April 26, 2024, 09:48:17 PM

Author Topic: Concacaf Player of the Year  (Read 2399 times)

Offline Gladman

Concacaf Player of the Year
« on: March 25, 2007, 08:47:12 PM »
Is there a award given officially for a concacaf player of the year?
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

Offline Gladman

Re: Concacaf Player of the Year
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2007, 09:15:07 PM »
So many football guru's on this site and nobody cyar answer tha question. ???
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2007, 09:31:03 PM »
Lilian Thuram ? Guadelope   ::) :devil:

« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2007, 09:53:06 PM »
I do not think they have Concacaf player of the year. They usually have  the MVP of the tournament. Gally and Deleon  have won it. When the tournament was held inTT, Philip Vorbe from Haiti won it.

« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2007, 09:53:56 PM »
 do not think they have Concacaf player of the year. They usually have  the MVP of the tournament. Gally and Deleon  have won it. When the tournament was held inTT, Philip Vorbe from Haiti won it.

Offline Flash7

• Allez Le Rouge et Bleu!!
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2007, 06:43:18 AM »
do not think they have Concacaf player of the year. They usually have  the MVP of the tournament. Gally and Deleon  have won it. When the tournament was held inTT, Philip Vorbe from Haiti won it.

Philippe Vorbe??? but that was like back in the 70's

« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2007, 10:00:47 AM »
Never heard of Concacaf player of the year....but there should most definitely be one. Every other region has one.

Yorkie would be in the running for the 2006 CPY if it existed (imho).

« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2007, 12:05:10 PM »
Good afternoon Ball Jumbies,
                                         What is the criteria for Concacaf MVP. Should the guys who play in the Concacaf  country league(Mexican, Jamaica,MLS, Guat, CR etc be the only ones eligible. Should the people who playin the Euro league be eligible also..

« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2007, 01:55:54 PM »
Good afternoon Ball Jumbies,
                                         What is the criteria for Concacaf MVP. Should the guys who play in the Concacaf  country league(Mexican, Jamaica,MLS, Guat, CR etc be the only ones eligible. Should the people who playin the Euro league be eligible also..

Good question. Did we decide there is no prize? Anyway....
European player of the year has to play in Europe and does not even have to be European
South American player of the year has to play in South America...not sure about nationality requirements

Anyway, Concacaf player of the year should probably be a player of any nationality that plays in Concacaf and mirror the oter prizes
But there should also be a prize for best Concacaf player (nationality froma  Concacaf country) regradless of where he plays.
We are a small region with relatively littel international profile..we need things like this to enagage the internationl press and draw attention to players in the region. Either prize or both prizes would be a good idea to me

« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2007, 02:11:44 PM »
ah think yuh all starting the the see the reason for my chupid answer. wait till yuh get to which league toppa than which and thus which player, and such problems and then we would see why it even more problems than it's worth...It's not as difficult in Euro as besides the Euro compt. there is Champions league, and WC qualifying etc...on which a concrete choice can be made...In Concacaf we don't have enough inter-club, National and regular games, if a guy is a top scorer in the bermudian league for years, and a top scorer for he country for years, is he ineligible cause is only Bermuda...etc..etc..In another case, just give it to a mexican player in that league, cause then thre is no league bigger in the region, and on a National level, they still one of the rulers, dm Club does always beat everybody most times etc...etc...and then somebody else go say..."buh WHY?".....so, at the present state of CCAF ah doh feel this really feasible, and ould probably lead to even further dis-union and bitin...like if we doh have enuff ahready   :(
my 5 cents(doh ah cyah get ah chilli-bibi or ah Anchor with it these days)

« Reply #10 on: March 26, 2007, 02:24:37 PM »
ah think yuh all starting the the see the reason for my chupid answer. wait till yuh get to which league toppa than which and thus which player, and such problems and then we would see why it even more problems than it's worth...It's not as difficult in Euro as besides the Euro compt. there is Champions league, and WC qualifying etc...on which a concrete choice can be made...In Concacaf we don't have enough inter-club, National and regular games, if a guy is a top scorer in the bermudian league for years, and a top scorer for he country for years, is he ineligible cause is only Bermuda...etc..etc..In another case, just give it to a mexican player in that league, cause then thre is no league bigger in the region, and on a National level, they still one of the rulers, dm Club does always beat everybody most times etc...etc...and then somebody else go say..."buh WHY?".....so, at the present state of CCAF ah doh feel this really feasible, and ould probably lead to even further dis-union and bitin...like if we doh have enuff ahready   :(
my 5 cents(doh ah cyah get ah chilli-bibi or ah Anchor with it these days)

what u describe is true of all the regions...in europe, if you not playing in the EPL, Serie A or La Liga your chances of winning REAL slim. If you mashing up in Ecuador..you eh getting the same love as a man playing in Argentina or Brazil. So it goes.....besides, you not supposed to put too much value in these things. They are just media friendly pappy shows that raise the profile of the game

« Reply #11 on: March 26, 2007, 06:07:40 PM »
i hear yuh