March 28, 2024, 01:39:41 PM

Is a Caribbean Pro Soccer League Feasible ?

Yes
17 (81%)
No
4 (19%)

Total Members Voted: 21

Author Topic: What about a: CARIBBEAN PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE?  (Read 31657 times)

Re: What about a: CARIBBEAN PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE?
« Reply #120 on: October 17, 2014, 04:12:34 AM »
ABT, this would never happen. If we had a "West Indies" or Caribbean team, the 23 (I think) CFU members of FIFA would be reduced to 1. So, CFU would have no power in CONCACAF.

Also, FIFA would only financially support one association, so the US$250k would be divided between all 23 nations. No association would vote for that!

Finally, the number of WC places would be drastically reduced as there would only be 13 teams competing.
(Please allow for errors in the exact numbers!!)

Not good enough reasons in my opinion from creating a formidable team to challenge the so call " super powers" of football - if we cyar see different then we are in a no win system designed to benefit the " haves" in this world. Not only that  it smacks of divide and conqueror. Keep them apart so they doh get powerful in unity.

This WC thing starting to feel like the Winter Olympics what chance we have of wining a gold medal in ice hockey or downhill skiing?

Imagine if WI cricket didn't exist? How would T&T, Jamaica, Guyana do on their own? Maybe, every now and then, a golden team would emerge a win a few tests. That's where Caribbean football is right now. A Caribbean team would, in my opinion, fare much better than individual nations. But the facts I mentioned before will prevent it. Every country has it's president who wants first class travel to CONCACAF & FIFA events. By merging the nations, only one or two fellas will get that treatment. Benefiting football comes second if you're the F.A. president in Turks & Caicos or St Kitts & Nevis.

Actually FS I believe you hit the nail on the head in your initial response. The reduction in funding that would be the result of such a move. Can you imagine the effect that would have on player development. Our own TTFA is already beyond broke. No money to run programs, pay coaches, and corporate entities are not funding football.

ABT you mention divide and conquer, but it is because we have 23, or whatever the actual number, associations that we have any meaningful say in what goes on in CONCACAF. And voting as a block has allowed us to have a significant influence even at the FIFA level. And while we might initially end up with a better team that team will likely have to fight for one of a reduced number of qualifying spots for the region. And there's no guarantees that a Caribbean team is suddenly going to be better than US, Mexico and CR.

« Reply #121 on: October 17, 2014, 04:06:53 PM »
A good friend of mine is now the TD of Virgin Islands football. The described the amount of bachannal between St. Thomas(Thomians) and St. Croix(Cruzians). Some Thomians and Cruzians don't agree on lots of things. It is hard to get Cruzians to come to St.Thomas to practice. So on many occasions he may get guys from St. croix a day or two before the game. Think about 35 mini states you have to satisfy. Unless there is political union, that eh happening.

« Reply #122 on: October 18, 2014, 08:48:59 AM »
Yuh eh ho satisfy all them states! Every island carry on with their teams - you creat regional pools according to proximity- see earlier posting. Teams play in round robin and then pool play offs to determine champion.  From these you select best players to invite for camp along with best overseas players per country- talk about raising the level of play and completion!
Too many are seeing the obstacles rather than the possibilities of a unified Caribbean league and team and for that shortsightedness our world wider progress will continue to falter and grow at a snail's  pace in my opinion.

« Reply #123 on: October 28, 2015, 02:55:55 AM »
Caribbean League promoters look at May start.
T&T Express Reports.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) will benefit from a $20million kit sponsorship deal borne out of a partnership that will also promote the Caribbean League Football (CLF).

“All our national teams will be covered under this initiative, all our Pro League teams, our Women’s League, our referees, the TTFA and the Secondary Schools. Everyone will be under the same brand and soon more details will be announced about the sponsorship. but needless to say, the TTFA is very pleased with this deal,” said current TTFA president Raymond Tim Kee.

The three-month league is tentatively set to start at the end of May next year and expected to include yet-to-be named marquee players, foreign players hailing from Central America, South America and Europe and local domestic footballers. The initial investment in the private venture is for two to three years.

Organisers, including Canadian director of the CLF AJ Deber said that negotiations and talks are currently underway with the marquee players as they finalise arrangements for the League.

