April 24, 2024, 11:40:15 AM

Author Topic: 1932-2007...Road March classics  (Read 2075 times)

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
1932-2007...Road March classics
« on: April 03, 2007, 12:23:50 PM »
Aye I jus curious to see wha is allyuh favorite Roard March tunes of all time..Ah didnt even know Kitchener and Sparrow win road March so many times..Which is allyuh favorites?..Yeh and if there was carnival in 1946, then why was their no Road march competition?

http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/sfiles/tnt_roadmarch_winners.htm

« Last Edit: April 03, 2007, 01:15:15 PM by problemjaydeess »
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

Re: 1932-2007...Road March classics
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2007, 05:53:13 PM »
I go have to say 86 Bahia Girl

Offline Pro-Jayz

« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2007, 07:25:42 PM »
I go have to say 86 Bahia Girl

Yeh that's a hot song...My mother still know all the words to "Soca Baptist" (1980 Road March)... :-\

In my opinion the best Road March tunes ever were either "Doh Back Back" (1984) or "Signal to Lara"(1995)
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

Offline johnny_ringo

« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2007, 01:50:10 PM »
Signal was ah big tune...BULLET BULLET !!!!
BODY although recent was just a great piece of music

« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2007, 07:26:51 PM »
Tambu "no no we ain't going home"
i ain't even see if it on dey list....but in dat year, dey song as ah riot.

Offline Pro-Jayz

« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2007, 10:26:35 PM »
 What about "doh back back" (1984) and "wine on something" (1992).....Dem tunes does still mash-up fete
« Last Edit: April 06, 2007, 07:12:35 AM by problemjaydeess »

« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2007, 08:27:39 AM »
http://djtonytempo.podomatic.com/

yuh could download a mp3 that covers 51 yrs of trinbago roadmarch tunes from the site above....

it comes in 3 parts...right click download and save target as.... :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2007, 10:05:46 AM »
could you believe there was no carnival between 1942 - 45. look at that something stopped trinis from feting. :-\

does anyone knows why ?

WCoast ah doh want a link  >:(

I always thought Calypso Rose start the pace for women in roach march not knowing Valerie (assuming a woman) won 1957 with a tune "North American Ballad". Learn something new.

And before anybody take meh words and tie it up to suit dey self. Ah know Lady Trinidad was the Matricach of Kaiso.

« Last Edit: April 06, 2007, 10:11:26 AM by TriniCana »

« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2007, 10:54:16 AM »
could you believe there was no carnival between 1942 - 45. look at that something stopped trinis from feting. :-\

does anyone knows why ?

WW2?

« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2007, 01:24:06 PM »

does anyone knows why ?

WW2?

thought so but didn't want to believe it... ;D
was brought up with the saying "nothing could stop carnival" not even curfew of 1991

« Reply #10 on: April 06, 2007, 06:01:54 PM »
http://djtonytempo.podomatic.com/
yuh could download a mp3 that covers 51 yrs of trinbago roadmarch tunes from the site above....
it comes in 3 parts...right click download and save target as.... :beermug:
very nice
Thanks man

WCoast ah doh want a link  >:(
www.welleheh.com/ ;D ;D or  www.lookatmycrossesoui.com/  :rotfl: :rotfl:
« Last Edit: April 06, 2007, 09:12:42 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.