April 27, 2024, 11:32:43 PM

Is a Caribbean Pro Soccer League Feasible ?

Yes
17 (81%)
No
4 (19%)

Total Members Voted: 21

Author Topic: What about a: CARIBBEAN PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE?  (Read 32156 times)

Re: What about a: CARIBBEAN PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE?
« Reply #30 on: October 20, 2005, 04:57:13 PM »
we cant even get our top team to compete in the concacaf champions league due to expenses. how are we supposed to have a carib club league.

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #31 on: October 20, 2005, 05:32:35 PM »
for the caribbean to reach a decent standard of club and international football it needs to take one step at a time. if u look at recent world cups what is the obvious thing 95% of the countries have in common with the exception of USA? they are all mad about football. Trinidad is not, although it is gettin on the path but that has to continue even if we was to loose to Bahrain and if we win it must carry on after the world cup. the ting about Trinidad is on a national scale just like carnival it seems to be a seasonal ting. carnival at a point in the year and football every 2 years. we are true football fans so for us that doesnt apply but im talkin about the genral public. Trinidad is only 1.2 million if 50.00 people play football and we have our current team, our chances of producing a few better players increases if 150.000 people play football. its a culture ting. look wen cricket was totally our culture, west indies cut so much ass in that 30 years wen we dominated against countries who are fanatical about cricket with huge populations, austrailia,s africa, indian england the list goes on. u check the population on the english speakin caribbean. london has more people. young players have to learn the game from young technically. wen i play in trinidad 80% of the people playing just have no clue, they have skill,pace, strength but they simply are not good footballers u can argue if u want but its the truth. u come to england and watch a kick around in the park, they would put a decent cut ass on half our professional league. imagine if that same 80% played club football from young and trained thats a much bigger talent pool to choose from. if we dont wanna wait 20 years for it to be embedded into our culture then we must impose it, and the best way to start is by making it to the world cup.

« Reply #32 on: October 20, 2005, 05:55:52 PM »
Cyar work given the funding available........

Look at North East Stars, why you feel they drop out.

Man ent studying football.

« Reply #33 on: October 20, 2005, 07:22:44 PM »
« Last Edit: October 21, 2005, 06:37:51 AM by AlbertaTrini »

« Reply #34 on: October 20, 2005, 09:55:03 PM »
 That is good idea but yuh have to look at the travelling to each game....it could be like a champions league thing with more teams coming from higher federations...just a thought

« Reply #35 on: April 01, 2008, 07:13:43 AM »
A league like this may diminish the ' bitter' hate  directed to some countries and build 'friendly' rivalaries instead.

Offline bajanscout

• bajanscout
« Reply #36 on: April 01, 2008, 09:05:39 AM »
why is it we as the richest island in the caribbean and having jack warner as apart of fifa,why we dont have our pro league being show live on tv? jamaica have it,when we playing in trini we have to listen on d net or go on youtbe after u see all jamaica game u can see on tv cable not tv6 or u can go on d net and watch it llive 
bajanscout

« Reply #37 on: April 01, 2008, 09:09:34 AM »
A league like this may diminish the ' bitter' hate  directed to some countries and build 'friendly' rivalaries instead.

i guess celtic and rangers fans will agree with u

or maybe barcelona and madrid , this list can go on and on

« Reply #38 on: April 01, 2008, 10:08:52 AM »
We already have a CONCACAF champions league. That makes the most sense right now. No point Monserrat flying in to T&T to play Tobago Utd. for only 20 people to show up to de game.

Caribbean Pro League
« Reply #39 on: May 19, 2011, 09:57:00 PM »
With all dem pro teams in Trinidad,Jamaica,Puerto Rico plus a team from Antigua and even Bermuda and RedJet offering cheap fares in the region,we cyar have a 8-10 team league?   

Re: Caribbean Pro League
« Reply #40 on: May 19, 2011, 10:44:46 PM »
yea i was thinking of that the odda day, good idea, but u still hadda deal with plenty other expenses....
But the question will be who will make up the list of teams - only the ones who can afford it?
What will happen to the other teams who can make the cut? They also employ some very good footballers...