The league, which will feature doubleheaders on Friday and Saturday and a Caravan concept on Wednesday (moving around to different Caribbean countries), will be preceded by a three-month combine and trial period with players trying out for spots and to facilitate a USA-type draft observed in leagues like the NBA in the build-up to the start of the League.

There will be no franchises, said former T&T footballer and chairman and CEO of the CFL, Chris Anderson Joyeau.

Former director at Brazilian football club Santos, Andre Zonata, said the organisers will also place emphasis on “creating a sustainable youth development programme.”

Joyeau added that in the initial year, Trinidad and Tobago will be the main hub of the league but there are negotiations underway to lease two Dash 8 aircraft to facilitate the movement of at least four teams and accompanying technical officials and media all at one time.

He added that the organisers will be looking at avenues like merchandising, intellectual property and tv broadcast rights to generate revenue for investors.

“My confidence is based in the history of very talented players that have hailed from the Caribbean.....I am also an accountant and the numbers have been crunched and we know what we have to do to be in the black. We have done our due diligence financially and are ready to invest in a Caribbean league so that our players will no longer have to ply their trade in foreign countries. They will be able to work now for good wages here at home,” Joyeau explained.

« Reply #124 on: October 28, 2015, 05:19:28 AM »
Big backing - they must be expecting a large return. I hole the figures add up :)

« Reply #125 on: October 28, 2015, 07:05:42 AM »
I have been looking all over to see how this proposed league impacts the current proleague.  Anyone has any insight?

« Reply #126 on: April 10, 2017, 08:19:29 AM »
Partial article from the Nation newspaper in Barbados, dated April 8, 2017.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/95444/islands-cup-football-fillip

« Reply #127 on: April 10, 2017, 11:45:28 PM »
Plans are being finalize at the moment to get it off the ground but the outline is a different one.

« Reply #128 on: April 11, 2017, 01:50:38 AM »
Carmona wants junior C'bean football league.
By Kim Boodram (Express).

PRESIDENT Anthony Carmona yesterday pitched his hopes for the development of national and regional football to FIFA president Gianni Infantino, during the latter's courtesy call on the Office of the President.

Infantino, who first visited Trinidad and Tobago while campaigning, was yesterday praised by Carmona for taking a holistic and transparent approach and for demonstrating that academia and sport can go hand in hand—given that Infantino is a qualified attorney.

Carmona held a short audience with Infantino, during which he expressed a wish to see the game develop not just nationally but also regionally. Carmona said he would like to see the development of a junior Caribbean football league, which Infantino said he could look into.

Infantino said he had come in at a difficult time for FIFA but noted that it's a “different FIFA”, as well as a different CONCACAF. He said there are many with a passion for football and that maybe some of his predecessors had lost sight of the vision.

Carmona also appealed to Infantino to use his position to bring top-class international football to local and regional arenas by convincing the top European teams to play in the Caribbean in the off-season.

Infantino noted the suggestion and said there definitely needed to be the breaking down of borders that had been built-up.

Also present yesterday was Sports Minister Darryl Smith and T&T senior coach Dennis Lawrence, as well as pupils from the football teams of several secondary schools.

In response to a question from one student as to FIFA's decision to increase the number of World Cup teams from 32 to 48, which starts with the 2026 tournament, Infantino again stated that the move will boost football in smaller countries and said that for countries like T&T, it increases the chance of qualifying for the tournament.

« Reply #129 on: April 11, 2017, 11:59:08 PM »
Why we need a next competition. The CFU have U20, U17, U15 competitions. Run these properly. Come out and support. Show the games on TV.

Concacaf to launch a Caribbean Professional League Working Group
« Reply #130 on: April 29, 2020, 07:04:40 PM »
Concacaf to launch a Caribbean Professional League Working Group
Concacaf.com

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) has today announced the formation and membership of a Caribbean Professional League Working Group, with the support of world football’s governing body, FIFA.

The new group will be a subgroup of the Concacaf Competitions Committee and will carry out a comprehensive study of Caribbean professional club football. It will include the Chairman of the Concacaf Competitions Committee, the CFU President, experts with experience in football and other sectors from across the Caribbean and a FIFA representative.

