April 16, 2024, 12:22:30 PM

Author Topic: legends of concacaf  (Read 5607 times)

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
legends of concacaf
« on: March 25, 2007, 08:38:41 AM »
there  is a great difference between great players and legends.concacaf  countries all have good players and then there are great players and then there are legends persons who can put fright in players and is known throughout concacaf and the world for instance mexico has

good player plancia borgetti
great player blanco,hernandez,marquez
legends hugo sanchez

t&t
good-andrews
great-john,edwards
legends-yorke,latapy

football in meh veins football in meh blood

Re: legends of concacaf
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2007, 08:44:53 AM »
porquito magico

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2007, 08:08:41 PM »
Deleon, MVP 1969
Gally, MVP 1974

« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2007, 08:09:19 PM »
They are great!!!!1

Offline Raul

• ¡Hala Madrid!
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2007, 10:39:18 PM »
While Yorke & Latapy are legends for us trinis, I hardly doubt that we could classify them as legends on the world stage, for two simple reasons:

(1) Latapy never played for the greatest clubs on earth, Real Madrid or Manchester United (as Sanchez & Yorke did). Even though men like Maradonna & Pele didn't play for these 2 clubs, they won WC's.

(2) Yorke will become a legend. The fact that he is still playing makes it sort of inappropriate to call him a legend. Just like sainthood, they make people saints many years after they acheived whatever good they did.

« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2007, 02:44:25 AM »

Horace Boxhill = good

Chuck Blazer =  great

Jack Warner =  Legend

« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2007, 03:06:10 AM »

Horace Boxhill = good

Chuck Blazer =  great

Jack Warner =  Legend
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Dat is ah good one  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2007, 03:44:38 AM »
Robbie Earle

« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2007, 03:51:48 AM »
Warren Archibald
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2007, 04:18:18 AM »
David Nakhid = Great Player

« Reply #10 on: March 26, 2007, 04:55:42 AM »
Warren Archibald - MVP NASL
Steve David - MVP NASL
Leroy Deleon - MVP NASL

« Reply #11 on: March 26, 2007, 05:55:14 AM »
Themanfriday- Legend

« Reply #12 on: March 26, 2007, 06:28:22 AM »
Warren Archibald - MVP NASL
Steve David - MVP NASL
Leroy Deleon - MVP NASL

All Point Fortin Men ;D :notworthy:

« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2007, 07:43:34 AM »
In T&T, Jamaica and some parts of Scotland..Latas is a legend, or will achieve legendary status when he retires. In Concacaf he would not be considered as such. He hasn't done enough on the Concacaf stage or the International arena for most outside of T&T to consider him anything other than a very talented player.

Yorke is far more well known to Americans, Mexicans and Concacaf at large. In fact, I would bet that Shaka Hislop has a bigger reputation in Concacaf due to his EPL days and now that he plays in the MLS and he got to play and really shine in the WC.

I would put money that Yorke and Shaka would make modern day Concacaf Legend's list before Latas.

T&T: Yorke, Hislop

« Reply #14 on: March 26, 2007, 07:48:50 AM »
raul....dat is assness

« Reply #15 on: March 26, 2007, 07:51:21 AM »
In T&T, Jamaica and some parts of Scotland..Latas is a legend, or will achieve legendary status when he retires. In Concacaf he would not be considered as such. He hasn't done enough on the Concacaf stage or the International arena for most outside of T&T to consider him anything other than a very talented player.

Yorke is far more well known to Americans, Mexicans and Concacaf at large. In fact, I would bet that Shaka Hislop has a bigger reputation in Concacaf due to his EPL days and now that he plays in the MLS and he got to play and really shine in the WC.

I would put money that Yorke and Shaka would make modern day Concacaf Legend's list before Latas.

Filho...Latapy is a big name in Portugal.

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #16 on: March 26, 2007, 07:53:44 AM »

So he is in Haiti.
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #17 on: March 26, 2007, 08:03:53 AM »
Legend among opponents or fan ?Among opponents am sure he a legend<ask them> .Fan who don" know is there loss oui ,cause them eh fans .

« Reply #18 on: March 26, 2007, 08:05:38 AM »

Latapy is definitely a big name in Oporto in Portugal..but he is not a legend there and he definitely is not a legend in all of Portugal. I went to school with a Portuguese guy who loved Latas and said he is remembered by the fans of his generation, but his time there was short and he was not always a starter. Porto is a big club and when you talking legends you talking fellas like Jardel and Jorge Costa...Latas would not be consider a legend there. He is probably a legend at Academica tho'. Didn't think of that. But I still don't think his status in Portugal comes close to his status in Scotland...where he is arguably approaching legendary status
« Last Edit: March 26, 2007, 09:24:39 AM by Filho »

« Reply #19 on: March 26, 2007, 11:31:44 AM »
Legendary status is relative...