Offline BBL

Jeffrey Webb working on a Caribbean Super League
« Reply #41 on: August 18, 2012, 07:09:06 AM »
http://futbolboricua.blogspot.co.uk/2012/08/jeffrey-webb-habla-de-enfocarse-en.html

Una liga Caribeña profesional y buscamos entre 8 a 10 clubes en la región que elevarán el nivel de juego a un nuevo nivel. Claro está, tenemos algunos equipos, como el Antigua Barracuda, los Puerto Rico Islanders, jugando en ligas estadounidenses. Pero en realidad, debemos buscar desarrollar nuestra propia liga, y esto es una colaboración entre CONCACAF y la CFU que debemos trabajar.

Translated to English:

For a professional Caribbean league, we need 8 to 10 clubs in the region to raise quality of play to a new level. Of course, we have some teams like Antigua Barracuda and the Puerto Rico Islanders playing in the American leagues. In actuality, we are developing the new league, it's a collaboration between CONCACAF and the CFU - we must work together.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

Re: Jeffrey Webb working on a Caribbean Super League
« Reply #42 on: August 18, 2012, 09:05:39 AM »
Thanks for the interview. Actually the entire article was pretty interesting as i didnt know that Digicel's sponsorship with the CFU has ended, maybe that's why there hasn't been much information about this year's cup. The idea about the CFU league is something that has been floated for some time but i doubt it will happen. If the CFU is having trouble getting Digicel to resign for the cup i doubt they will find enough sponsors for the CFU league. They will also need to convince the Jamaican teams to join which will be hard if the teams are just losing lots of money. However i would love this idea if it actually happened as it would definitely raise the standard and profile of the CFU teams. Hopefully there would be a way for those of us based in the US and around the world to view these games.

« Reply #43 on: August 18, 2012, 09:08:29 AM »
Really nice idea. Getting it to work is another issue

« Reply #44 on: August 18, 2012, 09:11:35 AM »
Really nice idea. Getting it to work is another issue

ENT

« Reply #45 on: August 18, 2012, 02:43:42 PM »
This would be great.....however, I can't figure out a way to cover the travel expenses for each teams away games. It's unlikely that the home team will generate enough gate money to cover the visitors flights and hotel costs. I know there would be sponsors, but at every round, you'd have to pay for 5 teams travel costs and that would be expensive.

« Reply #46 on: August 18, 2012, 02:55:11 PM »
This would be great.....however, I can't figure out a way to cover the travel expenses for each teams away games. It's unlikely that the home team will generate enough gate money to cover the visitors flights and hotel costs. I know there would be sponsors, but at every round, you'd have to pay for 5 teams travel costs and that would be expensive.

Yuh regionalize  the teams so yuh have a south east region: Guyana TNT Grenada Barbados n StKitts   St Vincent

Mid Regional: Martinique Guadalope

North Region; Jamaica Haiti Cuba Bahamas

Regional play then  two top teams regional playoffs

We have to look at ways to make footbal in the Caribbean more competitive...soo Mexico  going  to be in a class by themselves

I talking about this since 2005 but people too myopic in their vision to see only impediments asoppose to possibilities; Imagine the regional carrier and international airlines coming on board ( fuh get CAL they supposedly bankrupt) Think of regional  business like Carib coming together to sponsor this and putting a marketing squeeze on British  and American products or maybe British and American companies market the heck out of this to  saturate teh Caribbean market.

The proposed Football team: "Caribbean Hurricanes"
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2005, 10:03:27 AM »

Modify
    Remove

Once more I raise the question as to the merits of having a strong formidable REGIONAL Caribbean football team.

Realistically, would any of our national football team reach the level to compete consistently with the likes of Brazil, England, France, Germany, Italy Argentina OR Spain?

Let's carefully examine the development and growth of soccer in our region with an objective mind set. With the exception of Jamacia at a WCQ appearance, what have the other islands been able to accomplish? As individidual islands do we have the depth and players resources to keep going out on our own with the hope that one day we'll be consistently be on the big stage?

