make sure to backup all your important stuff too..

« Reply #21 on: March 22, 2007, 07:14:49 AM »

Good point but it is all general things dat we normally would do anyway.  Well where de specs and what yu want to do with de machine??  Are yu a gamer or a porn man etc etc.??

WC eh admitting to nothing man.

« Reply #22 on: March 22, 2007, 07:17:35 AM »
Andre, i keep getting dese weird sites from ah fella name Jumbie. :whistling:
is like he does get money for every hit on dem sites :devil: :devil:
« Last Edit: March 22, 2007, 07:19:36 AM by WestCoast »

« Reply #23 on: March 22, 2007, 09:49:38 AM »
wc,

i eh get nothing from jumbie but i is just be minding mih business and them porn site is just pop up and start streaming full 45 minute hardcore MILF gangbang video at 1000 kbps just so man.

« Reply #24 on: March 22, 2007, 09:56:13 AM »
wc,
i eh get nothing from jumbie but i is just be minding mih business and them porn site is just pop up and start streaming full 45 minute hardcore MILF gangbang video at 1000 kbps just so man.
you like shite eh
Just SO it does start  ;D ;D