April 20, 2024, 08:21:50 AM

Author Topic: Carlos Edwards ruled out of Cardiff game  (Read 5531 times)

Carlos Edwards ruled out of Cardiff game
« on: March 28, 2007, 06:58:05 AM »
Edwards ruled out of Cardiff game

By Nick Alexander

Sunderland's game at Cardiff on Saturday will come too soon for Carlos Edwards to make his return from injury.

Edwards, who hurt his shoulder in the Black Cats' win at West Brom on March 3, had given himself an outside chance to play at Ninian Park.

But Sunderland boss Roy Keane has confirmed that the winger will not feature in Wales and that he is now targeting Sunderland's game against Wolves as a comeback date.

Keane said: "We were never going to push Carlos for Cardiff and he's not right for the weekend. We're hoping he'll be OK for the following weekend."

Edwards has played a key part in helping Sunderland string together a long unbeaten run this year, a sequence of results that has put them in contention for automatic promotion.

The former Luton man, a £1.5m signing in January, has scored three goals in ten appearances for the Black Cats.

Re: Carlos Edwards ruled out of Cardiff game
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2007, 09:02:46 AM »
It's good that they takin their time over his return.
Keane knows about rushing back into games.  He hurt himself like that before.

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2007, 04:00:42 PM »
 :applause: :applause:

« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2007, 12:15:44 AM »
Carlos coming back just in time for de Warrior Nation and SW.net posse pilgrimage to the Stadium of Light!!  :beermug: :beermug:

Offline JC

« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2007, 03:20:24 PM »
It's a shame he's out of the Cardiff game but at least he is going to be fit for the remainder of the season.

Just a quick hello as well from another Sunderland fan.

« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2007, 03:27:51 PM »
It's a shame he's out of the Cardiff game but at least he is going to be fit for the remainder of the season.

Just a quick hello as well from another Sunderland fan.

Welcome!

Offline buzzcock

Wallace's goal v Cardiff City .
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2007, 10:12:51 AM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hY3_GC8vAnU

There's only one Kelvin Davis ?   ;)

Re: Wallace's goal v Cardiff City .
« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2007, 10:50:48 AM »
thank you
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline buzzcock

« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2007, 12:00:53 PM »
Nee bother marra !

« Reply #9 on: April 02, 2007, 05:54:00 AM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hY3_GC8vAnU

There's only one Kelvin Davis ?   ;)
That was a sweet freekick!

Nice to see how Sunderland are grinding out those victories!

Looking forward immensely to Easter Saturday or should that be Warrior Nation Saturday!  ;)  :chilling:
« Last Edit: April 02, 2007, 05:55:34 AM by Socapro »

Offline fivers

Sound clip of Carlos Edwards Interview
« Reply #10 on: April 03, 2007, 10:09:02 AM »

Carlos Edwards interview on BBC

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/s/sunderland/6522745.stm

Sunderland winger Carlos Edwards has called for manager Roy Keane to select him for Saturday's match with Wolverhampton Wanderers.

Re: Sound clip of Carlos Edwards Interview
« Reply #11 on: April 03, 2007, 10:14:51 AM »
leh me go an buy a lottery ticket one time eh ;)

I hope that the three trinbagonians go play on saturday and that there is a decent showing of TnT supporters at the SOL

allya have a great time

Sunderland..............We Want A Goal Win  :D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Cartman

Carlos fit for the Wolves game.
« Reply #12 on: April 03, 2007, 10:32:23 AM »
Edwards hoping for weekend recall

Sunderland winger Carlos Edwards has called for manager Roy Keane to select him for Saturday's match with Wolverhampton Wanderers.
Edwards, 28, has been sidelined for four weeks with a shoulder injury, but told BBC Radio Newcastle he wants to be considered for a recall.
"I'm up for selection," he said. "It's up to the manager to decided whether he's going to risk me or not."
"I will be 100 per cent committed, and will not hold back on any challenges."

Interview: Sunderland winger Carlos Edwards

The Trinidad and Tobago international was signed from Luton Town for £1.5m during the January transfer window.

Edwards is looking forward to getting back in action.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2007, 10:36:53 AM by Flex »
Roy Keane's Red & White Army

Offline Papasmurf

• http://footballawayoflife.blogspot.com/
« Reply #13 on: April 03, 2007, 11:53:13 AM »
How he accent sounding mix up so?

Re: Carlos fit for the Wolves game.
« Reply #14 on: April 03, 2007, 01:00:14 PM »
sub him on.

too soon.

