April 27, 2024, 08:05:08 PM

Author Topic: Feature film to be shoot in Trinidad  (Read 2858 times)

Feature film to be shoot in Trinidad
« on: March 31, 2007, 10:04:57 AM »
T&T Branded......
Source: Islandevents.com

Trinidad and Tobago has been chosen as the location to shoot the feature film called “Branded.” “Branded” is the brainchild of the creators of “Backlash,” the first ever Hollywood produced motion picture to be filmed on location in Trinidad.

The motion picture will be produced by local film company Galt Alliance Films which is run by Dave Cabral and Hollywood-based production company Tritan-Northstar Entertainment operated by Trinidadian Anthony Joseph.

Funded by Clico Investment Bank, “Branded” will star Rhett Giles, who starred in Lost, Nip/Tuck, and War of the Worlds; Nick Mancuso, of Heartbreakers and Under Siege 2; Wolf Muser (West Wing, Walker Texas Ranger, Alias; and Frida Farrell of Lost Colony, and Venus Drowning.

The movie will see a CIA assassin who is doublecrossed by a member of her own agency. In order to get to the bottom of things, the agent Jane comes to Port-of-Spain, Trinidad, to investigate a mysterious bank account which might explain why she has been blacklisted.

In the midst of all the action, Jane will be experiencing all the delights of Trinidad culture.

Officials from the Branded team and the Film Company of TT pointed out that incentive plans offered to companies to do business in Louisiana, USA, and Canada, had helped the development of large film industries in those countries, and incentives now being offered in TT were poised to have a similar effect.

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
Re: Feature film to be shoot in Trinidad
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2007, 10:44:26 AM »
T&T Branded......
Source: Islandevents.com

Trinidad and Tobago has been chosen as the location to shoot the feature film called “Branded.” “Branded” is the brainchild of the creators of “Backlash,” the first ever Hollywood produced motion picture to be filmed on location in Trinidad.

The motion picture will be produced by local film company Galt Alliance Films which is run by Dave Cabral and Hollywood-based production company Tritan-Northstar Entertainment operated by Trinidadian Anthony Joseph.

Funded by Clico Investment Bank, “Branded” will star Rhett Giles, who starred in Lost, Nip/Tuck, and War of the Worlds; Nick Mancuso, of Heartbreakers and Under Siege 2; Wolf Muser (West Wing, Walker Texas Ranger, Alias; and Frida Farrell of Lost Colony, and Venus Drowning.

The movie will see a CIA assassin who is doublecrossed by a member of her own agency. In order to get to the bottom of things, the agent Jane comes to Port-of-Spain, Trinidad, to investigate a mysterious bank account which might explain why she has been blacklisted.

In the midst of all the action, Jane will be experiencing all the delights of Trinidad culture.

Officials from the Branded team and the Film Company of TT pointed out that incentive plans offered to companies to do business in Louisiana, USA, and Canada, had helped the development of large film industries in those countries, and incentives now being offered in TT were poised to have a similar effect.

I learn something new today..

And it's good our country is getting this exposure
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2007, 10:51:45 AM »
Didn't talk about this in his little known facts months ago  ;D
Any way this look like a stright to DVD release .

« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2007, 02:00:38 PM »
maybe ah could geh ah lil starrin role with meh handsome self.  ;D

« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2007, 02:38:18 PM »
u might be de black man who find ah thick white woman...
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2007, 02:53:49 PM »

or mabey trini king kong pt 1

Offline Pro-Jayz

« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2007, 03:34:38 PM »
TT film industry branded backward

By Denise Balgobin Saturday, April 28 2007

Shooting in Trinidad for Branded, the second Hollywood-produced movie to be filmed here, has come to a conclusion, with all the cast and crew members having returned to their respective homes, but not before sharing some of their experiences with members of the media.

During a recent interview with Newsday, producer Daniel Springen, actor/producer G Anthony Joseph and Kristin Chin Cheong, managing director of Galt Alliance Films, expressed regret that the local filming segment ended without the Government or relevant officials recognising it as an ideal marketing opportunity.

“After the hassles I went through trying to get my filming equipment cleared by your Customs Department, I cannot honestly recommend the island as a viable location for other film-makers. Especially since the type of equipment we needed is not available here,” Springen stated.

“While it is a beautiful location, with stunning scenery, that is not enough to encourage people to film here. A countrys such as Thailand which is just as beautiful, is a more accommodating location, wth the latest filming technology available.

“People there understand what it takes to encourage film-makers to come there,” he added.

Springen explained that the film’s co-star, G Anthony, is a native of this country and Trinidad was chosen for their island location shooting.

He added that he was part of the production team for the movie Backlash which was also filmed here two years ago and, after the kind of difficulties they experienced then, he was hoping things would have improved since.

“I was very disappointed that the situation was actually worse,” he said.

Admitting he loves his homeland, “G” said he felt hurt by the negative reaction of many businesses and banks which they attempted to use as filming locations.