The terms of reference for the Working Group have been approved by the Concacaf Council and its work will begin when the current public health situation allows. The membership of the group comprises:

• Concacaf Competitions Committee Chairman, Yon de Luisa (Chairman)
  • Concacaf Vice-president & Caribbean Football Union President, Randolph Harris (Deputy Chairman)
  • Representative of Trinidad and Tobago, Brent Sancho (Member)
  • Representative of Jamaica, Christopher Samuda (Member)
  • Representative of Haiti, Patrick Massenat (Member)
  • Representative of the Dominican Republic, Manuel Estrella (Member)
  • Representative of Curaçao, Valdemar Florentino Marcha (Member)
  • FIFA representative

Administrative support for the group will be provided by the Confederation’s Competitions and Development Departments, and its Jamaica office.

"The feasibility of a Caribbean professional league has previously been explored by regional stakeholders. However, for a combination of reasons, those attempts did not get beyond the point of an early draft, with little substance and no progress made on the matter. ", said Concacaf President Victor Montagliani.

"The time is right for the Caribbean and Concacaf, with the support of FIFA, to lead the way to develop a comprehensive study which has the sole aim of the development of football in the Caribbean and the region as a whole.

"This is not about a league in isolation but also about the professionalization of football and its players, coaches and administrators in the region. This newly created group, with strong representation from the Caribbean, will take a football first approach and will be given sufficient time to consider a range of potential formats and structures.

"The insights of experts from the Concacaf Competitions Committee, the CFU, Concacaf Member Associations and local leagues and clubs will be crucial as the group diligently studies future options for Caribbean professional football.”

« Reply #131 on: April 30, 2020, 07:04:36 PM »
There yuh go Sanch. Aptly rewarded for your loyalty.

« Reply #132 on: April 30, 2020, 07:23:29 PM »

Yuh saying no wool over your eyes?  :devil:

« Reply #133 on: April 30, 2020, 10:44:48 PM »

Question seeker : Doesn't that also mean he is a representative of the TTFA i.e. in his case,  the NC ?

« Reply #134 on: May 01, 2020, 05:10:09 AM »

Question seeker : Doesn't that also mean he is a representative of the TTFA i.e. in his case,  the NC ?

In this capacity he does not represent the TTFA/the NC. Also, my understanding is that he isn't there in formal represention of the Pro League.

Ostensibly, he has been appointed based on his experience of running a club in the regional market and his experience of the MoS perspective

« Reply #135 on: May 02, 2020, 11:09:30 AM »
Throwing good money after bad. How many times we going to waste money on this idea? It's just a non-starter - most of the islands can't get 100 people to domestic games, and football isn't well suited to the cricket model.

« Reply #136 on: May 02, 2020, 11:41:05 AM »
Throwing good money after bad. How many times we going to waste money on this idea? It's just a non-starter - most of the islands can't get 100 people to domestic games, and football isn't well suited to the cricket model.

Good try in an attempt to make sense out of non-sense. What the Concacaf is attempting to do is to make the CFU one entity and thus minimize the Caribbean teams. Both club and national. They don't like playing the minors. They feel it is wasting their time, and they afraid that the big money super powers from the zone may get upset,  and not  make it to FIFA big dance(the shock heard all over the world in Corva, not Couva).

« Reply #137 on: May 02, 2020, 12:35:36 PM »
Just look at the difference between the names listed above and compare that to the list the previous time this idea was floated.
https://www.concacaf.com/article/concacaf-appoints-members-of-caribbean-professional-league-task-force

The only person on that 2020 list that I believe has any credibility in running a football league is the guy from Dominican Republic, they have done some decent stuff with the league in recent years, but that is due in large part to a cash influx, not much else. The Jamaican guy isn't even involved with football there as far as I know, just the Olympic committee.  If you want a good example of why this will fail though, just look at Concacaf's Caribbean Shield competition (Champions League for non-professional clubs)...their promotion was pisspoor (empty stadiums), games were not broadcast PPV or free (and I know one broadcaster who offered), and Concacaf's reporting on their website included wrong scores, players reported scoring for wrong team, etc.

I spoke to someone who was involved in that 2014 process about a year ago and he claimed they were ready to go with plans at the time, it was just Concacaf and CFU's poor organization at the time that stopped it. 

The most important difference between the cricket league and a prospective football league is that cricket is only played in English speaking islands, and travel between those is somewhat straightforward.  I remember when Antigua were trying to play a qualifier in Martinique, they claimed the best way to do it was to fly through Miami (which brings up a visa issue), rather than even fly to Dominica and get the boat or something. They'd probably have to do a Leeward zone, Windward zone, and maybe a different zone for the likes of Hispaniola, Cuba, and Puerto Rico.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2020, 12:51:56 PM by theworm2345 »

« Reply #138 on: May 03, 2020, 06:26:05 AM »
when Antigua were trying to play a qualifier in Martinique, they claimed the best way to do it was to fly through Miami (which brings up a visa issue), rather than even fly to Dominica and get the boat or something.