Could we not develop  and train a strong regional contingent to compete  internationally at a level that would be successful?

What are the merits and down side to a venture as proposed? Given the players we have in the region today what would the make up of a regional team look like? I am proposing we call the team the "CARIBBEAN HURRICANES"
Modify message
« Last Edit: July 09, 2005, 10:21:34 AM by AlbertaTrini »

Time to look into the Caribbean Hurricanes

« Last Edit: October 16, 2014, 08:03:21 AM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #47 on: August 18, 2012, 03:07:08 PM »
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=26301.msg724;topicseen#msg724

I proposed this long time  but ah set ah nah sayers now it back on the board and papayo   it looking like ah good idea. Steups!!!!!

« Reply #48 on: August 19, 2012, 09:06:09 AM »
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=26301.msg724;topicseen#msg724

I proposed this long time  but ah set ah nah sayers now it back on the board and papayo   it looking like ah good idea. Steups!!!!!

Bro, this had been tried before. It last for about 2 yrs. I did remember the TT team did win it. But the league fell thru for the obvious reason of the expense in running the league. I know the people of the islands would love to have a Carib. league. But transport logistics and cost does make a mockery of the endeavour. Look at how difficult it is to run the Carib Champios league for the Concacaf. We need sponsorship to do this. Airlines giving reduce price for tickets. Hotels doing the same thing. The local businesses of the various island taking up the ground transportation and various miscellaneous expenses. It can be done by some islands, not all. Untill we get a middle estern benefactor, I don't see that happening. But there are always people who want to do it. Planning and MONEY is the issue.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2012, 09:08:08 AM by Deeks »

Offline BBL

« Reply #49 on: October 29, 2012, 05:21:19 AM »
It lasted three years ;D

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caribbean_Professional_Football_League

The only people who made money out of it were the CFU

Offline madness1969

« Reply #50 on: October 29, 2012, 07:42:19 AM »
this is too expensive for clubs to travel to island to island. Sorry, no future in this

« Reply #51 on: October 29, 2012, 07:45:16 AM »
this is too expensive for clubs to travel to island to island. Sorry, no future in this

Plus only Trini was winning.
joking aside. The league needed a massive infusion of money. That is why I said that if they can't get a wealthy middle eastern supporter, nothing eh go happen.

« Reply #52 on: October 29, 2012, 09:36:06 AM »
There were several administrative problems with the league.Inter island transport was astrocious.It was too expensive and unreliable.I remember a match schedule to start at 4:00pm and a team leaving Guyana at that time. Crowd in de stadium unaware there has been a delay.ah was hoping Redjet or whatever dey name would have help solve that problem.I still like de idea.

Caribbean could have professional league in three-four years - Webb
« Reply #53 on: October 22, 2013, 02:05:31 PM »
Caribbean could have professional league in three-four years - Webb
By Mike Collett (Reuters)

A professional Caribbean league spanning the mainly island nations would boost football's development in the region and could be a reality in three or four years, CONCACAF president Jeffrey Webb said on Tuesday.

Webb said although the idea was still in its infancy, he was setting up a commission to examine whether it could become a reality. A previous proposal for a professional league failed to materialise three years ago.

During a break at CONCACAF's Sports Summit of its 41 member associations, Webb told journalists on a conference call there was support for the idea from ex-players from the region like Dwight Yorke who played for Manchester United and Aston Villa.

"We will do a full analysis to see how realistic it is and then establish some strategic business plan so this could become a reality in three to four years," said Webb.

"We have heard from various players, such as Dwight Yorke, about the impact a professional league might have had on his career. Perhaps if we had had a professional set-up during his development his talents may have been even greater.

"We have so much talent in the region, the game here needs a professional league, a professional approach. It would be good for the Caribbean to have a professional league, if we could sustain it."

Only four Caribbean countries have appeared in the World Cup in its near 84-year history: Cuba (1938), Haiti (1974), Jamaica (1998) and Trinidad & Tobago (2006).

