March 29, 2024, 08:11:00 AM

Author Topic: Can you name dis movie?  (Read 7520 times)

Can you name dis movie?
« on: March 29, 2007, 07:12:32 AM »
Pelé was in dis movie and his character was from T&T....

so here are the questions:

1. What is the name of the movie?
2. What year was it released?
3. What big actor was in this movie as well?
4. What was Pelé's name in de movie?

Re: Can you name dis movie?
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2007, 08:10:37 AM »
fortunately enough, I have this on dvd and watch it from time to time.

movie is victory.  according to the dvd case it was released in 81.  Pele was Luis Fernandez.  Stallone and Michael Caine both in it.

« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2007, 08:44:09 AM »

movie is victory.  according to the dvd case it was released in 81.  Pele was Luis Fernandez.  Stallone and Michael Caine both in it.

Ossie Ardilles is also in it

« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2007, 08:54:24 AM »
i think moore and charlton in it too.stallone was de keeper.in de movie pele said he learned football in de streets ot trinidad

« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2007, 09:05:31 AM »

yea ur right  :beermug:

i know i know, it was too easy  :)

« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2007, 09:07:06 AM »
i was kinda shock when i found out that Pele's character was from T&T, ah wonder how they choose that one and why his character wasn't from Brazil, his home country!

« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2007, 09:13:40 AM »
yuh know de sayin you could find ah trini anywhere.what ah trini doin as a POW in germany.

« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2007, 09:42:06 AM »
yuh know de sayin you could find ah trini anywhere.what ah trini doin as a POW in germany.

true

« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2007, 09:41:09 PM »
Trini's Fourth in the war ,daiz  why they choose us

Because of that movie the gov should try and make him an honoree citizen of trinidad and Tobago  :heehee:
« Last Edit: March 29, 2007, 09:48:00 PM by Compre »

« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2007, 12:18:36 AM »

???

« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2007, 09:17:34 AM »
Trini's Fourth in the war ,daiz  why they choose us

Because of that movie the gov should try and make him an honoree citizen of trinidad and Tobago  :heehee:

dat woulda make sense 25 yrs ago, we woulda been ah power house   :D

« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2007, 05:49:46 PM »
check this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGkhJ6720ts
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #12 on: April 09, 2007, 01:06:38 PM »

Why not.  And dey have Trini in de US army?  So dat is not a stretch.
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #13 on: April 10, 2007, 11:09:09 AM »
i was kinda shock when i found out that Pele's character was from T&T, ah wonder how they choose that one and why his character wasn't from Brazil, his home country!

Fuh Real !!! I guess I have to rent that movie. I cant believe it though, T&T of all places Pele say.... 8)

Never knew this.

« Reply #14 on: April 11, 2007, 02:20:32 PM »

Fuh Real !!! I guess I have to rent that movie. I cant believe it though, T&T of all places Pele say.... 8)

Never knew this.

if and when yuh see the movie...football in dem days was real different from today's game....dat ball look like it have some serious weight in it

feeling real sorry fuh dem goalkeepers

« Reply #15 on: May 17, 2007, 08:20:01 PM »

actually it could have happened. Trinis fought for Britain during WWII and the Brits didn't have a segregated military.

« Reply #16 on: June 11, 2007, 09:36:05 AM »

actually it could have happened. Trinis fought for Britain during WWII and the Brits didn't have a segregated military.

This is exactly why it made sense for him to say Trinidad...or any other British colony for that matter, because we would have contributed soldiers to Britain's war efforts.

Even so, as proud as I was back in '83 when I first saw the movie...even then as a twelve-year old it sounded schupid to me to hear him pronounce Trinidad "tdee-nee-dad" in ah thick as latin accent.  dunno how people buy up dat, but hey...

« Reply #17 on: August 21, 2007, 02:28:58 PM »
I just see the movie again two nights ago.

Is the third time i see it and you know I just ddn't remember the Trinidad thing.

« Reply #18 on: October 02, 2007, 04:56:56 PM »

;D you cyar be serious

« Reply #19 on: December 29, 2007, 04:51:41 AM »
I just see the movie again two nights ago.

Is the third time i see it and you know I just ddn't remember the Trinidad thing.

because ah mi father i must be see this movie 5 times, andi doh remember that. Ah never even remember mih father highlighting it...and this is a man who nearly cuss mih out because ah was glad Grenada name get mention (more or less negatively) in Die Hard 2

« Reply #20 on: December 30, 2007, 01:17:19 PM »

Victory Road
Michael Caine, Sylvester Stallone and Max Von Sydow (sp)
??

;D you cyar be serious

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #21 on: January 01, 2008, 06:42:08 PM »
Escape to victory
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

d_#1Trinba

« Reply #22 on: March 12, 2008, 08:37:22 PM »
out of subject i know..but have you see the movie called my name is zingo or somthing like this (shame on me the movie is a peace of art..) and in it there's the trinba colours...The scene where zingo is in his grilfriend appartement..