Legend implies that you will "forever" be renowned and remembered. A legend's reputation transcends time and generations.

Call me harsh, but there are currently no Trinidad players that absolutely fit that bill outside of Trinidad...

Latapy ? Arguably at Falkirk & Hibs...

Yorke ? Arguably at Man U or Villa....and only barely

Will Dwight Yorke Man U or Villa shirts & Posters be hot selling items 20 years from now ? maybe, maybe not....

The thing about it is, legendary status is not attained mererly by merit and ability, and it often takes something other than extraordinary ability to propel an individual into legendary status-  eg..a crucial goal when the stakes were highest -(Kerry Jamerson is arguably a local legend), a memorable celebration ,a career comeback in the face of adversity, a tragic accident, a long career at one particular club/club loyalty, maintenance of good form at an old age (Latapy at Falkirk), a highly controversial or eccentric personality, humanitarian efforts outside of the game,.....or sometimes just the right amount of hype- believe it or not, David Beckham is probably already a footballing legend both in Manchester and world wide.....

Latapy & Yorke (and others) are without a doubt local (In T&T) footballing legends. I wouldn't yet venture to go any further than that.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2007, 02:07:30 PM by kicker »

« Reply #20 on: March 26, 2007, 11:37:49 AM »
So is there anyone on CONCACAF that we can agree on(based on kicker's eloquent definition) that would be a bonefide LEGEND of the game??

« Reply #21 on: March 26, 2007, 11:53:26 AM »
So is there anyone on CONCACAF that we can agree on(based on kicker's eloquent definition) that would be a bonefide LEGEND of the game??

hugo sanchez

« Reply #22 on: March 26, 2007, 12:07:19 PM »
I agree with that one

« Reply #23 on: March 26, 2007, 01:10:29 PM »
By Con standards.

St. Louis ...........good
Nakhid.........Great
Latas.........legend

However, those would be by Con standards.

Jughead could have played for any Con country in his day.

Had to contend with Latas and Alvin Thomas.

Today would have laughed his way on to a TT team.

Peace,

« Reply #24 on: March 26, 2007, 01:49:44 PM »
In all honesty, you have to water down what you mean by legend when you are talking about Concacaf. There are no Peles, Maradonas, Beckenbauers, Cruyffs, Zicos etc..coming out of this region. Very few players will be household names 20 years after they retire, the way true legends like these guys are remembered...except for maybe Hugo Sanchez...For the most part you have to look at local legends who have some international appeal and whose names are practically known by everyone in the region..like Yorke, Rafa Marquez and even fellas like Wanchope...Kicker is right in his assessment. And some people here feel it has something to do with talent. Not entirely...Latas is not a Concacaf legend. I guarantee more people in Concacaf know more about Stern John than Latapy. Sorry, but a key ingredient to gaining legendary status is fame

« Reply #25 on: March 26, 2007, 02:02:03 PM »
yeah I guess the gradation goes:

hometown legend (eg P.O.S., Sando)

local/national legend (T&T)

regional legend (CONCACAF)

Int'l club legend (eg. ManU)

Global legend

Yorke is the closest thing in Trini to reaching the highest legendary status.....because he was instumental in achieving the treble for one of the world's most celebrated clubs (plus his reputation for partying & womanizing)...capped off by his very honorable return to int'l football by leading us to and through the W.Cup. He is undoubtedly the most globally celebrated T&T player, and I would say top 10 in the region (concacaf) in the last 10 years or so.....
« Last Edit: March 26, 2007, 02:09:40 PM by kicker »

« Reply #26 on: March 27, 2007, 06:12:59 AM »
Archie, Dilly and Gally!!!!

« Reply #27 on: March 27, 2007, 06:22:50 AM »
Oooops! One more. Steve David.

« Reply #28 on: March 28, 2007, 08:51:10 AM »
How come St Louis so good to many and yet he never made the T&T side on a consistent basis ? I saw him play and yes he real nice on de ball, but how come he never got picked regular.

Carlos Edwards...........good
Russell Latapy.........great
Dwight Yorke.........legend

« Reply #29 on: March 28, 2007, 09:31:39 AM »
El magico...no not Latapy..The one from El Salvador. Doh even know what de man real name was.

Best dribbler from Concacaf hands down. Best I've seen in the world to date. That man was spannering man through dey legs on a regular basis. Yuh ever see ah in de air spanner?

He might not be a legend in TNT or even the Caribbean but every single Central American Football fan will know him. He played in Spain but me eh know how big he is over dey.

Big big player!!

I'll see if I can google some info on him.