Breds, is this scenario wonderful or not ?  In or order to go south, you must go north-west and then go south.

« Reply #139 on: May 03, 2020, 06:55:49 AM »
when Antigua were trying to play a qualifier in Martinique, they claimed the best way to do it was to fly through Miami (which brings up a visa issue), rather than even fly to Dominica and get the boat or something.

Breds, is this scenario wonderful or not ?  In or order to go south, you must go north-west and then go south.
It may well have been a useful metaphor for football in the Caribbean if they weren't so pig-headed, but sadly pretty much everyone I've ever dealt with at Antigua's FA is entirely useless.

Sancho, Shabazz welcome Concacaf plans for a Caribbean Pro League
« Reply #140 on: May 03, 2020, 09:33:39 AM »
Sancho, Shabazz welcome Concacaf plans for a Caribbean Pro League
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

The first step to set up a Caribbean Professional Football League has been made and already, it has become a sweet sound in some ears.

Concacaf on Wednesday announced the formation of a Caribbean Professional League working group, with the support of world football’s governing body, FIFA. When the current public health situation allows, the group will discuss its feasibility.

Selected among the group is Central FC owner and acting chairman of the TT Pro League, Trinidadian Brent Sancho. Both he and fellow T&T club owner Jamaal Shabazz see having its own professional league as a great step for Caribbean football.

The group will carry out a comprehensive study of Caribbean professional club football. Its chairman is also the chair of the Concacaf Competitions Committee, Yon de Luisa and its vice-chairman is Caribbean Football Union (CFU) president Randolph Harris.

The members will be Sancho (T&T), Christopher Samuda (Jamaica), Patrick Massenat (Haiti), Manuel Estrella (Dominican Republic), Valdemar Florentino Marcha (Curaçao) and a FIFA representative. With two previous incarnations of a Caribbean league having failed, no one sees it as an easy task to revitalise the Caribbean club game.

“It will have its challenges,” Sancho said, adding that the picture will become clearer once the stakeholders meet.

“The most important thing is that they have put together a task force that is mandated to bring this to fruition,” he added.

“The feasibility of a Caribbean professional league has previously been explored by regional stakeholders. However, for a combination of reasons, those attempts did not get beyond the point of an early draft, with little substance and no progress made on the matter,” Concacaf president Victor Montagliani said, adding: “The time is right for the Caribbean and Concacaf, with the support of FIFA, to lead the way to develop a comprehensive study which has the sole aim of the development of football in the Caribbean and the region as a whole.”

Shabazz is all for a Caribbean pro league. The former national men’s and women’s head coach believes it can work this time, once given the full support of Concacaf and FIFA.

“The Caribbean needs a league to take care of his own. The full support of Concacaf could be a big difference this time. Before it mainly had only the support of people in CFU,” he stated.

Shabazz has shown a long love for the Caribbean game, having coached the T&T, Guyana and St Lucia national men’s teams and having employed no fewer than 70 players from 10 Caribbean countries, including 29 from Guyana and 16 from St Lucia at his Morvant Caledonia United club over the years, along with players from Argentina, Ghana, Botswana, Panama and Brazil.

Among those Caribbean players were Guyanese internationals Charles Pollard, Howard Lowe, Sheldon Holder, Trayon Bobb and Walter Moore; St Lucians Tev and Otev Lawrence, Sheldon Emmanuel and Lester Joseph; St Vincent & the Grenadines’ Kendall Velox, Dwayne Sandy and Cornelius Stewart; Grenadians Kithson Bain and Shemel Louison; Jamaican Kevin Graham; Odell Flemming of St Kitts/Nevis and Antiguan Kareem Knight.

“I was always the Caribbean man,” Shabazz boasted. “The life of Caledonia shows that we always feel people of the region should get together.”

With less T&T players in US Major League Soccer (MLS) and Europe, Shabazz thinks the establishment of Caribbean professional football would fill a huge void.

“The better players from the country can play in the Caribbean league and the best of the best can go out to Europe and other overseas leagues,” he said. “And those who can’t make the Caribbean league can play in the local leagues. It’s a dynamic step to create employment and create an industry for football in the Caribbean,” he said.