Webb added: "We have had only two countries from the English-speaking Caribbean qualify for the World Cup, and let's not have to wait another 100 years before we get that level of success. We are looking for some progress.

"We are hoping to fast-track this (professional league). We need economic partners and the support of governments.

"The infrastructure would have to be set up and we'd be looking to some experts to help develop a platform, a business plan and something that we believe could be sustained.

"We will set up a task force or commission to look at the sustainability as far as the financial aspects, franchisees, market size, infrastructure and the format of the league are concerned."

The CONCACAF confederation comprises countries from North and Central America, and the Caribbean.

A total of 31 nations make up the Caribbean Football Union, including associate member Bonaire and three on the South American continent: Surinam, Guyana and French Guiana.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2013, 02:12:07 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #54 on: October 22, 2013, 02:20:16 PM »
One word, CPL (Cricket) , something like that will pull rel crowd

« Reply #55 on: October 22, 2013, 03:00:10 PM »
It's not feasible - they can't even get clubs that can afford the Caribbean Champions League let alone a whole league system.

If we assume (for the sake of argument) that a plane ticket to most islands from one island is around $300 US and that a team needs to send 23 people (underestimation - 11 players, 5 subs, and 7 technical staff (manager, ass manager, a coach, a physio, the chairman and two others). Right there is $6900 US, but there might also be visa costs, extra baggage, insurance, and taxis/travel to include. Also there's the cost of the hotel for all of them.

Lets say clubs charge $5 per ticket (probably an over-estimation), so you'd need to get 2760 people into the game to cover just the travel costs (as I'm assuming revenue is split 50-50 as per the European norm in cup games). These costs need to happen for half the games - so how many clubs will be in it? 10 clubs means $34,500 USD travel in a year absolute bear minimum, again i think this is really low as players are often paid on a match-by-match basis (money for playing) rather than full-time contracts. Moreover, where does the money for administering this competition come from? Prize money?

There really needs to be a focus on domestic football in these countries -  the infrastructure isn't even there for domestic football so how are they going to organise this? How can the organisation gain the trust of advertisers with Jack Warner's legacy of embezzlement and fraud? How can clubs that don't pull 500 people for CONCACAF Champions League matches or Caribbean Champions League pull 2760 to matches? What's the attendance at T&T national team matches, because the stadiums usually don't look sold out? This is a glittery fantasy that hasn't been thought out - it's agreeable because it looks like a win-win for everyone, but on paper smaller nations will go bankrupt very quickly and what'll be left are the big island nations - T&T, Jamaica, Haiti, and possibly some of the French Antilles (I imagine Cuba won't be interested).

« Reply #56 on: October 22, 2013, 04:34:38 PM »
It could happen if people with deep pockets who really love football willing to spend some money on the game. The league would have to be condensed. Meaning 10 to 12 teams or even 8 in the beginning. Limit 2 teams per country if they can afford it..  Winners and runners-up get automatic bid to Concacaf CL. 3rd and 4th play in the CFU leg against the various club champions for a spot in the Concacaf CL.

But transport logistics is the big problem, I think

« Reply #57 on: October 22, 2013, 05:31:15 PM »
Waste of time and money. Can't see this idea working. It's too expensive, and they will be loosing more than making money.

« Reply #58 on: October 22, 2013, 09:54:17 PM »
Might be useful for smaller nations who's clubs have to play each other all the time. But it would finish the Pro League and there would be an expanded Super League. The T&T player pool would reduce in my opinion, especially if the clubs involved fielded foreign players in their teams (which they would feel compelled to do to compete).
There may be a case for a league comprising the likes of St Lucia, Grenada etc and the winners go through to the Champions League. 

« Reply #59 on: October 23, 2013, 12:55:07 AM »
To be honest T&T has one of the smallest top leagues in the Caribbean - even St Kitts and Nevis can get 10 teams in their top flight. I've never understood the small league size in T&T, at least until I realised how many cups you guys have! :p