« Reply #15 on: April 03, 2007, 01:04:00 PM »
Dont worry Andre Keane knows alot about injuries and playing through them and the regrets that come with them... he'd only be putting him on the field if he was sure he could take it.

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #16 on: April 03, 2007, 01:46:45 PM »
great news :wavetowel:
football in meh veins football in meh blood

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
« Reply #17 on: April 03, 2007, 01:51:14 PM »
Guys remember risking Carlos could be unfortunate to us..another injury right now may possibly lead to an absent Carlos at the Gold Cup
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

« Reply #18 on: April 03, 2007, 02:31:51 PM »
Guys remember risking Carlos could be unfortunate to us..another injury right now may possibly lead to an absent Carlos at the Gold Cup

« Reply #19 on: April 03, 2007, 03:19:20 PM »
Preston lose today...they becoming more and more of a non-factor for the playoffs

« Reply #20 on: April 03, 2007, 03:26:36 PM »

i second that. like u doh read de news problem.
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
« Reply #21 on: April 03, 2007, 03:33:13 PM »

i second that. like u doh read de news problem.

Well carlos edwards is not part of the players impasse ordeal..so unless its something else you talking bout ah dont know what yuh mean...Once he is fit he will most likely be selected
« Last Edit: April 03, 2007, 03:47:30 PM by problemjaydeess »
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

Offline black chinee

« Reply #22 on: April 03, 2007, 03:46:09 PM »
Lets go Carlos....good news

Offline Papachunks

« Reply #23 on: April 03, 2007, 10:42:04 PM »
Yuh eh hear dwightie, is the way yuh hadda move if you want english folks to understand.

Damien Duff to Sunderland ?
« Reply #24 on: April 04, 2007, 05:03:20 AM »
Roeder laughs off 'Duff to Sunderland' stories.
By: soccernet.

Newcastle boss Glenn Roeder has told Sunderland counterpart Roy Keane to forget about trying to sign compatriot Damien Duff. Reports today suggested Keane will target his former Republic of Ireland team-mate during the summer after a tough first season on Tyneside.
However, Roeder today insisted the 28-year-old, who made a £5million switch from Chelsea last summer, is at St James' Park for the long haul. He said: 'The speculation surrounding Damien Duff and a move to Sunderland is utter rubbish. There is not an ounce of truth in it.
'Damien is at Newcastle United for the long haul. He only signed a five-year contract last summer.'
Duff has struggled to reproduce his best form since making the switch to Newcastle, and the process has not been helped by surgery to repair a damaged knee cartilage.
However, Roeder, who it was widely accepted had pulled off a coup when he persuaded the former Blackburn midfielder to head for the north-east, is confident there is more to come from him both during the remaining weeks of the current campaign and beyond. He said: 'He did not have a pre-season when he joined us from Chelsea and that always makes it difficult for a player as it means he is playing catch-up.
'He has now also got over the knee injury that has meant an interrupted first season here at St James' Park. In the last couple of games he has probably looked our best player, as well as being outstanding for Ireland in their last two games.
'I fully expect Damien to finish the last seven games of the season very strongly for us. I am putting a squad together here of my own players and players that I want to be here for the long haul, and Damien is one of those.'
Keane played down growing speculation over his targets today, although he has witnessed at close hand Duff's form on the international stage.

Offline Cartman

Nice pictures of Carlos back in training
« Reply #25 on: April 06, 2007, 12:14:05 AM »
and a few other Sunderland players, looks fit enough to me, I do think he will be involved on Saturday

http://www.safc.com/home/?page_id=12118&cp=10

Re: Nice pictures of Carlos back in training
« Reply #26 on: April 06, 2007, 12:21:45 AM »
Thanks Cartman...I see Dwight in there too  :beermug:

almost didn't recognize Carlos with the new hairstyle

Offline Cartman

« Reply #27 on: April 06, 2007, 12:26:57 AM »
Thanks Cartman...I see Dwight in there too  :beermug:

almost didn't recognize Carlos with the new hairstyle

He looks really focused, please Keano let him play (only if fit though)  ;D

« Reply #28 on: April 06, 2007, 01:27:49 AM »
cheers Cartman :beermug:
everything will be great on saturday and monday

Offline Trinitim

« Reply #29 on: April 06, 2007, 02:34:30 AM »

I can't tell you how happy I was when I see Carlos training there. I like how Roy Keane still don't want to rush him back into the game, I think Southampton will be a better outing for Edwards though gives him a few more days, but all in all I know he is dying to get back on that field and when he does is RIP FROM A SIDE. PREMIERSHIP HERE WE COME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Oh I sorry about Southampton but they have to go down on Tuesday.