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #141 on: May 09, 2020, 09:29:23 AM »
They choose the wrong candidates from Trinidad to be part of  this planning group-

Where is Shaka?

« Reply #142 on: May 13, 2020, 11:26:28 AM »
Shaka isn't a FIFA yes-man

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #143 on: May 16, 2020, 11:29:26 AM »
They choose the wrong candidates from Trinidad to be part of  this planning group-

Where is Shaka?

What are your reasons for saying that Brent Sancho is a wrong TT candidate?

« Reply #144 on: May 31, 2020, 08:46:45 AM »
Not really sure where this fits best, but would recommend listening to this podcast -- there is a focus on St Vincent but it details football across the region and touches on the Caribbean League that existed in the 90s.
https://anchor.fm/oronde-ash9?fbclid=IwAR1kAB2Q_rhCZNWc4uMhNijr00d1G8930QUfnVQGuDpaCkhrS3lgoMT9s1A

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #145 on: April 23, 2023, 12:54:12 PM »
As Caribbean nations we need to develop a sense of passion, pride, and self esteem about our perchance for football. We have the talent, we have the facilities and we have the knowledge. So why do we always have to rely on foreign coaches, and techniques to elevate our level and to bring a sense of salvation to our game?

I say we spend more time elevating the status, training and the economics for our players. We should look at forming a Caribbean Professional Football League (C.P.F.L.) Let's develop some regional rivalry and expand the skill base in our respective nations within the region.

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #146 on: April 23, 2023, 12:56:36 PM »
As Caribbean nations we need to develop a sense of passion, pride, and self esteem about our perchance for football. We have the talent, we have the facilities and we have the knowledge. So why do we always have to rely on foreign coaches, and techniques to elevate our level and to bring a sense of salvation to our game?

I say we spend more time elevating the status, training and the economics for our players. We should look at forming a Caribbean Professional Football League (C.P.F.L.) Let's develop some regional rivalry and expand the skill base in our respective nations within the region.
So here we are today 2023 and now we talking CARIBBEAN FOOTBALL LEAGUE and prior to this 19912-1995 and we are still at a cross roads in regards to our football development as a region.

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #147 on: April 24, 2023, 04:08:45 PM »
A great idea in my opinion. Belize and Nicaragua's clubs have easier paths to the CCL than any Caribbean nations despite countries like Jamaica, Trinidad, Haiti, Cuba, and even Guadeloupe and Martinique are far more successful. The lack of truly professional clubs in the caribbean is probably why we are being treated like outsiders who are fighting for one or two spots at the CCL. Most Caribbean nations are too small to support their own full professional leagues without government money and the larger ones with a large enough population like Haiti, Cuba, and Jamaica are also the poorest ones. So, a Caribbean league with a number of elite teams is really the way to go if we want to develop strong teams in the caribbean.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2023, 04:12:02 PM by Toussaint »
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #148 on: April 25, 2023, 09:26:52 AM »
A great idea in my opinion. Belize and Nicaragua's clubs have easier paths to the CCL than any Caribbean nations despite countries like Jamaica, Trinidad, Haiti, Cuba, and even Guadeloupe and Martinique are far more successful. The lack of truly professional clubs in the caribbean is probably why we are being treated like outsiders who are fighting for one or two spots at the CCL. Most Caribbean nations are too small to support their own full professional leagues without government money and the larger ones with a large enough population like Haiti, Cuba, and Jamaica are also the poorest ones. So, a Caribbean league with a number of elite teams is really the way to go if we want to develop strong teams in the caribbean.

There's something to your larger point. However, it should be noted that there is a world of difference between Belizean clubs and their Nicaraguan counterparts. A club like Real Esteli shouldn't be held captive to its location and its definitely significantly ahead of any entity within Belize.

The problem is also not merely one of scale, but also of a lack of imagination propped up by a failure to cultivate an attractive value proposition.

And a definition of what constitutes "elite" would also need to be imposed. It can't be just being the top team in country A or country B.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2023, 09:29:35 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #149 on: April 25, 2023, 09:33:34 AM »

So here we are today 2023 and now we talking CARIBBEAN FOOTBALL LEAGUE and prior to this 19912-1995 and we are still at a cross roads in regards to our football development as a region.

More like dead end.