“At one bank, we were told: ‘Put your request in writing and when the person to deal with it comes back from vacation we’ll contact you’. While we understand and respect rules and regulations, the country needs to develop a sense of what the film industry is all about,” he reiterated.

Joseph said he was dejected since the hassle involved in making a movie in this country was just not worth it.

“I can’t say that I’ll be working here again anytime soon,” he admitted.

Despite their setbacks, the producers had a lot of praise for the local crew hired for the film. “This country has a lot of hardworking people, and the crew was wonderful. The police and protective services were also helpful.”

“Branded” will be produced by local film company Galt Alliance Films which is run by Dave Cabral and Hollywood-based production company Tritan-Northstar Entertainment operated by Joseph.

The movie stars Rhett Giles (of “Lost”, “Nip/Tuck”, and “War of the Worlds”); Nick Mancuso (of “Heartbreakers” and “Under Siege 2”); Wolf Muser (of “West Wing”, “Walker Texas Ranger” and “Alias”); and Frida Farrell (of “Lost Colony”, and “Venus Drowning”).

The storyline follows the adventures of a CIA assassin who is double-crossed by a member of her own agency. In order to get to the bottom of things, the agent (Jane) comes to Port-of-Spain, Trinidad, to investigate a mysterious bank account which might explain why she has been blacklisted.

In the middle of all the action, Jane experiences all the delights of Trinidad culture.

Officials from the Trinidad and Tobago Film Company previously pointed out that incentive plans offered to companies to do business in Louisiana, USA, and Canada, had helped the development of large film industries in those countries and incentives now being offered in TT were poised to have a similar effect.

only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

Offline Pro-Jayz

« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2007, 03:37:19 PM »
TT film industry branded backward

By Denise Balgobin Saturday, April 28 2007

Shooting in Trinidad for Branded, the second Hollywood-produced movie to be filmed here, has come to a conclusion, with all the cast and crew members having returned to their respective homes, but not before sharing some of their experiences with members of the media.

During a recent interview with Newsday, producer Daniel Springen, actor/producer G Anthony Joseph and Kristin Chin Cheong, managing director of Galt Alliance Films, expressed regret that the local filming segment ended without the Government or relevant officials recognising it as an ideal marketing opportunity.

“After the hassles I went through trying to get my filming equipment cleared by your Customs Department, I cannot honestly recommend the island as a viable location for other film-makers. Especially since the type of equipment we needed is not available here,” Springen stated.

“While it is a beautiful location, with stunning scenery, that is not enough to encourage people to film here. A countrys such as Thailand which is just as beautiful, is a more accommodating location, wth the latest filming technology available.

“People there understand what it takes to encourage film-makers to come there,” he added.

Springen explained that the film’s co-star, G Anthony, is a native of this country and Trinidad was chosen for their island location shooting.

He added that he was part of the production team for the movie Backlash which was also filmed here two years ago and, after the kind of difficulties they experienced then, he was hoping things would have improved since.

“I was very disappointed that the situation was actually worse,” he said.

Admitting he loves his homeland, “G” said he felt hurt by the negative reaction of many businesses and banks which they attempted to use as filming locations.

“At one bank, we were told: ‘Put your request in writing and when the person to deal with it comes back from vacation we’ll contact you’. While we understand and respect rules and regulations, the country needs to develop a sense of what the film industry is all about,” he reiterated.

Joseph said he was dejected since the hassle involved in making a movie in this country was just not worth it.

“I can’t say that I’ll be working here again anytime soon,” he admitted.

Despite their setbacks, the producers had a lot of praise for the local crew hired for the film. “This country has a lot of hardworking people, and the crew was wonderful. The police and protective services were also helpful.”

“Branded” will be produced by local film company Galt Alliance Films which is run by Dave Cabral and Hollywood-based production company Tritan-Northstar Entertainment operated by Joseph.

The movie stars Rhett Giles (of “Lost”, “Nip/Tuck”, and “War of the Worlds”); Nick Mancuso (of “Heartbreakers” and “Under Siege 2”); Wolf Muser (of “West Wing”, “Walker Texas Ranger” and “Alias”); and Frida Farrell (of “Lost Colony”, and “Venus Drowning”).

The storyline follows the adventures of a CIA assassin who is double-crossed by a member of her own agency. In order to get to the bottom of things, the agent (Jane) comes to Port-of-Spain, Trinidad, to investigate a mysterious bank account which might explain why she has been blacklisted.

In the middle of all the action, Jane experiences all the delights of Trinidad culture.

Officials from the Trinidad and Tobago Film Company previously pointed out that incentive plans offered to companies to do business in Louisiana, USA, and Canada, had helped the development of large film industries in those countries and incentives now being offered in TT were poised to have a similar effect.

So as de man say .dont expect him to be coming back to T&T anytime soon...According to him our film industry too backward  :-\

« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2007, 07:31:36 PM »

yuh have meh  :drool: :drool: :drool: already.