April 16, 2024, 02:43:23 PM

Author Topic: Our Professional players Need to Step Up  (Read 1787 times)

Our Professional players Need to Step Up
« on: July 22, 2005, 11:22:47 AM »
Given Beenie's statement that it is all up to us...... what is he really saying to our athletes?
Athletes no longer go into a preseason camp or a training camp to get in shape; today they must arrive in shape. Maintaining a level of fitness is the individual player's responsibility.

From those professionals who are on trial in the U.K. one can say withe the exception of Marvin Andrews and to a lesser degree Dennis Lawerance, most of our foreign based professionals are having sub par performances. No one is really lighting  a spark for their team nor are they consistently performing at a level to make any kind of consistent impact. As it is there are men right now fighting tuh make teams.

I have read  from previous postings that one of the issue is that most of these players are 'warming up' the bench for the most part and then when they do get a call for national duty, we expect them to perform miracles. The fact is that there is a reason  why they are on the bench; if they are marginal players at best, what magical transformation do we expect from them? Or should we? 

Would these players be better off at home  on a pro league under the trainging of Beenhakker? What we do is we create a national side and play tem in teh league and against foreign teams.

Or as Beenhakker puts it :  the responsibility for fitness and performance squarely lies with the player's responsibility. Implement a rule: yuh eh match fit fuh national duty yuh eh play. What we need to see is a consistency  of high performince from those who claim tuh be professionals.

Imagine if we had consistently played at the level we did when we defeated Panama or when we played Mexico? What if those performances were carried over to the Gold Cup? Well that is gone now but the point is we need that level of consistency as oppose to consistent tata.

A critical statement is that we too as a national team cyar rely on POTENTIAL; we have tuh get RESULTS from all of our players
« Last Edit: July 22, 2005, 12:00:12 PM by AlbertaTrini »

Re: Our Professional players Need to Step Up
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2005, 11:36:12 AM »

Good call.
I would add Carlos Edwards as a consistent performer.....hope he gets into his new team's starting line up.

We had that national team club implemented a few years ago but I don't think it would be fair to the other clubs to do that now.
Best we can do is support the clubs and perhaps give their coaches and players the opportunities to work with good coaches.

Hopefully Lincoln organizing that as Andre Samuel hinted Leo staying on for coaching sessions later on. (Of which I remain skeptical considering the rocky road ahead)

« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2009, 12:27:01 PM »
Bottom line.... all players despite  everything else need to step up starting with this game today.

« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2009, 12:51:53 PM »
A.B I really like this post. Just like how it is expected that Kobe have to step up and do de business if push comes to shove is de same way (to a slightly lesser extent) that as you say the professionals need to step up.
Like Palos pointed out, the professional by the shear nature of the word is should better than the non-professional or lesser professional. As a result Certain things are taken for granted where they are concerned i.e K. Jones. In instances as such these professionals should step up or be moved out of the way.

Heres wishing them the Best!

« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2009, 01:07:19 PM »
Dem professionals is the old men who man say not suppose 2 b in d side.

« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2009, 03:07:55 PM »
They to...step up big time...this game will separated the men from the boy's

« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2009, 03:18:11 PM »
yea man...good call

LETS GO TNT

WCQ IS NOT FOR THE WEAK- HEARTED....GET OUT IF YUH CANT TAKE IT...OUTTTTTTTTTTT

IS ONLY WARRIORS NEEDED NOW....LETS GO TNT

WE NEED A SPARK TO IGNITE THE HSC ON WEDNESDAY....

ENTER THE MAGICIAN